Leweke, Henning. Castle "Burg Bentheim." Lower Saxony, Germany. Retrieved March 14, 2018 from https://flic.kr/p/47jhBP. (Originally photographed 2002, November 19.) Licensed by CC BY-SA 2.0.
Map of Germany
Citation:
Country Map (Germany), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Retrieved 16 March 2018 from http://www.europaworld.com/entry/de.MAP
Music
Books on German Music in Our Collection
Perspectives on German Popular Music by
In this book, native popular musicologists focus on their own popular music cultures from Germany, Austria and Switzerland for the first time: from subcultural to mainstream phenomena; from the 1950s to contemporary acts. Starting with an introduction and two chapters on the histories of German popular music and its study, the volume then concentrates on focused, detailed and yet concise close readings from different perspectives (including particular historical East and West German perspectives), mostly focusing on the music and its protagonists. Moreover, these analyses deal with very original specific genres such as Schlager and Krautrock as well as transcultural genres such as Punk or Hip Hop. There are additional chapters on characteristically German developments within music media, journalism and the music industry. The book will contribute to a better understanding of German, Austrian and Swiss popular music, and will interconnect international and especially Anglo-American studies with German approaches. The book, as a consequence, will show close connections between global and local popular music cultures and diverse traditions of study.
Call Number: ML3490 .P45 2017
German Pop Music by
The development of German pop music represents a fascinating cultural mirror to the history of post-war Germany, reflecting sociological changes and political developments. While film studies is an already established discipline, German pop music is currently emerging as a new and exciting field of academic study. This pioneering companion is the first volume to provide a comprehensive overview of the subject, charting the development of German pop music from the post-war period 'Schlager' to the present 'Diskursrock'. Written by acknowledged experts from Germany, the UK and the US, the various chapters provide overviews of pertinent genres as well as focusing on major bands such as CAN, Kraftwerk or Rammstein. While these acts have shaped the international profile of German pop music, the volume also undertakes in-depth examinations of the specific German contributions to genres such as punk, industrial, rap and techno. The survey is concluded by an interview with the leading German pop theorist Diedrich Diederichsen. The volume constitutes an indispensible companion for any student, teacher and scholar in the area of German studies interested in contemporary popular culture.
Call Number: 9783110425710
Consort Suites and Dance Music by Town Musicians in German-Speaking Europe, 1648-1700 by
This companion volume to The Courtly Consort Suite in German-Speaking Europe surveys an area of music neglected by modern scholars: the consort suites and dance music by musicians working in the seventeenth-century German towns. Conditions of work in the German towns are examined in detail, as are the problems posed by the many untrained travelling players who were often little more than beggars. The central part of the book explores the organisation, content and assembly of town suites into carefully ordered printed collections, which refutes the concept of the so-called 'classical' suite. The differences between court and town suites are dealt with alongside the often-ignored variation suite from the later decades of the seventeenth century and the separate suite-writing traditions of Leipzig and Hamburg. While the seventeenth-century keyboard suite has received a good deal of attention from modern scholars, its often symbiotic relationship with the consort suite has been ignored. This book aims to redress the balance and to deal with one very important but often ignored aspect of seventeenth-century notation: the use of blackened notes, which are rarely notated in a meaningful way in modern editions, with important implications for performance.
Call Number: ML3420.2 .R62 2016
Made in Germany by
Made in Germany: Studies in Popular Musicserves as a comprehensive introduction to the history, sociology, and musicology of contemporary German popular music. Each essay, written by a leading scholar of German music, covers the major figures, styles, and social contexts of pop music in Germany and provides adequate context so readers understand why the figure or genre under discussion is of lasting significance. The book first presents a general description of the history and background of popular music in Germany, followed by essays organized into thematic sections: Historical Spotlights; Globally German; Also "Made in Germany"; Explicitly German; and Reluctantly German.
