Skip to main content

Civil War in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials in Special Collections regarding the Civil War in Tennessee.

Special Collections: Getting Started

Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections. This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the Civil War in Tennessee.

The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

General Resources

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to the Civil War in Tennessee.

Search Terms

There are several search terms to use when looking for materials, for example: Battle of Chattanooga, Battle of Franklin, Battle of Nashville, Battle of Stones River, Civil War, Confederacy, confederate states, Fort Pillow, Fort Sanders, personal narratives, Shiloh, soldier, Union. Combining some terms can help return more relevant results.

The Special Collections online finding aids are indexed using Library of Congress headings.  Some relevant headings include:

Chattanooga (Tenn.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Chattanooga, Battle of, Chattanooga, Tenn., 1863
Fort Donelson, Battle of, Tenn., 1862
Fort Sanders, Battle of, Knoxville, Tenn., 1863
Knoxville (Tenn.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Murfreesboro (Tenn.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Nashville (Tenn.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Shiloh, Battle of, Tenn., 1862
Soldiers -- Tennessee, East -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Stones River, Battle of, Murfreesboro, Tenn., 1862-1863
Tennessee -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Tennessee -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives
Tennessee, East -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865

Digital Resources

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website