It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tennessee GIS Data and Resources: Parks & Recreation
National Geographic Atlas of the National Parks by Jon WatermanFrom the white sand beaches of Dry Tortugas to the snowy peaks of Denali, this captivating book combines authoritative park maps with hundreds of graphics and photographs to tell the stories of America's sixty beloved national parks. Former ranger and author Jonathan Waterman introduces readers to the country's scenic reserves and highlights the extraordinary features that distinguish each- magnificent landmarks, thriving ecosystems, representative wildlife, fascinating histories, and more. With striking imagery and state-of-the-art graphics reflecting details of wildlife, climate, culture, archaeology, recreation, and more, this lush reference provides an up-close look at what makes these lands so special--and so uniquely American. A heartfelt foreword from National Geographic CEO Gary Knell reminds us how important these lands are to our lives and our national pride.
Flyfisher's guide to™ North Carolina & Georgia : including GPS by Nick CarterThe cold, clear creeks of the Southeast offer some of the best isolated flyfishing opportunities and unheralded big fish in the country. Those incredible opportunities and more are covered in the all-new Flyfisher's Guide to North Carolina & Georgia. This all-new guide is complete with author Nick Carter's brilliant full-color photography and the same Wilderness Adventures Press maps that have made this series the best flyfishing guidebooks on the market. Public land, access roads, campgrounds, parks, boat ramps, hand launches, parking and picnic areas, driving directions and GPS coordinates for access points are all included. No need to worry about getting lost. This guidebook includes comprehensive coverage of the large rivers, the medium streams and the small brooks. From the high tributaries of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Pisgah National Forest in North Carolina to the broad and rolling Chattahoochee River in Georgia and far beyond.
Best hikes of the Appalachian Trail. South by Johnny MolloyBest Hikes of the Appalachian Trail: South details 45 hikes along the AT from the trail's southern terminus atop Georgia's Springer Mountain north through North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. These superlative treks visit overlooks, waterfalls, rivers, lakes, and wildernesses, as well as scenic, cultural, and historical sites -- even trail towns. This selection of hikes reflects the great variety of features the southern AT provides, and the guide is authored by the Southeast's most experienced outdoor writer, Johnny Molloy.
Appalachian trail guide to North Carolina-Georgia including the Great Smoky Mountains National Park by Lisa Williams; William van HornThe official guide to the 238 miles of the Appalachian Trail from its southern terminus on Springer Mountain in Georgia (about an hour north of Atlanta) to the eastern boundary of Great Smoky Mountains National Park on the North Carolina-Tennessee border. This guidebook comes with four five-color topographic maps printed on two sheets of waterproof, tear-resistant material, for the areas south of the park and National Geographic Maps' five-color topographic map of the park, with its side trails. The route traverses wilderness areas throughout the Chattahoochee-Oconee and Nantahala national forests, as well as the park, and includes the most rugged sections of the legendary footpath south of New Hampshire and Maine. All the waterproof, tear-proof maps have scales of about one inch to one mile. The book includes detailed trail descriptions as well as information on overnight sites, water sources, natural and cultural history of the areas, and directions to trailheads. Packaged in a resealable bag for convenience on the trail. No batteries, downloads, or service reception required.
Appalachian Altitude: Flying the Highest Peaks of the South by Garrett FisherHome to the highest terrain in the eastern half of North America, North Carolina not only contains the highest summit on this side of the continent, Mt. Mitchell (6,684'), it shares a list of 40 peaks exceeding 6,000' in elevation with neighboring Tennessee. Although these mountains exceed in height the entire surface of the eastern half of the United States, many of the peaks are shrouded in majestic Canadian pine forests, with views curiously lacking. An avid hiker and high altitude enthusiast, the author found that hiking the high terrain wasn't enough; he wanted to see it from above. Author of a book doing the same for the 58 peaks over 14,000 feet in Colorado, Garrett Fisher took his high flying expertise and brought it to the Southeast, showing the stunning beauty of the Appalachians from above them, all using a 1949 Piper PA-11 antique airplane. Containing detailed maps and 80 images, the book contains images of every single peak over 6,000' and is both a guide for mountain enthusiasts and a pleasant journey among giants for everyone else.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks F210 .F57 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-28
Backpacker Magazine's using a GPS : digital trip planning, recording, and sharing by Bruce GrubbsBackpacker's Using a GPS: Digital Trip Planning, Recording, and Sharing is a complete guide to the digital mapping revolution including how to do it and how to join it. Plan your trip, record it with GPS, edit and enhance your maps (photos and videos), and share with the world. Include out-in-the-field instructions for using a GPS; how GPS works; basic field techniques; computer-based mapping with GPS; conventional navigation skills, etc. This handy pocket-sized guide is 96 pages, includes two popouts, and incorporates color photos, charts, and illustrations as needed throughout the interior.
