Health Data
- GIS & Public Health at CDCCenters for Disease Control and Prevention
- ArcGIS Online Homepage for the Tennessee Department of HealthTennessee Department of Health
- Health StatisticsTennessee Department of Health
- Data & IndicatorsTennessee Department of Health
- County Health Rankings: TennesseeUniversity of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
- GIS Portal For Cancer ResearchNational Institute of Health
- Public HealthU.S. Department of Homeland Security
- Healthcare FacilitiesESRI's ArcGIS Atlas of the World, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA); Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
- PLACES: Local Data for Better HealthCenters for Disease Control and Prevention
- Social Vulnerability Index (SVI)Center for Disease Control
- IPUMS Health surveysIntegrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
- Epidemic TrackerMetabiota
- ProMED HealthMapInternational Society for Infectious Diseases
Story Maps
- Opioids in Tennessee: an Exploration of the Washington Post Opioid Dataset for TennesseeMichael Camponovo, UTK Geography
- Tennessee COVID-19Liem Tran, UTK Geography
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
Mapping the nation : governments' coordinated responses to crises by
Mapping the Nation: Governments Coordinated Responses to Crises continues the pattern of annual national mapping books from Esri that highlight inspiring GIS work by the public sector. This year, this book focuses on the many ways GIS can help governments in times of crisis. These stories highlight how GIS was applied during the COVID-19 pandemic with a focus on how the public sector uses GIS to serve all people. Mapping the Nation: Governments Coordinated Responses to Crises details how GIS helps gather details about people and place to assist the vulnerable, rally responders, and lend clarity in times of crisis. These stories provide a sample of the work of thousands of public sector professionals around the world who are using GIS to navigate this new territory. They detail how governments at a local, national, and global scale turn to GIS for crisis management. Governments have applied GIS to all manner of challenges. Many states and localities used their understanding of their workers and businesses to forecast and address economic hardship, and to plan for contingencies and recovery. Cities across the country have used GIS to examine and understand who they serve--and who they leave out--to adjust budgets to address inequities. In this time of crisis, we have seen the value of a societal GIS with governments embracing it from the point of seeing details on a dashboard to the delivery of assistance.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA644.C67 M37 2021ISBN: 9781589486607Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Smarter government : how to govern for results in the information age by
This is the new way of governing. The time has come for the rise of the tech savvy executive: an individual who innately understands the need to help the use of technology rise at the same level across the entire organization. In Baltimore and in Maryland, Governor Martin O'Malley has done all of these things and more. Smarter Government: Governing for Results in the Information Age is about a more effective way to lead that is emerging, enabled by the Information Age. It provides real solutions to real problems using GIS technology and helps develop a management strategy using data that will profoundly change an organization. Browse galleries, exercises, and resources supporting this book's ideas and concepts: https://www.smartergovernment.com
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks JK3849.A8 O53 2019ISBN: 9781589485242Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Bayesian disease mapping : hierarchical modeling in spatial epidemiology by
Since the publication of the second edition, many new Bayesian tools and methods have been developed for space-time data analysis, the predictive modeling of health outcomes, and other spatial biostatistical areas. Exploring these new developments, Bayesian Disease Mapping: Hierarchical Modeling in Spatial Epidemiology, Third Edition provides an up-to-date, cohesive account of the full range of Bayesian disease mapping methods and applications. In addition to the new material, the book also covers more conventional areas such as relative risk estimation, clustering, spatial survival analysis, and longitudinal analysis. After an introduction to Bayesian inference, computation, and model assessment, the text focuses on important themes, including disease map reconstruction, cluster detection, regression and ecological analysis, putative hazard modeling, analysis of multiple scales and multiple diseases, spatial survival and longitudinal studies, spatiotemporal methods, and map surveillance. It shows how Bayesian disease mapping can yield significant insights into georeferenced health data. The target audience for this text is public health specialists, epidemiologists, and biostatisticians who need to work with geo-referenced health data.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792.5 .L387 2018ISBN: 9781138575424Publication Date: 2018-05-24
Cartographies of disease : maps, mapping, and medicine by
Cartographies of Disease: Maps, Mapping, and Medicine, new expanded edition, is a comprehensive survey of the technology of mapping and its relationship to the battle against disease. This look at medical mapping advances the argument that maps are not merely representations of spatial realities but a way of thinking about relationships between viral and bacterial communities, human hosts, and the environments in which diseases flourish. Cartographies of Disease traces the history of medical mapping from its growth in the 19th century during an era of trade and immigration to its renaissance in the 1990s during a new era of globalization. Referencing maps older than John Snow's famous cholera maps of London in the mid-19th century, this survey pulls from the plague maps of the 1600s, while addressing current issues concerning the ability of GIS technology to track diseases worldwide. The original chapters have some minor updating, and two new chapters have been added. Chapter 13 attempts to understand how the hundreds of maps of Ebola revealed not simply disease incidence but the way in which the epidemic itself was perceived. Chapter 14 is about the spatiality of the disease and the means by which different cartographic approaches may affect how infectious outbreaks like ebola can be confronted and contained.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792.5 .K63 2017ISBN: 9781589484672Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Pandemic : tracking contagions, from cholera to Ebola and beyond by
Scientists agree that a pathogen is likely to cause a global pandemic in the near future. But which one? And how? Over the past fifty years, more than three hundred infectious diseases have either newly emerged or reemerged, appearing in territories where they've never been seen before. Ninety percent of epidemiologists expect that one of them will cause a deadly pandemic sometime in the next two generations. It could be Ebola, avian flu, a drug-resistant superbug, or something completely new. While we can't know which pathogen will cause the next pandemic, by unraveling the story of how pathogens have caused pandemics in the past, we can make predictions about the future. InPandemic: Tracking Contagions, fromCholera to Ebola and Beyond, the prizewinning journalist Sonia Shah--whose book on malaria,The Fever, was called a "tour-de-force history" (The New York Times) and "revelatory" (The NewRepublic)--interweaves history, original reportage, and personal narrative to explore the origins of contagions, drawing parallels between cholera, one of history's most deadly and disruptive pandemic-causing pathogens, and the new diseases that stalk humankind today. To reveal how a new pandemic might develop, Sonia Shah tracks each stage of cholera's dramatic journey, from its emergence in the South Asian hinterlands as a harmless microbe to its rapid dispersal across the nineteenth-century world, all the way to its latest beachhead in Haiti. Along the way she reports on the pathogens now following in cholera's footsteps, from the MRSA bacterium that besieges her own family to the never-before-seen killers coming out of China's wet markets, the surgical wards of New Delhi, and the suburban backyards of the East Coast. By delving into the convoluted science, strange politics, and checkered history of one of the world's deadliest diseases,Pandemicreveals what the next global contagion might look like-- and what we can do to prevent it.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA643 .S52 2016ISBN: 9780374122881Publication Date: 2016-02-16
Handbook of Spatial Epidemiology by
Handbook of Spatial Epidemiology explains how to model epidemiological problems and improve inference about disease etiology from a geographical perspective. Top epidemiologists, geographers, and statisticians share interdisciplinary viewpoints on analyzing spatial data and space¿time variations in disease incidences. These analyses can provide important information that leads to better decision making in public health. The first part of the book addresses general issues related to epidemiology, GIS, environmental studies, clustering, and ecological analysis. The second part presents basic statistical methods used in spatial epidemiology, including fundamental likelihood principles, Bayesian methods, and testing and nonparametric approaches. With a focus on special methods, the third part describes geostatistical models, splines, quantile regression, focused clustering, mixtures, multivariate methods, and much more. The final part examines special problems and application areas, such as residential history analysis, segregation, health services research, health surveys, infectious disease, veterinary topics, and health surveillance and clustering. Spatial epidemiology, also known as disease mapping, studies the geographical or spatial distribution of health outcomes. This handbook offers a wide-ranging overview of state-of-the-art approaches to determine the relationships between health and various risk factors, empowering researchers and policy makers to tackle public health problems.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792 .H36 2016ISBN: 1482253011Publication Date: 2016-04-04
The Tobacco Atlas by
First published in 2002, this updated work uses maps, charts, and graphs to present data from the World Health Organization's working groups that deal with tobacco. Statistics and information on tobacco's harmful effects, the types of tobacco products used, tobacco production, tobacco use, the influence of the tobacco industry, and the success of health-education projects are all included. A glossary, a history of tobacco, and a bibliography round out the volume.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1046.J94 M3 2015ISBN: 9781604432350Publication Date: 2015-11-01
