Demographic Links
- Tennessee State Data Center Open DataBoyd Center for Business and Economic Research
- Census AcademyU.S. Census Bureau
- Geography Mapping FilesU.S. Census Bureau
- Explore Census DataU.S. Census Bureau
- Quickfacts: TennesseeU.S. Census Bureau
- Census TIGER/Line DataU.S. Census Bureau
- Cartographic Boundary Files - ShapefileU.S. Census Bureau
- Landscan Global Population DatabaseOak Ridge National Laboratory
- Atlas of Rural and Small-Town AmericaUSDA Economic Research Service
- Tennessee County Population Estimates DashboardTennessee State Data Center
- Open Opportunity DataPatrick O’Brien
Regional Demographic Links
- Atlas of West TennesseeThe University of Tennessee at Martin
- Nashville Area Data & MapsNashville Area Chamber of Commerce
- Nashville Interactive MapsMetropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee
- Tennessee Open MapsTransparent Tennessee
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
New Landscapes of Population Change by
Demographic forces--declining populations in many countries and surging populations in others, aging societies, and shrinking workforces--have national, regional, and global reverberations. Behind many of today's news headlines lie critical challenges rooted in worldwide demographic upheaval, with important implications for our future. New Landscapes of Population Change demonstrates how fertility, life expectancy, and migration, the key demographic drivers, interact to shape this future. Hayutin takes readers on a demographic world tour, focusing her analysis on key regions and countries--the largest economies, selected emerging economies, fast-growing populations, and major political hot spots--that will drive pivotal conversations in the decades ahead. More than 100 compelling and easy-to-read charts illustrate striking comparisons that will help readers develop a comprehensive understanding of how demographics will influence economic security and political stability through the end of our century.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HB1951 .H398 2022ISBN: 9780817925352Publication Date: 2022-12-01
The State of the World Atlas by
The State of the World Atlas is an accessible, unique visual survey of current events and global trends, highlighting the international scope and complexity of many challenges facing the humanity today. With a bold new design, this distinctive atlas presents the latest statistics on international trade and migration, the globalization of work, aging and new health risks (up to and including the COVID-19 pandemic), food and water, energy resources and consumption, literacy, gender equality, wars and peacekeeping, and more. And for the newest edition, special attention has been brought to the way that all of these issues are affected by the ongoing climate crisis. Fascinating, troubling, and surprising, this is an important resource for anyone who seeks to better understand the world around them.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1021 .S56 2021ISBN: 9780143135074Publication Date: 2021-02-09
Exploring the U.S. census : your guide to America's data by
The United States census provides researchers, students, and the public with some of the richest and broadest information available about the American people. Exploring the U.S. Census by Frank Donnelly gives social science students and researchers alike the tools to understand, extract, process, and analyze data from the decennial census, the American Community Survey, and other data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau. More than just a data collection exercise performed every ten years, the census is a series of datasets updated on an ongoing basis. With all that data comes opportunities and challenges: opportunities to teach students the value of census data for studying communities and answering research questions, and the challenges of navigating and comprehending such a massive data source and transforming it into usable information that students and researchers can analyze with basic skills and software. Just as important as showing what the census can tell social researchers is showing how to ask good questions of census data. Exploring the U.S. Census provides a thorough background on the data collection methods, structures, and potential pitfalls of the census for unfamiliar researchers, collecting information previously available only in widely disparate sources into one handy guide. Hands-on, applied exercises at the end of the chapters help readers dive into the data. The first chapter of the book places the census into context, discussing the history and the role of the census in society as well as in the larger universe of government, open, and big data. The book then moves onto the essentials of the data structure including the variety of sources and searching mechanisms, geography from nation down to zip code, and the fundamental subject categories (social, economic, and geographic) that are used for summarizing data in all of the various datasets. The next section delves into the individual datasets, discussing the purpose and structure of each, with separate chapters devoted to the decennial census, ACS, Population Estimates Program, and business datasets. A final chapter for this section pulls everything together, with a focus on writing and presenting your research on the data. The final section covers advanced topics and applications including mapping, geographic information systems, creating new variables and measures from census data, historical census data, and microdata. Along the way, the author shows how best to analyze census data with open-source software and tools, such as QGIS geographic information system, LibreOffice® Calc, and the DB Browser for SQLite®. Readers can freely evaluate the data on their own computers, in keeping with the free and open data provided by the Census Bureau. By placing the census in the context of the open data movement, this text makes the history and practice of the census relevant so readers can understand what a crucial resource the United States census is for research and knowledge.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HA181 .D66 2020ISBN: 9781544355429Publication Date: 2019-11-20
GIS and the 2020 census : modernizing official statistics by
