Tennessee GIS Data and Resources: Elevation

Surveying and Geomatic Engineering: Principles, Technologies, and Applications by Daniel T. Gillins (Editor); Michael L. Dennis (Editor); Alan Y. Ng (Editor) Sponsored by the Surveying Committee of the Surveying and Geomatics Division of the Utility Engineering and Surveying Institute of ASCE and the National Geodetic Survey of the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Surveying and Geomatics Engineering: Principles, Technologies, and Applications, MOP 152, is a comprehensive yet general overview to help support education and inform practicing engineers on the important role of the surveying engineer. It provides a much-needed update on the modern practice of surveying and geomatics engineering. Topics include Geodesy, Coordinate systems and transformations, Least squares adjustments and error propagation, Modern surveying and remote sensing technology, Analysis and establishment of control, Geographic and building information systems, Construction surveying, and Best practices. MOP 152 can be used as a summary and a reference for practicing engineers, surveying and otherwise, to help provide a solid understanding of the state of the surveying and geomatics engineering field.

LiDAR Technologies and Systems by Paul F. McManamon LiDAR is one of many active sensor technologies that uses electromagnetic radiation. Operating in the optical and infrared wavelengths, it is similar to more-familiar passive EO/IR sensor technology. It is also similar to radar in that it uses reflected electromagnetic radiation emitted by the sensor. LiDAR is commonly used for making high-resolution maps and has applications in geodesy, geomatics, archaeology, geography, geology, geomorphology, seismology, forestry, atmospheric physics, laser guidance, airborne laser swath mapping, and laser altimetry. It is also being used for control and navigation of some autonomous cars. The first part of LiDAR Technologies and Systems introduces LiDAR and its history, and then covers the LiDAR range equation and the link budget (how much signal a LiDAR must emit in order to get a certain number of reflected photons back), as well as the rich phenomenology of LiDAR, which results in a diverse array of LiDAR types. The middle chapters discuss the components of a LiDAR system, including laser sources and modulators, LiDAR receivers, beam-steering approaches, and LiDAR processing. The last part covers testing, performance metrics, and significant applications, including how to build systems for some of the more popular applications.

Digital elevation model technologies and applications : the DEM users manual by David F Maune This book is your guide to 3D elevation technologies, products and applications. It will guide you through the inception and implementation of the U.S. Geological Survey’s (USGS) 3D Elevation Program (3DEP) to provide not just bare earth DEMs, but a full suite of 3D elevation products using Quality Levels (QLs) that are standardized and consistent across the U.S. and territories. The 3DEP is based on the National Enhanced Elevation Assessment (NEEA) which evaluated 602 different mission-critical requirements for and benefits from enhanced elevation data of various QLs for 34 Federal agencies, all 50 states (with local and Tribal input), and 13 non-governmental organizations. The NEEA documented the highest Return on Investment from QL2 lidar for the conterminous states, Hawaii and U.S. territories, and QL5 IfSAR for Alaska

LiDAR remote sensing and applications by Pinliang Dong; Qi Chen Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate students in the fields of geography, forestry, ecology, geographic information science, remote sensing, and photogrammetric engineering, LiDAR Remote Sensing and Applications expertly joins LiDAR principles, data processing basics, applications, and hands-on practices in one comprehensive source. The LiDAR data within this book is collected from 27 areas in the United States, Brazil, Canada, Ghana, and Haiti and includes 183 figures created to introduce the concepts, methods, and applications in a clear context. It provides 11 step-by-step projects predominately based on Esri¿s ArcGIS software to support seamless integration of LiDAR products and other GIS data. The first six projects are for basic LiDAR data visualization and processing and the other five cover more advanced topics: from mapping gaps in mangrove forests in Everglades National Park, Florida to generating trend surfaces for rock layers in Raplee Ridge, Utah. Features Offers a comprehensive overview of LiDAR technology with numerous applications in geography, forestry and earth science Gives necessary theoretical foundations from all pertinent subject matter areas Uses case studies and best practices to point readers to tools and resources Provides a synthesis of ongoing research in the area of LiDAR remote sensing technology Includes carefully selected illustrations and data from the authors' research projects Before every project in the book, a link is provided for users to download data