GIS Tutorial for Health by
A handbook for teaching GIS to healthcare professionals, this reference discusses learning GIS software in the context of visualizing and analyzing health-related data. By outlining a hands-on approach that simulates how a GIS project would be developed in the real world, the included exercises set the student loose on real data with a tangible, clearly-defined end-product as the goal. A companion CD-ROM includes additional exercises for each tutorial chapter with integrated cases that cut across chapters.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792 .G67 2014ISBN: 9781589483729Publication Date: 2014-07-08
Disease maps : epidemics on the ground by
In the seventeenth century, a map of the plague suggested a radical idea--that the disease was carried and spread by humans. In the nineteenth century, maps of cholera cases were used to prove its waterborne nature. More recently, maps charting the swine flu pandemic caused worldwide panic and sent shockwaves through the medical community. In Disease Maps, Tom Koch contends that to understand epidemics and their history we need to think about maps of varying scale, from the individual body to shared symptoms evidenced across cities, nations, and the world. Disease Maps begins with a brief review of epidemic mapping today and a detailed example of its power. Koch then traces the early history of medical cartography, including pandemics such as European plague and yellow fever, and the advancements in anatomy, printing, and world atlases that paved the way for their mapping. Moving on to the scourge of the nineteenth century--cholera--Koch considers the many choleras argued into existence by the maps of the day, including a new perspective on John Snow's science and legacy. Finally, Koch addresses contemporary outbreaks such as AIDS, cancer, and H1N1, and reaches into the future, toward the coming epidemics. Ultimately, Disease Maps redefines conventional medical history with new surgical precision, revealing that only in maps do patterns emerge that allow disease theories to be proposed, hypotheses tested, and treatments advanced.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792.5 .K633 2011ISBN: 9780226449357Publication Date: 2011-06-30
Spatial Epidemiological Approaches in Disease Mapping and Analysis by
Containing method descriptions and step-by-step procedures, the Spatial Epidemiological Approaches in Disease Mapping and Analysis equips readers with skills to prepare health-related data in the proper format, process these data using relevant functions and software, and display the results as mapped or statistical summaries. Describing the wide range of available methods and key GIS concepts for spatial epidemiology, this book illustrates the utilities of the software using real-world data. Additional topics include geographic data models, address matching, geostatistical analysis, universal kriging, point pattern analysis, kernel density, spatio-temporal display, and disease surveillance.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792 .L35 2009ISBN: 9781420045468Publication Date: 2008-08-18
Spatial Analysis in Epidemiology by
This book provides a practical, comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the use of spatial statistics in epidemiology - the study of the incidence and distribution of diseases. Used appropriately, spatial analytical methods in conjunction with GIS and remotely sensed data can providesignificant insights into the biological patterns and processes that underlie disease transmission. In turn, these can be used to understand and predict disease prevalence. This user-friendly text brings together the specialised and widely-dispersed literature on spatial analysis to make thesemethodological tools accessible to epidemiologists for the first time.With its focus is on application rather than theory, iSpatial Analysis in Epidemiology/i includes a wide range of examples taken from both medical (human) and veterinary (animal) disciplines, and describes both infectious diseases and non-infectious conditions. Furthermore, it provides workedexamples of methodologies using a single data set from the same disease example throughout, and is structured to follow the logical sequence of description of spatial data, visualisation, exploration, modelling and decision support. This accessible text is aimed at graduate students and researchersdealing with spatial data in the fields of epidemiology (both medical and veterinary), ecology, zoology and parasitology, environmental science, geography and statistics.
Call Number: Pendergrass AgVetMed Library Stacks RA652.2.M3 S63 2008ISBN: 9780198509899Publication Date: 2008-07-25
Geocoding health data : the use of geographic codes in cancer prevention and control, research, and practice by
In the past, disease pattern mapping depended on census tracts based on political units, such as states and counties. However, with the advent of geographic information systems (GIS), researchers can now achieve a new level of precision and flexibility in geographic locating. This emerging technology allows the mapping of many different kinds of geographies, including disease rates in relation to pollution sources. Geocoding Health Data presents a state-of-the-art discussion on the current technical and administrative developments in geographic information science. In particular, it discusses how geocoded residential addresses can be used to examine the spatial patterns of cancer incidence, staging, survival, and mortality. The book begins with an introduction of various codes and their uses, including census geographic, health area, and street level codes. It goes on to describe the specific application of geocodes to cancer, detailing methods, materials, and technical issues. The text illustrates how to compile data maps for analysis and addresses issues, such as mismatch correction and data quality. It describes the current state of geocoding practices and discusses the use of individually geocoded cancer incidences in spatial epidemiology, distance estimation and spatial accessibilities, and tips for handling non-geocoded cases. Special consideration is given to privacy and confidentiality issues by focusing on disclosure limitation methods. With recent disease outbreaks and escalating concerns about bioterrorism, interest in the application of GIS to individual data is growing. The fundamental concepts presented by this book are of great value to anyone trying to understand the causes, prevention, and control of cancer as well as a variety of other diseases.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA645.C3 G46 2008ISBN: 9780849384196Publication Date: 2007-11-19
The strange case of the Broad Street pump : John Snow and the mystery of cholera by
In 1831, an unknown, horrifying, and deadly disease from Asia swept across continental Europe and North America, killing millions and throwing the medical profession into confusion. A killer with little respect for class or wealth, cholera ravaged the squalid streets of Soho and rocked the great centers of Victorian power. In this gripping book, Sandra Hempel tells the story of John Snow, a reclusive doctor without money or social position, who--alone and unrecognized--had the genius to look beyond the conventional wisdom of his day and uncover the truth behind the pandemic. She describes how Snow discovered that cholera was spread through drinking water and how this subsequently laid the foundations for the modern, scientific investigation of today's fatal plagues. A dramatic account with a colorful cast of characters, The Strange Case of the Broad Street Pump features diversions into fascinating facets of medical and social history, such as Snow's tending of Queen Victoria in childbirth, Dutch microbiologist Leeuwenhoek's deliberate breeding of lice in his socks, Dickensian children's farms, and riotous nineteenth-century anesthesia parties. An afterword discusses the new threat of infectious diseases--including malaria, yellow fever, and cholera--with today's global warming. Copub: Granta
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA644.C3 H46 2007ISBN: 9780520250499Publication Date: 2007-01-01
England on the eve of the Black Death : an atlas of lay lordship, land and wealth, 1300-49 by
This atlas makes pioneering use of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) to unlock part of the treasure trove of information contained in England's unrivalled medieval public records. The result is an indispensable work of reference. Data from over 9,000 manorial extents, the tax returns of 15,000 individual wills, and 2,000 detailed manorial accounts are linked to reveal the human geography in England during the pivotal 50 years before the Black Death in all its complexity.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GF551 .C36 2006ISBN: 0719037689Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Statistical Methods in Spatial Epidemiology by
Spatial epidemiology is the description and analysis of thegeographical distribution of disease. It is more important now thanever, with modern threats such as bio-terrorism making suchanalysis even more complex. This second edition of StatisticalMethods in Spatial Epidemiology is updated and expanded tooffer a complete coverage of the analysis and application ofspatial statistical methods. The book is divided into two mainsections: Part 1 introduces basic definitions and terminology,along with map construction and some basic models. This is expandedupon in Part II by applying this knowledge to the fundamentalproblems within spatial epidemiology, such as diseasemapping, ecological analysis, disease clustering,bio-terrorism, space-time analysis,surveillance and infectious disease modelling. Provides a comprehensive overview of the main statisticalmethods used in spatial epidemiology. Updated to include a new emphasis on bio-terrorism and diseasesurveillance. Emphasizes the importance of space-time modelling and outlinesthe practical application of the method. Discusses the wide range of software available for analyzingspatial data, including WinBUGS, SaTScan and R, and features anaccompanying website hosting related software. Contains numerous data sets, each representing a differentapproach to the analysis, and provides an insight into variousmodelling techniques. This text is primarily aimed at medical statisticians,researchers and practitioners from public health and epidemiology.It is also suitable for postgraduate students of statistics andepidemiology, as well professionals working in governmentagencies.
