Pride Center at UTK
- Pride Center at UTK
The Pride Center is the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) resource center at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. We strive to be a space for all members of the UT community to engage with and explore issues relating to gender and sexuality through our events, programming, community space, and initiatives. - Pride Center Events CalendarThe Pride Center strives to make all of our events as accessible as possible for our entire campus community. If you require accommodations to attend one of our events, have a suggestion on how to make our programming even more accessible, or have suggestions for an event, please email us.
Pew Research - "The Global Divide on Homosexuality Persists"
"Despite major changes in laws and norms surrounding the issue of same-sex marriage and the rights of LGBT people around the world, public opinion on the acceptance of homosexuality in society remains sharply divided by country, region and economic development." Jacob Poushiter and Nicholas Kent research the attitudes of homosexuality across the world over the last two decades. They found that those living in Western Europe and the Americas "are more accepting of homosexuality" compared to those living in "Eastern Europe, Russia, Ukraine, the Middle East and sub-Saharan Africa." Factors that sway opinions and attitudes are political ideology, age, education, income, gender, countries wealth, and most importantly religious affiliation.
https://www.pewresearch.org/global/2020/06/25/global-divide-on-homosexuality-persists/
Pride Flags (Rainbow Flag)
Pride: the Story of Harvey Milk and the Rainbow Flag by Call Number: Children's and Young Adult Collection (Third Floor) BM637sTraces the life of the Gay Pride Flag, from its beginnings with social activist Harvey Milk and Designer Gilbert Baker to its spanning of the globe and its role in today’s world.
- Rainbow Flag Article
Newspaper article describing the origins of the Rainbow flag created by Gilbert Baker. (Source: Archives of Sexuality and Gender)
Manvendra Singh Gohil
- India's Only Gay Prince Is Opening His Palace Up as an LGBT Sanctuary; Throughout his life, Prince Manvendra Singh Gohil has broken traditions, stereotypes and taboosArticle discussing India's first openly gay prince.
Databases and Archives
- Archives of Sexuality and GenderFull-text primary source documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life. Documents span from 1940-2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990.
UTK Library only has access to LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1. - LGBTQ+ SourceFull-text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, newspapers, and books related to gender and sexuality.
- LGBTQ Studies in MusicResources for research in LGBTQ studies in music.
Books on LGBTQ+ Music
Queering the Pitch by
First Published in 1994. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: ML55 .Q44 1994
Queer Episodes in Music and Modern Identity by
Queer Episodes in Music and Modern Identity approaches modern sexuality by way of music. Through the hidden or lost stories of composers, scholars, patrons, performers, audiences, repertoires, venues, and specific works, this intriguing volume explores points of intersection between music and queerness in Europe and the United States in the years 1870 to 1950--a period when dramatic changes in musical expression and in the expression of individual sexual identity played similar roles in washing away the certainties of the past. Pursuing the shadowy, obscured tracks of queerness, contributors unravel connections among dissident identities and concrete aspects of musical style, gestures, and personae. On one end of the spectrum are intense, private connections and tantalizing details of musical expression: romantic correspondence between Eugenie Schumann (a daughter of Clara and Robert) and the singer Marie Fillunger; John Ireland's confessional letters to a close friend of an illicit passion for young choristers; closet formations in the music of composers such as Maurice Ravel, Edward Elgar, and Camille Saint-Sens. their repercussions: the craze for male impersonators in American vaudeville between 1870 and 1930; the politics of appropriation implicit in showy transcriptions by pianists such as Liberace; the increasingly homophobic reception accorded Tchaikovsky's music in the early twentieth century. The authors also explore how traces of queerness can mark communities, such as groups of German men who fashioned homosexual identities by way of the cult of Wagner or women musicians who were assigned suspect or deviant status by virtue of being jazz instrumentalists. Throughout these discussions, music provides the accompaniment for confrontations between disparate conventions of social propriety and diverse forms of sexual identity. These provocative essays open the consideration of music and sexuality to an exciting new sense of inbetweenness, passage, and diversion.
