Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Tennessee (Special Collections): Hymnals

This guide includes materials from several religious denominations in Tennessee, as well as early hymnbooks.

Manuscripts

George E. Webb Thesis, 1975 (MS.1179) 
George E. Webb wrote this thesis while completing his Master of Church Music degree at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. In it, he examines William Caldwell's Union Harmony hymn book, which was originally published in 1837.

Moore Family Collection, 1794-1945 (MS.2676)
The Moore Family Collection consists of daybooks, songbooks, correspondence, photographs, and other papers, both personal and professional, relating to the Moore Family of East Tennessee. The collection also contains materials related to Tusculum College (Greeneville, Tenn.) and Knoxville's 1982 World's Fair.

Rare Books

Cover of The Hymnal for Worship & Celebration
Cover of The Hymnal for Worship & Celebration

The Amaranth. 1872 (M2127 .H2)

Celestial Echoes. 1943 (M2121 .W5)
A Collection of Hymns for Public, Social, and Domestic Worship. 1859 (M2127 .M57 1859)
The Gem. 1880 (M2117 .H35 1880)
The Knoxville Harmony of Music Made Easy. 1840 (M2121 .K66 1840)
The Methodist Harmonist. 1833 (M2127 .M587 1833)
Millennial Praises.1813 (BV442 .W4 1813)
Primitive Baptist Hymn and Tune Book. 1918 (M2122 .P67)
Pentecostal Hymns. 1902 (M2117 .P39 1902)
Sacred Melodies. 1889 (M2117 .A85 1889)
Songs of Faith. 1933 (M2122 .S6 1933)
Song service and Revival. 1933 (M2117 .S6) 
The Zion Songster: A Collection of Hymns and Spiritual Songs Generally Sung at Camp and Prayer Meetings and in Revivals of Religion. 1844 (BV460 .Z5)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website