Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Knoxville History (Special Collections): People

This research guide identifies materials and resources in Special Collections related to prominent people, places, and organizations in and around Knoxville.

Manuscript Resources

Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection in all caps with an all color UT comic by charlie daniel.
Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection.

McClung Family Papers, 1761-1976 (MS.3529)
This collection contains genealogical information, obituaries, correspondence, newspaper articles, diaries, legal papers, and ephemera concerning the family of Frank H. McClung (1828-1898), his children, and John W. (1859-1957) and Ellen McClung Green (1872-1956).

Grace Moore Papers, 1837-1991, bulk 1930-1947 (MS.3666)
This collection detail Moore's career as an opera singer and actress from Tennessee. Correspondence, notes, photographs, concert programs, movie and play scripts, along with newspaper clippings, fan club publications, vinyl performance records and a series of scrapbooks that follow the life, career, and death of Moore are included. Performance posters and a series of sheet music used, performed, and signed by Moore are also included, along with a group of letters written by famous composers and assembled by Moore.

Alex Haley Papers, 1870-1991 (MS.1888)
This collection houses manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, cassette tapes, videotapes, trial transcripts, and other materials documenting Alex Haley's literary career. Of particular interest are those materials showing Haley's and the subsequent plagiarism trials related to the book.

Mary Boyce Temple Papers, 1879-1920 (MS.0022)
This collection contains correspondence and letters relating to the Daughters of the American Revolution from 1876-1920. Also in this collection are letters of James W. Harle to Mrs. Sam McKinney, letters to O. P. Temple from his wife, and the correspondences of Mary B. Temple. The ephemera file contains an old Bible, a book of Psalms, and the writings of Mary B. Temple.

Charles I. Barber Papers, 1898-1962 (MS.2006)
This collection is comprised mainly of whole publications and clippings from periodicals saved by Charles Barber for his files. Also included are personal files, including notes and projects from the University of Pennsylvania, tax forms and personal files of Blache Barber, files related to individual projects, and general correspondence.

‚ÄčJames Agee and James Agee Trust Collection, circa 1920-2003 (MS.2730)
The James Agee and James Agee Trust Collection contains materials belonging to James Agee, his family, and the James Agee Trust, which was established to protect the rights of his widow Mia and their three children. Material related to Agee himself includes an abundance of correspondence (with his wives, his mother, Mrs. Erskine (Laura) Wright, and friends and co-workers, such as David McDowell, Charlie and Oona Chaplin, Robert Fitzgerald, Archibald Macleish, Walker Evans, John Huston, David O. Selznick, etc.), financial and legal papers, clippings, articles, pictures, and his writings.

Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Collection, 1951-2012 (MS.3526)
This collection consists of over 20,000 original cartoons drawn by Charlie Daniel during his career as the editorial cartoonist at the Knoxville Journal (from 1958) and the Knoxville News-Sentinel (from 1992). In these cartoons, Daniel has offered comments upon life in general and politics in particular, through a cast of characters that includes – in addition to real people – Rosie the diner cook, Elmo Smidlap the everyman, and someone who looks remarkably like the artist himself. The cartoons look at topics from holidays and local charity events to national scandals and international conflicts. Link to the Charlie Daniel Editorial Cartoon Digital Collection below. 

Jane Merchant Literary Manuscripts Collection, 1954-1963 (MS.0333)
The Jane Merchant Literary Manuscripts Collection contains the manuscripts of the poet's first six books of inspirational prose and poetry, all published by Abingdon Press.

Rare Books and Facsimiles

The McClung Genealogy. A Genealogical and Biographical Record of the McClung Family from the Time of Their Emigration to the Year 1904. 1904 (CS71 .M1286)

Men of affairs in Knoxville. 1917 (F444.K7 B3 1917) 

Knoxville men and women of affairs. 1928? (F444.K7 K73)

You're Only Human Once. 1944 (ML420.M57 A3)

A Window on Eternity. 1989 (PS3528 .E54 Z87 1989)

It was Self Defense--He Drew on me. 1994 (NC1429 .D22 A44 1994)

Digital Resources

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website