Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Tennessee (Special Collections): Baptists

This guide includes materials from several religious denominations in Tennessee, as well as early hymnbooks.

Manuscripts

 colorful illustrated print of the First Baptist Church
First Baptist Church

Bean’s Creek Baptist Church Minute Book, 1814-1876 (MS.2473)
The Bean's Creek Baptist Church Minute Book, 1814-1876, includes entries from 1814-1815, 1822-1860, and 1868-1876, for the Old Primitive Baptist Church of Bean's Creek, Tenn. As Church Clerks, members of the Lipscomb and Woods families recorded most of the entries.

The Knox County Missionary Baptists, 1786-1945 (MS.1668)
This collection consists of a history of the Missionary faction of the Baptist Church in Knoxville, Tennessee between the years of 1786 and 1945. The history was written by Katherine Baker Johnson, and the work is undated.

John Knox Womack Papers, 1842-1926 (MS.0744)
This collection houses a wealth of material illustrating the lives of J. K. Womack and his family in Rutherford County, Tennessee during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Among the items included are land deeds, indentures, genealogical information, material documenting the Baptist Church, broadsides, and correspondence and other information describing Joseph A. Johnson's application for a pension.

Meigs County, Goodfield Baptist Church Minutes, 1827-1852 (MS.0342)
This collection consists of the minutes of meetings of Goodfield Baptist Church (Meigs County, Tenn.) from 1827-1852.

Rhea County, Luminary Baptist Church Minutes, 1819-1839 (MS.0185)
This collection consists of a book of minutes for meetings of the Luminary Baptist Church (Rhea County, Tenn.) from 1819-1839.

Rare Books

Annual Session of the East Tennessee Baptist Sunday-School Convention. 1891 (BX6248.T2 E3)
Baptist Beacon. 1880 (BX6201 .B35)
The Baptist. (BX6201.B38)
Circular Address on the Deaconship. 1845 (BX6346 .C3 1845)
The Knoxville Baptist Church: Her Covenant and Rules of Order and Decorum. 1860 (BX6480.K7 K76 1860)
The Southern Baptist Review and Eclectic. 1855-1856 (BX6201 .S6)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website