Water Data Links
- National Hydrography DatasetU.S. Geological Survey
- National Hydrography Dataset User GuideU.S. Geological Survey
- USGS Water Data for TennesseeU.S. Geological Survey
- USGS Groundwater Data for TennesseeU.S. Geological Survey
- Lower Mississippi-Gulf Real-time Water Resources DataU.S. Geological Survey
- WaterWatch: TennesseeU.S. Geological Survey
- National Water Information SystemU.S. Geological Survey
- National Water Information System MapperU.S. Geological Survey
- The National Map Download Client: Small-scale HydrographyU.S. Geological Survey
- WaterTennessee GIS Clearinghouse
- TN Hydro Lines and WaterbodiesTennessee Base Mapping Project
- Water Resources Data & Map ViewersTN Dept. of Environment & Conservation
- Water Resources MapviewerTN Dept of Environment & Conservation
- Water Resources Data & ToolsU.S. Geological Survey
- Water SoftwareU.S. Geological Survey
- Water SupplyU.S. Department of Homeland Security
- Digital CoastNOAA Office for Coastal Management
- Water Quality Data PortalU.S. Geological Survey
- National Water Quality ProgramU.S. Geological Survey
- Water Frequently Asked QuestionsU.S. Geological Survey
- Oceans Frequently Asked QuestionsU.S. Geological Survey
- Water Use in the United StatesU.S. Geological Survey
- U.S. Water Use from 1950-2015U.S. Geological Survey
- Estimated use of water in the United States in 2015U.S. Geological Survey Circular 1441
- Water use in the U.S., 2015 by countyU.S. Geological Survey
- Estimated Use of Water in the United States County-Level Data for 2015U.S. Geological Survey
- Water Availability and Use Science ProgramU.S. Geological Survey
- Water-Use TerminologyU.S. Geological Survey
- Aquifers: Map of the Principal Aquifers of the United StatesU.S. Geological Survey
- MERIT Hydro: Global Hydrography DatasetsDai Yamazaki
Watershed Data Links
- Watershed Boundary DatasetU.S. Geological Survey
- WatershedsU.S. Department of Agriculture
- HydroSHEDSU.S. Geological Survey
- Science in Your WatershedU.S. Geological Survey
- How's My Waterway?U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- SPARROW TennesseeU.S. Geological Survey
Story Maps
- Water in TennesseeTN H2O
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
ArcGIS Pro and ArcGIS Online Applications in Water and Environmental Sciences by
This textbook serves as a practical guide for undergraduate and graduate students in geology, hydrology, ecology, and environmental sciences, teaching them applied GIS techniques. Presented as a step-by-step tutorial across seventeen chapters, the book starts with the fundamentals of GIS and progresses to real-life examples from geology and water resources. The focus is on ESRI's ArcGIS Pro, covering various tools for spatial, geostatistical, network, and 3-D analysis. Additionally, it explores ArcGIS Online and working with web apps like Web Map, StoryMaps, and GEO App. GIS applications, especially in water and environmental problem-solving, are rapidly growing worldwide. The demand for GIS experts utilizing spatial analysis in environmental science remains high. This textbook equips users with the necessary knowledge to become effective mappers and spatial analysts in the fields of environment, geosciences, and water resources, employing the latest state-of-the-art methodology. Each chapter provides exercises and supplementary materials available for download on SpringerLink, along with additional links for further learning opportunities.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B34 2023ISBN: 9783031422263Publication Date: 2023-10-19
QGIS for Hydrological Applications : Recipes for Catchment Hydrology and Water Management by
Now updated - learn even more GIS skills for catchment hydrology and water management with QGIS!
This second edition workbook introduces hydrological topics to professionals in the water sector using state of the art functionality in QGIS. The book is also useful as a beginner’s course in GIS concepts, using in a problem-based learning approach.
Designed to take advantage of the latest QGIS features, this book will guide you in improving your maps and analysis.
The second edition adds the following new features:
Covers QGIS 3.22 and higher, with 10% more pages
Improved and shorter workflows
Raster Attribute Tables are introduced
PCRaster Tools plugin for stream and catchment delineation
Flow direction styling with arrows and 3D visualization
Create pie charts based on layer colors with the Data Plotly plugin
Using and creating legend patch shapes
Easier elevation gradient legends using new functionality
Use of dynamic text in the Print Layout
With this book you'll learn to:
Georeference scanned maps
Digitize vectors
Import tabular data
Join attribute tables
Interpolate points to a raster
Apply map algebra
Delineate streams and catchments
Find and use Open Data
Calculate the percentage of land cover per subcatchment
Design beautiful catchment maps
In addition to the core functionality of QGIS, you’ll be introduced to many useful plugins.