Working with Lidar Using ArcGIS Desktop by John McGee; James Campbell; Tammy Parece Lidar imagery provides valuable information in the field of remote sensing, allowing users to determine elevation, vegetation structure, and terrain with remarkable levels of detail. This manual will lead ArcGIS Desktop users through the tools and methods needed to access, process, and analyze lidar data. Foreword by Dr. Valarie Thomas

Making Spatial Decisions Using GIS and Lidar by Kathryn Keranen; Robert Kolvoor The third book in the Making Spatial Decisions series, Making Spatial Decisions Using GIS and Lidar, focuses on scenario-based problem solving using an integrated workflow in ArcGIS® for Desktop. The scenarios in Making Spatial Decisions Using GIS and Lidar feature lidar as the primary data source and lidar-related analysis as the primary skill focus. Lidar is a powerful, and increasingly popular, data source used to create elevation and terrain models with very high accuracy. Students and self-learners can use the exercises in this book to develop their GIS skills. Downloadable data and access to a 180-day trial of ArcGIS are available on the Esri Press Book Resources web page, esripress.esri.com/bookresources. Instructor resources are available by request.

Elevation Models for Geoscience by C. Fleming (Editor); S. H. Marsh (Editor); M. C. Cabrera (Editor) Elevation data are a critical element in most geoscience applications. From geological mapping to modelling Earth systems and processes geologists need to understand the shape of the Earth's surface. Vast amounts of digital elevation data exist, from large-scale global to smaller scale regional datasets, and many datasets have been merged to improve scale and accuracy. For each application, decisions are made on which elevation data to use driven by cost, resolution and accuracy. This publication shows the current status of available digital elevation data and illustrates the key applications. The types of data assessed include: ASTER stereo satellite imagery, Shuttle Radar Topographic Mapping data, airborne laser and radar such as NEXTMap, and Multibeam Bathymetry. Applications covered include: glacial deposits, landslides, coastal erosion and other geological hazards. Technical issues discussed include: accuracy analysis, derived product creation, software comparisons and copyright considerations. This volume is a comprehensive look at elevation models for geoscience.

Laser Scanning for the Environmental Sciences by George Heritage (Editor); Martin Charlton (Editor); Andy Large (Editor) 3D surface representation has long been a source of information describing surface character and facilitating an understanding of system dynamics from micro-scale (e.g. sand transport) to macro-scale (e.g. drainage channel network evolution). Data collection has been achieved through field mapping techniques and the use of remotely sensed data. Advances in this latter field have been considerable in recent years with new rapid-acquisition methods being developed centered around laser based technology. The advent of airborne and field based laser scanning instruments has allowed researchers to collect high density accurate data sets and these are revealing a wealth of new information and generating important new ideas concerning terrain characterisation and landform dynamics. The proposed book collates a series of invited peer revieved papers presented at the a conference on geoinformatics and LIDAR to be held at the National Centre for Geocomputation based in the National University of Ireland, Maynooth. Current constraints in field survey and DEM construction are reviewed together with technical and applied issues around the new technology. The utility of the data in process modelling is also covered. The book will be of great value to researchers in the field of geomorphology, geostatistics, remote sensing and GIS and will prove extremely useful to students and practitioners concerned with terrain analysis. The proposed work will: Highlight major technological breakthrough in 3D data collection. Feature examples of application across a wide range of environmental areas. Critically evaluate the role of laser based techniques in the environment. Detail theory and application of laser techniques in the natural environment.

