Display Case
Gallery of Black Musicians
Aretha Franklin
(March 25, 1942 - August 16, 2018)
Grove Music Online
Stevie Wonder
(May 13, 1950 - )
Grove Music Online
Beyoncé
(September 4, 1981 - )
Grove Music Online
Little Richard
(December 5, 1932 - May 9, 2020)
Grove Music Online
Ella Fitzgerald
(April 25, 1917 - June 15, 1996)
Grove Music Online
Florence B. Price
Florence B. Price
(April 9, 1887 - June 3, 1953)
Scores of Florence B. Price
Scores of Florence B. Price in Our Collection
The scores listed below are only a select few from our collection.
Check out the rest of our collection on OneSearch!
Songs. Selections; 44 art songs and spirituals by Call Number: M1620 .P753 H43 2015
Adoration; Adoration for organ by Call Number: M11 .P753 2016
Negro spirituals; arranged; Three Negro spirituals : for violin and piano by Call Number: M223 .P675 N35 2017
Sonatas, organ, no. 1; First sonata for organ by Call Number: M8 .P75 no.1 2020
Cotton dance; Cotton dance for piano by Call Number: M30.P89 C68 2020
Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 1, G major; String quartet in G major (1929) by Call Number: M452 .P896 no.1 2017
Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 2, A minor; String quartet no. 2 in A minor by Call Number: M452 .P896 no.2 2020
Books about Florence B. Price
The Heart of a Woman by Call Number: ML410.P835 B76 2020
About Black History Month
Celebration of Black History Month
2021 Theme: The Black Family: Representation, Identity, and Diversity
The George F. DeVine Music Library is celebrating and honoring Black History Month by showcasing and remembering some of the many amazing Black artists that positively impacted the realms of music even to today. In our display case found inside of our library, we are highlighting two 20th-century composers, Florence B. Price and William Grant Still, with some of their scores, CDs, and books. Throughout this LibGuide, you will find biographies from our UT Libraries databases, materials from our collection, and information directly from the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.
Source:
www.asalh.org/black-history-themes/
William Grant Still
William Grant Still
(May 11, 1895 - December 3, 1978)
Scores of William Grant Still
Scores of William Grant Still in Our Collection
The scores listed below are only a select few from our collection.
Check out the rest of our collection on OneSearch!
Symphonies, no. 1; Afro-American symphony, rev. 1969 by
Call Number: M1001 .S835 no.1 1969- From the hearts of women; From the hearts of women : a song cycle by Call Number: M1621.4 .S835 F7 2004z
Blue steel. Vocal score; Blue steel : an opera in three acts by Call Number: M1503.S785 B5 1900z
Troubled island. Vocal score; Troubled island : Opera in four acts by Call Number: M1503 .S835 T76 2000z- Works. Selections; arranged; A violin collection by Call Number: M222 .S755 D9 2005Publication Date: 2005?
Suites, violin, piano; Suite for violin and piano by Call Number: M220 .S85 S8 1990z
Books about William Grant Still
My Life, My Words by
The autobiography of American Master composer, William Grant Still (1895-1978), with additional material by Judith Anne Still (the composer's daughter).
Call Number: ML410.S855 A3 2011
William Grant Still by
In this compact introduction to the life and work of eminent African American composer William Grant Still (1895-1978), Catherine Parsons Smith tracks the composer's interrelated careers in popular and concert music. Still merged both musical traditions in his work, studying composition with George W. Chadwick at the New England Conservatory, collaborating with Langston Hughes on Troubled Island, and working as a commercial arranger and composer on Broadway and radio during the Harlem Renaissance. Still also played in the pit band for Shuffle Along, served as recording director for the first black-owned record label, Black Swan, and arranged music for artists such as Sophie Tucker, Paul Whiteman, and Artie Shaw. Best known for his Afro-American Symphony and other works that drew heavily on black American musical heritage, Still struggled against financial hardship and declining attention to his work, which he attributed to political and racist conspiracies. This "dean of Afro-American composers" created his own, unique version of musical modernism, influencing commercial music, symphonic music, and opera in the process.
Call Number: ML410.S855 S64 2008
I Dream a World by
William Grant Still (1895-1978) dreamed of a world in which his eight operas--for him the ultimate form of musical expression--would be heard in the major opera houses in the United States, devoting most of his career toward the pursuit of this goal. The first part of I Dream a World creates a context for Still's operas and explores commonalities among them, including structural elements and musical characteristics. The second part traces the research, composition, and perform-ances of the operas as a way of documenting the history of the composer and his contributions to American opera. Although I Dream a World is not intentionally biographical, it is very pers-onal. It is more than the story of William Grant Still's love of operatic music, of the libretti that reflect his own life and philosophy, and of the world he dreamed through his work. It opens a window on Still the man as well as on Still the composer that offers important insights into the social milieu of this pioneering figure.
Call Number: ML410.S855 S69 2005
Audio/Visual Materials for William Grant Still
Symphony No. 1 (Afro-American)
Below are the four movements of William Grant Still's Symphony No. 1 (Afro-American) from one of our database, Alexander Street Press.
I. Moderato assai
II. Adagio
III. Animato
IV. Lento, con risoluzione
Attached is a score of the piece at the bottom from Alexander Street Press.
Online databases for further exploration
- Music Online: African American Music ReferenceCovers blues, jazz, spirituals, slave songs, civil rights songs, and other musical forms through biographies, essays, images and liner notes.
- Black DramaContains the full-text of over 1,000 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
UT Library has access to Black Drama [1st] and 2nd editions. - Black Women WritersLiterature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Topics include sexism and racism, and black feminism. Coverage from 1760 to current.
- Contemporary Black BiographyBiographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields.
UTK Library has access to volumes 1-77,81-107, 112-118, 121-123, 139-150,152.