The book is a complete resource and includes:
Lab exercises
Discussion questions
Links to videos with theory and explanations of the exercises
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217.G46 K837 2022ISBN: 9780986805233Publication Date: 2022
QGIS for Hydrological Applications : recipes for catchment hydrology and water management by
Learn GIS skills for catchment hydrology and water management with QGIS for Hydrological Applications!This workbook introduces professionals in the water sector to the state of the art functionality of QGIS 3.x for hydrological applications. The book can also be used as a beginner's course introducing GIS concepts in a problem based learning manner.Designed to take advantage of the latest QGIS features, this book will guide you in improving your maps and analysis.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.217.G46 K837 2019ISBN: 0998547786Publication Date: 2019-09-19
Still waters : the secret world of lakes by
More than a century and a half have passed since Walden was first published, and the world is now a very different place. Lakes are changing rapidly, not because we are separate from nature but because we are so much a part of it. While many of our effects on the natural world today are new, from climate change to nuclear fallout, our connections to it are ancient, as core samples from lake beds reveal. In Still Waters, Curt Stager introduces us to the secret worlds hidden beneath the surfaces of our most remarkable lakes, leading us on a journey from the pristine waters of the Adirondack Mountains to the wilds of Siberia, from Thoreau's cherished pond to the Sea of Galilee. Through decades of firsthand investigations, Stager examines the significance of our impacts on some of the world's most iconic inland waters. Along the way he discovers the stories these lakes contain about us, including our loftiest philosophical ambitions and our deepest myths. For him, lakes are not only mirrors reflecting our place in the natural world but also windows into our history, culture, and the primal connections we share with all life. Beautifully observed and eloquently written, Stager's narrative is filled with strange and enchanting details about these submerged worlds--diving insects chirping underwater like crickets, African crater lakes that explode, and the growing threats to some of our most precious bodies of water. Modern science has demonstrated that humanity is an integral part of nature on this planet, so intertwined with it that we have also become an increasingly powerful force of nature in our own right. Still Waters reminds us how beautiful, complex, and vulnerable our lakes are, and how, more than ever, it is essential to protect them.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GB1603.2 .S73 2018ISBN: 9780393292169Publication Date: 2018-05-29
GIS for surface water : using the National Hydrography Dataset by
GIS for Surface Water: Using the National Hydrography Dataset enables scientists, managers, and students to understand the complexities of the vital surface waters of the United States. It triggers exploration and analysis by combining the ready-to-use powers of a comprehensive database of the nation's waters and the ArcGIS® platform for geographic data analysis and mapping. This book explains how the water that exists on the landscape has been translated into a computer database, and how data about the water, such as chemistry and fish habitat, is linked to this database. Elevation data is also incorporated to produce watersheds at the micro and macro levels. This information, along with climatic data, leads to the creation of water flow and velocity estimates for every segment in the 7.5-million-mile drainage network in the United States. With the development of this complete water information system, the reader is poised to generate new knowledge of the behavior of surface water systems. Application of the ArcGIS suite of geographic and network analysis tools makes the science of surface water come to life. GIS for Surface Water vividly demonstrates how the vast capabilities of ArcGIS can be easily applied to the National Hydrography Dataset and companion Watershed Boundary Dataset to reveal the intricate properties of complex water networks. A variety of GIS operations are made simpler through the use of ArcGIS. You will be able to input the National Hydrography Dataset in your GIS and trace the path of water within minutes. With just a little more effort, you will be able to create enlightening flow-volume maps showing how much water flows through any given river system. By following basic principles outlined in the book, you will discover that these methods also apply to the science of surface-water systems for any nation. User stories by experienced water analysts arte also included to help buoy your knowledge of GIS for surface water.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.215.U6 S56 2018ISBN: 9781589484795Publication Date: 2018-06-22
ArcGIS for Environmental and Water Issues by
This textbook is a step-by-step tutorial on the applications of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in environmental and water resource issues. It provides information about GIS and its applications, specifically using the most advanced ESRI GIS technology and its extensions. Eighteen chapters cover GIS applications in the field of earth sciences and water resources in detail from the ground up. Author William Bajjali explains what a GIS is and what it is used for, the basics of map classification, data acquisition, coordinate systems and projections, vectorization, geodatabase and relational database, data editing, geoprocessing, suitability modeling, working with raster, watershed delineation, mathematical and statistical interpolation, and more advanced techniques, tools and extensions such as ArcScan, Topology, Geocoding, Hydrology, Geostatistical Analyst, Spatial Analyst, Network Analyst, 3-D Analyst. ArcPad, ESRI's cutting-edge mobile GIS software, is covered in detail as well. Each chapter contains concrete case studies and exercises - many from the author's own work in the United States and Middle East. This volume is targeted toward advanced undergraduates, but could also be useful for professionals and for anyone who utilizes GIS or practices spatial analysis in relation to geology, hydrology, ecology, and environmental sciences.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .B345 2018ISBN: 9783319611570Publication Date: 2017-12-29