Call Number: ML55 .Q44 1994
LGBTQ+ Musicians
Big Freedia: God Save the Diva Queen! by Call Number: Stacks ML420.B547 A3 2015
- Jennifer Higdon's Guest Recital at UTK 2017CD of Jennifer Higdon. Talks Life and Work -- Mysterium -- Percussion Concerto
- Jennifer Higdon's Guest Recital at UTK 2017CD contains: Like clockwork -- Stomp and dance for saxophone octet -- Bop -- Amazing grace -- Legacy -- Love sweet. - Student and Faculty Recital of Jennifer Higdon's music.
- The Essentials of Camille Saint-SaënsAlbum contains Symphony No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 78, "Organ" - Violin Concerto No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 61 - Various Vocal pieces - Carnival of the Animals (arr. for 2 pianos and orchestra) - and more!
- Deep ListeningCD by Pauline Oliveros
- El relicario de los animalesCall Number: M1470.O4 R4 1998
Musical Score by Pauline Oliveros - Traveling companions : for percussion ensemble and dances [i.e. dancers]Musical Score for two percussionist and two dancers
LGBTQ+ Book Resources
The International LGBT Rights Movement by
During the past four decades, the international lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender rights movement has made significant advances, but millions of LGBT people continue to live in fear in nations where homosexuality remains illegal. The International LGBT Rights Movement offers a comprehensive account of this global force, from its origins in the mid-nineteenth century to its crucial place in world affairs today. Belmonte examines the movement's goals, the disputes about its mission, and its rise to international importance. The International LGBT Rights Movement provides a thorough introduction to the movement's history, highlighting key figures, controversies, and organizations. With a global scope that considers both state and non-state actors, the book explores transnational movements to challenge homophobia, while also assessing the successes and failures of these efforts along the way.
Call Number: HQ76.5 3B45 2021
Worldwide Perspectives on Lesbians, Gays, and Bisexuals [3 Volumes] by
This three-volume set is a rich resource for readers in any discipline interested in understanding the global, regional, and domestic experiences of LGB people. This interdisciplinary set makes a vital contribution to understanding how LGB rights are progressing--and in some cases, regressing--around the globe. The three volumes look at the lived experiences of LGB people from varied perspectives and provide comprehensive coverage on a wide variety of topics ranging from LGB youth and LGB aging to the approaches to LGB people of different religions, including Islam, Judaism, and Christianity. Chapters focus on topics including the ongoing criminalization of same-sex sexual conduct and how international human rights law can be used to improve the lives of LGB people. Particular attention is paid to the rights of bisexuals, a group often ignored in works focusing on sexual orientation. Volume 1 focuses on history, politics, and culture relating to LGB people; Volume 2 focuses on the laws--domestic and international--governing LGB people; and Volume 3 provides snapshots of the current state of LGB experience in countries worldwide, presented by geographical region: Europe, the Americas, Africa, the Middle East, and the Asia Pacific region. Includes contributions on the experience of LGB people in countries and regions that are extremely hostile to sexual minorities, including Russia, Iran, the Caribbean, Zimbabwe, and Uganda. Considers a multitude of factors that influence LGB people's quality of life, including, health, education, the economy, technology, religion, and the law. Offers comprehensive domestic, regional, and international accounts, serving as a one-stop source for in-depth, quality global research on LGB people. Addresses the intersectionality of discrimination based on sexuality and race, religion, and age.
Call Number: E-Book
Sexualities in World Politics by
As LGBTQ claims acquire global relevance, how do sexual politics impact the study of International Relations? This book argues that LGBTQ perspectives are not only an inherent part of world politics but can also influence IR theory-making. LGBTQ politics have simultaneously gained international prominence in the past decade, achieving significant policy change, and provoked cultural resistance and policy pushbacks. Sexuality politics, more so than gender-based theories, arrived late on the theoretical scene in part because sexuality and gender studies initially highlighted post-structuralist thinking, which was hardly accepted in mainstream political science. This book responds to a call for a more empirically motivated but also critical scholarship on this subject. It offers comparative case-studies from regional, cultural and theoretical peripheries to identify ways of rethinking IR. Further, it aims to add to critical theory, broadening the knowledge about previously unrecognized perspectives in an accessible manner. Being aware of preoccupations with the de-queering, disciplining nature of theory establishment in the social sciences, we critically reconsider IR concepts from a particular LGBTQ vantage point and infuse them with queer thinking. Considering the relative dearth of contemporary mainstream IR-theorizing, authors ask what contribution LGBTQ politics can provide for conceiving the political subject, as well as the international structure in which activism is embedded. This book will be of interest to students and scholars of gender politics, cultural studies and international relations theory.
