Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials in Special Collections regarding the Civil War in Tennessee.

What's in this Guide?

Colorful sheet music cover of a Civil War era song showing Columbia holding the United States flag, an eagle, ships and weapons.This research guide identifies Special Collections materials related to the Civil War in Tennessee.

The image on the left is a sheet music cover for "Hail! Glorious Banner of our Land" composed by Mary Farell Moore c.1861. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following terms to locate materials related to the Civil War in East Tennessee. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • Battle of Chattanooga
  • Battle of Franklin
  • Battle of Nashville
  • Battle of Stones River
  • Civil War
  • Confederacy
  • confederate states
  • Fort Pillow
  • Fort Sanders
  • personal narratives 
  • Shiloh
  • soldier
  • Union

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

Digital Resources for the Civil War

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website