Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in Tennessee (Special Collections): General Special Collections Resources

This guide includes materials from several religious denominations in Tennessee, as well as early hymnbooks.

General Special Collections Resources

Special Collections has both rare books and unpublished manuscript collections related to the history of religion in Tennessee. Examples of resources include minutes, sermons, records, letters, biographies, church histories, diaries, Sunday school literature, periodicals, hymnals, and convention notes related to numerous denominations and religious events in Tennessee. These primary sources form an important and unique collection of nineteenth and twentieth century religious history.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website