Call Number: E-Book
Krautrock by
Krautrock is a catch-all term for the music of various white German rock groups of the 1970s that blended influences of African American and Anglo-American music with the experimental and electronic music of European composers. Groups such as Can, Popol Vuh, Faust, and Tangerine Dream arose out of the German student movement of 1968 and connected leftist political activism with experimental rock music and, later, electronic sounds. Since the 1970s, American and British popular genres such as indie, post-rock, techno, and hip-hop have drawn heavily on krautrock, ironically reversing a flow of influence krautrock originally set out to disrupt. Among other topics, individual chapters of the book focus on the redefinition of German identity in the music of Kraftwerk, Can, and Neu!; on community and conflict in the music of Amon Düül, Faust, and Ton Steine Scherben; on "cosmic music" and New Age; and on Donna Summer's and David Bowie's connections to Germany. Rather than providing a purely musicological or historical account, Krautrock discusses the music as being constructed through performance and articulated through various forms of expressive culture, including communal living, spirituality, and sound.
Call Number: ML3534.6.G3 A34 2016
The German Symphony Between Beethoven and Brahms by
It was Carl Dahlhaus who coined the phrase 'dead time' to describe the state of the symphony between Schumann and Brahms. Christopher Fifield argues that many of the symphonies dismissed by Dahlhaus made worthy contributions to the genre. He traces the root of the problem further back to Beethoven's ninth symphony, a work which then proceeded to intimidate symphonists who followed in its composer's footsteps, including Schubert, Mendelssohn and Schumann. In 1824 Beethoven set a standard that then had to rise in response to more demanding expectations from both audiences and the musical press. Christopher Fifield, who has a conductor's intimacy with the repertory, looks in turn at the five decades between the mid-1820s and mid-1870s. He deals only with non-programmatic works, leaving the programme symphony to travel its own route to the symphonic poem. Composers who lead to Brahms (himself a reluctant symphonist until the age of 43 in 1876) are frequently dismissed as epigones of Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Schumann but by investigating their symphonies, Fifield reveals their respective brands of originality, even their own possible influence upon Brahms himself and in so doing, shines a light into a half-century of neglected nineteenth century German symphonic music.
Call Number: E-Book
Books on German Culture
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by
With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. With a unique structure and format, an inclusive treatment of the concept of culture, and coverage of East, West and post-unification Germany, as well as Austria and Switzerland, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture is the first reference work of its kind. Containing longer overviews of up to 2,000 words, as well as shorter factual entries, cross-referencing to other relevant articles, useful further reading suggestions and extensive indexing, this highly useable volume provides the scholar, teacher, student or non-specialist with an astonishing breadth and depth of information.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781136816031Publication Date: 2013-04-03
Famous Figure
Dietrich Bonhoeffer
(born Feb. 4, 1906, Breslau, Ger.—died April 9, 1945, Flossenbürg) German Lutheran pastor and theologian. He attended the Universities of Berlin and Tübingen, and from 1931 he lectured in theology at the University of Berlin. He became a leading spokesman for the Confessing Church and was active in the resistance movement under the guise of employment in military intelligence. He was arrested and imprisoned in 1943. The discovery of documents connecting him with the 1944 attempt on Adolf Hitler’s life led to his execution a month before the end of World War II. One of the most insightful theologians of the 20th century, he argued for a new vision of Christianity that would abolish the division between the sacred and profane and abandon the traditional privileges of the church in favour of active involvement in the world’s problems. His best-known works include The Cost of Discipleship (1937), Ethics (1949), and Letters and Papers from Prison (1951).
Citations:
Dietrich Bonhoeffer mit Schülern. Digital Image. 21 March, 1932. German Federal Archives. Web. 16 March 2018. <commons.wikimedia.org>. Licensed by Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-R0211-316 / CC-BY-SA 3.0.
Bonhoeffer, Dietrich. (2017). In Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica concise encyclopedia. Chicago, IL: Britannica Digital Learning. Retrieved from http://proxy.lib.utk.edu:90/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ebconcise/bonhoeffer_dietrich/0?institutionId=680
Additional Resources
- Der Literarische Expressionismus OnlineA unique body of text for research of the German expressionist movement. Approximately 150 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies from the early 20th century available in full-text.
- Germanistik Online DatenbankAn international publication covering the study of German language and literary study, and associated fields.