Census workers need to capture and analyze information at the finest geographic level with mobile and geospatial-based technology. GIS and the 2020 Census: Modernizing Official Statistics guides statistical organizations with the most recent GIS methodologies and technological tools to support census workers' needs at all the stages of a census. Learn how to plan and carry out census work with GIS using new technologies for field data collection and operations management. After planning and collecting data, apply innovative solutions for performing statistical analysis, data integration and dissemination. Additional topics cover cloud computing, big data, location as a Service (LaaS), and emerging data sources. While GIS and the 2020 Census focuses on using GIS and other geospatial technology in support of census planning and operations, it also offers guidelines for building a statistical-geospatial information infrastructure in support of the 2020 Round of Censuses, evidence-based decision-making, and sustainable development. Case studies illustrate concepts in practice.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HA179 .L33 2019ISBN: 9781589485044Publication Date: 2019-06-10
Smarter government : how to govern for results in the information age by
This is the new way of governing. The time has come for the rise of the tech savvy executive: an individual who innately understands the need to help the use of technology rise at the same level across the entire organization. In Baltimore and in Maryland, Governor Martin O'Malley has done all of these things and more. Smarter Government: Governing for Results in the Information Age is about a more effective way to lead that is emerging, enabled by the Information Age. It provides real solutions to real problems using GIS technology and helps develop a management strategy using data that will profoundly change an organization. Browse galleries, exercises, and resources supporting this book's ideas and concepts: https://www.smartergovernment.com
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks JK3849.A8 O53 2019ISBN: 9781589485242Publication Date: 2019-11-05
How to Lie with Maps by
An instant classic when first published in 1991, How to Lie with Maps revealed how the choices mapmakers make--consciously or unconsciously--mean that every map inevitably presents only one of many possible stories about the places it depicts. The principles Mark Monmonier outlined back then remain true today, despite significant technological changes in the making and use of maps. The introduction and spread of digital maps and mapping software, however, have added new wrinkles to the ever-evolving landscape of modern mapmaking. ​Fully updated for the digital age, this new edition of How to Lie with Maps examines the myriad ways that technology offers new opportunities for cartographic mischief, deception, and propaganda. While retaining the same brevity, range, and humor as its predecessors, this third edition includes significant updates throughout as well as new chapters on image maps, prohibitive cartography, and online maps. It also includes an expanded section of color images and an updated list of sources for further reading.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G108.7 .M66 2018ISBN: 9780226435923Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Mapping Census 2010 : the geography of American change by
Mapping Census 2010: The Geography of American Change is an atlas of the American people: who we are, and where we are. Using the latest census data and geographic information system (GIS) technology, this atlas examines how our unique population is moving and changing. These large, full-color maps illustrate population density, age, and racial and ethnic composition with clarity. Mapping Census 2010 is an invaluable resource for government officials, policy makers, and citizens interested in social change.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1201.E25 P43 2012ISBN: 9781589483194Publication Date: 2012-07-02
Bushmanders & bullwinkles : how politicians manipulate electronic maps and census data to win elections by
For years Mark Monmonier, "a prose stylist of no mean ability or charm" according to the Washington Post, has delighted readers with his insightful understanding of cartography as an art and technology that is both deceptive and revealing. Now he turns his focus to the story of political cartography and the redrawing of congressional districts. His title Bushmanders and Bullwinkles combines gerrymander with the surname of the president who actively tolerated racial gerrymandering and draws attention to the ridiculously shaped congressional districts that evoke the antlers of the moose who shared the cartoon spotlight with Rocky the Flying Squirrel. Written from the perspective of a cartographer rather than a political scientist, Bushmanders and Bullwinkles examines the political tales maps tell when votes and power are at stake. Monmonier shows how redistricting committees carve out favorable election districts for themselves and their allies; how disgruntled politicians use shape to challenge alleged racial gerrymanders; and how geographic information systems can make reapportionment a controversial process with outrageous products. He also explores controversies over the proper roles of natural boundaries, media maps, census enumeration, and ethnic identity. Raising important questions about Supreme Court decisions in regulating redistricting, Monmonier asks if the focus on form rather than function may be little more than a distraction from larger issues like election reform. Characterized by the same wit and clarity as Monmonier's previous books, Bushmanders and Bullwinkles is essential background for understanding what might prove the most contentious political debate of the new decade.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks JK1341 .M66 2001ISBN: 0226534243Publication Date: 2001-04-15
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Characterizing rugged terrain in the United States by
Mountains and other topographic features with variable elevation provide benefits to residents and
visitors but may also impose barriers to travel and restrict development. The authors developed two
national representations of relative topographic variability for census tracts: the Area Ruggedness Scale
characterizes overall ruggedness and the Road Ruggedness Scale characterizes ruggedness along roads.