Call Number: Pendergrass AgVetMed Library Stacks RA792 .L39 2006ISBN: 0470014849Publication Date: 2006-06-16
The ghost map : the story of London's most terrifying epidemic--and how it changed science, cities, and the modern world by
A thrilling account of the worst cholera outbreak in Victorian London and a brilliant exploration of how Dr John Snow's solution revolutionised the way people think about disease, cities, science and the modern world. This is an endlessly fascinating and compelling account of the summer of 1854, from the microbial level to the macro-urban-theory level, including, most importantly, the human level. A cultural critic with a poet's soul.' - The Village Voice'
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RC133.G6 J64 2006ISBN: 9781594489259Publication Date: 2006-10-19
World Atlas of Epidemic Diseases by
The euphoria about the defeat of epidemics which surrounded the global eradication of smallpox in the 1970s proved short-lived. The advent of AIDS in the following decade, the widening spectrum of other newly-emergent diseases (from Ebola to Hanta virus), and the resurgence of old diseases such as tuberculosis and malaria all suggest that the threat of epidemic diseases remains at an historic high. The World Atlas of Epidemic Diseases provides a timely and scholarly review of over fifty of the most important such diseases at the start of the twenty-first century. This stunningly presented collection of maps, illustrations and commentary offers an authoritative overview of the global distribution of major epidemic diseases on a variety of spatial scales from the local to the global. The Atlas is arranged in an historical sequence, beginning with classic plagues such as the 'Black Death' and cholera and moving on through smallpox and measles to 'modern' diseases such as AIDS and Legionnaires' disease. Over 400 figures are incorporated, including 150 specially drawn maps supported by micrographs of the causative agents, photographs of the disease vectors, historical prints and graphs of changing incidence. The text for each disease includes discussion of its nature and epidemiological features, its origin (where known) and historical impacts, and its global status at the start of the twenty-first century. The book concludes with an informed look towards the future, assessing the probable impacts of major medical advances on life expectancy and the chances of success of programmes for the global eradication of diseases such as polio and measles. The World Atlas of Epidemic Diseases makes a major new contribution to our knowledge of the global burden of disease and is an informative and fascinating reference on the changing distributions of disease. It will be an invaluable resource for anyone interested in the spread, control and eradication of epidemic disease.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1046.E57 W67 2004ISBN: 0340761717Publication Date: 2004-04-30
Mapping epidemics : a historical atlas of disease by
Epidemics have been affecting the course of history since way before the Black Death hit Europe in the Middle Ages. Using maps and graphs, this insightful book charts the course of these plagues, detailing not only their history but also their course and treatment. Arranged in alphabetical order, 35 dreaded diseases are charted, from polio and leprosy to AIDS and the Ebola virus.
Call Number: Pendergrass AgVetMed Library Stacks RA792 .H64 2000ISBN: 053116487XPublication Date: 2000-09-01
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
GIS Jump Start for Health Professionals by
Now, more than ever, professionals can benefit from the power of location data, maps, and analytics in healthcare. Health professionals see the importance of the who, what, when, and where of data analytics. The "where" adds a crucial element because good healthcare begins locally and understanding the impacts of place leads to better health. Health professionals recognize the insights gained from visualizing and analyzing location data. Maps, dashboards, apps, and charts can serve as location analytic tools to quantify problems, make predictions, improve operations, assess infrastructure, and make better decisions overall. GIS Jump Start for Health Professionals is a concise workbook that introduces location analytics available in geographic information systems (GIS) to health professionals, medical students, residents, fellows, nursing students, medical researchers, and others interested in health IT and informatics, health-care administration, and health policy. GIS Jump Start for Health Professionals provides hands-on tutorials that introduce the ArcGIS tools and shows how to use web-based data, storytelling apps, and much more. The book includes concepts and short video lectures to improve learning outcomes. Focused lessons get health professionals up and running quickly and experiencing first hand the value of location data, maps, and analytics. Written by Kristen S. Kurland, an award-winning professor at Carnegie Mellon University and co-creator of the GIS Tutorial series, this book can be used as a short course or incorporated into another course. It is also valuable to self-learners who want location technology experience.
ISBN: 9781589486539Publication Date: 2022-01-04
Using R for Bayesian Spatial and Spatio-Temporal Health Modeling by
Progressively more and more attention has been paid to how location affects health outcomes. The area of disease mapping focusses on these problems, and the Bayesian paradigm has a major role to play in the understanding of the complex interplay of context and individual predisposition in such studies of disease. Using R for Bayesian Spatial and Spatio-Temporal Health Modeling provides a major resource for those interested in applying Bayesian methodology in small area health data studies. Features: Review of R graphics relevant to spatial health data Overview of Bayesian methods and Bayesian hierarchical modeling as applied to spatial data Bayesian Computation and goodness-of-fit Review of basic Bayesian disease mapping models Spatio-temporal modeling with MCMC and INLA Special topics include multivariate models, survival analysis, missing data, measurement error, variable selection, individual event modeling, and infectious disease modeling Software for fitting models based on BRugs, Nimble, CARBayes and INLA Provides code relevant to fitting all examples throughout the book at a supplementary website The book fills a void in the literature and available software, providing a crucial link for students and professionals alike to engage in the analysis of spatial and spatio-temporal health data from a Bayesian perspective using R. The book emphasizes the use of MCMC via Nimble, BRugs, and CARBAyes, but also includes INLA for comparative purposes. In addition, a wide range of packages useful in the analysis of geo-referenced spatial data are employed and code is provided. It will likely become a key reference for researchers and students from biostatistics, epidemiology, public health, and environmental science.
ISBN: 9781003043997Publication Date: 2021-04-28
GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10. 8 by
Knowing how technology can improve health research and health-care management applications has never been more important. Geographic information systems (GIS) can provide health and human services professionals with the analysis and insights to make impactful, informed decisions about health care, health policy, and public health. Doing so starts with learning ArcGIS, the popular professional GIS application from Esri, using GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8. A workbook for learning the basics of ArcGIS within a health context, GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 introduces you to preparing, visualizing, and analyzing health data. Using a hands-on approach with real-world health-care scenarios that simulate how to develop and manage a GIS health project, the included exercises guide you to solve health problems using ArcGIS Desktop, specifically ArcMap. You will learn: the basics of mapmaking and how to use spatial and tabular data how to design maps for a health study how to apply spatial analysis tools for health studies and more. This sixth edition of GIS Tutorial for Health also includes updates for use with ArcGIS Desktop 10.8, an introduction to ArcGIS Online, and an international context using international health data. Written by the authors of the popular GIS Tutorial series, GIS Tutorial for Health for ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 incorporates proven teaching methods in detailed exercises, "Your Turn" sections, and homework assignments. Suitable as both a computer lab textbook and for self-study, this book will give health management students and practitioners, health-care managers, IT specialists, and researchers the understanding and skill set to apply GIS to work in the health field. Note: Esri Press e-books do not include 180-day trial software. Instead, you can download the ArcGIS Trial at http://www.esri.com/arcgis/trial.
ISBN: 9781589486782Publication Date: 2021-06-22
Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by
Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including: Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before." Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals." Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity." Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create." Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them." Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.
