Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This guide includes materials from several religious denominations in Tennessee, as well as early hymnbooks.

What's in this Guide?

black and white photograph of a church baptismal service held on the Cumberland River with the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Bridge in the background. Participants are seen being submerged backwards into the water while church members watch along the bank of the river.This research guide contains Special Collections material relevant to religious denominations in Tennessee and hymnbooks. 

A Black church baptismal service held on the Cumberland River with the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Bridge visible in the background. Participants are seen being submerged backwards into the water while church members watch along the bank of the river in the distance. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection.

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following terms to locate materials related to the religion in East Tennessee. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • denominations
  • mission
  • frontier
  • sermons
  • evangelical
  • hymn
  • song
  • synod
  • circuit
  • serpent 
   

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Rare Books Resources for Religion in Tennessee

Religion in America: Or an Account of the Origin, Relation to the State, and Present Condition of the Evangelical Churches in the United States. (BR515 .B3 1844a)
Revivals of Religion.1895 (BV3790 .H8)  
The Gospel Among the Slaves. 1893 (BV2783 .H3)   

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website