To understand variation of characteristics by terrain ruggedness, the authors analyzed population,
population density, and income across road ruggedness categories, rurality, and regions in the United
States. The authors found that as land becomes more rugged, population density decreases, more people
live in rural locations, and more rural residents live in low-income census tracts. Ruggedness is distinct
from rurality, but in locations that are both highly rugged and rural, unique challenges may arise.
Publication Date: 2023
Analyzing US Census Data: Methods, Maps and Models in R by
Census data are widely used by practitioners to understand demographic change, allocate resources, address inequalities, and make sound business decisions. Until recently, projects using US Census data have required proficiency with multiple web interfaces and software platforms to prepare, map, and present data products. This book introduces readers to tools in the R programming language for accessing and analyzing Census data, helping analysts manage these types of projects in a single computing environment. Chapters in the book cover following key topics: Rapidly acquiring data from the decennial US Census and American Community Survey using R, then analyzing these datasets using tidyverse tools; Visualizing US Census data with a wide range of methods including charts in ggplot2 as well as both static and interactive maps; Using R as a geographic information system (GIS) to manage, analyze, and model spatial demographic data from the US Census; Working with and modeling individual-level microdata from the American Community Survey's PUMS datasets; Applying these tools and workflows to analysis of historical Census data, other US government datasets, and international Census data from countries like Canada, Brazil, Kenya, and Mexico.
ISBN: 9780203711415Publication Date: 2022-11-02
Gender inequalities : GIS approaches to gender analysis by
Gender inequality is entrenched in the cultural, political, and market systems that operate at household, community, and national levels. Overarching global changes in access to markets, climatic conditions, and the availability of natural resources intensify disparities in income, assets, and power among genders. This book explains these gender dynamics at macro and micro levels through GIS and spatial analysis. Chapter 1 provides an overview of the current role of GIS in the context of gender inequalities, how it still exists globally despite substantial national and international measures that have been taken toward gender equality. It illustrates global and country-level maps of measures of gender inequalities, such as gender equality index, access to basic education, health and life expectancy, equality of economic opportunity, and political empowerment. The global case studies provided in the consequent chapters explore the world of gender inequalities and get directly involved with some of the GIS and mapping applications. Chapter 2 investigates how GIS can be adapted for the criminal justice response to domestic violence (DV) and to eliminate gender-based violence. Chapter 3 discusses applying GIS and spatial analysis to the prevalence and incidence mapping of intimate partner violence (IPV) and geospatial factors that influence help-seeking and resource availability. Chapter 4 discusses the spatial disparity of gender-representation across industry types in the United States. Chapter 5 explores the social and environmental injustice experienced by female migrant workers at Guiyu town, China, in the context of both environmental pollution and governance. Chapter 6 presents a social vulnerability index to identify spatial patterns of social vulnerability and gender inequalities among Mexican households. Chapter 7 presents the United States'' opioid crisis over the past two decades and analysis of mortality by gender, race, age, and urbanicity. Chapter 8 discusses the commitment to "leave no one behind" as the heart of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and identifies inequalities among women and girls by mapping multiple deprivations in Pakistan. Chapter 9 discusses the long-standing challenges in establishing gender parity in the transportation workforce in the United States. Chapter 10 presents a study that utilizes geospatial statistical tools and state-level admission data to examine gender inequalities in higher-education enrollment in Nigeria and investigates the key factors on enrollment. This book fosters engagement with the newest mapping and GIS application in contemporary issues regarding gender inequalities and nurtures recognition of how institutional global, everyday, and intimate spaces are inherently gendered, classed, raced, and sexualized. It demonstrates the spatiality of the politics of gender difference, and the contributions of GIS and spatial analysis to the struggles for equality and social justice. A unique work that Lays out a step-by-step approach to identify relevant GIS applications, spatial methods, data collection, and mapping techniques for gender inequalities research Has a strong international and global perspective. The author is well-informed in global perspectives Investigates the patterns/processes and indicators driving gender inequality at various temporal scales and at comparably detailed resolutions Illustrates finer-scale case studies, appropriate for local programs and interventions, as well as global scale studies contributing to international and national-level policy discussions on gender inequality Since gender inequality is a research area that is very wide and with strands into many academic traditions, this book is aimed at different and diverse academics/research. It is written for geographers, public health practitioners, sociologists, epidemiologists, criminologists, politicians, economists, environmentalists, GIScientists, and health and research professionals interested in applying GIS and spatial analysis to the study of gender inequalities.