The atlas of water : mapping the world's most critical resource by
Climate change, population increase, and the demands made by the growing number of people adopting urban lifestyles and western diets threaten the world's supply of freshwater, edging us closer to a global water crisis, with dire implications for agriculture, the economy, the environment, and human health. Completely revised and updated, The Atlas of Water is a compelling visual guide to the state of this life-sustaining resource. Using vivid graphics, maps, and charts, it explores the complex human interaction with water around the world. This vibrant atlas addresses all the pressing issues concerning water, from water shortages and excessive demand, to dams, pollution, and privatization, all considered in terms of the growing threat of an increasingly unpredictable climate. It also outlines critical tools for managing water, providing safe access to water, and preserving the future of the world's water supply.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1046.C3 B53 2016ISBN: 9780520292031Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Environmental Hydrology by
The late Professor Reds Wolman in his Foreword to the award-winning second edition said, "This is not your ordinary textbook. Environmental Hydrology is indeed a textbook, but five elements often found separately combine here in one text to make it different. It is eclectic, practical, in places a handbook, a guide to fieldwork, engagingly personal and occasionally opinionated. ¿ and, perhaps most engaging to me, in places the authors offer personal views as well as more strongly worded opinions. The former often relate to evaluation of alternative approaches, or formulations, of specific solutions to specific hydrologic problems." The first and second editions were bestsellers and the third promises to educate people new to the field of hydrology and challenge professionals alike, with insightful solutions to classical problems as well as trendsetting approaches important to the evolving genre. The third edition enhances materials in the second edition and has expanded information on many topics, in particular, evapotranspiration, soil erosion, two-stage ditch design and applications, and stream processes. What¿s New in the Third Edition: Presents new sections on rock structures in streams, hypoxia, harmful algal blooms, and agricultural practices to reduce nutrient discharges into water resources Enhances the format to aid the reader in finding tables, figures, and equations Contains more than 370 figures, 120 tables, 260 equations, 100 worked examples, 160 problems, and more than 1000 references Collectively, the authors have more than 130 years of international experience and the addition of John Lyon and Suzette Burckhard as co-authors expands the breadth of knowledge presented in this book. More than 60 scientists and engineers in Australia, Canada, Europe, and the United States provided assistance to round out the offerings and ensure applicability to hydrology worldwide.
Call Number: Pendergrass AgVetMed Library Stacks GB665 .W28 2016ISBN: 9781466589414Publication Date: 2015-09-17
Water 4.0 : the past, present, and future of the world's most vital resource by
Turn on the faucet, and water pours out. Pull out the drain plug, and the dirty water disappears. Most of us give little thought to the hidden systems that bring us water and take it away when we’re done with it. But these underappreciated marvels of engineering face an array of challenges that cannot be solved without a fundamental change to our relationship with water, David Sedlak explains in this enlightening book. To make informed decisions about the future, we need to understand the three revolutions in urban water systems that have occurred over the past 2,500 years and the technologies that will remake the system. The author starts by describing Water 1.0, the early Roman aqueducts, fountains, and sewers that made dense urban living feasible. He then details the development of drinking water and sewage treatment systems—the second and third revolutions in urban water. He offers an insider’s look at current systems that rely on reservoirs, underground pipe networks, treatment plants, and storm sewers to provide water that is safe to drink, before addressing how these water systems will have to be reinvented. For everyone who cares about reliable, clean, abundant water, this book is essential reading.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GB659.6 .S44 2014ISBN: 9780300176490Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Groundwater around the world : a geographic synopsis by