Topographic laser ranging and scanning : principles and processing by Jie Shan (Editor); Charles K. Toth (Editor) A systematic, in-depth introduction to theories and principles of Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) technology is long overdue, as it is the most important geospatial data acquisition technology to be introduced in recent years. An advanced discussion, this text fills the void. Professionals in fields ranging from geology, geography and geoinformatics to physics, transportation, and law enforcement will benefit from this comprehensive discussion of topographic LiDAR principles, systems, data acquisition, and data processing techniques. The book covers ranging and scanning fundamentals, and broad, contemporary analysis of airborne LiDAR systems, as well as those situated on land and in space. The authors present data collection at the signal level in terms of waveforms and their properties; at the system level with regard to calibration and georeferencing; and at the data level to discuss error budget, quality control, and data organization. They devote the bulk of the book to LiDAR data processing and information extraction and elaborate on recent developments in building extraction and reconstruction, highlighting quality and performance evaluations. There is also extensive discussion of the state-of-the-art technological developments used in: filtering algorithms for digital terrain model generation; strip adjustment of data for registration; co-registration of LiDAR data with imagery; forestry inventory; and surveying. Readers get insight into why LiDAR is the effective tool of choice to collect massive volumes of explicit 3-D data with unprecedented accuracy and simplicity. Compiled by leading experts talking about much of their own pioneering work, this book will give researchers, professionals, and senior students novel ideas to supplement their own experience and practices.

Introduction to Mathematical Techniques Used in GIS, Third Edition by Gordon Ye; Peter Dale Thoroughly updated and reorganized to focus more on applications and problem solving by mathematical techniques, this book explains the basic architecture of computing as it relates to GIS, includes new application examples of selected mathematical methods, and introduces 3D modeling, machine learning, and more.

Fieldwork Handbook: a Practical Guide on the Go by Marika Vertzonis Make your work in the field more efficient and productive with the how-to of location intelligence. A biologist in a rain forest making observations on indigenous frogs, an engineer maintaining utility equipment, or a citizen scientist taking water samples from a creek are all doing fieldwork. Their work is anchored by location. No matter what electronic tools they take into the field, they all take a notebook or a guidebook. As you head into the field along with all your equipment, be sure to include this practical fieldwork guide. Fieldwork Handbook gives you tips, best practices, and activities that make your work in the field more productive and successful. No matter how you use location intelligence in the field, you can up your game with this book and improve your experience. Covering preparation, equipment, workflows, and data, this book will teach you how to Organize and reconcile field data Effectively coordinate and dispatch field resources Refine fieldwork workflows Sync the office with the field Author and Esri product engineer Marika Vertzonis learned about geospatial technology in the field, and she knows what you need to know. This handbook is your friend in the field.

Introduction to LiDAR Remote Sensing by Cheng Wang; Xuebo Yang; Xiaohuan Xi; Sheng Nie; Pinliang Dong "Light Detection and Ranging or LiDAR is an advanced active remote sensing technology developed in the last 30 years to measure variable distances to the Earth. This book explains the fundamental concepts of LiDAR technology and its extended spaceborne, airborne, terrestrial, mobile, and UAV platforms. It addresses the challenges of massive LiDAR data intelligent processing, LiDAR software engineering, and in-depth applications. The theory and algorithms are integrated with multiple applications in a systematic way and with step-by-step instructions. This book is a comprehensive resource for undergraduate and graduate students, and practitioners in the field of LiDAR remote sensing"

Mapping with Altitude: Designing 3D Maps by Nathan C. Shephard Add an extra dimension to your maps. You live in a 3D world--your maps need to be 3D, too. Representing and reviewing data on maps in 3D lets you explore complex spatial relationships in new ways, allowing you to identify patterns and potential problems more effectively. But creating digital 3D maps that are accurate, intuitive, engaging, and easily navigable can seem daunting, even to experienced cartographers. Mapping with Altitude: Designing 3D Maps helps you create clear, compelling cartographic representations in 3D that are both eye-catching and informative. Written by Esri senior product engineer and frequent Esri UC workshop presenter Nathan C Shephard, this book uses a fun and enthusiastic approach to explore the concepts, challenges, and opportunities in 3D cartography. Using easy-to-understand workflows, this book: Shows why some spatial content is best communicated in 3D. Explains 3D mapping concepts, such as surfaces, base heights, texturing, and lighting models. Introduces new twists on well-defined 2D cartographic principles, such as size, color, and text. Demonstrates how the z-dimension can convey time. Discusses the best delivery mechanism for your 3D content. Mapping with Altitude focuses on the practical decisions and specific techniques you'll use as you boldly enter the world of 3D map authoring in ArcGIS.

