Research Guides: International Coffeehouses: Türkiye

Snapshots of Turkey

Turkey Library.

Burhan Ozbilici, & 2/20/2020 3:21:37 PM, apellaschiar. (2020). Turkey Library.

Turkey Activist Tria

Uncredited, & 2/19/2020 1:03:29 PM, rcackett. (2020). Turkey Activist Trial.

Turkey Istanbul Daily Life

Emrah Gurel. (2020). Turkey Istanbul Daily Life.

Art & Architecture

(Late Neolithic-Early Chalcolithic Period, Photographed: 1986). (1)

(Troy IX (ca. 85 BC-500 AD) ?, Photographed: 1993). Odeon.. (2)

(532-537, Photographed: 1953). Hagia Sophia. (3)

(ca. 1125). Virgin of Vladimir, icon. (4)

(17th cent.). Murad IV (1612-1640), sultan of the Ottoman Empire. [portrait painting]. (5)

Built originally probably by Emperor Constantine I; rebuilt by Emperor Justinian I; renovated by Maria Dukaina, mother-in-law of Emperor Alexius I; rebuilt again by Isaac Comnenus, Emperor Alexius's son; 14th century mosaics and frescos were mostly donated by Byzantine Politician Theodore Metochites; converted into a mosque by Atik Ali Pasa, Vizier of Ottoman Sultan Bayezid II; Thomas Whittemore and Paul A. Underwood from the Byzantine Institute of America and the Dumbarton Oaks Center for Byzantine Studies sponsored the restorations. (6)

Citations:

(1) Received from Artstor

(2) Received from Artstor

(3) Received from Artstor

(4) Received from Artstor

(5) Received from Artstor

(6) Received from Artstor

Databases

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library
Full-text searchable collection of early printed books in Arabic script covering many topics. Includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books. Coverage from 1475 to 1900.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library has been divided into three subject modules:
• Module 1: Religion and Law
• Module 2: Sciences, History, and Geography
• Module 3: Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Collective reference work compiled by the most prominent scholars in the field, touching on all aspects of Islam from the time of the Prophet to the present day.

Online Access - 3 simultaneous users
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Brill Reference Works. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Index Islamicus Online
An international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
If the content of an Index Islamicus article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Users of keyboard navigation or screen readers may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.

Facts in Brief

Languages: Turkish, Kurdish, Arabic

Religion: Islam

Capital: Ankara

Head Of Government: President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan

Dewdney, J. C. and Yapp, . Malcolm Edward (2024, February 21). Turkey. Encyclopedia Britannica

Mango Languages

Mango Languages
An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app.
First-time users must create a user profile on Mango Languages.
When creating your account for the first time, go through our link here on the A-Z databases page to be connected to UTK. Choose "sign up" and then choose a language to get to the profile set-up area. After account set-up, you can login from anywhere. A user profile allows you to keep track of your progress and test results.

Transparent Language
A language learning application.
Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).

All users must create a new account. If you do not have an account, please click on the SIGN UP tab to create a username and password.

Music of Turkey

Music Books about Türkiye

Music in Turkey by Eliot Bates
Call Number: ML345.T8 B37 2011
Made in Turkey by Ali C. Gedik (Editor)
Call Number: ML3502.T9 M34 2018
Greek Orthodox Music in Ottoman Istanbul by Merih Erol
Call Number: ML3060 .E76 2015
Creating Global Music in Turkey by Koray Degirmenci
Call Number: ML3757 .D44 2013

Books about Türkiye

Turkey by Sibel Bozdogan; Esra Akcan
Call Number: NA1364 .B69x 2012
Democracy, Identity and Foreign Policy in Turkey by E. Fuat Keyman; Sebnem Gumüsçu
Call Number: JQ1809.A15 K48 2014
Turkey by Andrew Finkel
Call Number: DR440 .F56 2012