This book presents a unique and up-to-date summary of what is known about groundwater on our planet, from a global perspective and in terms of area-specific factual information. Unlike most textbooks on groundwater, it does not deal with theoretical principles, but rather with the overall picture that emerges as a result of countless observations, studies and other activities related to groundwater in all parts of the world. The focus is on showing the role and geographical diversity of groundwater¿a natural resource of great importance in daily life, but poorly understood by the general public and even by many water sector professionals. The book starts by analysing groundwater in the context of the hydrological cycle. Subsequently, groundwater systems as physical units, with their boundaries mainly defined by geological conditions, are reviewed. The next chapter looks at groundwater as a resource, paying attention, among others, to its quantity and quality, to the differentiation between renewable and non-renewable resources, and to the techniques for withdrawing groundwater. This is followed by a systematic documentation of the quantities of groundwater withdrawn and used around the world, and of the corresponding shares of groundwater in each of the main water use sectors. After that, steadily growing needs for groundwater management interventions are identified, resulting from local human activities and global change (including demography, economic development and climate change). Finally, groundwater resources management is addressed and real-life cases are described that illustrate actions taken and experiences with different issues in different parts of the world. The authors attempted to write this book in such a way that it is accessible to a wider readership than just groundwater professionals. It will also benefit non-groundwater specialists who work in groundwater-related fields (water managers, land use planners, environmentalists, agronomists, engineers, economists, lawyers, and journalists), by broadening their understanding of groundwater and making them aware of the huge variety of groundwater settings. Groundwater specialists will use the book as a convenient reference on the geographical diversity of groundwater. Part of the contents or interpretations offered may even be new to them or enhance their knowledge of some aspects. The many maps, tables, and references will save much time for those who would otherwise have to search elsewhere for basic information on the globe¿s groundwater.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GB1005 .M26 2013ISBN: 9781138000346Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Ocean Globe by
Ocean Globe focuses on bathymetry--the study of underwater depth of the third dimension--within the larger context of work being done by scientists and educators around the world. Each chapter represents a different facet of maritime research that relies on ocean floor mapping for its success. The topics covered address the diversity of the world's oceans and seas, placing emphasis on the need for better conservation. With a shared goal of joining disparate data collected over decades, the contributors of this volume turn to GIS as a tool for sharing information and advancing the science of bathymetry.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GC87 .O27 2010ISBN: 9781589482197Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Ocean : an illustrated atlas by
Detailing a mysterious realm that’s as vital to our existence as the air we breathe, this new atlas immerses readers in the wonders of the deep through more than 250 up-to-the-minute maps, photographs, and satellite images. Deep-sea pioneer and National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence Sylvia A. Earle (known as "Her Deepness") and marine scientist Linda K. Glover guide the adventure, in consultation with experts from NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration--who welcome the publication of a comprehensive ocean atlas geared to popular readers. The accessible text lays out key concepts, points of interest, and little known facts, opening our eyes to living phenomena from giant squid to tiny microbial bodies. Astonishing full-color photographs and diagrams reveal the beauty and complexity of ocean life. Unprecedented new full spread maps of the ocean floor--hand-drawn by expert cartographers--reveal the five major oceans in astonishing details. An unequaled resource for both education and entertainment, Ocean also explores the progress of fascinating technologies that will help scientists discover uncharted regions and life-forms. In light of recent events--the tsunami of 2004, Katrina and Rita of 2005, the growth of the ozone hole--humankind’s link to the ocean is front and center in our lives today. This rich informative, and timely atlas, encourages understanding of how the ocean correlates with these happenings--and how human maintenance of its waters and creatures will keep the planet going.
Call Number: Hodges Library Oversize G2800 .E24 2009ISBN: 9781426203190Publication Date: 2008-10-28
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Fieldwork Handbook: a Practical Guide on the Go by
Make your work in the field more efficient and productive with the how-to of location intelligence. A biologist in a rain forest making observations on indigenous frogs, an engineer maintaining utility equipment, or a citizen scientist taking water samples from a creek are all doing fieldwork. Their work is anchored by location. No matter what electronic tools they take into the field, they all take a notebook or a guidebook. As you head into the field along with all your equipment, be sure to include this practical fieldwork guide. Fieldwork Handbook gives you tips, best practices, and activities that make your work in the field more productive and successful. No matter how you use location intelligence in the field, you can up your game with this book and improve your experience. Covering preparation, equipment, workflows, and data, this book will teach you how to Organize and reconcile field data Effectively coordinate and dispatch field resources Refine fieldwork workflows Sync the office with the field Author and Esri product engineer Marika Vertzonis learned about geospatial technology in the field, and she knows what you need to know. This handbook is your friend in the field.