Learn German!
- Mango Languages
An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Tennessee Electronic LibraryCreate an account with TEL to access Transparent Language Online from their website. Find it in the right side bar entitled "Featured Resources."
Facts in Brief
The Federal Republic of Germany, which was formally established in October 1990 upon the unification of the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG, West Germany) and the German Democratic Republic (GDR, East Germany), lies in the heart of Europe. It is bordered by nine countries: Denmark to the north, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and France to the west, Switzerland and Austria to the south, and the Czech Republic and Poland to the east. The climate is temperate, with an annual average temperature of 9°C (48°F), although there are considerable variations between the North German lowlands and the Bavarian Alps. The language is German. There is a small Sorbian-speaking minority (numbering about 100,000 people). In 2014 just under 30% of the population were Roman Catholics and a further 28% were members of the Evangelical Lutheran (Protestant) church.The national flag (proportions 3 by 5) consists of three equal horizontal stripes, of black, red and gold. The capital is Berlin.
President Frank-Walter Steinmeier (left) and Chancellor Olaf Scholz (right).
The German Coat of Arms
Citations:
By president.gov.ua, CC BY 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=69962940
By Federal Government/photothek.net/Thomas Köhler & Thomas Imo, https://www.bundesregierung.de/breg-en/federal-government/olaf-scholz-1989326
Country Flag (Germany), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Retrieved 16 March 2018 from http://www.europaworld.com/entry/de.FLAG
Location, Climate, Language, Religion, Flag, Capital (Germany), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Retrieved 16 March 2018 from http://www.europaworld.com/entry/de.is.2
Clara Schumann (1819 - 1896)
Clara Schumann was a German pianist, teacher, and composer of the 19th century. The daughter of renowned piano teacher Friedrich Wieck and soprano and pianist Mariane Bargiel, she was immersed in music from a young age and was a child prodigy at the piano, as well as one of the greatest pianists in Europe of her time. She would marry Robert Schumann in 1840 after a legal battle with Clara’s father, and the two would remain together until Robert’s death in 1856. Clara would pioneer many works of Robert Schumann’s, lifelong friend Johannes Brahms’s, and others, but wrote many compositions of her own thanks to her well-rounded musical education. Check out just a few works for voice, piano, and more that we have of hers at the library!
- Selected Piano Music, M22.S393 P53 2000
- Complete songs for voice and piano, M1620.S389 D7 1990
- Trio in G minor for piano, violin and violoncello, M312 .S42 op.17
- Impromptus op. 5, M25.S36 I5 2009
- Prelude and fugue for organ op. 16 no. 3, M13.S49 P73 1993
Selected Piano Music by Call Number: M22.S393 S9
Clara Schumann by
Clara Schumann had her debut as a solo-pianist in 1828 at barely the age of nine, but withdrew into the shadow of her husband, Robert, whom she married against her father's wishes. Her life, especially after his death, is also closely linked to that of Brahms. When Clara Schumann was just eighteen she realised that 'I would be unhappy if I were unable to practise my art forever'. She found after her husband Robert Schumann's death 'how necessary music is in my life - if I had to give it up I should soon perish'.