Call Number: JZ1251 .S48 2015
LGBT Transnational Identity and the Media by Call Number: E-Book
LGBT Youth Issues Today by Call Number: E-Book
Global Homophobia: States, Movements, and the Politics of Oppression by Call Number: E-Book
Beauford Delaney, painter
Untitled (Red), 1960.
"Can Fire in the Park", 1946.
"James Baldwin", 1945.
Untitled (Marian Anderson), 1951.
Self-portrai, Yaddo, 1950.
Books on Beauford Delaney
An Artistic Friendship: Beauford Delaney and Lawrence Calcagno by Call Number: N40.1.D343 R63 2001
Beauford Delaney : from New York to Paris by Call Number: ND237.D339 A4 2004
Jan Morris, trans author/historian
Source: https://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/arts/sites/jan-morris/
Books Available for Checkout
Conundrum by
The great travel writer Jan Morris was born James Morris. James Morris distinguished himself in the British military, became a successful and physically daring reporter, climbed mountains, crossed deserts, and established a reputation as a historian of the British empire. He was happily married, with several children. To all appearances, he was not only a man, but a man’s man. Except that appearances, as James Morris had known from early childhood, can be deeply misleading. James Morris had known all his conscious life that at heart he was a woman. Conundrum, one of the earliest books to discuss transsexuality with honesty and without prurience, tells the story of James Morris’s hidden life and how he decided to bring it into the open, as he resolved first on a hormone treatment and, second, on risky experimental surgery that would turn him into the woman that he truly was.
Call Number: HQ77.8.M67 A3 2005
Oxford by
'Few cities,' Jan Morris observes, 'have been much more loved, loathed, and celebrated.' This book has become a classic account of the character, history, mores, buildings, climate, and people of one of Britain's most fascinating cities.'A book of outstanding excellence, with a sweep of knowledge and a distinction of style such as I have never before encountered in a work of this sort ... Brilliant alike in observation and imagination ... brings the very stones of Oxford to life'Sunday Telegraph.
Call Number: E-Book
Pauline Oliveros, composer
Source: https://www.newyorker.com/culture/culture-desk/listening-as-activism-the-sonic-meditations-of-pauline-oliveros
Materials Available for Checkout in our Collection
Sounding Out: Pauline Oliveros and Lesbian Musicality by
Sounding Out: Pauline Oliveros and Lesbian Musicalitynbsp;examines the musical career of the avant-garde composer, accordionist, whose radical innovations of the 1960s, 70s and 80s have redefined the aesthetic and formal parameters of American experimental music. While other scholars have studied Oliveros as a disciple of John Cage and a contemporary of composers Terry Riley, Lou Harrison, Gordon Mumma, and Robert Ashley, Sounding Out resituates Pauline Oliveros in a gynecentric network of feminist activists, writers, artists and musicians. This book shows how the women in Oliveros's life were central sources of creative energy and exchange during a crucial moment in feminist and queer cultural history. Crafting a dynamic relationship between feminism and music-making, this book offers a queerly original analysis of Oliveros's work as a musical form of feminist activism and argues for the productive role of experimental music in lesbian feminist theory. Sounding Out combines key elements of feminist theories of lesbian sexuality with Oliveros's major compositions, performances, critical essays, and interviews. It also includes previously unpublished correspondence between Oliveros and Edith Guttierez, Jill Johnston, Annea Lockwood, Kate Millett, and Jane Rule. nbsp;
Call Number: ML410.O5834 M63 2008- El relicario de los animales by Call Number: M1470.O4 R4 1998
- Traveling companions : for percussion ensemble and dances [i.e. dancers] by Call Number: M1470.O4 T7 1998