ISBN: 9781589486379Publication Date: 2021-06-22
GIS Automated Delineation of Hospital Service Areas by
Hospital service areas (HSAs) and hospital referral regions (HRRs) are considered more appropriate units than geopolitical units for analyzing the performance of health care markets and policy implementation. GIS Automated Delineation of Hospital Service Areas represents the state-of-the-art approach in delineating HSAs and HRRs by using GIS-automated processes. It provides the best practices for defining such areas scientifically, in a geographically accurate manner, and without a steep learning curve. This book is intended to mainly serve professionals in geography, urban and regional planning, public health, and related fields. It is also useful for scholars in the above fields who have research interests related to GIS and spatial analysis applications in health care. It can be used as a supplemental text for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in courses related to GIS and public health. Features: Introduces innovative state-of-the-art methods for delineation of HSAs (Dartmouth method, Huff model, network community detection methods) Provides best practices and one-stop solution for related data processing tasks (e.g., distance and travel time estimation, identifying the best-fitting distance decay function) Automates the methods in ArcGIS Pro toolkits Includes free ready-to-download GIS tools and sample data available on authors' website Presents a methodology that is applicable to delineation of other service areas, catchment areas or functional regions for business analysis, planning, and public policy studies
ISBN: 9780429260285Publication Date: 2021-10-14
Modelling spatial and spatial-temporal data : a Bayesian approach by
Modelling Spatial and Spatial-Temporal Data: A Bayesian Approach is aimed at statisticians and quantitative social, economic and public health students and researchers who work with spatial and spatial-temporal data. It assumes a grounding in statistical theory up to the standard linear regression model. The book compares both hierarchical and spatial econometric modelling, providing both a reference and a teaching text with exercises in each chapter. The book provides a fully Bayesian, self-contained, treatment of the underlying statistical theory, with chapters dedicated to substantive applications. The book includes WinBUGS code and R code and all datasets are available online. Part I covers fundamental issues arising when modelling spatial and spatial-temporal data. Part II focuses on modelling cross-sectional spatial data and begins by describing exploratory methods that help guide the modelling process. There are then two theoretical chapters on Bayesian models and a chapter of applications. Two chapters follow on spatial econometric modelling, one describing different models, the other substantive applications. Part III discusses modelling spatial-temporal data, first introducing models for time series data. Exploratory methods for detecting different types of space-time interaction are presented followed by two chapters on the theory of space-time separable (without space-time interaction) and inseparable (with space-time interaction) models. An applications chapter includes: the evaluation of a policy intervention; analysing the temporal dynamics of crime hotspots; chronic disease surveillance; and testing for evidence of spatial spillovers in the spread of an infectious disease. A final chapter suggests some future directions and challenges.
ISBN: 9780429088933Publication Date: 2020-01-27
Women and GIS, Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by
Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world. Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements.
ISBN: 1589485947Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Epidemiology and geography : principles, methods and tools of spatial analysis by
Localization is involved everywhere in epidemiology: health phenomena often involve spatial relationships among individuals and risk factors related to geography and environment. Therefore, the use of localization in the analysis and comprehension of health phenomena is essential. This book describes the objectives, principles, methods and tools of spatial analysis and geographic information systems applied to the field of health, and more specifically to the study of the spatial distribution of disease and health-environment relationships. It is a practical introduction to spatial and spatio-temporal analysis for epidemiology and health geography, and takes an educational approach illustrated with real-world examples. Epidemiology and Geography presents a complete and straightforward overview of the use of spatial analysis in epidemiology for students, public health professionals, epidemiologists, health geographers and specialists in health-environment studies.
ISBN: 9781786303608Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by
Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
ISBN: 9781589485280Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Disease mapping : from foundations to multidimensional modeling by
Disease Mapping: From Foundations to Multidimensional Modeling guides the reader from the basics of disease mapping to the most advanced topics in this field. A multidimensional framework is offered that makes possible the joint modeling of several risks patterns corresponding to combinations of several factors, including age group, time period, disease, etc. Although theory will be covered, the applied component will be equally as important with lots of practical examples offered. Features: Discusses the very latest developments on multivariate and multidimensional mapping. Gives a single state-of-the-art framework that unifies most of the previously proposed disease mapping approaches. Balances epidemiological and statistical points-of-view. Requires no previous knowledge of disease mapping. Includes practical sessions at the end of each chapter with WinBUGs/INLA and real world datasets. Supplies R code for the examples in the book so that they can be reproduced by the reader. About the Authors: Miguel A. Martinez Beneito has spent his whole career working as a statistician for public health services, first at the epidemiology unit of the Valencia (Spain) regional health administration and later as a researcher at the public health division of FISABIO, a regional bio-sanitary research center. He has been also the Bayesian Hierarchical Models professor for several seasons at the University of Valencia Biostatics Master. Paloma Botella Rocamora has spent most of her professional career in academia although she now works as a statistician for the epidemiology unit of the Valencia regional health administration. Most of her research has been devoted to developing and applying disease mapping models to real data, although her work as a statistician in an epidemiology unit makes her develop and apply statistical methods to health data, in general.
ISBN: 9781351645027Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Geospatial health data : modeling and visualization with R-INLA and Shiny by
Geospatial health data are essential to inform public health and policy. These data can be used to quantify disease burden, understand geographic and temporal patterns, identify risk factors, and measure inequalities. Geospatial Health Data: Modeling and Visualization with R-INLA and Shiny describes spatial and spatio-temporal statistical methods and visualization techniques to analyze georeferenced health data in R. The book covers the following topics: Manipulating and transforming point, areal, and raster data, Bayesian hierarchical models for disease mapping using areal and geostatistical data, Fitting and interpreting spatial and spatio-temporal models with the integrated nested Laplace approximation (INLA) and the stochastic partial differential equation (SPDE) approaches, Creating interactive and static visualizations such as disease maps and time plots, Reproducible R Markdown reports, interactive dashboards, and Shiny web applications that facilitate the communication of insights to collaborators and policymakers. The book features fully reproducible examples of several disease and environmental applications using real-world data such as malaria in The Gambia, cancer in Scotland and USA, and air pollution in Spain. Examples in the book focus on health applications, but the approaches covered are also applicable to other fields that use georeferenced data including epidemiology, ecology, demography or criminology. The book provides clear descriptions of the R code for data importing, manipulation, modelling, and visualization, as well as the interpretation of the results. This ensures contents are fully reproducible and accessible for students, researchers and practitioners.
ISBN: 9781000732030Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Geographies of Plague Pandemics The Spatial Temporal Behaviour of Plague to the Modern Day by
Geographies of Plague Pandemics synthesizes our current understanding of the spatial and temporal dynamics of plague, Yersinia pestis. The environmental, political, economic, and social impacts of the plague from Ancient Greece to the modern day are examined. Chapters explore the identity of plague DNA, its human mortality, and the source of ancient and modern plagues. This book also discusses the role plague has played in shifting power from Mediterranean Europe to north-western Europe during the 500 years that plague has raged across the continent. The book demonstrates how recent colonial structures influenced the spread and mortality of plague while changing colonial histories. In addition, this book provides critical insight into how plague has shaped modern medicine, public health, and disease monitoring, and what role, if any, it might play as a terror weapon. The scope and breadth of Geographies of Plague Pandemics offers geographers, historians, biologists, and public health educators the opportunity to explore the deep connections among disease and human existence.
ISBN: 9781315307428Publication Date: 2018
Routledge handbook of health geography by
The places of our daily life affect our health, well-being, and receipt of health care in complex ways. The connection between health and place has been acknowledged for centuries, and the contemporary discipline of health geography sets as its core mission to uncover and explicate all facets of this connection. The Routledge Handbook of Health Geography features 52 chapters from leading international thinkers that collectively characterize the breadth and depth of current thinking on the health¿place connection. It will be of interest to students seeking an introduction to health geography as well as multidisciplinary health scholars looking to explore the intersection between health and place. This book provides a coherent synthesis of scholarship in health geography as well as multidisciplinary insights into cutting-edge research. It explores the key concepts central to appreciating the ways in which place influences our health, from the micro-space of the body to the macro-scale of entire world regions, in order to articulate historical and contemporary aspects of this influence.
