Research Guides: International Coffeehouses: Latin America

Latin America

Latin America is a large region that covers all the territory in the Western Hemisphere south of the United States. It consists of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean Islands. The region is divided into 52 political units, including 33 independent countries and 19 dependencies. Brazil is by far the largest country in Latin America, both in area and in population. It occupies about two-fifths of the region’s land area and has about a third of its population.

Owensby, B. P., & Weismantel, M. (2020). Latin America. In World Book Advanced. Retrieved from
https://www.worldbookonline.com/advanced/article?id=ar314360

Latin American Women Writers

Delmira Agustini (1886-1914)

One of the most important poets of South America. Agustini was the first woman in Latin-American literature to deal boldly with the themes of sensuality and passion, and her poems have a force lacking from most Modern poetry of the period. Her life ended tragically when she was murdered by her estranged husband. Her chief works are El libro blanco (1907; “The White Book”), Cantos de la mañana (1910; “Morning Songs”), Los cálices vacíos (1913; “Empty Chalices”), El rosarío del Eros (1924; “Eros’ Rosary”), and Obras completas (1924; “Complete Works”).

Citations:

Image Citation: https://www.britannica.com/biography/Delmira-Agustini

Delmira Agustini | Uruguayan writer. (2020). Retrieved 22 September 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/biography/Delmira-Agustini.

Los Relicarios Dulces

Hace tiempo, algún alma ya borrada fué mía…

Se nutrió de mi sombra… Siempre que yo quería

El abanico de oro de su risa se abría,
O su llanto sangraba una corriente más;
Alma que yo ondulaba tal una cabellera

Derramada en mis manos… Flor del fuego y la cera…

Murió de una tristeza mía… Tan dúctil era,
Tan fiel, que a veces dudo si pudo ser jamás…

Citation: Los Relicarios Dulces, by Delmira Agustini. In Los Astros del Abismo, by Delmira Agustini. (Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay: Maximino Garcia, 1924). Retrieved from: http://lit.alexanderstreet.com/v4/services/tinyurl.resolver.aspx?tinyurl=1RSET

Delmira Agustini, Sexual Seduction, and Vampiric Conquest by Cathy L. Jrade
Call Number: PQ8519.A5 Z67 2012

Latin American Women Writers
Prose, poetry, and drama composed by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. Presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.

Online Language Learning Resources

Mango Languages
An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app.
First-time users must create a user profile on Mango Languages.
When creating your account for the first time, go through our link here on the A-Z databases page to be connected to UTK. Choose "sign up" and then choose a language to get to the profile set-up area. After account set-up, you can login from anywhere. A user profile allows you to keep track of your progress and test results.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tennessee Electronic Library
Create an account with TEL to access Transparent Language Online from their website. Find it in the right side bar entitled "Featured Resources."
Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)

Online Music Resources

Cuarteto Latinoamericano Virtual Library
Latin American works for string quartet, in PDF format. In the cases of those composers or publishers who have not relinquished their rights to free download, links are included for the purchase of materials.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
An encyclopedia about music all over the world.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
This streaming audio database produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Music: Print Resources

Cultural Nationalism and Ethnic Music in Latin America by William H. Beezley (Editor) Music has been critical to national identity in Latin America, especially since the worldwide emphasis on nations and cultural identity that followed World War I. Unlike European countries with unified ethnic populations, Latin American nations claimed blended ethnicities--indigenous, Caucasian, African, and Asian--and the process of national stereotyping that began in the 1920s drew on themes of indigenous and African cultures. Composers and performers drew on the folklore and heritage of ethnic and immigrant groups in different nations to produce what became the music representative of different countries. Mexico became the nation of mariachi bands, Argentina the land of the tango, Brazil the country of Samba, and Cuba the island of Afro-Cuban rhythms, including the rhumba. The essays collected here offer a useful introduction to the twin themes of music and national identity and melodies and ethnic identification. The contributors examine a variety of countries where powerful historical movements were shaped intentionally by music.
Call Number: ML3917.L27 C85 2018
Made in Latin America by Julio Mendívil (Editor); Christian Spencer Espinosa (Editor); Julio Mendívil (Editor) Made in Latin America serves as a comprehensive introduction to the history, sociology, and musicology of contemporary Latin American popular music. Each essay, written by a leading scholar of Latin American music, covers the major figures, styles, and social contexts of popular music in Latin America and provides adequate context so readers understand why the figure or genre under discussion is of lasting significance. The book first presents a general description of the history and background of popular music, followed by essays organized into thematic sections: Theoretical Issues; Transnational Scenes; Local and National Scenes; Class, Identity, and Politics; and Gendered Scenes.
Call Number: ML3487.A1 M33 2016
Music and Youth Culture in Latin America by Pablo Vila (Editor) Music is one of the most distinctive cultural characteristics of Latin American countries. But, while many people in the United States and Europe are familiar with musical genres such as salsa, merengue, and reggaet#65533;n, the musical manifestations that young people listen to in most Latin American countries are much more varied than these commercially successful ones that have entered the American and European markets. Not only that, the young people themselves often have little in common with the stereotypical image of them that exists in the American imagination. Bridging this divide between perception and reality, Music and Youth Culture in Latin America brings together contributors from throughout Latin America and the US to examine the ways in which music is used to advance identity claims in several Latin American countries and among Latinos in the US. From young Latin American musicians who want to participate in the vibrant jazz scene of New York without losing their cultural roots, to Peruvian rockers who sing in their native language (Quechua) for the same reasons, to the young Cubans who use music to construct a post-communist social identification, this volume sheds new light on the complex ways in which music provides people from different countries and social sectors with both enjoyment and tools for understanding who they are in terms of nationality, region, race, ethnicity, class, gender, and migration status. Drawing on a vast array of fields including popular music studies, ethnomusicology, sociology, and history, Music and Youth Culture in Latin America is an illuminating read for anyone interested in Latin American music, culture, and society.
Call Number: ML3917.L27 M863 2014

Images from World Book Online

Colonial Architecture in Latin America

Tango Dancers

Maya ruins

Rain forest in Peru

Samba dancers

Satellite City by Luis Barragán and Mathies Goeritz

Images from World Book Online: www.worldbookonline.com/advanced/article?id=ar314360

Additional Resources

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean history, sixteenth to twentieth century
Primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Latin American News Digest
A weekly online aggregator of Latin American news media, featuring condensed versions of stories written in English, but with links to all the original articles and opinion pieces in Spanish, Portuguese, and a few in English.
Latin American Newspapers. Series 1
Historical Latin American Newspapers published between 1805-1922.
If the content of a Readex or NewsBank article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by Latin authors. Supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigration issues, and political history.

International Coffeehouses: Latin America

Latin America

Latin America

Map of Latin America

Latin American Women Writers

Delmira Agustini (1886-1914)

Citations:

Image Citation: https://www.britannica.com/biography/Delmira-Agustini

Delmira Agustini | Uruguayan writer. (2020). Retrieved 22 September 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/biography/Delmira-Agustini.

Los Relicarios Dulces

Online Language Learning Resources

Latin American Music

Online Music Resources

Music: Print Resources

Images from World Book Online

Colonial Architecture in Latin America

Tango Dancers

Maya ruins

Rain forest in Peru

Samba dancers

Satellite City by Luis Barragán and Mathies Goeritz

Additional Resources