International Coffeehouses: Asian American Association

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Provides access to the Charles W. Wason Pamphlet collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library. The pamphlets are mainly in the form of addresses and speeches, guides, lecture notes, letters, and meeting minutes, published ca. 1750 to 1929.

This digital collection provides English-language primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980.

Archive collections related to China. The UTK Library has access to the China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949) collection.

A collection of statistics about China.

All British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980.

Beginning with 1897, covers the complete run of this English-language daily published in Tokyo. The archive will incorporate the most recent year's content on an annual basis.

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides a comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, the external threats during both world wars, and the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. 

Coverage 1910-1949.
 

A collection of manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse, one of the first Americans to live in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization. Coverage from 1856 to 1925.

Contains 3,460 Chinese works, including history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and more.

The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes when most of the region was largely controlled by colonial powers and then the later challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the collection incorporates coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.

Coverage from 1839 - 1976
 

Provides biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Included are 8.5 million digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works.