Musician's Health and Wellness
Musician's Health and Wellness
"This variable composition of man's body hath made it as an instrument easy to distemper. Therefore, the poets did well to conjoin music and medicine in Apollo, because the office of medicine is but to tune this curious harp of man's body and to reduce it to harmony."
-- Francis Bacon, Advancement of Learning
Display Case
Musician's Health and Wellness, August 2023
Musicians have unique health and wellness needs. Taking care of your instrument includes taking care of yourself!
Books on Health and Wellness
Notes of Hope: stories by musicians coping with injuries by
Many musicians grapple with the heartbreak of pain and injury, yet stories of recovery remain woefully scarce. This book is intended to help rectify that shortcoming. All the authors in Notes of Hope have dealt with debilitating injuries that made making music painful, difficult, or impossible. Their stories are offered as a testament to what is possible through resourcefulness, creativity, and perseverance. These stories are real-life snapshots of musicians who have come to terms with their difficulties. Those who are in trouble and those who wish to avoid trouble will find refuge in Notes of Hope.
Call Number: ML3820 .N68 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Music and the Body by
The presence of the phenomenological body is central to music in all of its varieties and contradictions. With the explosion of scholarly works on the body in virtually every field in the humanities, the social as well as the biomedical sciences, the question of how such a complexunderstanding of the body is related to music, with its own complexity, has been investigated within specific disciplinary perspectives. The Oxford Handbook of Music and the Body brings together scholars from across these fields, providing a platform for the discussion of the multidimensionalinterfaces of music and the body.The book is organized into six sections, each discussing a topic that defines the field: the moving and performing body; the musical brain and psyche; embodied mind, embodied rhythm; the disabled and sexual body; music as medicine; and the multimodal body. Connecting a wide array of diverseperspectives and presenting a survey of research and practice, the Handbook provides an introduction into the rich world of music and the body.
Call Number: ML3830 .O88 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies by
The Oxford Handbook of Disability Studies represents a comprehensive state of current research for the field of Disability Studies and Music. The forty-two chapters in the book span a wide chronological and geographical range, from the biblical, the medieval, and the Elizabethan, through thecanonical classics of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, up to modernist styles and contemporary musical theater and popular genres, with stops along the way in post-Civil War America, Ghana and the South Pacific, and many other interesting times and places.Disability is a broad, heterogeneous, and porous identity, and that diversity is reflected in the variety of bodily conditions under discussion here, including autism and intellectual disability, deafness, blindness, mobility impairment often coupled with bodily difference, and cognitive andintellectual impairments. Amid this diversity of time, place, style, medium, and topic, the chapters share two core commitments. First, they are united in their theoretical and methodological connection to Disability Studies, especially its central idea that disability is a social and culturalconstruction. Disability both shapes and is shaped by culture, including musical culture. Second, these essays individually and collectively make the case that disability is not something at the periphery of culture and music, but something central to our art and to our humanity.
Call Number: ML3916 .O96 2016
Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology by
The field of Music Psychology has grown dramatically in the past 20 years, to emerge from being just a minor topic to one of mainstream interest within the brain sciences. However, until now, there has been no comprehensive reference text in the field.The Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology is a landmark text providing, for the first time ever, a comprehensive overview of the latest developments in this fast-growing area of research. With contributions from over fifty experts in the field, the range and depth of coverage is unequalled. All thechapters combine a solid review of the relevant literature with well-reasoned arguments and robust discussions of the major findings, as well as original insights and suggestions for future work.Written by leading experts, the 52 chapters are divided into 11 sections covering both experimental and theoretical perspectives, each edited by an internationally recognised authorityTen sections each present chapters that focus on specific areas of music psychology:- the origins and functions of music- music perception- responses to music- music and the brain- musical development- learning musical skills- musical performance- composition and improvisation- the role of music in our everyday lives- music therapy and conceptual frameworksIn each section, expert authors critically review the literature, highlight current issues, and explore possibilities for the future. The final section examines how in recent years the study of music psychology has broadened to include a range of other scientific disciplines. It considers the waythat the research has developed in relation to technological advances, fostering links across the field and providing an overview of the areas where the field needs further development in the future.The Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology will be the essential reference text for students and researchers across psychology and neuroscience.
