Library Resources
Display Case
August 2024
Music Library Resources
Finding Books
The Collection
Our physical collection includes resources on topics and instruments from the middle ages to the present including:
- Instrumental, Vocal, Orchestral, and Miniature Scores
- Jazz Charts
- Periodicals
- Scholarly and Pedagogical Books
- CDs and DVDs
- Recordings of Live Performances
To find the items you need, you can look at the UT Libraries catalog via OneSearch on the library's website. You can request materials online (see more on how to do that below) or write down the item's Call Number to check it out on your own!
Call Numbers
Each item is assigned a Call Number, which serves as an address for physical items in our collection. Typically Call Numbers are a mix of letters and numbers that indicate a book's subject area, publication date, and specific copy in a collection.
Our collection uses the Call Number system used by the Library of Congress, which puts music related items into three main subclasses:
- Subclass M - Musical Scores
- Subclass ML - Literature on Music
- Subclass MT - Instruction and Study of Music
For more details and specific areas in the LOC's classification system, see this PDF from the Library of Congress.
Featured Databases
Proquest’s Music Periodicals Database “supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to approximately 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.”
Alexander Street is a streaming database that has a mission of “make silent voices heard”. Here you can find opera productions, symphonic performances, and even interviews!
Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Edited by professional musicians, Art Song Transpositions offers access to professionally crafted scores of public domain art songs and arias, as well as vocal repertoire from operas, choral works, and musical theatre in any key.
This database is on trial with the University. If you enjoy this database and would like us to keep it permanently please fill out the feedback form.
Technology
The library has plenty of technology available for check out. All computers have music software already installed such as Finale, Sibelius, and Musescore.
- Ipads and pencils
- Laptops
- Wireless page turners and piano pedals
- Microphones
- Cameras
- Zoom Video Recorder
- Midi Keyboards
- And more!
E-Resources