ISBN: 9781589487178Publication Date: 2024-03-05
The World Atlas of Rivers, Estuaries, and Deltas by
From the Congo and the Mekong to the Seine and the Mississippi, Earth’s rivers carve through landscapes before coursing into the world’s oceans through estuaries and deltas. Their inexorable flow carries sediment and more, acting as lifeblood for a variety of ecosystems and communities. More than any other surface feature of Earth, rivers, estuaries, and deltas are vitally important to our economic and social well-being, and our management of them often sits at the sharp edge of today’s most pressing environmental challenges. The World Atlas of Rivers, Estuaries, and Deltas takes readers on an unforgettable tour of these dynamic bodies of water, explaining how they function at each stage of their flow. Combining maps and graphics with informative essays and beautiful photos, this invaluable reference book will give you a new appreciation for the power that rivers, estuaries, and deltas wield.
ISBN: 9780691244846Publication Date: 2024-05-21
Geospatial Information Handbook for Water Resources and Watershed Management, Volume I, Fundamentals and Analyses by
1. Captures advanced technologies and applications for assimilation and implementation and addresses a wide spectrum of water issues. 2. Provides real world applications and case studies of advanced spectral and spatial sensors combined with geospatially driven water process modelling. 3. Details applications of the latest remote sensor systems including GRACE, SMAP, AVIRIS, Sentential, MODIS, Landsat 8, RapidEye, AirSWOT, and pays special attention to multidisciplinary cases studies. 4. It is global in coverage with applications demonstrated by more than 170 experts from around the world. 5. Edited by extremely qualified authors with lifelong expertise in water sciences and with an extensive record in books and journal publications.
ISBN: 9781032006369Publication Date: 2022-12-21
Geospatial Information Handbook for Water Resources and Watershed Management, Volume II, Methods and Modelling by
Volume II of Geospatial Information Handbook for Water Resources and Watershed Management discusses Geospatial Technology (GT) approaches using integrated modeling as applied to advanced water resource assessments. Features include multiple date land cover analyses as change in land cover influences water quality, model sensitivity analyses of DEM resolution and influences on modeling water characteristics like Manning's n, development of seabed cover classification and sensitivity, and forecasting urban growth over time with climate vulnerability impacts on water. A detailed case study presents a range of water quality issues, all effectively demonstrating GT inputs to water quality studies from headwaters to receiving estuarine waters. Also analyzed are the comparison of evapotranspiration simulation performance by APEX model in dryland and irrigated cropping systems and perspectives on the future of transient storage modeling. Captures advanced technologies and applications for implementation with models to address a broad spectrum of water issues Provides real-world applications and case studies using advanced spectral and spatial sensors combined with geospatially facilitated water process models Features a Neuse River Basin case study integrating hydrologic methods and modeling along with remote sensing and GIS technologies for nonpoint source water quality evaluations Global coverage with applications demonstrated by more than 170 experts from around the world This handbook is a wide-ranging and contemporary reference of advanced geospatial techniques used in numerous practical applications at the local and regional scale and is an in-depth resource for professionals and the water research community worldwide.
ISBN: 9781000798906Publication Date: 2022-12-21
Geospatial Information Handbook for Water Resources and Watershed Management, Volume III, Advanced Applications and Case Studies by
1. Captures advanced technologies and applications for assimilation and implementation and addresses a wide spectrum of water issues. 2. Provides real world applications and case studies of advanced spectral and spatial sensors combined with geospatially driven water process modelling. 3. Details applications of the latest remote sensor systems including GRACE, SMAP, AVIRIS, Sentential, MODIS, Landsat 8, RapidEye, AirSWOT, and pays special attention to multidisciplinary cases studies. 4. It is global in coverage with applications demonstrated by more than 170 experts from around the world. 5. Edited by extremely qualified authors with lifelong expertise in water sciences and with an extensive record in books and journal publications.
ISBN: 9781032006550Publication Date: 2022-12-21
GIScience for the Sustainable Management of Water Resources by
Water is one of the most critical resources of nature that is necessary for sustaining life for all living things. This volume discusses in detail a selection of geospatial approaches, tools, and techniques for understanding the root causes behind the degradation of our water resources. Satellite remote sensing provides essential data for mapping water resources, hydrology flux measurement, monitoring drought, and flood inundation. With an abundance of informative case studies, this volume discusses the use of the satellite remote sensing and GIS-based systems for managing urban storm water; for flood and soil erosion management; for mapping groundwater zones; for crop production, including measuring soil moisture and aridity; for gauging the impact of climate change; for evaluating glacier change dynamics; for assessing the impact of urban growth on water resources; for measuring the degradation of rivers; and more.