Call Number: ML3830 .O9 2009
Teaching the Whole Musician by
In Teaching the Whole Musician: A Guide to Wellness in the Applied Studio, author Paola Savvidou empowers applied music instructors to honor and support their students' wellness through compassion-filled conversation tools, hands-on activities for injury prevention, mental health protection, and recovery support. Many music students are facing devastating injuries and emotional peril as they navigate the transition from student to professional. Experts are sounding the alarm for the need to educate students on the negative effects of habits such as postural misalignments, sleep deprivation, and over exertion. In this book, music teachers will learn how to help students develop skills and learn behaviors that will expand their self-awareness as they work towards a fulfilled career in the arts. With a wealth of additional movement experiences, audio files, and downloadable worksheets, the instructor can easily share movement exercises, nutrition diaries, and meditations with their students. The first guidebook of its kind to address wellness for music students in a comprehensive manner geared towards the applied instructor, this volume provides simple yet impactful techniques for approaching all things wellness.
Call Number: ML3820 .S28 2021
Performing Arts Medicine in Clinical Practice by Call Number: Online Access
Musical Excellence by
Musical Excellence offers performers, teachers, and researchers, new perspectives and practical guidance for enhancing performance and managing the stress that typically accompanies performance situations. It draws together, for the first time in a single collection, the findings of pioneering initiatives from across the arts and sciences. Specific recommendations are provided alongside comprehensive reviews of existing theory and research, enabling the practitioner to place the strategies and techniques within the broader context of human performance and encouraging novel ways of conceptualizing music and teaching. Part 1, Prospects and Limits, sets out ground rules for achieving musical excellence. What roles do innate talent, environmental influences, and sheer hard work play in attaining eminence? How can musicians best manage the physical demands of a profession that is intrinsically arduous throughout a career that can literally span a lifetime? How can performers, teachers, and researchers effectively assess and reflect on performance enhancement for themselves, their colleagues, and their students? Part II, Practice Strategies, presents approaches for increasing the effectiveness and efficiency of practice. These are generally for the individual and ensembles and specifically for the tasks of memorizing, sight-reading, and improvising music. Musicians spend vast amounts of time and energy acquiring and refining their skills, but are there particular rehearsal strategies that they can employ to produce better performance results or to achieve the same results more quickly? What implication does existing knowledge of human information processing and physical functioning have for musical learning and practice? Part III, Techniques and Interventions, introduces scientifically validated methods for ordered from the more physical to the psychological to the pharmacological; however, they all address the issues of both mental and physical significance for the musician. Collectively, they stand as clear evidence that applied, cross-disciplinary research can facilitate musicians' strive for performance excellence. Throughout, the book highlights ways for musicians to make the most of their existing practice, training, and experience and to give them additional tools for acquiring and developing new skills. Each chapter is underpinned by physical and psychological principles relevant to all performance traditions that demand dedication and resilience, unique artistic vision, and effective communication.