Ubiquitous Point Cloud: Theory, Model, and Applications by Bisheng Yang; Zhen Dong; Fuxun Liang; Xiaoxin Mi Point clouds from LiDAR and photogrammetry are vital and vast sources of geospatial information besides remote sensing imagery. This book provides the latest theory and methodology for point cloud processing with AI to better serve earth observation, 3D vision, autonomous driving, smart city, and geospatial information applications. It covers various aspects of 3D geospatial information, including data capturing, fusing, geocomputing, modeling, and vast downstream applications. With the inclusion of numerous illustrations, diagrams, and practical applications, readers will better understand the point cloud, and its technical challenges, and learn how to utilize point cloud in different fields. Features Provides in-depth point cloud processing pipeline, cutting-edge theory, and technology with AI. Includes many specific applications of point cloud in the geospatial field. Offers a comprehensive step-by-step guide from theory to application in point cloud processing. Includes ample supplementary materials including datasets, tools, and other online resources. Helps readers across many disciplines, from geospatial to engineering, to understand the vast application of point clouds and how to further generate new ideas and innovative thoughts. This book is an excellent resource for researchers, academics, students, and professionals in a variety of fields including Geomatics, Remote Sensing, Cartography and Geographic Information Systems, Data Science, Geography, Earth Science, and more.

Project Design for Geomatics Engineers and Surveyors, Second Edition by Clement Ogaja; Nashon Adero; Derrick Koome Project Design for Geomatics Engineers and Surveyors, Second Edition, continues to focus on the key components and aspects of project design for geomatics and land surveying projects with the goal of helping readers navigate the priority issues when planning new projects. The second edition includes new materials on surveying and UAV, and it is thoroughly updated to keep current with the recent technology and terminology. The two new chapters capture new developments in the rapidly emerging use of remote sensing and GIS in aerial surveys, mapping, and imaging for small-to-medium scale projects, as well as modern practices and experiences in engineering surveying. 1. Provides a simple guide for geomatics engineering projects using recent and advanced technologies. 2. Includes new content on spatial data collection using GIS, drones, and 3D digital modeling. 3. Covers professional standards, professional and ethical responsibilities, and policy, social, and environmental issues related. 4. Discusses project planning including scheduling and budgeting. 5. Features practical examples with solutions and explains new methods for planning, implementing, and monitoring engineering and mining surveying projects. Undergraduate and graduate students, professors, practicing professionals and surveyors will find this new edition useful, as well as geospatial/geomatics engineers, civil engineers, mining engineers, GIS professionals, planners, land developers, and project managers.

An Introduction to Pointcloudmetry: Point Clouds From Laser Scanning and Photogrammetry by Mathias Lemmens There is an enormous need to map cities, rivers, coasts, roads, industrial installations and infrastructure in general, and also vulnerable areas in full three dimensions. It has to be done accurately and in detail. The main technologies for detailed 3D mapping are based on imaging devices (photogrammetry) and Lidar sensors (laser scanning). These geodata acquisition technologies routinely acquire point clouds of billions of points and have matured rapidly since the mid-1990s. They have become key geodata sources for 3D city modelling, creation of digital twins and smart cities, and inspection of roads, railways, and natural features. Many GIS analysts extensively use point clouds in the form of digital elevation models. Pointcloudmetry is the specialized branch of geomatics that encompasses the acquisition and processing of point clouds captured by Lidar devices as well as point clouds derived from photogrammetric images. The technology allows accurate and detailed geo-information about earth-related objects, including the bare earth surface, to be obtained. This book covers the entire chain from the principles of geo-referencing and the basics of electromagnetic energy up to the generation of 2.5D and 3D geoinformation. The book provides vital knowledge about the fundamentals, idiosyncrasies and unparalleled potential of point cloud technology and is an indispensable aid to acquiring competent knowledge on the processing steps necessary for converting raw data into high quality 3D geo-information.