ISBN: 9781774910481Publication Date: 2022-12-22
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by
Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
ISBN: 9781589486379Publication Date: 2021-06-22
Mapping, monitoring, and modeling land and water resources : advanced techniques using open source software by
The wide range of challenges in studying Earth system dynamics due to uncertainties in climate change and complex interference from human activities is creating difficulties in managing land and water resources and ensuring their sustainable use. Mapping, Monitoring, and Modeling Land and Water Resources brings together real-world case studies accurately surveyed and assessed through spatial modeling. The book focuses on the effectiveness of combining remote sensing, geographic information systems, and R. The use of open source software for different spatial modeling cases in various fields, along with the use of remote sensing and geographic information systems, will aid researchers, students, and practitioners to understand better the phenomena and the predictions by future analyses for problem-solving and decision-making.
ISBN: 9781003181293Publication Date: 2021-06-27
Women and GIS, Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by
Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
ISBN: 1589485947Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by
Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
ISBN: 9781589485280Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Tangible Modeling with Open Source GIS by
This book provides an overview of the latest developments in the fast growing field of tangible user interfaces. It presents a new type of modeling environment where the users interact with geospatial data and simulations using 3D physical landscape model coupled with 3D rendering engine. Multiple users can modify the physical model, while it is being scanned, providing input for geospatial analysis and simulations. The results are then visualized by projecting images or animations back on the physical model while photorealistic renderings of human views are displayed on a computer screen or in a virtual reality headset. New techniques and software which couple the hardware set-up with open source GRASS GIS and Blender rendering engine, make the system instantly applicable to a wide range of applications in geoscience education, landscape design, computer games, stakeholder engagement, and many others. This second edition introduces a new more powerful version of the tangible modeling environment with multiple types of interaction, including polymeric sand molding, placement of markers, and delineation of areas using colored felt patches. Chapters on coupling tangible interaction with 3D rendering engine and immersive virtual environment, and a case study integrating the tools presented throughout this book, demonstrate the second generation of the system - Immersive Tangible Landscape - that enhances the modeling and design process through interactive rendering of modeled landscape. This book explains main components of Immersive Tangible Landscape System, and provides the basic workflows for running the applications. The fundamentals of the system are followed by series of example applications in geomorphometry, hydrology, coastal and fluvial flooding, fire spread, landscape and park design, solar energy, trail planning, and others. Graduate and undergraduate students and educators in geospatial science, earth science, landscape architecture, computer graphics and games, natural resources and many others disciplines, will find this book useful as a reference or secondary textbook. Researchers who want to build and further develop the system will most likely be the core audience, but also anybody interested in geospatial modeling applications (hazard risk management, hydrology, solar energy, coastal and fluvial flooding, fire spread, landscape and park design) will want to purchase this book.
ISBN: 9783319893020Publication Date: 2018-05-24- GIS for surface water : using the national hydrography dataset by
GIS for Surface Water: Using the National Hydrography Dataset enables scientists, managers, and students to understand the complexities of the vital surface waters of the United States. It triggers exploration and analysis by combining the ready-to-use powers of a comprehensive database of the nation's waters and the ArcGIS® platform for geographic data analysis and mapping. This book explains how the water that exists on the landscape has been translated into a computer database, and how data about the water, such as chemistry and fish habitat, is linked to this database. Elevation data is also incorporated to produce watersheds at the micro and macro levels. This information, along with climatic data, leads to the creation of water flow and velocity estimates for every segment in the 7.5-million-mile drainage network in the United States. With the development of this complete water information system, the reader is poised to generate new knowledge of the behavior of surface water systems. Application of the ArcGIS suite of geographic and network analysis tools makes the science of surface water come to life. GIS for Surface Water vividly demonstrates how the vast capabilities of ArcGIS can be easily applied to the National Hydrography Dataset and companion Watershed Boundary Dataset to reveal the intricate properties of complex water networks. A variety of GIS operations are made simpler through the use of ArcGIS. You will be able to input the National Hydrography Dataset in your GIS and trace the path of water within minutes. With just a little more effort, you will be able to create enlightening flow-volume maps showing how much water flows through any given river system. By following basic principles outlined in the book, you will discover that these methods also apply to the science of surface-water systems for any nation. User stories by experienced water analysts arte also included to help buoy your knowledge of GIS for surface water.