Call Number: ML457 .M862 2004
The Balanced Musician by
Competition (works on the psychosomatics of musical performance and technique)Mastering the Art of Performance by Stewart Gordon (Oxford, 2005/Jan 2010), 224 pages, $40 cloth, $19.95 paper. (Trade) Cloth: Pub Alley: 523 units (cloth), $13,788.19; (paper) 31 units, $619.90 BookScan: 1,268 units (cloth); 267 units (paper) WorldCat: 941 records Musical Excellence: Strategies and Techniques to Enhance Performance. Edited by Aaron Williamon (Oxford, 2004), 320 pages, $98.50 cloth, $69.95 paper. (Professional) Cloth: Pub Alley: 42 units (cloth), $4,644.91; 160 units (paper), $7,787.07 BookScan: 3 (cloth); 179 (paper) WorldCat: 320 recordsPsychology for Performing Artists: Butterflies and Bouquets, 2nd ed., by G.D. Wilson (Wiley, 2002), 250 pages, $70 paper. (Professional) Pub Alley: 65 units, $2,655.24 BookScan: 32 units WorldCat: 114 records
Call Number: ML3830 .M33 2013
Hearing Protection
Hearing Protection and Hearing Loss
Musicians are at an increased risk for noise-induced hearing loss (NIHL). Protect your hearing by monitoring noise exposure and wearing ear protection as appropriate.
Forgot your earplugs at home? Ask for a pair at the music library front desk!
- Hearing Loss in Musicians: Prevention and Management byCall Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781597567480
- Reducing the Risk of Hearing Disorders Among MusiciansThe National Institute of Occupational Health and Safety publishes a compilation of hearing protection guidelines specifically for working musicians.
- NIOSH Sound Level Meter AppFree iOS app developed by NIOSH to monitor sound levels and noise exposure
- PubMed
This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Search PubMed for more research on performing arts medicine, or try the articles listed below:
- Schink T, Kreutz G, Busch V, et al. (2014). Incidence and relative risk of hearing disorders in professional musicians. Occupational and Environmental Medicine 71:472-476.
- Phillips, S. L. and Mace, S. (2008). Sound level measurements in music practice rooms. Music Performance Research 2: 36-47.
- Maghiar MJ, Lawrence BJ, Mulders WH, Moyle TC, Livings I, Jayakody DM. (2023). Hearing loss and mental health issues in amateur and professional musicians. Psychology of Music.
Music and the Brain
Music and the Brain
Musicophilia by
Music can move us to the heights or depths of emotion. It can persuade us to buy something, or remind us of our first date. It can lift us out of depression when nothing else can. It can get us dancing to its beat. But the power of music goes much, much further. Indeed, music occupies more areas of our brain than language does—humans are a musical species. Oliver Sacks’s compassionate, compelling tales of people struggling to adapt to different neurological conditions have fundamentally changed the way we think of our own brains, and of the human experience. In Musicophilia, he examines the powers of music through the individual experiences of patients, musicians, and everyday people—from a man who is struck by lightning and suddenly inspired to become a pianist at the age of forty-two, to an entire group of children with Williams syndrome, who are hypermusical from birth; from people with “amusia,” to whom a symphony sounds like the clattering of pots and pans, to a man whose memory spans only seven seconds—for everything but music. Our exquisite sensitivity to music can sometimes go wrong: Sacks explores how catchy tunes can subject us to hours of mental replay, and how a surprising number of people acquire nonstop musical hallucinations that assault them night and day. Yet far more frequently, music goes right: Sacks describes how music can animate people with Parkinson’s disease who cannot otherwise move, give words to stroke patients who cannot otherwise speak, and calm and organize people whose memories are ravaged by Alzheimer’s or amnesia. Music is irresistible, haunting, and unforgettable, and in Musicophilia, Oliver Sacks tells us why.
Call Number: ML3830 .S13 2007
The Oxford Handbook of Music and the Brain by
The study of music and the brain can be traced back to the work of Gall in the 18th century, continuing with John Hughlings Jackson, August Knoblauch, Richard Wallaschek, and others. These early researchers were interested in localizing musicality in the brain and learning more about how musicis processed in both healthy individuals and those with dysfunctions of various kinds. Since then, the research literature has mushroomed, especially in the latter part of the 20th and early 21st centuries.The Oxford Handbook of Music and the Brain is a groundbreaking compendium of current research on music in the human brain. It brings together an international roster of 54 authors from 13 countries providing an essential guide to this rapidly growing field.The major themes include Music, the Brain, and Cultural Contexts; Music Processing in The Human Brain; Neural Responses to Music; Musicianship and Brain Function; Developmental Issues in Music and the Brain; Music, the Brain, and Health; and the Future. Each chapter offers a thorough review of thecurrent status of research literature as well as an examination of limitations of knowledge and suggestions for future advancement and research efforts.The book is valuable for a broad readership including neuroscientists, musicians, clinicians, researchers and scholars from related fields but also readers with a general interest in the topic.
