African Americans in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home
Special Collections: Getting Started
Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the African American experience in East Tennessee from the late 18th century to present day.
The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:
Use the following to locate general information and resources related to the African American experience in East Tennessee.
There are several search terms to use when looking for materials, for example: abolition, African American, Afro-American, Black, civil rights, colored, desegregation, freedmen, integration, negro, race, segregation, slave, slavery. Although some of the terms are dated, they reflect the historic usage and can help identify contemporaneous materials. Combining some terms can help return more relevant results.
The Special Collections online finding aids are indexed using Library of Congress headings. Some relevant headings include:
- Knoxville's African-American Community, 1860-1920. 1989 (F444.K7 J66 1989)
- The History of Blacks in Knoxville, Tennessee: The First One Hundred Years, 1791-1891. 1990 (F444.K7 H58 1990)
- Two Hundred Years of Black Culture in Knoxville, Tennessee, 1791 to 1991. 1993 (F444.K7 B66 1993)
- The Negro in Tennessee Politics and Governmental Affairs, 1865-1965: The Hundred Years Story. 1965 (E185.93.T3 S26)
- Blacks in Tennessee, 1791-1970. 1981 (E185.93.T3 L36)
- Appalachians and Race: The Mountain South from Slavery to Segregation. 2001 (E185.912 .A67 2001)
- Trial and Triumph: Essays in Tennessee's African American History. 2002 (F445.N4 T75 2002)
- The Civil Rights Movement in Tennessee: A Narrative History. 2005 (E185.93 .T3 L68 2005)
- Separate Peoples, One Land: The Minds of Cherokees, Blacks, and Whites on the Tennessee Frontier. 2007 (F445 .A1 C86 2007)