3D Imaging of the Environment : Advances in Environmental Mapping and Monitoring by John Meneely (Editor) This is a comprehensive, overarching, interdisciplinary book and a valuable contribution to a unified view of visualisation, imaging, and mapping. It covers a variety of modern techniques, across an array of spatial scales, with examples of how to map, monitor, and visualise the world in which we live. The authors give detailed explanations of the techniques used to map and monitor the built and natural environment and how that data, collected from a wide range of scales and cost options, is translated into an image or visual experience. It is written in a way that successfully reaches technical, professional, and academic readers alike, particularly geographers, architects, geologists, and planners. FEATURES Includes in-depth discussion on 3D image processing and modeling Focuses on the 3D application of remote sensing, including LiDAR and digital photography acquired by UAS and terrestrial techniques Introduces a broad range of data collection techniques and visualisation methods Includes contributions from outstanding experts and interdisciplinary teams involved in earth sciences Presents an open access chapter about the EU-funded CHERISH Project, detailing the development of a toolkit for the 3D documentation and analysis of the combined coastline shared between Ireland and Wales Intended for those with a background in the technology involved with imaging and mapping, the contributions shared in this book introduce readers to new and emerging 3D imaging tools and programs.

Building Feature Extraction with Machine Learning: Geospatial Applications by Bharath. H. Aithal; Prakash P.S. Big geospatial datasets created by large infrastructure projects require massive computing resources to process. Feature extraction is a process used to reduce the initial set of raw data for manageable image processing, and machine learning (ML) is the science that supports it. This book focuses on feature extraction methods for optical geospatial data using ML. It is a practical guide for professionals and graduate students who are starting a career in information extraction. It explains spatial feature extraction in an easy-to-understand way and includes real case studies on how to collect height values for spatial features, how to develop 3D models in a map context, and others. Features Provides the basics of feature extraction methods and applications along with the fundamentals of machine learning Discusses in detail the application of machine learning techniques in geospatial building feature extraction Explains the methods for estimating object height from optical satellite remote sensing images using Python Includes case studies that demonstrate the use of machine learning models for building footprint extraction and photogrammetric methods for height assessment Highlights the potential of machine learning and geospatial technology for future project developments This book will be of interest to professionals, researchers, and graduate students in geoscience and earth observation, machine learning and data science, civil engineers, and urban planners.

Women and GIS, Volume 3, Champions of a sustainable world by Mae Jemison (Foreword by) Impressive stories of women using geospatial technology to create sustainable solutions for problems the world faces. The third volume in the Women and GIS series shows how 31 diverse women in various STEAM fields discovered their passion, broke down barriers, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to advance their fields and improve the world. Sharing their experiences from childhood and throughout their careers, each woman reveals her journey in an inspiring recollection of the obstacles she has overcome, the knowledge she has gained along the way, and how tenacity and determination have helped her succeed. Each woman shares tips and words of wisdom that she's gained along the way, including:  Priscilla Mbama Abasi: "Think big! Think about going to space, think about building things no one has seen before."  Arianna Armelli: "If you are like me and crave the freedom to explore a path of the unknown, aka entrepreneurship, a career in STEM will foster the technical foundation to achieve those goals."  Gabi Fleury: "The best advice I was given starting out was 'forge your own path.' Conservation isn't a structured, straight-line career, you can get into it in many ways. This is exciting, but it also can be really challenging, because you have to be flexible, innovative, and always on the lookout for the next opportunity."  Healy Hamilton: "Success, to me, is a daily feeling that you are living true to your values, that you are meaningfully contributing to the world you want to create."  Katharine Hayhoe: "While it's important to have people you respect and trust give you feedback at key points in your career, when it all comes down to it, you have to make the decisions that feel right for you, not the ones that necessarily look best on paper. You're the one who has to live with them."  Featuring strong, persevering women from around the globe, the stories found in Women and GIS, Volume 3: Champions of a Sustainable World will inspire readers who are developing their own life stories to strive for success and achieve amazing accomplishments.

