David Berry. Gasquet Campground Panorama, 1930's. June 11. 2007. Retrieved from flickr.com on January 10, 2018. Licensed under Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0).
Americana Definition from Merriam-Webster
Nicolas Raymond. US Grunge Flag. April 9, 2012. Retrieved from flickr.com on January 10, 2019. Licensed under Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0).
Selected American Cultural Databases
Regional and Additional Databases
Americana Art
Thomas Cole, American; 1801-1848 North and Central America, North America, United Sta. New England Scenery. 1839. The Art Institute of Chicago, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel M. Nickerson Collection, Chicago, Illinois, USA, 1900.558, http://www.artic.edu/aic/. http://library.artstor.org/asset/AMICO_CHICAGO_1031149702. Web. 20 Apr 2018.
Anonymous, American, Artist. Aster, Poppy and Rose. 1840. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Boston, Massachusetts, USA, M. and M. Karolik Collection, 1976.703, http://www.mfa.org/. http://library.artstor.org/asset/AMICO_BOSTON_103831504. Web. 20 Apr 2018.
Anonymous, American Stecher-Traung Litho Co. (printer), American, active 1934--1955. Crate Label for Frisco Brand California Vegetables, Merril Packing Company, Salinas, California. ca. 1934–1955. The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, Museum purchase, Achenbach Foundation for Graphic Arts Endowment Fund, 1994.103.45. http://library.artstor.org/asset/AWSS35953_35953_27891564. Web. 20 Apr 2018.
Barkley Leonnard Hendricks, American. (1972). Sir Charles, Alias Willie Harris. [Painting]. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/ANGAIG_10314018546
Meisel, Susan. Times Square. 1977. The Freedman Gallery at Albright College, Alex and Carole Rosenberg Collection, http://www.albright.edu/freedman/. http://library.artstor.org/asset/AFREEDMANIG_10313255129. Web. 20 Apr 2018.
Lady Pink and Smith. (1997). Americana; detail, detail. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/DRESCHER_10313356696
ARTStor
More than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Please note: you must register for a free account in order to download images.
Music: Stephen Sondheim
Sondheim by
This volume tells the complete story of Sondheim's remarkable career - from his earliest days under the wing of Oscar Hammerstein II, through his latest controversial musical, Assassins. In between is Sondheim's brilliant but largely unheralded work as a lyric writer for Leonard Bernstein (in West Side Story) and Jule Styne (in Gypsy), his first experience writing both music and lyrics (for A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum) and the legendary collaborations with producer Harold Prince. Author Martin Gottfried's narrative overview of Sondheim's life and his analysis of the music and lyrics are enhanced by numerous quotations from the composer/lyricist himself.
Call Number: ML410.S6872 G8 2000
Into the Woods (Vocal Selections) by
Stephen Sondheim's Tony-Award winning musical includes: Agony * It Takes Two * Stay with Me * Any Moment * No More * No One Is Alone.
Call Number: M1508.S6974 I48 1988
Sondheim: Lyrics by
A beautiful Pocket Poets hardcover selection of the most memorable and beloved lyrics of Stephen Sondheim Legendary composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim made his Broadway debut with West Side Story in 1957 at the age of twenty-seven. His remarkable and wide-ranging career has spanned more than six decades since then, and he has accumulated accolades that include eight Tony Awards, an Academy Award, eight Grammy Awards, six Laurence Olivier Awards, a Pulitzer Prize, the Kennedy Center Honors, and a Presidential Medal of Freedom. Sondheim redefined musical theater with his groundbreaking work, combining words and music in ways that are by turns challenging, moving, witty, profound, and never less than exhilarating. This volume includes a selection of lyrics from across his career, drawn from shows including West Side Story, Gypsy, Company, Follies, A Little Night Music, Sweeney Todd, Sunday in the Park with George, Into the Woods, and more. The result is a delightful pocket-sized treasury of the very best of Sondheim.
Call Number: ML54.6.S69 S667 2020
Sondheim on Music by
This is primarily a transcript of a series of interviews with Stephen Sondheim, focusing on his work as a composer. During the interviews, he and the author look through Sondheim's manuscripts and sketches and discuss the creative process. The discussions focus on six shows: Passion, Assassins, Into the Wood, Sunday in the Park with George, Sweeney Todd and Pacific Overtures but every Sondheim score comes up in conversation. Among the topics discussed are how Sondheim approaches characters and dramatic moments, how motif s and thematic material are created and used, how harmony, melody and rhythm reflect character, the structuring of a score, the use of pastiche and the practical aspects of collaboration. Wish I'd Written, his reasons behind some of those choices and the messages he received from composers and lyricists whose songs were included on the list. An extensive song listing and a discography follow which attempt to list every commercial recording of a Sondheim song and provide publishing information with vocal ranges.
Call Number: ML410.S6872 A5 2003
More Composers!
Recipe for Apple Pie
Ingredients
Serves 8
- 1 recipe pastry for a 23cm pie
- 125g unsalted butter
- 3 tablespoons plain flour
- 4 tablespoons water
- 100g caster sugar
- 100g dark brown soft sugar
- 8 Granny Smith apples - peeled, cored and sliced
Method
- Preheat oven to 220 C / Gas mark 7. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Stir in flour to form a paste. Add water, caster sugar and brown sugar, and bring to the boil. Reduce temperature and let simmer.
- Roll out the pastry to line the bottom of a 23cm (9 in) pie dish. Fill with apples, mounded slightly. Cover with strips of pastry to form a lattice design. Gently pour the sugar and butter liquid over the pastry. Pour slowly so that it does not run off.
- Bake the apple pie 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Reduce the temperature to 180 C / Gas mark 4. Continue baking the pie for 35 to 45 minutes, until apples are soft. Serve apple pie with ice cream or custard.
Apple Pie Tips
To check the doneness of the pie filling, insert a knife into the centre of the pie. If it meets with little or no resistance, the pie is done.
If the pie is not quite done but the top or edges are becoming too dark, loosely cover the top of the pie with aluminium foil to shield it from the heat.
If you want to add shine and sparkle to your apple pie, thin 4 tablespoons of golden syrup with very hot water. When the pie is done, brush the thinned syrup over the top of the pastry. You can add granulated sugar or demerara sugar at this time. Return the pie to the oven for 2 to 3 minutes to let the glaze dry and set.
Once the pie is done baking, let the pie cool to room temperature before slicing to allow the pie filling to set.
Recipe retrieved from allrecipes.com
American Film & Music Databases
- American History in Video
Collection of videos documenting events in American history.
- Music Online: American Music
A streaming audio collection of songs by and about Americans. Includes the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
- Music Online: Jazz Music Library
A streaming audio collection of jazz recordings from all over the world. Includes individual tracks and entire albums featuring some of the most famous artists and ensembles.
- Silent Film Online
Contains silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s that represent the foundation of modern cinematic technique and film theory.
- David Van Vactor Music CollectionComposer, conductor, educator, and flutist David Van Vactor (1906-1994) came to the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, in 1947 to serve as head of the newly-created Department of Fine Arts, and to take up the baton as the third conductor of the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra. He conducted the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra until 1972, taught at UT until his retirement in 1976, and continued to compose until his death in 1994.
The David Van Vactor Music Collection includes multiple drafts and final versions of compositions from all eras of Van Vactor’s long career. Successive drafts allow researchers to study Van Vactor’s process of composition, from writing and revising to working with his transcriptionist and publisher.