Skip to Main Content

Southern Appalachian Studies: Home

Guide to the study of the Southern Appalachians.



Epps Springs School (flooded to build Fontana Dam)

TVA Pamphlet Collection, MS 631

University of Tennessee Special Collections

Definitions of Appalachian Region

 From John C. Campbell's The Southern Highlanders and His Home

The Southern Highlands include "the four western counties of Maryland; the Blue Ridge, Valley, and Allegheny Ridge counties of Virginia; all of West Virginia; eastern Tennessee; eastern Kentucky; western North Carolina; the four northwestern counties of South Carolina; northern Georgia; and northeastern Alabama." (p. 10)

From the Appalachian Regional Commission:

"The Appalachian Region. . .is a 205,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia." 

History and Medieval Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Shaina Destine
Schedule an appointment.
Hodges Library
Subjects: History