Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Knoxville History (Special Collections): Organizations

This research guide identifies materials and resources in Special Collections related to prominent people, places, and organizations in and around Knoxville.

Digital Resources

Manuscript Resources

black and white photograph of the smoky mountains hiking club around a campfire with the folks in front lounging.
 "Smoky Mountains Hiking Club around campfire Saturday night at Three Forks." From the Albert "Dutch" Roth Digital Photograph Collection.

Irving Club Collection, 1861-2012 (MS.3649)
Founded in 1886, the Irving Club is a private literary group in Knoxville, Tennessee. This collection contains speeches, program books, minute and attendance books, book reviews, and materials documenting the history of the club from 1861 to the present.

Tennessee Woman's Press and Authors' Club Minutes, 1913-1921 (MS.0092)
This collection consists of the minutes taken from the Tennessee Woman's Press and Authors' Club meetings from 1913-1921.

Technical Society of Knoxville Records, 1921-2011 (MS.3650)
The Technical Society of Knoxville Records contains papers related to the society's business, operations, community activities and publications. The society, founded in 1921, strives to educate and assist its members and the public in technical areas that impact the Knoxville area and its inhabitants.

Newman Circle Minute Book, 1923-1928 (MS.0089)
This journal records the biweekly meetings of the Newman Circle, a women’s club that met in Knoxville. It opens with the course of study and list of officers for the 1922-23 school year before beginning the minutes for January 2, 1923. There are no records for the 1924-25 school year, and the last record is for May 22, 1928. Most of the officers changed each year, but the directors continued to be Miss Kate White and Mrs. L. E. Vedder.

Smoky Mountains Hiking Club Records, 1926-1969 (MS.0423) 
This collection consists primarily of bulletins, handbooks, photographs, song sheets, member information, and other materials documenting the Smoky Mountains Hiking Club. Also included are a few issues of the Georgia Mountaineer, three guidebooks to various areas of the Smoky Mountains, and materials describing the building of a trans-mountain road in the 1960s and the passage of the 1964 Wilderness Bill.

Tennessee WPA/National Youth Administration Records, 1933-1942 (MS.2340)
The Tennessee WPA/National Youth Administration Records, 1933-1942, contain 74 items and is separated into three series. Series I includes 30 memoranda, generally about form and payroll changes from Bruce Overton, the State Director in Tennessee. Series II consists of business letters from or to D. B. Cornwell, the District Supervisor in Knoxville. There are also blank forms, letterheads, and various undated lists about Work Projects for the National Youth Administration in Tennessee in Series III.

Ossoli Circle Collection, 1986-2006 (MS.3822) 
Founded in 1885, the Ossoli Circle was the first women's club in Tennessee. This collection consists of Ossoli Circle annual yearbooks and histories written by club historians. The histories record the activities of the organization for the fiscal years 2003-2004 and 2004-2005. The yearbooks contain department programs, bylaws, and names of officers and members for 1986-2006.

Rare Books

The Chronicle of the Year of the Irving Club. 1886 (LC6653 .K7 I8)

The History of the Knoxville Technical Society, 1921-1984. 1984 (F431 .W54 1984)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website