ISBN: 9781138098046Publication Date: 2018-06-21
Mapping AIDS : visual histories of an enduring epidemic by
In this innovative study, Lukas Engelmann examines visual traditions in modern medical history through debates about the causes, impact and spread of AIDS. Utilising medical AIDS atlases produced between 1986 and 2008 for a global audience, Engelmann argues that these visual textbooks played a significant part in the establishment of AIDS as a medical phenomenon. However, the visualisations risked obscuring the social, cultural and political complexity of AIDS history. Photographs of patients were among the earliest responses to the mysterious syndrome, cropped and framed to deliver a visible characterisation of AIDS to a medical audience. Maps then offered an abstracted image of the regions invaded by the epidemic, while the icon of the virus aspired to capture the essence of AIDS. The epidemic's history is retold through clinical photographs, epidemiological maps and icons of HIV, asking how this devastating epidemic has come to be seen as a controllable chronic condition.
ISBN: 1108425771Publication Date: 2018-11-08
The atlas of disease : mapping deadly epidemics and contagion from the plague to the zika virus by
Behind every disease is a story, a complex narrative woven of multiple threads, from the natural history of the disease, to the tale of its discovery and its place in history. But what is vital in all of this is how the disease spreads and develops. In The Atlas of Disease, Sandra Hemple reveals how maps have uncovered insightful information about the history of disease, from the seventeenth century plague maps that revealed the radical idea that diseases might be carried and spread by humans, to cholera maps in the 1800s showing the disease was carried by water, right up to the AIDs epidemic in the 1980s and the recent Ebola outbreak. Crucially, The Atlas of Disease will also explore how cartographic techniques have been used to combat epidemics by revealing previously hidden patterns. These discoveries have changed the course of history, affected human evolution, stimulated advances in medicine and shaped the course of countless lives.
ISBN: 9781781317907Publication Date: 2018-11-27
Infectious Diseases : A Geographic Guide by
The second edition of this concise and practical guide describes infections in geographical areas and provides information on disease risk, concomitant infections (such as co-prevalence of HIV and tuberculosis) and emerging bacterial, viral and parasitic infections in a given geographical area of the world. Geographic approach means that its the only book to guide the health care worker towards a diagnosis based on the location of symptoms and travel history by encouraging the question where have you been? New content covering MERS, Ebola, Zika, and infections transmitted during air and maritime travel Covers the major infectious disease outbreaks framed in their geographic setting such as H7N9 bird flu influenza, H1N1, Ebola, and Zika Outstanding international editor team with vast experience on various international infectious disease and as journal editors and key leaders in infection surveillance
ISBN: 9781119085744Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Practicing qualitative methods in health geographies by
Health geographers are increasingly turning to a diverse range of interpretative methodologies to explore the complexities of health, illness, space and place to gain more comprehensive understandings of well-being and broader social models of health and health care. Drawing upon postmodernism, many health geographers are concerned with issues of representation, the body and health care policy. Also related to an emphasis on the body is the growing literature in feminist health geography that investigates the metaphorical, physical and emotional challenges of the body and disease.
Reflecting these interests, the chapters in this book set out the host of creative qualitative methods being used to explore the psychosocial experiences of individuals more directly, using such traditional methods as in-depth interviews and group discussions, participant observation, diaries and discourse analysis, but also more novel techniques such as 'go-along interviews’, reflexive writing, illustrations, and photographic techniques. There are several areas of qualitative research unique to geographers which figure prominently in this volume including: health and place, comparative case study analysis, and qualitative approaches to the use of geographic information systems (GIS). This collection brings together a wide range of empirical concerns related to questions of health and shines a light on the diversity of qualitative methods in practice. Illustrating how qualitative methodologies are used in diverse health contexts this book fills an important niche for health geographers but will have wide appeal to health and geographic researchers.
ISBN: 9781317076506Publication Date: 2016
Spatial agent-based simulation modeling in public health : design, implementation, and applications for malaria epidemiology by
Presents an overview of the complex biological systems used within a global public health setting and features a focus on malaria analysis Bridging the gap between agent-based modeling and simulation (ABMS) and geographic information systems (GIS), Spatial Agent-Based Simulation Modeling in Public Health: Design, Implementation, and Applications for Malaria Epidemiology provides a useful introduction to the development of agent-based models (ABMs) by following a conceptual and biological core model of Anopheles gambiae for malaria epidemiology. Using spatial ABMs, the book includes mosquito (vector) control interventions and GIS as two example applications of ABMs, as well as a brief description of epidemiology modeling. In addition, the authors discuss how to most effectively integrate spatial ABMs with a GIS. The book concludes with a combination of knowledge from entomological, epidemiological, simulation-based, and geo-spatial domains in order to identify and analyze relationships between various transmission variables of the disease. Spatial Agent-Based Simulation Modeling in Public Health: Design, Implementation, and Applications for Malaria Epidemiology also features: Location-specific mosquito abundance maps that play an important role in malaria control activities by guiding future resource allocation for malaria control and identifying hotspots for further investigation Discussions on the best modeling practices in an effort to achieve improved efficacy, cost-effectiveness, ecological soundness, and sustainability of vector control for malaria An overview of the various ABMs, GIS, and spatial statistical methods used in entomological and epidemiological studies, as well as the model malaria study A companion website with computer source code and flowcharts of the spatial ABM and a landscape generator tool that can simulate landscapes with varying spatial heterogeneity of different types of resources including aquatic habitats and houses Spatial Agent-Based Simulation Modeling in Public Health: Design, Implementation, and Applications for Malaria Epidemiology is an excellent reference for professionals such as modeling and simulation experts, GIS experts, spatial analysts, mathematicians, statisticians, epidemiologists, health policy makers, as well as researchers and scientists who use, manage, or analyze infectious disease data and/or infectious disease-related projects. The book is also ideal for graduate-level courses in modeling and simulation, bioinformatics, biostatistics, public health and policy, and epidemiology.
ISBN: 9781118964361Publication Date: 2016-03-29
The Atlas of Global Inequalities by
Drawing on research from around the world, this atlas gives shape and meaning to statistics, making it an indispensable resource for understanding global inequalities and an inspiration for social and political action. Inequality underlies many of the challenges facing the world today, and The Atlas of Global Inequalities considers the issue in all its dimensions. Organized in thematic parts, it maps not only the global distribution of income and wealth, but also inequalities in social and political rights and freedoms. It describes how inadequate health services, unsafe water, and barriers to education hinder people's ability to live their lives to the full; assesses poor transport, energy, and digital communication infrastructures and their effect on economic development; and highlights the dangers of unclean and unhealthy indoor and outdoor environments. Through world, regional, and country maps, and innovative and intriguing graphics, the authors unravel the complexity of inequality, revealing differences between countries as well as illustrating inequalities within them. Topics include: the discrimination suffered by children with a disability; the impact of inefficient and dangerous household fuels on the daily lives and long-term health of those who rely on them; the unequal opportunities available to women; and the reasons for families' descent into, and reemergence from, poverty.
ISBN: 9780520966840Publication Date: 2016-05-04
Population health intervention research : geographical perspectives by
Health geographers are well situated for undertaking population health intervention research (PHIR), and have an opportunity to be at the forefront of this emerging area of inquiry. However, in order to advance PHIR, the scientific community needs to be innovative with its methodologies, theories, and ability to think critically about population health issues. For example, using alternatives (e.g. community-based participatory research) to traditional study designs such as the randomised control trial, health geographers can contribute in important ways to understanding the complex relationships between population health (both intended and unintended consequences), interventions and place. Representing a diverse array of health concerns ranging across chronic and infectious diseases, and research employing varied qualitative and quantitative methodologies, the contributions to this book illustrate how geographic concepts and approaches have informed the design and planning of intervention(s) and/or the evaluation of health impacts. For example, the authors argue that geographically targeting interventions to places of high-need and tailoring interventions to local place contexts are critically important for intervention success. Including an afterword by Professor Louise Potvin, this book will appeal to researchers interested in population and public/community health and epidemiology as well as health geography.
