Skip to content
FDR at the Dedication of GSMNP: Thompson Brothers Digital Photograph Collection
Coal Miners: University of West Virginia
Digital Collections at the Unversity of Tennessee
Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project: University of Tennessee
Links to collections and the project newsletter, The Great Smoky Mountains Colloquy.
Great Smoky Mountains Regional Collections
Images and text collections created by the Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project at the University of Tennessee Libraries. Includes images created by photographers Jim Thompson, Albert "Dutch" Roth, and Herbert M. Webster, Elgin P. Kintner, Paul Adams, and William Cox Cochran and a large collection of images and text about the Pi Beta Phi School in Gatlinburg.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-184
Created by the University of Tennessee and the University of Georgia. The collection contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum, the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, and the LaFayette-Walker County Library. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.
Image and Text Collections
Digital Library of Appalachia
Combined site for the digital collections of many of the region's smaller colleges.
Mcclung Collection: Knox County Public Library
Images from Knoxville and the Greater East Tennessee region.
Western Carolina University
Links to collections on Horace Kephart, Craft Revival, Great Smoky Mountains, and the Cherokee.
Archives of Appalachia: East Tennessee State University
Digitized photographs, textual records, and sound recordings.
Documenting Appalachia: Appalachian State University
This digital archive includes the following collections: W. Amos Abrams Folksong Collection, I. G. Greer Folksong Collection, ASU Historical Photographs, Moonshine Collection, Appalachian Ethnicity Resources, Blue Ridge Views Video Collection.
Heritage of Western North Carolina
A large grouping of collections including images of Asheville, Jewish people and African-Americans in Western North Carolina, geographical images from the U. S. Forest Service, and Biltmore.
Kentucky Digital Library
Combined collections from several Kentucky universities including University of Kentucky and Berea College.
North Carolina Collection: Pack Memorial Library, Asheville
Includes images created by prominent photographer, George Masa, whose subjects were primarily Asheville and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Center for Virtual Appalachia
The Center for Virtual Appalachia is a collection of information, photos, articles, and data about the Appalachian region and its people. Highlights include a collection of quilt squares and collection of documents on the "War on Poverty."
Appalachian Regional Commission
Information, including statistics, on the entire Appalachian Region. ARC is a state-federal partnership that works for sustainable community and economic development in Appalachia.
The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
Fully searchable and updated version of the encyclopedia. Contains images as well as text.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
George Masa Postcard Image of Great Smoky Mountains