Call Number: ML417.S4 S74 2004
The Marriage Diaries of Robert and Clara Schumann by
"The Schumann Marriage diaries provide a vivid portrait of the unique artistic and personal union between two renowned musicians. For the first four years of their marriage, Robert and Clara Schumann kept a joint diary, recording their entries, at least initially, on alternate weeks. Begun on September 13, 1840, the day after their marriage, the diary opens with guidance from Robert: "This little book . . . has a very intimate meaning; it shall be a diary about everything that touches us mutually in our household and marriage."" "The diaries reflect the harmony as well as the discord in their marriage. Robert and Clara describe in intimate detail their honeymoon period, the births of their children, their busy social lives, travels throughout Europe, financial problems, separations, and reunions. The book also evokes the artistic milieu of nineteenth-century Germany. The Schumanns came in contact with many musicians, including their close friends Felix Mendelssohn and Franz Liszt, and recorded their insightful reactions to the artists and their music." "The marriage diaries cover a fertile period in Robert Schumann's life, during which he wrote the Spring Symphony, the Piano Concerto, most of his chamber music, his first oratorio, "Paradise and the Peri," and numerous songs. They reflect the frenetic pace at which he worked, as well as his growing bouts of depression, his ambivalent response to Clara's decision to return to the concert stage after a prolonged hiatus, and her anxiety in the face of Robert's changing moods." "This edition includes the couple's travel book, written during their stressful concert tour of Russia in 1844, which marked the end of the marriage diaries; Robert Schumann's descriptions of Russian customs; and the poems he wrote in Moscow - all of which provide a fascinating and uniquely detailed glimpse at what it was like to travel in Russia at the time."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: ML390 .S397 1993
Becoming Clara Schumann by
Well before she married Robert Schumann, Clara Schumann was already an internationally renowned pianist, and she concertized extensively for several decades after her husband's death. Despite being tied professionally to Robert, Clara forged her own career and played an important role in forming what we now recognize as the culture of classical music. Becoming Clara Schumann guides readers through her entire career, including performance, composition, edits to her husband's music, and teaching. Alexander Stefaniak brings together the full run of Schumann's concert programs, detailed accounts of her performances and reception, and other previously unexplored primary source material to illuminate how she positioned herself within larger currents in concert life and musical aesthetics. He reveals that she was an accomplished strategist, having played roughly 1,300 concerts across western and central Europe over the course of her six-decade career, and she shaped the canonization of her husband's music. Extraordinary for her time, Schumann earned success and prestige by crafting her own playing style, selecting and composing her own concerts, and acting as her own manager. By highlighting Schumann's navigation of her musical culture's gendered boundaries, Becoming Clara Schumann details how she cultivated her public image in order to win over audiences and embody some of her field's most ambitious aspirations for musical performance.
Call Number: ML417.S4 S87 2021
At the Piano with Robert and Clara Schumann by
This item is permanently out of print due to a claim by Dr. Siu-Wan Chair Fang (University of Illinois, 1978).
Call Number: M21 .S542 H56 1988
Clara Schumann by
This absorbing and award-winning biography tells the story of the tragedies and triumphs of Clara Wieck Schumann (1819-1896), a musician of remarkable achievements. At once artist, composer, editor, teacher, wife, and mother of eight children, she was an important force in the musical world of her time. To show how Schumann surmounted the obstacles facing female artists in the nineteenth century, Nancy B. Reich has drawn on previously unexplored primary sources: unpublished diaries, letters, and family papers, as well as concert programs. Going beyond the familiar legends of the Schumann literature, she applies the tools of musicological scholarship and the insights of psychology to provide a new, full-scale portrait.The book is divided into two parts. In Part One, Reich follows Clara Schumann's life from her early years as a child prodigy through her marriage to Robert Schumann and into the forty years after his death, when she established and maintained an extraordinary European career while supporting and supervising a household and seven children. Part Two covers four major themes in Schumann's life: her relationship with Johannes Brahms and other friends and contemporaries; her creative work; her life on the concert stage; and her success as a teacher.Throughout, excerpts from diaries and letters in Reich's own translations clear up misconceptions about her life and achievements and her partnership with Robert Schumann. Highlighting aspects of Clara Schumann's personality and character that have been neglected by earlier biographers, this candid and eminently readable account adds appreciably to our understanding of a fascinating artist and woman.For this revised edition, Reich has added several photographs and updated the text to include recent discoveries. She has also prepared a Catalogue of Works that includes all of Clara Schumann's known published and unpublished compositions and works she edited, as well as descriptions of the autographs, the first editions, the modern editions, and recent literature on each piece. The Catalogue also notes Schumann's performances of her own music and provides pertinent quotations from letters, diaries, and contemporary reviews.
Call Number: ML417.S4 R4 2001
The Berlin Philharmonic
The Berlin Philharmonic is an orchestra based out of the capital city of Berlin. Founded in 1882, the ensemble has seen Germany through both world wars and the Cold War into the present day. Numerous prominent conductors have headed the orchestra, including Hans von Bülow, Richard Strauss, Herbert von Karajan, and many more including frequent guest conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, the late Bernard Haitink, and Seiji Ozawa. The orchestra is currently conducted by Kirill Petrenko.
