Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Tennessee (Special Collections): Methodists

This guide includes materials from several religious denominations in Tennessee, as well as early hymnbooks.

Manuscripts

 colorful postcard illustration of the First Methodist Church
First Methodist Church

Dr. Amos R. Garrison Diary, 1898-1902 (MS.2487)
This collection contains the diary of Dr. Amos R. Garrison of Knoxville, Tennessee. Garrison's diary spans the years 1898 to July 31, 1902 with the bulk of the passages in reference to the people he met, the places he visited (i.e. Chattanooga, Louisville, Salt Lake City, and San Francisco), and both his schooling and his teaching.

Methodist Episcopal Church Minutes, 1865 (MS.0188)
This collection consists of a book of minutes for the Methodist Episcopal Church in Knoxville, Tennessee.        

Methodist Episcopal Church South Holston Conference Minutes, 1886 (MS.1607)
This collection consists of the minutes taken at the meeting of the Methodist Episcopal Church Holston Conference held in 1886.

Rev. Miles McCuistion Papers, 1894-1916 (MS.2248)
The Reverend Miles F. McCuistion Papers, 1894-1916, contain letters to McCuistion regarding his ordination in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South as well as other materials providing insight into religion in East Tennessee around the turn of the 20th century.

W. H. Rogers Journal and Other Materials, 1844-1848, 1877, 1915 (MS.0095)
This collection consists primarily of a journal that W. H. Rogers kept between 1844 and 1848. In it, he discusses his work as a Methodist circuit rider in the southeast, including the places he visits and the people he meets. The blank pages of the book have been used to transcribe a Semi-Centennial Sermon and to record the April 1877 transactions of a local chapter of the American Bible Society. The collection also houses a number of newspaper clippings, a letter requesting information about Rogers' work in the 1840s, advertisements, and an essay entitled The M. E. Church South 1844 and its Connection with Slavery.

Rare Books

Bible Tools for Busy people: A Collection of All the Author's Pamphlets. 1898 (BX8331 .N53 1898)

Christian Advocate and Journal and Zion’s Herald. 1828-1829 (BX8201 .C7)

The Epworthian [Epworth League of the First Methodist Episcopal Church], 1892- (BX8205 .E6)

Holston Journal, 1862-? (Folio: AN48.K6 H64) 

The Holston Messenger, 1827-1829. (BX8381.H7 H64) [Local denominational newspapers, various dates.]

The Holston Methodist, 1872-?. (AN48.K6 H65)

“Records and Histories of Methodist churches in Tennessee.” Prepared by the Tennessee Historical Records Survey, Work Projects Administration, 1938-1939. (BX8374 .T4H5)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website