Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Tennessee (Special Collections): Episcopalians

This guide includes materials from several religious denominations in Tennessee, as well as early hymnbooks.

Manuscripts

 Black and white photograph of church Street Methodist Episcopal Church
Church Street Methodist Episcopal Church

Harrison Scrapbook Collection, 1930-1945 (MS.1077)
This collection houses 19 scrapbooks assembled by Eleanor Harrison documenting Franklin Delano Roosevelt and his administration, Knoxville and Knox County history, the Blount Mansion, the Daughters of the American Revolution, the United Daughters of the Confederacy, St. John's Episcopal Church, and England's Royal visitors to the United States.

Robert G. Tatum Papers, 1869-1956, undated (MS.0774)
This collection consists of several diaries kept by Robert G. Tatum, including one kept during the time he participated in the first ascent of Mount McKinley in June of 1913. The other diaries date from between 1918 and 1923. The collection also includes a photograph album, several loose postcards and personal letters, a Bible, several address books, the 1921 commencement program for the University of the South, a copy of the February 1933, and a few other personal notebooks in Tatum’s hand. Also included is a certification of confirmation into the church from April 3, 1869, written in German.  Tatum's diary about Mount McKinley has been digitized and is available here.

Tennessee Episcopal Bishops Collection, 1858-1956 (MS.2279)
The Episcopal Bishops Collection, 1858-1956, contains letters, envelopes, printed portraits, and other materials related primarily to bishops of the Episcopal Church's Diocese of Tennessee. Included are notes and a lengthy letter from James Hervey Otey, the first Bishop of Tennessee.

Rare Books

A Charge to the Clergy of the Diocese of Tennessee Delivered at St. Luke's Church, Jackson, Diocesan Convention, May 12, 1870. 1870 (BX5937.Q75 C5)
Constitution and Canons of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Tennessee Amended and Ordered Reprinted by the Council. 1887 (BX5957.T4 A5 1887)
History of the Church in the Diocese of Tennessee. 1900 (BX5918.T3 N8)
A Pastoral Letter Addressed to the Members of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Tennessee. 1860 (BX5937.O8 P3)
Records and Histories of Certain Episcopal Churches in Tennessee. 1938 (BX5917.T3 H5)
Two Letters in Reply to Certain Publications of the Rev. Dr. Samuel Miller. 1836 (BV670 .W4 1836)
An Unfinished Sermon: Being that which was in Course of Preparation. 1857 (BX5937.T64 U5 1857)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website