ISBN: 9781317077831Publication Date: 2016-07-22
Spatial Health Inequalities Adapting GIS Tools and Data Analysis. by
The neighborhoods and the biophysical, political, and cultural environments all play a key role in affecting health outcomes of individuals. Unequal spatial distribution of resources such as clinics, hospitals, public transportation, fresh food markets, and schools could make some communities as a whole more vulnerable and less resilient to adverse health effects. This somber reality suggests that it is rather the question of "who you are depends upon where you are" and the fact that health inequality is both a people and a place concern. That is why health inequality needs to be investigated in a spatial setting to deepen our understanding of why and how some geographical areas experience poorer health than others. This book introduces how spatial context shapes health inequalities. Spatial Health Inequalities: Adapting GIS Tools and Data Analysis demonstrates the spatial health inequalities in six most important topics in environmental and public health, including food insecurity, birth health outcomes, infectious diseases, children's lead poisoning, chronic diseases, and health care access. These are the topics that the author has done extensive research on and provides a detailed description of the topic from a global perspective. Each chapter identifies relevant data and data sources, discusses key literature on appropriate techniques, and then illustrates with real data with mapping and GIS techniques. This is a unique book for students, geographers, clinicians, health and research professionals and community members interested in applying GIS and spatial analysis to the study of health inequalities.
ISBN: 9781315354590Publication Date: 2016-08-05
Disease selection : the way disease changed the world by
Diseases have had more influence on us than we realize. They have taken a major role in making us humans and probably determine the way we run our lives. They emerged with us from our ancestral home in Africa, to spread to the rest of the planet. History is full of the great epidemics of plague, smallpox and anthrax, with the present catastrophe of HIV that is changing the demography of the world in a similar way to its predecessors. We survived because of our genetic variation and immune system and it will be this that will save us again. So fundamental has been the part that disease has played in the world that it has brought about change, just as much as has natural selection. Actually disease has been another force, sometimes acting with natural selection but often in opposition. It continues to have a far more profound effect on all of us than realized, selecting the course of the world just as much as the rest of nature has. Disease Selection: The way disease changed the world exploresthe host-pathogen relationship and the way communicable diseases have evolved often to stay one step ahead of interventions. From sexually transmitted disease through to ancient and modern great plagues, parasites, food, zoonoses, climate change and populations, this book explores the way disappeared and emergent diseases have shaped our world just as much as nature has. This book provides key information and is a valuable resource for students, practitioners and researchers working in global health and anyone interested in understanding of the basis of disease.
ISBN: 9781780646824Publication Date: 2015-12-04
GIS tutorial for health by
A handbook for teaching GIS to healthcare professionals, this reference discusses learning GIS software in the context of visualizing and analyzing health-related data. By outlining a hands-on approach that simulates how a GIS project would be developed in the real world, the included exercises set the student loose on real data with a tangible, clearly-defined end-product as the goal. A companion CD-ROM includes additional exercises for each tutorial chapter with integrated cases that cut across chapters.
ISBN: 9781589483941Publication Date: 2014
Geographies of health : an introduction by
Setting out the debates and reviewing the evidence that links health outcomes with social and physical environments, this new edition of the well-established text offers an accessible overview of the theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and research in the field of health geography Includes international examples, drawn from a broad range of countries, and extensive illustrations Unique in its approach to health geography, as opposed to medical geography New chapters focus on contemporary concerns including neighborhoods and health, ageing, and emerging infectious disease Offers five new case studies and an fresh emphasis on qualitative research approaches Written by two of the leading health geographers in the world, each with extensive experience in research and policy
ISBN: 9781118274866Publication Date: 2014-10-15
Health, Science, and Place : A New Model by
The main focus of this monograph is synthesizing the importance of geographic approaches to public health and patient care. The chapters are organized into four themed sections: the role of geography in health care reform; the geographies of human health; geospatial data and technologies; and geography in medicine. It is a highly informative book, providing scientific insight for geographers with an interest in advanced geospatial applications and health research. The author is an international expert in geography, GIS, and public health, who co-edited a special issue on "Geospatial Applications in Disease Surveillance," published in the International Journal of Applied Geospatial Research. "Health, Science, and Place is a well-intentioned overview of medical geography in the context of the ACA. Blatt does an excellent job synthesizing ecologic and geographic literatures with what we know about individual health, health care systems, and public health. ... this book fills a need in the field by offering a timely discussion of the ACA and medical geography." - Jennifer L. Moss, The AAG Review of Books, Vol. 4 (2), 2016 "Amy Blatt's pioneering new book on geomedicine and its exciting capacity to promote health and minimize risk is a robust call for understanding the role of geography for everyone's quality of life. In Health, Science, and Place: A New Mode, Dr. Blatt's contributions can be summarized in three categories: comprehensive analysis, creative curating, and targeted innovations... Overall, Dr. Blatt's Health, Science, and Place: A New Model is a pathbreaking book challenging all public health and health communication scholars and practitioners to explore vigorously the role of medical geography as a shining new bridge between geography and patient care." - John C. Pollock, PhD, MPA, Professor of Health Communication and Human Rights, and Faculty Affiliate in Public Health, The College of New Jersey, Ewing, NJ
ISBN: 9783319120034Publication Date: 2014-11-21
Mapping Disease Transmission Risk : Enriching Models Using Biogeography and Ecology by
A. Townsend Peterson, one of the pioneers of ecological niche modeling, presents a synthesis that illuminates new and more effective infectious disease mapping methods. His work--the culmination of twelve years of refinement--breaks new ground by integrating biogeographic and ecological factors with spatial models. Aimed at seasoned epidemiologists and public health experts, this interdisciplinary book explains the conceptual and technical underpinnings of Peterson's approach while simultaneously describing the potentially enormous benefits of his modeling method. Peterson treats disease transmission areas for what they are--distributions of species. The book argues that complex, fragmented, and highly irregular disease patterns can only be understood when underlying environmental drivers are considered. The result is an elegant modeling approach that challenges static spatial models and provides a framework for recasting disease mapping. Anyone working in the area of disease transmission, particularly those employing predictive maps, will find Peterson's book both inspiring and indispensable.
ISBN: 9781421414737Publication Date: 2014-11-26
Essentials of Medical Geology by
Essentials of Medical Geology reviews the essential concepts and practical tools required to tackle environmental and public health problems. It is organized into four main sections. The first section deals with the fundamentals of environmental biology, the natural and anthropogenic sources of health elements that impact health and illustrate key biogeochemical transformations. The second section looks at the geological processes influencing human exposure to specific elements, such as radon, arsenic, fluorine, selenium and iodine. The third section presents the concepts and techniques of pathology, toxicology and epidemiology that underpin investigations into the human health effects of exposure to naturally occurring elements. The last section provides a toolbox of analytical approaches to environmental research and medical geology investigations. Essentials of Medical Geology was first published in 2005 and has since won three prestigious rewards. The book has been recognized as a key book in both medical and geology fields and is widely used as textbook and reference book in these fields. For this revised edition, editors and authors have updated the content that evolved a lot during 2005 and added two new chapters, on public health, and agriculture and health. This updated volume can now continue to be used as a textbook and reference book for all who are interested in this important topic and its impacts the health and wellbeing of many millions of people all over the world. · Addresses key topics at the intersection of environmental science and human health · Developed by 60 international experts from 20 countries and edited by professionals from the International Medical Geology Association (IMGA) · Written in non-technical language for a broad spectrum of readers, ranging from students and professional researchers to policymakers and the general public · Includes color illustrations throughout, references for further investigation and other aids to the reader
ISBN: 9789400743755Publication Date: 2013-03-30
Diabetes in America : A Geographic and Demographic Analysis of an Epidemic by
Diabetes in America: Analysis of an Epidemic charts the geographic and demographic prevalence of people with Diabetes nationwide, by state and by district. This important title provides the reader with statistical comparisons of incidence, prevalence, costs and other relevant analysis of Diabetes across the US - at the nation, state and district level.
ISBN: 9781619251724Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Geographic health data : fundamental techniques for analysis by
Focussing on proven techniques for most real-world data sets, this book presents an overview of the analysis of health data involving a geographic component, in a way that is accessible to any health scientist or student comfortable with large data sets and basic statistics, but not necessarily with any specialized training in geographic information systems (GIS). Providing clear, straightforward explanations with worldwide examples and solutions, the book describes applications of GIS in disaster response.
