General Special Collections Resources
Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to prominent people, places, and organizations in the Knoxville area.
The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:
- Special CollectionsThe Special Collections website provides information about how to access collections, request materials, and provides further instruction.
- SCOUT: Special Collections Online @ UTSCOUT is Special Collections' finding aid database. You can use SCOUT to access detailed information and find every manuscript and archive collection in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Tennessee.
- UT Libraries Digital CollectionsUT Libraries Digital Collections contain images, manuscripts, and audiovisual material related to East Tennessee and American history.
- Volunteer VoicesVolunteer Voices contains digital collections from libraries and other institutions across Tennessee.
- UTK Library CatalogArchival research gets easier the more you know about your topic. Don't forget you can search the library catalog to find books and external databases that will be very helpful in your research.
To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.
Special Collections Contact Information
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu
We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu
We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials.
865-974-4480
Website
Subjects: Special Collections and Archives