Call Number: ML3830 .O89 2019
Music, Motor Control and the Brain by
The motor actions that can be witnessed as a virtuoso musician performs can be so fast, so accomplished, so precise, as to seem somehow superhuman. The musician has to produce the movements, monitor those they have already made and the subsequent result, co-ordinate their hands, fingers, eyes, and perhaps throat and diaphragm. These achievements are of course the product of hundreds, even thousands of hours of practice-playing scales, studies, time and time again. But those hours of practice by no means guarantee that great musicianship will result. This technical prowess has to be combined with a range of other, perhaps, less tangible qualities. This book explores the secrets of musical virtuosity. It presents a comprehensive account of music and motor cognition, examining the neural basis of music making - our understanding of which is just starting to be enhanced by brain imaging. It considers the effect on our brains of prolonged music making. It explores the motor processes across a range of instruments (vocal, string, wind, percussion) and within different performance situations. It also considers what happens when things start to go wrong - why motor problems occur in so many professional musicians in later life, and the possible therapies for such problems. Music is a topic of considerable interest within the brain sciences. With contributions from leading psychologists, neuroscientists, and neurologists, this book makes a unique contribution to our understanding of music and the brain.
Call Number: ML3820 .M875 2006
Stage Fright and Performance Anxiety
- Stage Light, Stage Fright (2007)Documentary interviewing performing musicians about their experiences with stage fright and the emotional challenges of music performance.
Performance Anxiety Strategies : A Musician's Guide to Managing Stage Fright by Call Number: Online Access
The Psychology of Music Performance Anxiety by
Why are some performers exhilarated and energized about performing in public, while others feel a crushing sense of fear and dread, and experience public performance as an overwhelming challenge that must be endured? What are the factors that produce such vastly different performanceexperiences? Why have consummate artists like Frederic Chopin, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Pablo Cassals, Tatiana Troyanos, and Barbra Streisand experienced such intense music performance anxiety? This is a disorder that can affect musicians across a range of genres and of all standards. Some of the'cures' musicians resort to can be harmful to their health and detrimental to their playing.This is the first rigorous exposition of music performance anxiety. In this groundbreaking work, Dianna Kenny draws on a range of disciplines including psychology, philosophy, phenomenology, psychoanalysis, and performance theory in order to explain the many facets of music performance anxiety thathave emerged in the empirical and clinical literature. She identifies some unifying guiding principles that will enhance our understanding of the condition and guide researchers and clinicians in the development of effective treatments. The book provides a detailed conceptual framework for the studyof music performance anxiety and a review of the empirical and clinical research on the anxiety disorders. In addition it presents a thorough analysis of the concepts related to music performance anxiety, its epidemiology, and theories and therapies that may be useful in understanding and treatingthe condition. The voices of musicians are clearly heard throughout the book and in the final two chapters, we hear directly from musicians about how they experience it and what they do to manage it.This book will lay a firm foundation for theorizing music performance anxiety and be of enormous value interest to those in the fields of music and music education, clinical psychology, and performance studies.