The Berlin Philharmonic offers a streaming service, The Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall, that we have institutional access to here at UTK. You can watch live streams of performances, view archived concerts and cinematic recordings of operas, and see interviews with conductors and members of the orchestra. All it takes is signing up with your UTK email address and logging in, and the service can be accessed on your phone, tablet, computer, or smart TV. Check out the QR code on the left to get started or check out the QR code on the right for our tutorial on the Digital Concert Hall to learn more!
Conductors in Conversation by Call Number: MT85 .C3 1990
Rubble Music by
As the seat of Hitler's government, Berlin was the most frequently targeted city in Germany for Allied bombing campaigns during World War II. Air raids shelled celebrated monuments, left homes uninhabitable, and reduced much of the city to nothing but rubble. After the war's end, this apocalyptic landscape captured the imagination of artists, filmmakers, and writers, who used the ruins to engage with themes of alienation, disillusionment, and moral ambiguity. In Rubble Music, Abby Anderton explores the classical music culture of postwar Berlin, analyzing archival documents, period sources, and musical scores to identify the sound of civilian suffering after urban catastrophe. Anderton reveals how rubble functioned as a literal, figurative, psychological, and sonic element by examining the resonances of trauma heard in the German musical repertoire after 1945. With detailed explorations of reconstituted orchestral ensembles, opera companies, and radio stations, as well as analyses of performances and compositions that were beyond the reach of the Allied occupiers, Anderton demonstrates how German musicians worked through, cleared away, or built over the debris and devastation of the war.
Call Number: E-Book
The Routledge Companion to Music under German Occupation, 1938-1945 by
Following their entry into Austria and the Sudetenland in the late 1930s, the Germans attempted to impose a policy of cultural imperialism on the countries they went on to occupy during the Second World War. Almost all music institutions in the occupied lands came under direct German control, or were subject to severe scrutiny and censorship, the prime objective being to change the musical fabric of these nations and subject them to the strictures of Nazi ideology. This pioneering collection of essays is the first in the English language to look in more detail at the musical consequences of German occupation during such a dark period in European history. It embraces a wide range of issues, presenting case studies involving musical activity in a number of occupied European cities, as well as in countries that were part of the Axis or had established close diplomatic relations with Germany. The wartime careers and creative outputs of individual musicians who were faced with the dilemma of complying with, or resisting, the impositions of the occupiers are explored. In addition, there is some reflection on the post-war implications of German occupation on the musical environment in Europe. Music under German Occupation is written for music-lovers, students, professionals and academics, including all who have in interest in 20th-century music and/or the vicissitudes of European cultural life during World War II.
Call Number: E-Book
Watch or listen to the Berlin Philharmonic here:
Agriculture in Germany
Syntax of Space by 
Visionary Gardens by 
When Modern Was Green by Call Number: SB470.L374 H36 2010
Art & Architecture
The Berlin Wall, 1989
Paul Lowe. Roses rest in a gap of the Berlin Wall in the days after its fall.. 1989. http://library.artstor.org/asset/APANOSIG_10313581834. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
"White House," painting by Erich Heckel
Heckel, Erich, 1883-1970, . White House: det.: right top house. 1908. http://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822000660553. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
Cologne Cathedral
Cologne Cathedral, Interior, Nave, view toward altar. begun 1248; choir consecrated 1322; cathedral completed 1880. http://library.artstor.org/asset/SCALA_ARCHIVES_1039931444. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
Neuschwanstein Castle
Neuschwanstein: Castle General view Main entry. c.1872. http://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822003411103. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
"Wanderer Above the Sea of Mist," painting by Caspar David Friedrich
Friedrich, Caspar David, German. Wanderer Above the Sea of Mist. 1818. http://library.artstor.org/asset/AIC_930031. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
Statuette of St. Maurice
ANONYMOUS / GERMANY (late XV century), artist. Carved altarpiece (fragment). Statuette of St. Maurice with tight curls dressed in full armor and holding a lance.. Ca. 1470.. http://library.artstor.org/asset/IBWA_DB_10332044000053819. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
Stained Glass Window of Shields and Crests
ANONYMOUS / GERMANY (late XIV century), artist. Stained-glass window composed of blazons (shields and crests).. Ca. 1370.. http://library.artstor.org/asset/IBWA_DB_10332044000055020. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
"Adoration of the Magi," illumination
Southern Germany or Austria. Adoration of the Magi. ca. 1235-50. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org. http://library.artstor.org/asset/SS7731421_7731421_11814007. Web. 16 Mar 2018.
