Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Knoxville History (Special Collections): Home

This research guide identifies materials and resources in Special Collections related to prominent people, places, and organizations in and around Knoxville.

What's in this Guide?

aerial view of the south side of the Tennessee River. Visible structures include Gay Street Bridge, Andrew Johnson Hotel, and Hamilton Bank Building.This research guide identifies materials and resources in Special Collections related to prominent people, places, and organizations in and around Knoxville.

Ariel view of downtown Knoxville taken on Sep 17, 1963, from the south side of the Tennessee River. Visible structures include Gay Street Bridge, Andrew Johnson Hotel, and Hamilton Bank Building. From the Images of East Tennessee Digital Collection.

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following to locate general information on the prominent people, places, and organizations of Knoxville's history. Try combining some terms can help return more relevant results.

  • Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Knoxville, TN History
  • Knoxville, TN Pictorial Works
  • Knoxville, TN social life and customs
  • Knoxville, TN societies and clubs
  • Knoxville, TN Theater
  • University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • World's Fair of 1982 Knoxville, Tennessee
  • The Great Smoky Mountains
     
To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Information to Get Started

Knoxville Miscellany: People, Places, and Events in Old Knoxville. 1934 (F444 .K7 A552 2008)
Heart of the Valley: a History of Knoxville, Tennessee. 1976 (F444 .K7 E28)
A Woman's Word. 1980 (HG1101 .U55)
Two Hundred Years of Black Culture in Knoxville, Tennessee, 1791-1991. 1993 (F444 .K7 B66 1993)
Knoxville. 2004 (F444 .K7 H66 2004)

Special Collections Contact Information

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website