Call Number: ML3830 .K46 2011ISBN: 9780199586141
Managing Stage Fright: a guide for musicians and music teachers by
Why is it that well-prepared, talented, hardworking, and intelligent performers find their performance and self-esteem undermined by the fear of memory slips, technique failures, and public humiliation? In Managing Stage Fright: A Guide for Musicians and Music Teachers, author Julie Jaffee Nagel unravels these mysteries, taking the reader on an intensive backstage tour of the anxious performer's emotions to explain why stage fright happens and what performers can do to increase their comfort in the glare of the spotlight. Examining the topic from her interdisciplinary educational, theoretical, clinical, and personal perspectives, Nagel uses the music teacher/student relationship as a model for understanding the performance anxiety that affects musicians and non-musicians alike. Shedding new light on how the performer's emotional life is connected to every other facet of their life, Managing Stage Fright encourages a deeper understanding of anxiety when performing. The guide offers strategies for achieving performance confidence, emphasizing the relevance of mental health in teaching and performing. Through the practices of self-awareness outlined in the book, Nagel demonstrates that it is possible and desirable for teachers to assist students in developing the coping skills and attitudes that will allow them to not feel overwhelmed and powerless when they experience strong anxiety. Each chapter contains insights that help teachers recognize the symptoms - obvious, subtle, and puzzling - of the emotional grip of stage fright, while offering practical guidelines that empower teachers to empower their students. The psychological concepts offered, when added to pedagogical techniques, are invaluable in music performance and in a variety of life situations since, after all, music lessons are life lessons.
Call Number: ML3830.N333 2017ISBN: 9780190632038Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Stage Fright in Music Performance and Its Relationship to the Unconscious by Call Number: ML3830 .G58 2003
Music and Mental Health
Managing Stress in Music Education by
Managing Stress in Music Education presents research, theory, possible pitfalls, and strategies for music teachers looking to navigate the challenging climate of potential stressors. Covering a wide range of topics such as sleep, physical movement, nutrition, happiness, gratitude, and mindfulness, this book offers music educators the tools to thrive in a work environment that can often lead to stress and burnout. Readers will examine vignettes of challenged and successful music teachers, and consider new techniques and classic reminders for a healthy enjoyment of work and life. Grounded in research and written in an accessible and concise manner, Managing Stress in Music Education is an excellent addition to any music teacher's bookshelf.
Call Number: Online Access
Career Choices in Music Beyond the Pandemic by
Julie Nagel explores how work, personal identity, and various actions and feelings, including mental health, are importantly linked to music career choices and how the pandemic has dramatically impacted that. The book looks to the future and suggests ways in which musicians can find meaning in their work and thrive in the new arts landscape.
Call Number: ML3830 .N3324 2023
Caring for the whole musician : awareness and mindfulness by Call Number: Online Access
Physical and Emotional Hazards of a Performing Career by
The considerable number of musicians experiencing physical and emotional problems has led doctors around the world to become increasingly concerned. The twelve articles in this issue of the journal Musical Performance bring together both the thoughts of British and North American doctors who discuss the main problems experienced by musicians and their cures. Topics range from voice disorders and deafness, to stress and the causes and cures of stage fright. A glossary is included that explains the meaning of those medical terms likely to be unfamiliar to the general reader. Basil Tschaikov was appointed artistic and executive director of the National Center for Orchestral Studies at London University at Goldsmith's College, London, England 1979. Since 1987 he has served as chairman of the Music Performance Research Center and directs its oral history of musicians program in Britain.