Oktoberfest
Oktoberfest is the world’s largest annual Munich Beer Festival since 1810 and is celebrated all over the world. The folk festival, significant to Bavarian culture, runs for about 16-18 days in mid-late September to the first Sunday in October. Locals call the festival d’Wiesn after the fairgrounds where it is held, Theresieniese.
Alcohol in Popular Culture: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780313380495Publication Date: 2010-10-14See reference for Oktoberfest - This encyclopedia presents the many sides of America's ongoing relationship with alcohol, examining the political history, pivotal events, popular culture, and advances in technology that have affected its consumption. * More than 100 A-Z entries describe the culture and history of alcohol, including the drinks themselves, concepts, business aspects, entertainment, regulations, social aspects, organizations, events, rituals, use in religions, and effects on health * Compiles all-original information from 32 distinguished international and American scholars and journalists * Offers a number of historical and contemporary photographs * Extensive bibliography provides additional suggested reading
A Year in Food and Beer: Recipes and Beer Pairings for Every Season by ISBN: 9780759122659Publication Date: 2013-04-26Beer and food pairing can be as much an art form as wine and food pairing. With the explosion in craft beers and interest in seasonal cuisine, A Year in Food and Beer perfectly fills a niche. It instructs readers how to identify flavors in specific American and European beers and how to complement those with gourmet foods and cooking techniques by season. Home cooks, beer drinkers, and curious foodies will be fortified learning about beer and breweries and sampling the 40 enticing recipes and 160 beer-pairing suggestions.
German Food
Food Culture in Germany by
The grown-up Germany of today is able to explore its cultural identity, including its food culture. For some years now, German food has seen a return to regionalism, and beloved traditional dishes have been rediscovered and revived, counteracting to some extent the effects of globalization and industrialization. As well, a host of new culinary traditions brought in with new immigrants makes for an exciting food scene. Food Culture in Germany, written by a native Berliner, is destined to become a classic as the best source in English for a thorough and up-to-date understanding of Germans and their food--the history, foodstuffs, cooking, special occasions, lifestyle eating habits, and diet and health. The Historical Overview chapter takes the reader on a culinary tour from ancient times through the Holy Roman Empire to the Lebensraum of Hitler and on to reunification of the two Germanys until today's return to normalcy. Chapter 2, Major Foods and Ingredients, highlights the classic German staples. Chapter 3, Cooking, discusses the family and gender dynamics plus cooking techniques and utensils, the German kitchen, and the professional chef as media figure phenomenon. The Typical Meals chapter gives an in-depth insider's look at how and what Germans eat today. Chapter 5, Eating Out, describes the wide range of opportunities for eating out, from grabbing Currywurst on the street, to lunching in office and school cafeterias, to meeting friends for coffee and cake at the Konditerei. German holidays and special occasions are elaborated on in the context of more secular and younger influences in Chapter 6. Chapter 7 covers the German diet and the strong interest in health in the country, with its holistic roots. Food safety, a big topic in Europe today, is also discussed at length. An introduction, chronology, glossary, resource guide, selected bibliography, and illustrations complete this outstanding resource.