Women and GIS, Vol. 2, Stars of spatial science by Esri Press; Jane Goodall (Foreword by) Foreword by Jane Goodall Thirty inspiring stories of diverse women using geospatial technology to advance science and help resolve important issues facing the world.  Like the first volume, Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science tells how 30 women in many different STEM fields applied themselves, overcame obstacles, and used maps, analysis, imagery, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique life path and of the perseverance, dedication, and hard work it takes to achieve success. This book includes multicultural women at various points in their careers such as: Barbara Ryan -- Dedicated to open spatial data for everyone Cecille Blake -- Growing GIS capacity in Jamaica and for North and South American countries Rhiannan Price -- Advocating to make a difference for vulnerable populations Verónica Vélez -- Fighting for social and racial justice in education Tanya Harrison -- Bringing Mars to the masses From planetary scientists to civil engineers, entrepreneurs to urban planners, the strong, passionate women in Women and GIS, Volume 2: Stars of Spatial Science serve as guiding stars to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and to inspire their potential to meaningful achievements. 

Women and GIS : mapping their stories by ESRI Press Editors Twenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.

LiDAR Technologies and Systems by Paul F. McManamon LiDAR is one of many active sensor technologies that uses electromagnetic radiation. Operating in the optical and infrared wavelengths, it is similar to more-familiar passive EO/IR sensor technology. It is also similar to radar in that it uses reflected electromagnetic radiation emitted by the sensor. LiDAR is commonly used for making high-resolution maps and has applications in geodesy, geomatics, archaeology, geography, geology, geomorphology, seismology, forestry, atmospheric physics, laser guidance, airborne laser swath mapping, and laser altimetry. It is also being used for control and navigation of some autonomous cars.

Basic Principles of Topography by Markoski, Blagoja This book gives a comprehensive overview of all relevant elements in topography and their practical application. It elaborates on the classical representation of terrain on maps such as cartographic projections, together with their classification, scale, and geographical elements. It is richly illustrated with photographs, maps and figures, in which the theoretical explanations are clarified. Readers will become acquainted with the physical characteristics of the ground, i.e. tectonic and erosive shapes, the importance and classification of terrain, genetic (fluvial, abrasive, glacial, karst) and topographic types such as higher (mountains, hills, peaks) and lower terrain (valleys, fields). In addition, the book discusses cartometry and coordinate systems, orientation in space (geographic, topographic, tactical) including by means of maps, instruments and the night sky and elaborates new techniques and technologies such as aerial photogrammetric imagery, global navigation satellite systems and LiDAR. The book also includes methods for the practical execution of concrete measurement operations, such as determining position and movement on land with maps, compass and azimuth which makes it especially useful for practitioners and professionals, e.g., for landscape planning, military exercises, mountaineering, nature walks etc. As such it offers a valuable guide not only for undergraduate students but also for researchers in the fields of geography, geosciences, geodesy, ecology, forestry and related areas looking for an overview on topography. Uniquely, the book also features an extensive glossary of topographical terms.