ISBN: 9780429589775Publication Date: 2021-02-22
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by
Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
ISBN: 9781589486379Publication Date: 2021-06-22
Women and GIS, Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by
Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
ISBN: 1589485947Publication Date: 2020-04-21
GIS and Machine Learning for Small Area Classifications in Developing Countries by
Since the emergence of contemporary area classifications, population geography has witnessed a renaissance in the area of policy related spatial analysis. Area classifications subsume geodemographic systems which often use data mining techniques and machine learning algorithms to simplify large and complex bodies of information about people and the places in which they live, work and undertake other social activities. Outputs developed from the grouping of small geographical areas on the basis of multi- dimensional data have proved beneficial particularly for decision-making in the commercial sectors of a vast number of countries in the northern hemisphere. This book argues that small area classifications offer countries in the Global South a distinct opportunity to address human population policy related challenges in novel ways using area-based initiatives and evidence-based methods. This book exposes researchers, practitioners, and students to small area segmentation techniques for understanding, interpreting, and visualizing the configuration, dynamics, and correlates of development policy challenges at small spatial scales. It presents strategic and operational responses to these challenges in cost effective ways. Using two developing countries as case studies, the book connects new transdisciplinary ways of thinking about social and spatial inequalities from a scientific perspective with GIS and Data Science. This offers all stakeholders a framework for engaging in practical dialogue on development policy within urban and rural settings, based on real-world examples. Features: The first book to address the huge potential of small area segmentation for sustainable development, combining explanations of concepts, a range of techniques, and current applications. Includes case studies focused on core challenges that confront developing countries and provides thorough analytical appraisal of issues that resonate with audiences from the Global South. Combines GIS and machine learning methods for studying interrelated disciplines such as Demography, Urban Science, Sociology, Statistics, Sustainable Development and Public Policy. Uses a multi-method approach and analytical techniques of primary and secondary data. Embraces a balanced, chronological, and well sequenced presentation of information, which is very practical for readers.
ISBN: 9780429318344Publication Date: 2020-12-29
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by
Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
ISBN: 9781589485280Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Exploring the U. S. Census: Your Guide to America's Data by
Exploring the U.S. Census gives social science students and researchers alike the tools to understand, extract, process, and analyze data from the decennial census, the American Community Survey, and other data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau. Donnelly′s text provides a thorough background on the data collection methods, structures, and potential pitfalls of the census for unfamiliar researchers, collecting information previously available only in widely disparate sources into one handy guide. Hands-on, applied exercises at the end of the chapters help readers dive into the data. Along the way, the author shows how best to analyze census data with open-source software and tools. Readers can freely evaluate the data on their own computers, in keeping with the free and open data provided by the Census Bureau. By placing the census in the context of the open data movement, this text makes the history and practice of the census relevant so readers can understand what a crucial resource the census is for research and knowledge.
ISBN: 1544355424Publication Date: 2019-11-20
The Public Mapping Project: How Public Participation Can Revolutionize Redistricting by
The Laurence and Lynne Brown Democracy Medal is an initiative of the McCourtney Institute for Democracy at Pennsylvania State University. It annually recognizes outstanding individuals, groups, and organizations that produce exceptional innovations to further democracy in the United States or around the world. Micah Altman and Michael P. McDonald unveil the Public Mapping Project, which developed DistrictBuilder, an open-source software redistricting application designed to give the public transparent, accessible, and easy-to-use online mapping tools. As they show, the goal is for all citizens to have access to the same information that legislators use when drawing congressional maps--and use that data to create maps of their own. Thanks to generous funding from The Pennsylvania State University, the ebook editions of this book are available as Open Access volumes from Cornell Open (cornellpress.cornell.edu/cornell-open) and other repositories.