DeLorme U.S. national atlas & gazetteer set by Garmin International (Produced by)DeLorme Atlas & Gazetteers Are the Outdoor Enthusiasts' Choice
Amazingly detailed and beautifully crafted, large-format paper maps for all 50 states
Topographic maps with elevation contours, major highways and roads, dirt roads, trails and land use data
Gazetteer section contains information essential for any outdoor enthusiast, such as points of interest, landmarks, state and national parks, campgrounds, boat launches, golf courses, historic sites, hunting zones, canoe trips, scenic drive recommendations and more (Note: available information varies by state)
Perfect for sightseeing, exploring back roads, outdoor recreation and trip planning
The Perfect Companion for Outdoor Recreation and Trip Planning
Rely on DeLorme Atlas & Gazetteer paper maps for the utmost in trip planning and backcountry access. It's available in paperback (11-inches x 15.5-inches) for all 50 states.
Appalachian Trail guide to Tennessee-North Carolina : Damascus, Virginia to Fontana Dam, North Carolina, including the Great Smoky Mountains National Park by V. Collins Chew (Editor)The official guide to almost 300 miles of the Appalachian Trail from the Virginia line near the small town of Damascus, through the Roan Highlands of northeastern Tennessee and along the North Carolina border all the way through Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the longest stretch of high-elevation terrain of the whole 2,178-mile footpath. The book includes descriptions of the route (unidirectional format), along with natural and cultural history. The detached topographical, shaded-relief maps include a four-map set (on two sheets) scaled at 1:63,600 with 100-foot contour intervals for the stretch north of the park and the five-color, two-sided map of the park at 1:62,500 published by National Geographic Trails Illustrated in cooperation with the Appalachian Trail Conference. All maps have GPS-checked elevation profiles. The maps north of the park were the first for hiking to be generated by ATC's geographical-information systems (GIS) office.
U. S. Army Map Reading and Navigation by Department of the Army Headquarter StaffIt requires no prior knowledge of these subjects. Sections include map care, comprehension of map symbols, military symbols, grid reference systems, and interpretation of aerial photographs. After the basics are covered, the second half moves to land navigation - varying terrains, elevations, day-night variations. Map and compass work is thoroughly explained. Finally, extreme scenarios - desert, mountain, jungle, arctic, and urban terrains - are all explored.
UTM Using your GPS with the Universal Transverse Mercator Coordinate System by John CarnesThis booklet is a great starting point for beginning GPS users and folks that want to learn about UTM, MGRS, and USNG coordinates. With lots of illustrations and step by step instructions, readers will be converting between map locations and UTM coordinates in no time! Inexpensive GPS receivers have brought the ability to determine accurate geographic positioning to both professionals and recreational users. To relate the GPS reading to a map, the user needs to understand how to use geographic coordinate systems. Many new GPS users are discovering what military and rescue forces have known for years. UTM coordinates are much easier to work with than latitude longitude coordinates. Includes a 1:24,000 scale, 1km, pocket sized, UTM Grid Tool for use with 7.5 minute USGS topographic maps.
Fun with GPS by Donald CookeFor the millions of GPS owners who love their GPS units but don't know all they can do with them, this fun guide shows that a GPS can do a lot more than just calculate a location. Dozens of illustrated examples show how a GPS can be attached to a multitude of devices, including dogsleds, race cars, hot-air balloons, windsurfers, pet animals, ski racers, hockey players, and sailboats. Each example includes maps and photographs to inspire hobbyists, airline passengers, athletes, animal lovers, drivers, teachers, and students to track and map their activities. How to incorporate GPS mapping technology in the classroom in order to reinforce science, math, and geography curricula, provide the groundwork for project-based learning, and show students that their schoolwork is important and relevant is discussed.