ISBN: 9781780640891Publication Date: 2013-10-21
Atlas of human infectious diseases by
The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases provides a much needed practical and visual overview of the current distribution and determinants of major infectious diseases of humans. The comprehensive full-color maps show at a glance the areas with reported infections and outbreaks, and are accompanied by a concise summary of key information on the infectious agent and its clinical and epidemiological characteristics. Since infectious diseases are dynamic, the maps are presented in the context of a changing world, and how these changes are influencing the geographical distribution on human infections.
ISBN: 9781444354690Publication Date: 2012
Geomedicine: Geography and Personal Health by
There is abundant evidence that the use of geographic information has had a dramatic impact on the work of health professionals. Medical epidemiologists, the front line of disease detectives, have used GIS extensively in their fight against diseases that have a clear relationship between person, place, and time. GIS has also played an important role in protecting communities from otherwise overlooked risks and toxic exposures.Geomedicine applies the power of GIS technology to personal health. As this concept continues to be adopted by more health care professionals, physicians will increasingly use geomedicine to help diagnose, treat, and prevent illness and, in some cases, even make recommendations to patients on where they might live, work, and play.
Publication Date: 2012
An Introduction to the Geography of Health by
Health issues such as the emergence of infectious diseases, the potential influence of global warming on human health, and the escalating strain of increasing longevity and chronic conditions on healthcare systems are of growing importance in an increasingly peopled and interconnected world. A geographic approach to the study of health offers a critical perspective to these issues, considering how changing relationships between people and their environments influence human health. An Introduction to the Geography of Health provides an accessible introduction to this rapidly growing field, covering theoretical and methodological background. The text is divided into three sections which consider distinct approaches and techniques related to health geographies. Sectionnbsp;one introduces ecological approaches, with a focus on how natural and built environments affect human health. For instance, how have irrigation projects influenced the spread of water-borne diseases? How can modern healthcare settings, such as hospitals, affect the spread and evolution of pathogens? Sectionnbsp;two discusses social aspects of health and healthcare, considering health as not merely a biological interaction between a pathogen and human host, but as a process that is situated among social factors which ultimately drive who suffers from what, and where disease occurs. Section three then considers spatial techniques and approaches to exploring health, giving special focus to the growing role of cartography and geographic information systems (GIS) in the study of health. This clearly written text contains a range of pedagogical features including a wealth of global case studies, discussion questions and suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter, a colour plate section and over eighty diagrams and figures. The accompanying website also provides presentations, exercises, further resources, and tables and figures. This book is an essential introductory text for undergraduate students studying Geography, Health and Social Studies.
ISBN: 9780203877463Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Atlas of travel medicine and health by
This third edition of the Atlas of Travel Medicine and Health provides the latest travel health information in a visual format that will aid the healthcare professional when discussing travel health and educating the traveler regarding the risks and precautions that should be considered before and during travel in disease risk areas. The authors have extensive experience in travel medicine, and both are engaged in clinical practices in the field. Carefully drawn maps and icons provide much information at a glance in this attractive reference. The Atlas is organized around three sections: Section 1: General Travel Advice on topics such as water, food, personal hygiene, accidents, animal and insect bites, parasitic infection, sun and heat, casual sex, altitude, and medical coverage and insurance. Section 2: Travel-Related Diseases and Their Global Distribution for diseases such as malaria, hepatitis A, hepatitis B, influenza, cholera, typhoid, yellow fever, meningitis, schistomomiasis (Bilharzia infection), dengue, polio, Japanese B encephalitis, tick-borne encephalitis, rabies, and traveler s diarrhea, and several more. Section 3: Country-Specific Advice, Maps, and Weather, which includes immunization recommendations, malaria advice and precautions, and other health considerations. Sections 1 and 2 are written with the healthcare professional in mind, and Section 3 serves as a resource for both the professional and the traveler. The Atlas is filled with up-to-date, easily accessed travel health information.
ISBN: 9781607950486Publication Date: 2011
GIS and Public Health by
Authoritative and comprehensive, this is the leading text and professional resource on using geographic information systems (GIS) to analyze and address public health problems. Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy. Numerous maps, diagrams, and real-world applications are featured. The companion Web page provides lab exercises with data that can be downloaded for individual or course use. New to This Edition *Incorporates major technological advances, such as Internet-based mapping systems and the rise of data from cell phones and other GPS-enabled devices. *Chapter on health disparities. *Expanded coverage of public participation GIS. *Companion Web page has all-new content. *Goes beyond the United States to encompass an international focus.
ISBN: 9781609187514Publication Date: 2011-10-13
Modern Infectious Disease Epidemiology : Concepts, Methods, Mathematical Models, and Public Health by
Hardly a day goes by without news headlines concerning infectious disease threats. Currently the spectre of a pandemic of influenza A|H1N1 is raising its head, and heated debates are taking place about the pro's and con's of vaccinating young girls against human papilloma virus. For an evidence-based and responsible communication of infectious disease topics to avoid misunderstandings and overreaction of the public, we need solid scientific knowledge and an understanding of all aspects of infectious diseases and their control. The aim of our book is to present the reader with the general picture and the main ideas of the subject. The book introduces the reader to methodological aspects of epidemiology that are specific for infectious diseases and provides insight into the epidemiology of some classes of infectious diseases characterized by their main modes of transmission. This choice of topics bridges the gap between scientific research on the clinical, biological, mathematical, social and economic aspects of infectious diseases and their applications in public health. The book will help the reader to understand the impact of infectious diseases on modern society and the instruments that policy makers have at their disposal to deal with these challenges. It is written for students of the health sciences, both of curative medicine and public health, and for experts that are active in these and related domains, and it may be of interest for the educated layman since the technical level is kept relatively low.
ISBN: 9780387938356Publication Date: 2010-01-23
Medical Geography by
The leading text in the field, this comprehensive book reviews geographic approaches to studying disease and public health issues across the globe. It presents cutting-edge techniques of spatial and social analysis and explores their relevance for understanding cultural and political ecology, disease systems, and health promotion. Essential topics include how new diseases emerge and epidemics develop in particular places; the intersecting influences on health of biological processes, culture, environment, and behavior; and the changing landscape of health care planning and service delivery. The text is richly illustrated with tables, figures, and maps, including 16 color plates.
ISBN: 9781606236925Publication Date: 2010-04-20
GIS in Hospital and Healthcare Emergency Management by
Although many books have been published on the application of GIS in emergency management and disaster response, this is the first one to bring together a comprehensive discussion of the critical role GIS plays in hospital and healthcare emergency management and disaster response. Illustrating a wide range of practical applications, GIS in Hospital
ISBN: 9781439821312Publication Date: 2010-04-27
A Companion to Health and Medical Geography by
This Companion provides a comprehensive account of health and medical geography and approaches the major themes and key topics from a variety of angles. Offers a unique breadth of topics relating to both health and medical geography Includes contributions from a range of scholars from rising stars to established, internationally renowned authors Provides an up-to-date review of the state of the sub-discipline Thematically organized sections offer detailed accounts of specific issues and combine general overviews of the current literature with case study material Chapters cover topics at the cutting edge of the sub-discipline, including emerging and re-emerging diseases, the politics of disease, mental and emotional health, landscapes of despair, and the geography of care
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792 .C65 2010ISBN: 9781444314779Publication Date: 2009-11-19
Early Detection and Response to Infectious Disease by
Successful understanding and response to infectious disease outbreaks depend greatly on the ability to consider the surrounding context. Disease spreads geographically, and interventions occur in relation to human, institutional, climatic, and other kinds of landscapes. Because GIS technology relates many kinds of data to geographic location, it excels in tracking not only disease spread but also laboratory specimen and medical supply whereabouts, hospital bed availability, testing facility proximity, vulnerable population locations, and medical personnel distribution. Built-in GIS analysis tools provide effective early warning systems and preparedness programs that generate meaningful information that public health offi cials need to make effective decisions—at the community, national, and global levels.During an outbreak, GIS provides tools that speed the collection of accurate fi eld data. Complex statistical and other analyses applied with GIS technology provide relevant information to support sound decisions. GIS analysis can, for example, locate a potential disease hot spot and calculate a nearby hospital's ability to handle the expected increase in service demand if an outbreak should occur. Public health emergencies are not of short duration. Effects of a disease outbreak (or an environmental disaster such as a chemical spill) have the potential for long-term impacts on the health and well-being of a community. Public health organizations rely on GIS analysis tools to assess data collected in the process of monitoring long-term health effects.