Call Number: Hodges LIbrary Stacks G70.215.U6 S56 2018ISBN: 9781589484795Publication Date: 2018-06-22
Hydrology : Principles and Processes by
The book comprises nine chapters, with seven core chapters dealing in detail with the basic principles and processes of the main hydrological components of the water cycle: precipitation, interception, evaporation, soil water, groundwater, streamflow and water quality. It takes a broadly non-mathematical approach, although some numeracy is assumed particularly in the treatment of evaporation and soil water. The introductory and concluding chapters show the relations and interactions between these components, and also put the importance of water into a wider human context - its significant role in human history, its key role today, and potential role in future in the light of climate change and increasing global population pressures. The book is thoroughly up-to-date, contains over 100 diagrams and photographs to explain and amplify the concepts described, and contains over 750 references for further study.
ISBN: 9781780407296Publication Date: 2017-02-15
The Planetary Ocean by
The description of ocean water masses is based on the study of their temperature, salinity, and density, virtual genetic imprints which provide identity and movement to water masses. Ocean characteristics and processes involved in exchanges with the atmosphere together with simple dynamic balances give an understanding of a large part of the vast oceanic system. This book is enhanced with numerous colored illustrations. It is a reference on regional oceanography updated with extensive results from the last twenty years. The presentation underscores the specificity of each ocean basin using a precise and global approach. Beginning with a brief historical context, it explains the interactions and the role of each ocean basin in the functioning of the planetary ocean. How do we recognize Antarctic Bottom Water in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean? What is the densest water mass? The warmest? Why doesn't dense water form in the largest ocean basin? What becomes of water that sinks in the Labrador Sea? Why does the ocean play such an important role in climate variations? ... Answers can be found in this book. Beyond a course in regional oceanography, the text is aimed at students in all fields of marine and environmental science as well as interested secondary school teachers. It also provides a guide to exploring the "ocean planet" that is comprehensible to any well-informed amateur eager to know the basics.
ISBN: 9782759820702Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Lakes of the World with Google Earth : Understanding our Environment by
Featuring satellite imagery from Google Earth, this guide provides a unique, highly visual tour of lakes across the globe, from the simple to the complex, the nearby to the remote. Clear text accompanies each image and identifies important aspects of each lake along with such information as its coordinates, scale, and altitudes, if relevant. From the many aspects of lake science including water budgets, temperature regimes, mixing types, biology/ecology, and chemistry, the book concentrates on the genesis of lakes and other closed forms containing water, moisture/swamps or minerals. Its organisation follows different forms of lake origin (often connected to the question of age) such as extra-terrestrial meteor impacts, structural depressions by tectonic activity, patterning of joints or faults, volcanic origin, or the forming influence of glacier ice, subterranean permafrost, littoral processes, running water, wind, and solution of rocks (karst forms). Coverage also deals with temporal variations in lake existence within the context of climate change in the past and the future. In addition, special chapters are devoted to saline (or salt) lakes, and -- in their evaporated forms -- to saltpans. Providing essential information at a glance, this guide will be help both specialists and general readers better understand the world's lakes as well as see them in a new perspective.
ISBN: 9783319296173Publication Date: 2016-06-14
Geospatial Technology for Water Resource Applications by
This book advances the scientific understanding, development, and application of geospatial technologies related to water resource management. It presents recent developments and applications specifically by utilizing new earth observation datasets such as TRMM/GPM, AMSR E/2, SMOS, SMAP and GCOM in combination with GIS, artificial intelligence, and hybrid techniques. By linking geospatial techniques with new satellite missions for earth and environmental science, the book promotes the synergistic and multidisciplinary activities of scientists and users working in the field of hydrological sciences.
ISBN: 9781498719698Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Atlas of Water : mapping the world's most critical resource by
Climate change, population increase, and the demands made by the growing number of people adopting urban lifestyles and western diets threaten the world’s supply of freshwater, edging us closer to a global water crisis, with dire implications for agriculture, the economy, the environment, and human health. Completely revised and updated, The Atlas of Water is a compelling visual guide to the state of this life-sustaining resource. Using vivid graphics, maps, and charts, it explores the complex human interaction with water around the world. This vibrant atlas addresses all the pressing issues concerning water, from water shortages and excessive demand, to dams, pollution, and privatization, all considered in terms of the growing threat of an increasingly unpredictable climate. It also outlines critical tools for managing water, providing safe access to water, and preserving the future of the world’s water supply.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1046.C3 B53 2016ISBN: 9780520965607Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Ocean Solutions, Earth Solutions by
This book showcases the latest and best oceanography research using spatial analyses and geographic information systems.