Land navigation handbook : the Sierra Club guide to map, compass & GPS by W. S. Kals; Clyde Soles; Sierra Club (Contribution by)This bestselling manual--now thoroughly revised and updated--is designed for anyone who wants to chart a course in the wilderness: hiker, backpacker, snowshoer, skier, fisherman, or hunter. Step by step, it teaches the skills that enable you to answer the vital questions: Where am I now? Which way do I head to reach my destination? How far is it? And how long will it take me to get there? Included here are the basics of interpreting maps and orienting by compass, as well as more advanced techniques for measuring distances and estimating travel times; determining and adjusting for local declination around the globe; using an altimeter to add the dimension of height to one's position; and navigation by means of sun and stars. In updating the late W. S. Kals's text, Clyde Soles focuses on the latest developments in technology and equipment, such as digital mapping software and handheld GPS units, and provides an overview of marine navigation for sea kayakers. Visuals include a full-color foldout topographic map for reference and practice, plus dozens of helpful drawings and photographs.
Geocaching : hike and seek with your GPS by Erik ShermanThis is the only book out on a phenomenon that has been growing at exponential rates since its introduction in 2000: hundreds of thousands of people participate. * Geocaching has received wide coverage on television, radio, newspapers, and magazines--it is particularly popular with extreme sports and high-tech aficionados. * Teaches navigation techniques, including GPS, compass, and map; offers effective strategies for geocaching tournaments and events.
Mapping the future of America's national parks : stewardship through geographic information systems by Mark HenryDemonstrating how geographic information systems (GIS) captures, stores, analyzes, manipulates, updates, and displays all forms of geographically referenced information, this visually stunning book is a unique resource for national park visitors and managers. Filled with colorful maps, charts, and photographs, this book documents the spread of GIS into every corner of the National Park Service and details its use in repairing trails and roads, locating artifacts, restoring American battlefields, guiding development, understanding wildfires, and protecting fragile lands. Dozens of detailed examples illustrate the invaluable role of GIS mapping in national parks.
Be expert with map & compass : the complete orienteering handbook by Bjön Kjellström; Heisley, Newt, and Associates Staff (Illustrator); U. S. Geological Survey and Orienteering Services Staff (Illustrator)"Required reading for the beginner in map and compass work, as well as for those interested in serious Orienteering. In simple, clear, concise terms the basics of map and compass work are described and illustrated." --George T. Hamilton, Appalachia This new, enlarged edition of Be Expert with Map & Compass includes everything the beginner needs to know about the increasingly popular sport of Orienteering: understanding map symbols; traveling by map alone, by compass alone, or by map and compass together; finding bearings; sketching maps; and traveling in the wilderness. Other updated sections cover competitive Orienteering, how to join an Orienteering event or organize your own, and useful hints for competitive and wilderness Orienteering. In addition to the revisions throughout, the author has interspersed the text with reminiscences of his more than fifty years of experience with map and compass. Drawing crowds of 25,000 participants at international events, the sport of Orienteering is more popular than ever. The Orienteering world championships were held in the United States for the first time in 1993. For Orienteers and scouts, avid outdoorspeople, and anyone who wants to feel more comfortable in the wilderness, this updated guide is an indispensable reference.
National topographic maps : 1:24,000-scale series by Geological Survey (U.S.).Relief shown by contours and spot heights. Some sheets include shading and/or bath. isolines.
Published in cooperation with U.S. Army Map Service, U.S. Defense Mapping Agency, Tennessee Valley Authority, U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, Tennessee Emergency Relief Administration, Commonwealth of Virginia, and other state agencies.
Mapping America's national parks : preserving our natural and cultural treasures by Ken Burns (Foreword by); Dayton Duncan (Foreword by)Get an insider look at the US National Park Service to see how they use maps and geospatial technology to protect and manage America's national parks. Maps easily cap your first greeting upon arrival at a national park, allowing you to visualize its vastness, plan your trip, and keep a compact souvenir of your visit. But for the US National Park Service (NPS), maps do more than provide guidance and navigation. Maps help the NPS protect visitors and natural resources. They help manage fires, both unplanned and prescribed. They provide a basis for preserving cultural resources, such as archaeological sites and historic buildings, and for establishing needed facilities, infrastructure, and transportation. The maps in Mapping America's National Parks: Preserving Our Natural and Cultural Treasures are not only beautiful representations of special places. Within the maps are layers of geographic information--a bevy of research and science--that the NPS uses to perform these myriad essential services and to ultimately fulfill their mission. With over 240 full-color maps and photographs of national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites, lakeshores, seashores, scenic rivers and trails, and more, Mapping America's National Parks takes you on a journey through our most treasured locations and shows how geographic information system (GIS) software helps the NPS keep the balance between park enjoyment and preservation. Through stories told by their own staff, discover how GIS helps the NPS: provide security for individual wildlife species, members of a crowd at a peaceful demonstration, and entire ecosystems; analyze where people most likely are stranded, where they are least likely stranded, and distribute assets in search and rescue operations; develop strategic plans, budgets, and protection for fire management; and share intelligence on wildlife trafficking, zoonotic diseases, field medicine protocols, and more. Go behind the scenes to see how mapping and geospatial analysis support the full range of NPS natural resource stewardship and science activities. With NPS planning aided by geospatial technology, future generations of park visitors--your children and their children--will be able to enjoy our national parks for years to come.
