Health Sciences Librarian
3D Anatomy Tools *NEW*
-
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Includes 3D models of anatomical structures and systems, physiology animations, pathology visualizations, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more.
AccessMedicine Human Anatomy Modules
- AccessMedicine provides interactive, 3D human anatomy models that include both female and male anatomy models as well as a collection of interactive tutorials under the Human Anatomy Tours link.
PubMed Filters
PubMed provides preformulated searches for various topic areas of interest to Public Health students and faculty. See the list.
Essential Databases for Finding Articles
- PubMed
This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information. PubMed Help || Tutorial || Quick Start || Introduction - Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center.
Other Useful Databases
- Academic Search CompleteAll-purpose, multidisciplinary database that offers a blend of scholarly and popular coverage.
- Agricola 1970+Coverage of food and nutrition—from the USDA.
- Biological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Click 'All Databases' tab to search top biological sciences databases simultaneously: Bio Abs, Web of Science, Zoological Record, and CABI. - CABI: CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of human health, food, and nutrition along with other disciplines such as agriculture. - CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Important index for nursing and allied health. Unlimited users.
CINAHL Tutorial - Cochrane LibraryA unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. An important resource for evidence-based medicine.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionFormerly Environment Abstracts published by LexisNexis. Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.
- Education SourceCombines Education Full Text and Education Index Retrospective. In addition, Education Source has added hundreds of unique resources that were not previously available elsewhere. Coverage dates back to 1929.
- ERIC / EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
The premiere database for journal articles and documents in all areas of education. - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Assists in the identification of measurement and evaluation instruments (questionnaires, checklists, tests, for example) found in the health and psychosocial literature. Content from 1985 to current.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users - Homeland Security Digital LibraryFull-text, searchable collection of resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management.
- MedlinePlusProvides consumer health information resources about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Online Access - 4 simultaneous users - Nexis Uni
Provides legal news, business, and cases and codes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
- APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology. - PAIS IndexExcellent source for public and social policy
- R2 Digital LibraryE-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
- Social Work AbstractsCoverage of social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Abstracts of dissertations included since 1996.
- Sociological AbstractsThe primary source of access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines.
- MedOne ComSciA collection of Thieme e-books containing images, videos, and cases in audiology and speech language pathology.