ISBN: 9781589483651Publication Date: 2015-07-10
GIS and Geocomputation for Water Resource Science and Engineering by
GIS and Geocomputation for Water Resource Science and Engineering not only provides a comprehensive introduction to the fundamentals of geographic information systems but also demonstrates how GIS and mathematical models can be integrated to develop spatial decision support systems to support water resources planning, management and engineering. The book uses a hands-on active learning approach to introduce fundamental concepts and numerous case-studies are provided to reinforce learning and demonstrate practical aspects. The benefits and challenges of using GIS in environmental and water resources fields are clearly tackled in this book, demonstrating how these technologies can be used to harness increasingly available digital data to develop spatially-oriented sustainable solutions. In addition to providing a strong grounding on fundamentals, the book also demonstrates how GIS can be combined with traditional physics-based and statistical models as well as information-theoretic tools like neural networks and fuzzy set theory.
ISBN: 9781118826188Publication Date: 2015-11-30
The world's water. Volume 8 : the biennial report on freshwater resources by
Produced biennially, The World's Water is the most comprehensive and up-to-to date source of information and analysis on freshwater resources. Each new volume examines critical global trends and offers the best data available on a variety of topics related to water. Volume 8 features chapters on hydraulic fracturing (fracking), water footprints, sustainable water jobs, and desalination financing, among other timely issues. Water briefs provide concise updates on topics including the Dead-Sea and the role of water in the Syrian conflict. The World's Water is coauthored by MacArthur "genius" Peter H. Gleick and his colleagues at the world-renowned Pacific Institute. Since the first volume was published in 1998, the series has become an indispensable resource for professionals in government agencies and nongovernmental organizations, researchers, students, and anyone concerned with water and its use.
ISBN: 9781610914833Publication Date: 2014-01-01
For Love of Lakes by
America has more than 130,000 lakes of significant size. Ninety percent of all Americans live within fifty miles of a lake, and our 1.8 billion trips to watery places make them our top vacation choice. Yet despite this striking popularity, more than 45 percent of surveyed lakes and 80 percent of urban lakes do not meet water quality standards. For Love of Lakes weaves a delightful tapestry of history, science, emotion, and poetry for all who love lakes or enjoy nature writing. For Love of Lakes is an affectionate account documenting our species' long relationship with lakes--their glacial origins, Thoreau and his environmental message, and the major perceptual shifts and advances in our understanding of lake ecology. This is a necessary and thoughtful book that addresses the stewardship void while providing improved understanding of our most treasured natural feature.
ISBN: 9781609173319Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by
Lakes and reservoirs hold about 90% of the world's surface fresh water, but overuse, water withdrawal and pollution of these bodies puts some one billion people at risk. The Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs reviews the physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs, and describes their uses and environmental state trends in different parts of the world. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes some 200 entries in a range of topics, including acidification, artificialisation, canals, climate change effects, dams, dew ponds, drainage, eutrofication, evaporation, fisheries, hydro-electric power, nutrients, organic pollution, paleolimnology, reservoir capacities and depths, sedimentation, water resources and more.
ISBN: 9781402044106Publication Date: 2012-07-09
Water Resources of North America by
Leonardo da Vinci, the eminent Renaissance scholar and philosopher said, "water is the driver of nature". Many may have considered it to be an overstatement in the past, but at the beginning of the third millennium, no sane individual would disagree with Leonardo's view. Water is becoming an increasingly scarce resource for most of the world's citizens. The current trends indicate that the overall situation is likely to deteriorate further, at least for the next two decades, unless the water profession eschews its existing "business as usual" practices, which can only allow incremental changes to occur. Somewhat surprisingly, the water profession as a whole neither realised nor appreciated the gravity of the global water situation as late as 1990, even though a few serious scholars have been pointing out the increasing criticality of the situation from around 1982. For example, the seriousness of the crisis was not a major issue, either at the International Conference on W ater and the Environment, which was organised by the UN system in Dublin and also at the UN Conference on Environment and Development at Rio de Janeiro. Held in 1992, both are considered to be important events for the water sector of the past decade. It is now being increasingly recognised that the Dublin Conference was poorly planned and organised, and thus not surprisingly it produced very little, if any, worthwhile and lasting results.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TC422 .W38 2003ISBN: 3540002847Publication Date: 2003-06-11