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by Mae Jemison (Foreword by)Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
Publication Date: 2021-06-22
Protecting the places we love : conservation strategies for entrusted lands and parks by Breece RobertsonProtecting special places in danger of being changed forever requires urgent action. It's time for bold conservation strategies to boost land protection around the world. Bold conservation goals require strategic action. In Protecting the Places We Love: Conservation Strategies for Entrusted Lands and Parks, conservationist and geospatial designer Breece Robertson applies her conservation experience, real-world examples, and myriad resources to deliver a vision for success and clear guidance for conservation groups large and small to achieve their goals. The goals of these strategies are familiar: support species, habitats, and natural resources and healthy, livable communities that are climate resilient and socially cohesive, all without high costs. Robertson's tools, many of them free, feel quickly accessible, effective, and adaptable to a new or existing conservation strategy. Readers finish this book feeling confident about integrating existing practices with geospatial data and modern applications. With the smart analysis and targeted action explained in Protecting the Places We Love, readers will better identify places needing protection and better understand how to maximize partnerships, inspire, educate, and engage communities and donors, and produce better results. See the vision and learn to: create maps that tell compelling stories to stakeholders and the public analyze park system equity and access and show the economic benefits map, model, and analyze land characteristics to enhance biodiversity, connectivity, and climate resilience use maps and data to gain insights for fundraising, program initiatives, policy, advocacy, finances, and marketing. Protecting the Places We Love is perfect for citizens, and for conservation advocates and professionals at small to medium-sized land trusts, conservation organizations, and park agencies. Examples from land protection organizations all over the globe provide field-tested approaches to improve strategic effectiveness. Robertson provides a vision, strategies, and resources that can take your conservation efforts to the next level.
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Women and GIS, Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by Esri Press; Jane Goodall (Foreword by)Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Hidden nature : wild southern caves by Michael Ray TaylorReed Environmental Writing Award Finalist, Southern Environmental Law Center, 2021 More than ten thousand known caves lie beneath the state of Tennessee according to the Tennessee Cave Survey, a nonprofit organization that catalogs and maps them. Thousands more riddle surrounding states. In Hidden Nature, Michael Ray Taylor tells the story of this vast underground wilderness. In addition to describing the sheer physical majesty of the region's wild caverns and the concurrent joys and dangers of exploring them, he examines their rich natural history and scientific import, their relationship to clean water and a healthy surface environment, and their uncertain future. As a longtime caver and the author of three popular books related to caving--Cave Passages, Dark Life, and Caves--Taylor enjoys (for a journalist) unusual access to this secretive world. He is personally acquainted with many of the region's most accomplished cave explorers and scientists, and they in turn are familiar with his popular writing on caves in books; in magazines such as Audubon, Outside, and Sports Illustrated; and on websites such as those of the Discovery Channel and the PBS science series Nova. Hidden Nature is structured as a comprehensive work of well-researched fact that reads like a personal narrative of the author's long attraction to these caves and the people who dare enter their hidden chambers.
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by ESRI Press EditorsNow available in a special hardcover edition with a dust jacket Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership, and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Basic Principles of Topography by Markoski, BlagojaThis book gives a comprehensive overview of all relevant elements in topography and their practical application. It elaborates on the classical representation of terrain on maps such as cartographic projections, together with their classification, scale, and geographical elements. It is richly illustrated with photographs, maps and figures, in which the theoretical explanations are clarified. Readers will become acquainted with the physical characteristics of the ground, i.e. tectonic and erosive shapes, the importance and classification of terrain, genetic (fluvial, abrasive, glacial, karst) and topographic types such as higher (mountains, hills, peaks) and lower terrain (valleys, fields). In addition, the book discusses cartometry and coordinate systems, orientation in space (geographic, topographic, tactical) including by means of maps, instruments and the night sky and elaborates new techniques and technologies such as aerial photogrammetric imagery, global navigation satellite systems and LiDAR. The book also includes methods for the practical execution of concrete measurement operations, such as determining position and movement on land with maps, compass and azimuth which makes it especially useful for practitioners and professionals, e.g., for landscape planning, military exercises, mountaineering, nature walks etc. As such it offers a valuable guide not only for undergraduate students but also for researchers in the fields of geography, geosciences, geodesy, ecology, forestry and related areas looking for an overview on topography. Uniquely, the book also features an extensive glossary of topographical terms.