ISBN: 1501738542Publication Date: 2018-11-15
The Atlas of Global Inequalities by
Drawing on research from around the world, this atlas gives shape and meaning to statistics, making it an indispensable resource for understanding global inequalities and an inspiration for social and political action. Inequality underlies many of the challenges facing the world today, and The Atlas of Global Inequalities considers the issue in all its dimensions. Organized in thematic parts, it maps not only the global distribution of income and wealth, but also inequalities in social and political rights and freedoms. It describes how inadequate health services, unsafe water, and barriers to education hinder people's ability to live their lives to the full; assesses poor transport, energy, and digital communication infrastructures and their effect on economic development; and highlights the dangers of unclean and unhealthy indoor and outdoor environments. Through world, regional, and country maps, and innovative and intriguing graphics, the authors unravel the complexity of inequality, revealing differences between countries as well as illustrating inequalities within them. Topics include: the discrimination suffered by children with a disability; the impact of inefficient and dangerous household fuels on the daily lives and long-term health of those who rely on them; the unequal opportunities available to women; and the reasons for families' descent into, and reemergence from, poverty.
ISBN: 9780520966840Publication Date: 2016-05-04
The American marketplace : demographics and spending patterns by
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending draws on scores of government sources to give you a population profile of the United States in one handy volume. Its hundreds of tables are organized into multiple chapters covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth.
ISBN: 1940308755Publication Date: 2015-01-15
Atlas of the 2012 Elections by
The presidential election of 2012 was hotly contested, with polls showing President Barack Obama and Governor Mitt Romney neck-and-neck at various points during the campaign. In the end, Democrat Obama won reelection by nearly four percentage points at the national level; he won 26 states and the District of Columbia to Republican Romney's 24 states. Obama's victory confirmed that the election of the first African American president in 2008 was not a fluke, suggesting that racial attitudes in the United States have indeed matured in the recent past. Bringing together leading political geographers and political scientists, this authoritative atlas analyzes and maps the campaigns, primaries, general election, and key state referenda in the 2012 elections. The contributors offer a comprehensive and detailed assessment of a wide array of election issues and results including presidential primaries; newspaper endorsements and campaign stops; the results of the presidential election at the regional and national levels; and key voting patterns by race and ethnicity, religion, occupational groups, age, and poverty. Moving beyond the national race, the atlas examines important senatorial and gubernatorial races and considers selected state referenda including the marijuana votes in Colorado and Washington and same-sex marriage referenda in Maryland, Washington, Colorado, and Minnesota. The voting patterns identified in 2012 elections are also compared to earlier contests to provide political and geographic context over time. Illustrated with nearly 200 meticulously drawn full-color maps, the atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for pundits, voters, campaign staffs, and political junkies alike.
ISBN: 9781442225831Publication Date: 2014-09-26
Population Geography: Progress and Prospect by
First published in 1986, this book presents a comprehensive overview of the contemporary state of knowledge in the field of population geography. It discusses the contemporary state of the art and surveys new research developments and new thinking in the major branches of the subject. It thereby provides an introductory guide to contemporary trends and forms a reference point for future development in the subject.
ISBN: 9781134599851Publication Date: 2013-10-14
A Population History of the United States by
The first full-scale, one-volume survey of the demographic history of the United States has been fully updated here. From the arrival of humans in the Western Hemisphere to the current century, Klein analyses the basic demographic trends in the growth of the pre-conquest, colonial and national populations. From the origin and distribution of the Native Americans to late twentieth century changes in family structure, fertility and mortality, this updated edition incorporates recent research, including data from the 2010 census. In this definitive study, Klein explores regional patterns of fertility and mortality, trends in births, deaths and international and internal migrations, comparing them with contemporary European developments. The profound impact of historic declines in disease and mortality rates on the population structure of the late-twentieth century is explained, while the more recent urbanisation and rise of suburbia are examined within the context of new massive international migrations on North American society.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HB3505 .K58 2012ISBN: 9781139059954Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Demographics of the U.S. : trends and projections by
The year is 1950, and you are about to be magically transported more than half a century into the future to the present time. What would you notice first? What would most surprise you? Beyond the obvious technological marvels of the day lie profound changes in our demographics and lifestyles that would be shocking to the 1950s time traveler.Find out what those changes are in Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections, a unique source for details about the socioeconomic trends of the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the 21st. It includes comprehensive coverage of historical statistics, including single-year data on many topics such as school enrollment, SAT scores, hospital admissions, employment status of men and women, living arrangements of children, marital status, and geographic mobility.Demographics of the U.S. is a reference book for those who want perspective on the many changes in American life--a perspective critical for understanding what the 21st century will hold. New Strategist's editors scoured web sites and government reference books to locate the most revealing trend data. The result is a compilation of statistics that cannot be found in a single volume anywhere else, documenting the demographic and socioeconomic trends that have transformed the United States since 1950.Demographics of the U.S. documents the trends of the past 60 years by compiling historical numbers that cannot be found in a single volume anywhere else. Its 10 chapters examine trends in American's attitudes and behavior, education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth. New to this edition are 2010 census data, homeownership statistics through 2011, employment projections to 2020, and trends in household spending and wealth since the Great Recession.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HB849.49 .R875 2012ISBN: 1937737004Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Economics and Demography by
First published in 1976, Economics and Demography discusses how the world population doubled in the thirty years prior to its publication, and considers the economic implications of this demographic transformation. Professor Bowen, with many years' experience of research into the economic and statistical aspects of population and world development, provides a survey of the population of the world, and of how political economists have explained population growth. The author's survey looks first at the mechanisms of growth - fertility, mortality, and migration - followed by an account of theories of growth from Adam Smith to the present day. Professor Bowen, a former fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, who taught at universities in England, America, Australia and Asia, writes from the point of view of a political economist rather than a demographer, and Economics and Demography is of particular value to students of development, development economics and demography within departments of economics, economic history and geography.