Call Number: Online Access
Music and the Body
Injury Prevention
Teaching healthy musicianship : the music educator's guide to injury prevention and wellness by Call Number: Online Access
What Every Musician Needs to Know About the Body by Call Number: Online Access
The Biology of Musical Performance and Performance-Related Injury by
Music performance requires a high degree of physical skill, yet until recently, musical training has paid little attention to the considerable demands made on the mind and body. The Biology of Musical Performance and Performance-Related Injury presents singers and instrumentalists with accurate information on the physical processes that underlie their craft. The book provides a concise overview of the biological principles associated with performance technique while assuming no prior scientific knowledge, making it accessible to both musicians and to health professionals who treat performance-related medical conditions.Author Alan H. D. Watson explains the concepts and techniques of music performance, discussing themes such as posture and the back; movements of the arm and hand and associated problems; breathing in singers and wind players; the embouchure and respiratory tract in wind playing; the larynx and vocal tract in singers; the brain and its role in skill acquisition and aural processing; and stress and its management. Watson offers performers and teachers the tools they need to create a rational approach to the development and communication of technique. He also provides insight into the origins of performance-related injury, helping to reduce the risk of such problems by encouraging a technique that is sustainable in the long term. Each chapter includes several illustrations and an extensive bibliography for further reading. To support the text, a CD-Rom is included, featuring original diagrams that clearly illustrate the relevant aspects of body structure and function, explaining and illuminating key concepts through an extensive set of animations, sound files, and videos.
Call Number: Online Access
Playing (Less) Hurt by
(Book). Making music at any level is a powerful gift. While musicians have endless resources for learning the basics of their instruments and the theory of music, few books have explored the other subtleties and complexities that musicians face in their quest to play with ease and skill. The demands of solitary practice, hectic rehearsal schedules, challenging repertoire, performance pressures, awkward postures, and other physical strains have left a trail of injured, hearing-impaired, and frustrated musicians who have had few resources to guide them. Playing Less Hurt addresses this need with specific tools to avoid and alleviate injury. Impressively researched, the book is invaluable not only to musicians, but also to the coaches and medical professionals who work with them. Everyone from dentists to orthopedists, audiologists to neurologists, massage therapists and trainers will benefit from Janet Horvath's coherent account of the physiology and psyche of a practicing musician. Writing with knowledge, sympathetic insight, humor, and aplomb, Horvath has created an essential resource for all musicians who want to play better and feel better.
Call Number: ML3820 .H67 2010
The Musician's Way by Call Number: Online Access
Medical Problems of the Instrumentalist Musician by
This is a unique single-source reference covering the wide range of problems that can affect the instrumentalist musician.
Call Number: ML3820 .M43 2000
Muscle Management for Musicians by
Whereas most studies are directed at scientists or artists, this book uniquely presents information from both disciplines which will be comprehensible and valuable to both physicians and musicians alike. The book aims to fill the gap that exists between musicians and the therapists who treat them, as well as to be useful to touring musicians when they have no immediate medical help available. Muscle Management for Musicians describes and illustrates the basic anatomy of more than 70 muscles, clarifying their use in playing specific musical instruments. Corrective massage points, holding points, and appropriate nutrition are all identified, as are the many postural and emotional causes of the muscular problems encountered by musicians. Throughout the text, Andrews makes helpful reference to the widely-accepted Alexander Technique of muscle management and expresses her solutions in plain, simple English, that will make them easily accessible and safe for musicians. Touring musicians, chiropractors, and physical therapists will all find this a valuable resource in understanding the unique challenges faced by serious musicians.
Call Number: ML3820 .A63 2005
The Athletic Musician by
An innovative approach that teaches musicians how to prevent and manage injuries, presented in a unique format that combines sound medical protocol with a musician's point of view.
Call Number: RC965.P46 P38 1997- Physical and Emotional Hazards of a Performing Career by
The considerable number of musicians experiencing physical and emotional problems has led doctors around the world to become increasingly concerned. The twelve articles in this issue of the journal Musical Performance bring together both the thoughts of British and North American doctors who discuss the main problems experienced by musicians and their cures. Topics range from voice disorders and deafness, to stress and the causes and cures of stage fright. A glossary is included that explains the meaning of those medical terms likely to be unfamiliar to the general reader. Basil Tschaikov was appointed artistic and executive director of the National Center for Orchestral Studies at London University at Goldsmith's College, London, England 1979. Since 1987 he has served as chairman of the Music Performance Research Center and directs its oral history of musicians program in Britain.