Call Number: E-book
Beyond Bratwurst: A History of Food in Germany by
Thanks to Oktoberfest and the popularity of beer gardens, our thoughts on German food are usually relegated to beer, sausage, pretzels, and limburger cheese. But the inhabitants of modern-day Germany do not live exclusively on bratwurst. Defying popular perception of the meat and potatoes diet, Ursula Heinzelmann’snbsp;Beyond Bratwurstnbsp;delves into the history of German cuisine and reveals the country’s long history of culinary innovation. nbsp; Surveying the many traditions that make up German food today, Heinzelmann shows that regional variations of the country’s food have not only been marked by geographic and climatic differences between north and south, but also by Germany’s political, cultural, and socioeconomic history. She explores the nineteenth century’s back-to-the-land movement, which called for people to grow food on their own land for themselves and others, as well as the development of modern mass-market products, rationing and shortages under the Nazis, postwar hunger, and divisions between the East and West. Throughout, she illustrates how Germans have been receptive to influences from the countries around them and frequently reinvented their cuisine, developing a food culture with remarkable flexibility. nbsp; Telling the story of beer, stollen, rye bread, lebkuchen, and other German favorites, the recipe-packednbsp;Beyond Bratwurstnbsp;will find a place on the shelves of food historians, chefs, and spätzle lovers alike.
Call Number: E-book
Some popular examples of dishes include: Rouladen, Spätzle, and Schnitzel.
Rouladen is thinly sliced beef wrapped with bacon, onions, mustard, and pickles. Check out this recipe! https://www.daringgourmet.com/rouladen-recipe/
Spätzle are small noodles or dumplings made with fresh eggs and is normally eaten as a side dish. Check out this recipe! https://www.curiouscuisiniere.com/spaetzle-dumplings/
Schnitzel is a thinned piece of meat (veal, pork, chicken, mutton, beef, turkey) that is breaded before fried in oil. Check out this recipe: https://thewoksoflife.com/pork-schnitzel/.
- “ From Schnitzel to Sustainability : Shifting Values at Vienna’s Urban Farmers Markets” byCall Number: Online ArticlePublication Date: 2021
Traditional German Clothing
Lederhosen, a traditional outfit worn by German male farm workers, is made up of knee-length leather breeches with braces, worn over a short sleeve shirt. Longer lederhosen are often called bundhosen or kniebundhosen. This outfit originated in Bavarian and Tyrolean culture.
Dirndle, a traditional outfit worn by women, consists of a bodice, pinafore (a sleveless garment worn underneath the dress), and a full skirt. Although these traditional outfits are no longer worn by farmers or manual labours, you can see these outfits worn during festivals, such as Oktoberfest.
Book Gallery
The Greenest Nation?
In The Greenest Nation? Frank Uekotter offers an overview of the evolution of German environmentalism since the late nineteenth century. He discusses, among other things, early efforts at nature protection and urban sanitation, the Nazi experience, and civic mobilization in the postwar years...Bringing his discussion up to the present, he shows the influence of the past on today's environmental decisions. As environmentalism is wrestling with the challenges of the twenty-first century, Germany could provide a laboratory for the rest of the world.
Back Roads Germany
This vacation guide provides scenic driving routes to charming German villages, local restaurants, and places to stay. Covers all the practical information needed, from road conditions and length of drive to parking information and opening hours.
Folklore Theory in Postwar Germany
Can the study of folklore survive brutal wars and nationalized misappropriations? Does folklore make sense in an age of fearsome technology? These are two of several questions this book addresses with specific and profound reference to the history of folklore studies in Germany. There in the early nineteenth century in the ideological context of romantic nationalism, the works of the Brothers Grimm pioneered the discipline. The sublimation of folklore studies with the nation's political history reached a peak in the 1930s under the Nazi regime. This book takes a full look at what happened to folklore after the end of World War II and the defeat of the Nazis.
New German Dance Studies
New German Dance Studies offers fresh histories and theoretical inquiries that resonate across fields of the humanities. Sixteen essays range from eighteenth-century theater dance to popular contemporary dances in global circulation. In an exquisite trans-Atlantic dialogue that demonstrates the complexity and multilayered history of German dance, American and European scholars and artists elaborate on definitive performers and choreography, focusing on three major thematic areas: Weimar culture and its afterlife, the German Democratic Republic, and recent conceptual trends in theater dance.