Publication Date: 2009
The geographic spread of infectious diseases : models and applications by
The 1918-19 influenza epidemic killed more than fifty million people worldwide. The SARS epidemic of 2002-3, by comparison, killed fewer than a thousand. The success in containing the spread of SARS was due largely to the rapid global response of public health authorities, which was aided by insights resulting from mathematical models. Models enabled authorities to better understand how the disease spread and to assess the relative effectiveness of different control strategies. In this book, Lisa Sattenspiel and Alun Lloyd provide a comprehensive introduction to mathematical models in epidemiology and show how they can be used to predict and control the geographic spread of major infectious diseases. Key concepts in infectious disease modeling are explained, readers are guided from simple mathematical models to more complex ones, and the strengths and weaknesses of these models are explored. The book highlights the breadth of techniques available to modelers today, such as population-based and individual-based models, and covers specific applications as well. Sattenspiel and Lloyd examine the powerful mathematical models that health authorities have developed to understand the spatial distribution and geographic spread of influenza, measles, foot-and-mouth disease, and SARS. Analytic methods geographers use to study human infectious diseases and the dynamics of epidemics are also discussed. A must-read for students, researchers, and practitioners, no other book provides such an accessible introduction to this exciting and fast-evolving field.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA643 .S39 2009ISBN: 9780691121321Publication Date: 2009-07-26
Infectious diseases : emergence and re-emergence : a geographical analysis by
The last four decades of human history have seen the emergence of an unprecedented number of 'new' infectious diseases: the familiar roll call includes AIDS, Ebola, H5N1 influenza, hantavirus, hepatitis E, Lassa fever, legionnaires' and Lyme diseases, Marburg fever, Rift Valley fever, SARS,and West Nile. The outbreaks range in scale from global pandemics that have brought death and misery to millions, through to self-limiting outbreaks of mainly local impact. Some outbreaks have erupted explosively but have already faded away; some grumble along or continue to devastate as nowpersistent features in the medical lexicon; in others, a huge potential threat hangs uncertainly and worryingly in the air. Some outbreaks are merely local, others are worldwide.This book looks at the epidemiological and geographical conditions which underpin disease emergence. What are the processes which lead to emergence? Why now in human history? Where do such diseases emerge and how do they spread or fail to spread around the globe? What is the armoury of surveillanceand control measures that may curb the impact of such diseases? But, uniquely, it sets these questions on the modern period of disease emergence in an historical context. First, it uses the historical record to set recent events against a much broader temporal canvas, finding emergence to be aconstant theme in disease history rather than one confined to recent decades. It concludes that it is the quantitative pace of emergence, rather than its intrinsic nature, that separates the present period from earlier centuries. Second, it looks at the spatial and ecological setting of emergence,using hundreds of specially-drawn maps to chart the source areas of new diseases and the pathways of their spread. The book is divided into three main sections: Part 1 looks at early disease emergence, Part 2 at the processes of disease emergence, and Part 3 at the future for emergentdiseases.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA643 .C62 2009ISBN: 9780199244737Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Spatial and spatio-temporal epidemiology
Spatial and Spatio-Temporal Epidemiology is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that provides a home for high quality work which straddles the areas of GIS, epidemiology, exposure science, and spatial statistics. The journal focuses on answering epidemiological questions where spatial and spatio-temporal approaches are appropriate. The methods should help to advance our understanding of infectious and non-infectious diseases in humans.
The journal will also consider applications where health care provision is the focus. Coverage of veterinary topics will be included, and those with direct human health implications are especially welcome. The journal places special emphasis on spatio-temporal aspects of emerging diseases (e.g., avian flu, SARS), development of spatial statistical and computational methods, and novel applications of geospatial technology (e.g., GPS, GIS) for shedding insights on exposure and disease processes.
Publication Date: 2009-
Geospatial health
all aspects of the application of geographical information systems, remote sensing, global positioning systems, spatial statistics and other geospatial tools in human and veterinary health.
Publication Date: 2006-
U.S. predicted cancer incidence, 1999 : complete maps by county and state from spatial projection models by
Presents the results of a statistical model that predicts the number of new cases and incidence rates for the major types of cancer for every state and county in the United States for 1999. In the future, this method will be modified to project into the near future to predict the number of new cases and incidence rates for the next calendar year.
Publication Date: 2003
Cholera, chloroform, and the science of medicine : a life of John Snow by
The product of six years of collaborative research, this fine biography offers new interpretations of a pioneering figure in anesthesiology, epidemiology, medical cartography, and public health. It modifies the conventional rags to riches portrait of John Snow by synthesizing freshinformation about his early life from archival research and recent studies. It explores the intellectual roots of his commitments to vegetarianism, temperance, and pure drinking water, first developed when he was a medical apprentice and assistant in the north of England. The authors argue thatall of Snow's later contributions are traceable to the medical paradigm he imbibed as a medical student in London and put into practice early in his career as a clinician: that medicine as a science required the incorporation of recent developments in its collateral sciences--chiefly anatomy,chemistry, and physiology--in order to understand the causes of disease. Snow's theoretical breakthroughs in anesthesia were extensions of his experimental research in respiratory physiology and the properties of inhaled gases. Shortly thereafter, his understanding of gas laws led him to rejectmiasmatic explanations for the spread of cholera, and to develop an alternative theory in consonance with what was then known about chemistry and the physiology of digestion. Using all of Snow's writings, the authors follow him when working in his home laboratory, visiting patients throughoutLondon, attending medical society meetings, and conducting studies during the cholera epidemics of 1849 and 1854. The result is a book that demythologizes some overly heroic views of Snow by providing a fairer measure of his actual contributions. It will have an impact not only on theunderstanding of the man but also on the history of epidemiology and medical science.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA649.5.S66 S647 2003ISBN: 019513544XPublication Date: 2003-05-01
The Tobacco Atlas by
Research in the past five years suggests a bleak picture of the health dangers of smoking, with tobacco the biggest single killer of all forms of pollution. It is estimated that one person dies every ten seconds due to smoking-related diseases. This publication considers the history and current position regarding tobacco use, as well as providing some predictions for the future of the tobacco epidemic upto the year 2050. It contains a number of full-colour world maps and graphics to illustrate the variations between countries and regions. Issues discussed include: tobacco prevalence and consumption; youth smoking; the economics of tobacco farming and manufacturing; smuggling; the tobacco industry, promotion, profits and trade; smokers' rights; legislative action such as smoke-free areas, tobacco advertising bans and health warnings.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1046.J94 M3 2015ISBN: 9241562099Publication Date: 2002-01-01
An Introductory Guide to Disease Mapping by
This superb introductory guide explains the basic principles underlying the construction and analysis of disease maps. Growing public awareness of environmental hazards has increased the demand for investigations into the geographical distribution of disease and as data resulting from studies is not always straightforward to interpret, there has been a need for an accessible, clearly written introduction to the subject. This book supplies the reader with an array of tools and skills so that maps may be produced and correctly interpreted, and also describes the role of disease mapping within epidemiology, highlighting its important role in studies of environmental health and environmental epidemiology. It provides: * An introduction to new developments in disease mapping * Comprehensive coverage of an active area of research and development * Numerous case studies to highlight the application of the techniques discussed This text will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in disease mapping, and is an essential volume for both the specialist and the non-specialist. It is of particular relevance to epidemiologists, medical statisticians, geographers, and public health advisors, as well as environmental health workers, occupational health physicians, and infectious disease specialists.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks RA792.5 .L3 2001ISBN: 047186059XPublication Date: 2001-03-16
Atlas of cancer mortality in the United States, 1950-94 by
A detailed atlas that illustrated all of the different cancers and their rates within male/female/white/black people and then within counties.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G1201.E51 A8 1999Publication Date: 1999