Call Number: Online Access
Vocal Health
- Voice Disorders in Teachers: a reviewVocal health and hygiene isn't just for singers-- a 2014 study found that voice disorders like hoarseness and dysphonia are the leading occupational complaint among teachers.
The Owner's Manual to the Voice by
Singers must equip themselves with enough knowledge to clearly convey specific sensations and difficulties with their instrument. Understanding of potential dangers and disorders, familiarity with a variety of medical procedures, and comprehension in various facets of diagnosis and treatments empower singers to "own," just like other musicians, their instrument. The Owner's Manual to the Voice provides singers with the knowledge necessary to communicate effectively and in intelligent terms about their instrument, especially when conversing with medical professionals. Beginning with an overview of the vocal anatomy, lead author Rachael Gates, and co-authors L. Arick Forrest, M.D. and Kerri Obert, M.A., C.C.C/S.L.P, proceed through detailed discussions of caring for the voice and common causes of vocal changes and problems before guiding the reader through the process of choosing, talking to, and working with an ENT. In so doing, they give insights that any professional voice user - whether singer, actor, broadcaster, politician, teacher, preacher, or lawyer - will find helpful if not essential.
Call Number: Online Access
What Every Singer Needs to Know about the Body by
Gives singers and their teachers a body mapping resource - from anatomy and physiology to body awareness - that helps them discover and correct misconceptions about the way their bodies are built and the way they function. In doing so, the book provides maps with detailed advice and exercises to use their bodies effectively.
Call Number: MT821 .M24 2009
Your Voice: An Inside View by
Third edition of the premier book about voice science and pedagogy.
Call Number: MT821 .M36 2019
- Laryngopharyngeal reflux disease in singers: Pathophysiology, clinical findings and perspectives of a new patient-reported outcome instrumentLechien, J. R., Schindler, A., Robotti, C., Lejeune, L., & Finck, C. (2019). Laryngopharyngeal reflux disease in singers: Pathophysiology, clinical findings and perspectives of a new patient-reported outcome instrument. European annals of otorhinolaryngology, head and neck diseases, 136(3S), S39–S43. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.anorl.2018.08.008
Strings
New Directions in Cello Playing by Call Number: MT785 .S29 2003- What Every Violinist Needs to Know about the Body by Call Number: Oversize ML3820 .J65 2009
- Stage fright; its causes and cures, with special reference to violin playing by Call Number: ML850 .H35
- Musculoskeletal Demands in Violin and Viola Playing: A Literature ReviewRensing, N., Schemmann, H., & Zalpour, C. (2018). Musculoskeletal Demands in Violin and Viola Playing: A Literature Review. Medical problems of performing artists, 33(4), 265–274. https://doi.org/10.21091/mppa.2018.4040
- Biomechanical research on bowed string musicians: a scoping studyKelleher, L. K., Campbell, K. R., & Dickey, J. P. (2013). Biomechanical research on bowed string musicians: a scoping study. Medical problems of performing artists, 28(4), 212–218.
- Occupational Health Problems of Classical GuitaristsZuhdi, N., Chesky, K., Surve, S., & Lee, Y. (2020). Occupational Health Problems of Classical Guitarists. Medical problems of performing artists, 35(3), 167–179. https://doi.org/10.21091/mppa.2020.3022
Keyboard and Percussion
The Percussionists' Guide to Injury Treatment and Prevention by
Pain and injury are near constant companions for professional musicians. Aching hands, painful joint swelling, back problems, among other ailments were all thought to be part of the price musicians had to pay to be performers. However, thanks to an increasing awareness of both the kinesiology and biology of movement, as well as proper techniques for fostering good performance habits, musicians no longer have to suffer in silence. Perhaps no group of musicians has been more prone to career-threatening injury than percussionists, and the demands for speed, power, control, and endurance are only increasing. Often musicians wait until an injury is so aggravated that it's too late to be fully treated. In almost every case, if the drummer had done some very simple preventative (or early) care, the injury would never have become a serious issue. The Percussionists' Guide to Injury Treatment and Prevention is designed to aid in that early prevention and treatment. Although it is not a substitute for clinical diagnosis or medical care from a trained physician, it can educate the musician as to how the human body works; the role of muscles and skeletal structure in supporting movement; and understanding specifically how to prevent and treat common injuries. The book begins with a general discussion of how the body works and basic prevention concepts. It then covers each specific area of the body (where it hurts), suggesting practical ways to prevent and treat it. Basic anatomy is covered in terms that a musician can understand. For all percussion students and professionals, The Percussionists' Guide to Injury Treatment and Prevention will be an indispensable companion.