Publication Date: 2018
Be Expert with Map and Compass by Bjorn Kjellstrom; Carina Kjellstrom Elgin; Carina Kjellstrom ElginThe classic map and compass navigation guide-revised for the age of GPS GPS devices are great, but they can break, get lost, or easily be hampered by weather conditions, making basic map and compass skills essential for anyone who spends time outdoors. This popular, easy-to-use orienteering handbook has been helping people find their way for more than fifty years. Now updated to include information on GPS as well as current Web sites, references, sources, and photographs, it remains the book of choice for professional outdoorsmen, novice orienteers, and outdoor organizations as well as teachers, scout leaders, recreational hikers, hunters, and others around the world. Coverage includes understanding map symbols; traveling by map alone, by compass alone, or by map and compass together; finding bearings; sketching maps; and traveling in the wilderness. Explains basic map and compass skills clearly Fully updated edition, including information on GPS Includes up-to-date Web site addresses, references, and sources Features a fresh, rugged design Ideal book for beginners If you're looking to feel more comfortable in the wilderness, this updated guide is an indispensable reference.
Highpoints of the United States a guide to the fifty state summits by Don W. HolmesThe highpoints of the fifty states range from Alaska’s 20,320 foot high Mount McKinley to 345 feet at Lakewood Park in Florida. Some highpoints, such as Mount Mitchell in North Carolina and New Hampshire’s Mount Washington can be reached by automobile on a sightseeing drive. Others such as Colorado’s Mount Elbert or Mount Marcy in New York are accessible as wilderness day hikes. Still others, such as Mount Rainier in Washington or Gannett Peak in Wyoming, are strenuous and risky mountaineering challenges that should be attempted only by experienced climbers. Whatever your level of skill and interest, Highpoints of the United States offers a diverse range of experiences.
Arranged alphabetically by state, each listing has a map, photographs, and information on trailhead, main and alternative routes, elevation gain, and conditions. Historical and natural history notes are also included, as are suggestions for specific guidebooks to a region or climb. Appendices include a list of highpoints by region, by elevation, and a personal log for the unashamed "peak-bagger."
Whether you’re an armchair hiker or a seasoned climber, interested only in your state’s highest point or all fifty, this book will be an invaluable companion and reference.
Orienteering by Tom RenfrewFind fun, fitness, and adventure in this physically and mentally challenging sport. With Orienteering, you'll gain all the knowledge and skills necessary to participate safely and successfully in one of the world's fastest growing activities. Author Tom Renfrew, an expert orienteer and a top instructor in the U.K. for more than 20 years, is an enthusiastic and insightful teacher. He covers basic map reading, compass skills, completing a course, and what to do if lost. The richly illustrated book features 70 colorful maps, drawings, and photos that show beginners how to get started and that help more experienced orienteers assess and hone their skills. Readers will also learn: - how to select proper equipment, - what happens at an orienteering event, from registration to crossing the finish line, - how to read a map, recognize control features, and determine the best route - how to adapt orienteering activities for people with disabilities, - where to find the best orienteering in the United States and around the world, and - how orienteering opportunities--like cross-country orienteering, night orienteering, street orienteering, mountain-bike orienteering, and even mountain marathoning--can provide further adventure. Orienteeringprovides a sample course with detailed instructions for choosing the best route, and the book includes self-tests for determining skill knowledge and course readiness. After mastering the basic techniques of orienteering, participants will be able to: - sharpen outdoor skills and improve fitness; - enjoy both recreational and competitive orienteering; - add orienteering to other outdoor activities like mountain biking, skiing, and hiking; and - plan scenic, exciting adventures during getaways or vacations. This book is part of the Outdoor Pursuits Series from Human Kinetics. Like all the books in the series, Orienteeringemphasizes safety, environmental responsibility, and--most of all--the fun of outdoor activity!