Topographic Laser Ranging and Scanning by Jie Shan (Editor); Charles K. Toth (Editor) Topographic Laser Ranging and Scanning, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive discussion of topographic LiDAR principles, systems, data acquisition, and data processing techniques. This edition presents an introduction and summary of various LiDAR systems and their principles and addresses the operational principles of the different components and ranging methods of LiDAR systems. It discusses the subsequent geometric processing of LiDAR data, with particular attention to quality, accuracy, and meeting standards and addresses the theories and practices of information extraction from LiDAR data, including terrain surface generation, forest inventory, orthoimage generation, building reconstruction, and road extraction. Written by leaders in the field, this comprehensive compilation is a must-have reference book for senior undergraduate and graduate students majoring or working in diverse disciplines, such as geomatics, geodesy, natural resources, urban planning, computer vision, and computer graphics. It is also vital resource for researchers who are interested in developing new methods and need in-depth knowledge of laser scanning and data processing and other professionals may gain the same from the broad topics addressed in this book. New in the Second Edition: A comprehensive array of new laser ranging and scanning technologies. Developments in LiDAR data format and processing techniques. Regrouping of surface modeling, representations and reconstruction. Enhanced discussions on the principles and fundamentals beyond small-footprint pulsed laser systems and new application examples. Many new examples and illustrations.

The 3-D Global Spatial Data Model : Principles and Applications by Earl F. Burkholder Traditional methods for handling spatial data are encumbered by the assumption of separate origins for horizontal and vertical measurements, but modern measurement systems operate in a 3-D spatial environment. The 3-D Global Spatial Data Model:Principles and Applications, Second Editionmaintains a new model for handling digital spatial data, the global spatial data model or GSDM. The GSDM preserves the integrity of three-dimensional spatial data while also providing additional benefits such as simpler equations, worldwide standardization, and the ability to track spatial data accuracy with greater specificity and convenience. This second edition expands to new topics that satisfy a growing need in the GIS, professional surveyor, machine control, and Big Data communities while continuing to embrace the earth center fixed coordinate system as the fundamental point of origin of one, two, and three-dimensional data sets. Ideal for both beginner and advanced levels, this book also provides guidance and insight on how to link to the data collected and stored in legacy systems. ner and advanced levels, this book also provides guidance and insight on how to link to the data collected and stored in legacy systems.

Airborne and Terrestrial Laser Scanning by George Vosselman; Barbara Maas Written by a team of international experts, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the major applications or airborne and terrestrial laser scanning.

Elevation Models for Geoscience by C. Fleming (Editor); S. H. Marsh (Editor); M. C. Cabrera (Editor) Elevation data are a critical element in most geoscience applications. From geological mapping to modelling Earth systems and processes geologists need to understand the shape of the Earth's surface. Vast amounts of digital elevation data exist, from large-scale global to smaller scale regional datasets, and many datasets have been merged to improve scale and accuracy. For each application, decisions are made on which elevation data to use driven by cost, resolution and accuracy. This publication shows the current status of available digital elevation data and illustrates the key applications. The types of data assessed include: ASTER stereo satellite imagery, Shuttle Radar Topographic Mapping data, airborne laser and radar such as NEXTMap, and Multibeam Bathymetry. Applications covered include: glacial deposits, landslides, coastal erosion and other geological hazards. Technical issues discussed include: accuracy analysis, derived product creation, software comparisons and copyright considerations. This volume is a comprehensive look at elevation models for geoscience.

Elevation Data for Floodplain Mapping by National Research Council Staff (Created by); Floodplain Mapping Technologies Committee; Board on Earth Sciences and Resources Staff; Division on Earth and Life Studies Staff Floodplain maps serve as the basis for determining whether homes or buildings require flood insurance under the National Flood Insurance Program run by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Approximately $650 billion in insured assets are now covered under the program. FEMA is modernizing floodplain maps to better serve the program. However, concerns have been raised as to the adequacy of the base map information available to support floodplain map modernization. Elevation Data for Floodplain Mapping shows that there is sufficient two-dimensional base map imagery to meet FEMA's flood map modernization goals, but that the three-dimensional base elevation data that are needed to determine whether a building should have flood insurance are not adequate. This book makes recommendations for a new national digital elevation data collection program to redress the inadequacy. Policy makers; property insurance professionals; federal, local, and state governments; and others concerned with natural disaster prevention and preparedness will find this book of interest.

Elevations and Distances in the United States by The U.S. Geological Survey