Call Number: Online Access
One-Handed Piano Compositions and Injury Awareness by
One-Handed Piano Compositions and Injury Awareness: History, Study of Selected Works, and Mindful Practice calls readers to dive into the realm of one-handed piano works so they can enrich their concert repertoire with new and original works and perform beyond the limitations of their injuries if they are in a period of recovery. Zheni Atanasova wrote this book as a guide meant to inspire fellow musicians in their search for unique musical works and help colleagues navigate their professional career in case of an injury so they can thrive in such a challenging period. The author provides solutions for those who aspire to build a career in music performance even when their professional development is hindered by an injury. She offers a single source that holds the answers to a broad spectrum of questions pertaining to piano performance, wellness, and practice.
Call Number: ML3820 .A83 2021
What Every Pianist Needs to Know about the Body by
Techniques on how to gain greater fluidity of movement while playing to improve the quality of the experience are offered in this manual for serious piano players. This book encourages musicians to develop a broader understanding of the involvement of the entire body in playing--and the strains playing places on the body--by focusing on body mapping to increase awareness of the body's function, size, and structure. Ways in which piano, organ, harpsichord, clavichord, and digital keyboard players can eliminate or prevent carpal tunnel syndrome and other debilitating conditions without traditional medical treatments are also explored.
Call Number: ML3820 .M37 2003- Anxiety and Musical Performance: on playing the piano from memory by Call Number: MT82 .R5 1985
Wind and Brass
Body mapping for flutists : what every flute teacher needs to know about the body by Call Number: ML3820 .P43 2006- Oboemotions: what every oboe player needs to know about the body by Call Number: MT360 .C37 O2 2009
- Quantitative, clinically relevant acoustic measurements of focal embouchure dystoniaMorris, A. E., Norris, S. A., Perlmutter, J. S., & Mink, J. W. (2018). Quantitative, clinically relevant acoustic measurements of focal embouchure dystonia. Movement disorders : official journal of the Movement Disorder Society, 33(3), 449–458. https://doi.org/10.1002/mds.27298
- Fundamentals of Embouchure in Brass Players: Towards a Definition and Clinical AssessmentWoldendorp, K. H., Boschma, H., Boonstra, A. M., Arendzen, H. J., & Reneman, M. F. (2016). Fundamentals of Embouchure in Brass Players: Towards a Definition and Clinical Assessment. Medical problems of performing artists, 31(4), 232–243. https://doi.org/10.21091/mppa.2016.4038
- Evaluation of the microbial flora found in woodwind and brass instruments and their potential to transmit diseasesGlass, R. T., Conrad, R. S., Kohler, G. A., & Bullard, J. W. (2011). Evaluation of the microbial flora found in woodwind and brass instruments and their potential to transmit diseases. General dentistry, 59(2), 100–109.
Search the Library Catalog
For more resources about health and wellness, search the library catalog under these subject headings:
[YOUR INSTRUMENT HERE] – Instruction and study
MUSICIANS – health and hygiene
MUSICIANS – wounds and injuries
MUSIC – physiological aspects
MUSIC – psychological aspects
OVERUSE INJURIES – prevention
PERFORMING ARTS MEDICINE
Research Tools
Databases
- APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.