Research Guides: Public Health: Public Health 555

Getting Started

PubMed provides preformulated searches for various topic areas of interest to Public Health students and faculty. See the list.

CINAHL Complete
A comprehensive database for the literature of nursing and of allied health.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Health Policy Reference Center
Full-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
PubMed
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

CDC: Health Disparities
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provide an overview of what health disparities are and links to related resources.