ISBN: 9781136447990Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Atlas of rural and small-town America by
"Objectives ...: To provide a spatial interpretation of county-level, economic and social conditions along four dimensions: people, jobs, agriculture, and county classifications; To highlight the value of the U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey ... and ... data from several different Federal sources."
Allows generation and download in JPG or PNG formats of maps that reflect selected characteristics. Allows download of numeric data in Micosoft Excel spreadsheet format.
Publication Date: 2011
World factbook by
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Publication Date: 2010-
The measure of America 2010-2011 : mapping risks and resilience by
The Measure of America, 2010-2011, is the definitive report on the overall well-being of all Americans. How are Americans doing--compared to one another and compared to the rest of the world? This important, easy-to-understand guide will provide all of the essential information on the current state of America. This fully illustrated report, with over 130 color images, is based on the groundbreaking American Human Development Index, which provides a single measure of the well-being for all Americans, disaggregated by state and congressional district, as well as by race, gender, and ethnicity. The Index rankings of the 50 states and 435 congressional districts reveal huge disparities in the health, education, and living standards of different groups. For example, overall, Connecticut ranked first among states on the 2008-2009 Index, and Mississippi ranked last, suggesting that there is a 30-year gap in human development between the two states. Further, among congressional districts, New York's 14th District, in Manhattan, ranked first, and California's 20th District, near Fresno, ranked last. The average resident of New York's 14th District earned over three times as much as the average resident of California's 20th District, lived over four years longer, and was ten times as likely to have a college degree. The second in the American Human Development Report series, the 2010-2011 edition features a completely updated Index, new findings on the well-being of different racial and ethnic groups from state to state, and a closer look at disparities within major metro areas. It also shines a spotlight on threats to progress and opportunity for some Americans as well as highlighting tested approaches to fosteringresilience among different groups. Using a revelatory framework for explaining the very nature of humanprogress, this report can be used not only as a way to measure America but also to build upon past policy successes, protect the progress made over the last half century from new risks, and create an infrastructure of opportunity that can serve a new generation of Americans. Beautifully illustrated with stunning four-color graphics that allow for a quick visual understanding of often complex but important issues, The Measure of America is essential reading for all Americans, especially for social scientists, policy makers, and pundits who want to understand where Americans stand today.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HN59.2 .L495 2010ISBN: 9780814783795Publication Date: 2010-11-01
More than a pretty picture : using poverty maps to design better policies and interventions by
The allocation of resources and the design of policies tailored to local-level conditions require highly disaggregated information. Data on poverty at the local level is typically not available because most household surveys are not representative past the regional level. This volume aims to promote the effective use of Small Area Estimation poverty maps in policy making. It presents the range of policies and interventions which have been informed by poverty maps, focusing on the political economy of poverty maps and the key elements to their effective use by policy makers. The volume also looks at the future of poverty maps in terms of new techniques and new areas of application.
ISBN: 0821369326Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Mapping Census 2000 : the geography of U.S. diversity by
Combining the power of professional, GIS-based cartography with the most up-to-date data, this book presents a new perspective on America's demographic landscape.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks HB3505 .B847 2001ISBN: 1589480147Publication Date: 2001-11-01
