It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tennessee GIS Data and Resources: Agriculture, Forestry & Wildlife
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Find PLSS, climate, elevation, geographic names, hydrography, land cover, soils and transportation data available here by state, county, place or specify area from interactive map.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Find PLSS, climate, elevation, geographic names, hydrography, land cover, soils and transportation data available here by state, county, place or specify area from interactive map.
An Introduction to R for Spatial Analysis and Mapping by Chris Brunsdon; Lex ComberThis is a new edition of the accessible and student-friendly ′how to′ for anyone using R for the first time, for use in spatial statistical analysis, geocomputation and digital mapping. The authors, once again, take readers from 'zero to hero', updating the now standard text to further enable practical R applications in GIS, spatial analyses, spatial statistics, web-scraping and more. Revised and updated, each chapter includes: example data and commands to explore hands-on; scripts and coding to exemplify specific functionality; self-contained exercises for students to work through; embedded code within the descriptive text. The new edition includes detailed discussion of new and emerging packages within R like sf, ggplot, tmap, making it the go to introduction for all researchers collecting and using data with location attached. This is the introduction to the use of R for spatial statistical analysis, geocomputation, and GIS for all researchers - regardless of discipline - collecting and using data with location attached.
Satellite Remote Sensing and the Management of Natural Resources by Nathalie PettorelliThe ability to anticipate the impacts of global environmental changes on natural resources is fundamental to designing appropriate and optimised adaptation and mitigation strategies. However, this requires the scientific community to have access to reliable, large-scale information onspatio-temporal changes in the distribution of abiotic conditions and on the distribution, structure, composition, and functioning of ecosystems.Satellite remote sensing can provide access to some of this fundamental data by offering repeatable, standardised, and verifiable information that is directly relevant to the monitoring and management of our natural capital. This book demonstrates how ecological knowledge and satellite-basedinformation can be effectively combined to address a wide array of current natural resource management needs. By focusing on concrete applied examples in both the marine and terrestrial realms, it will help pave the way for developing enhanced levels of collaboration between the ecological andremote sensing communities, as well as shaping their future research directions.Satellite Remote Sensing and the Management of Natural Resources is primarily aimed at ecologists and remote sensing specialists, as well as policy makers and practitioners in the fields of conservation biology, biodiversity monitoring, and natural resource management.
GIS for science : applying mapping and spatial analytics by Christian Harder (Editor); Dawn J. Wright (Editor)GIS for Science presents a collection of real-world stories about modern science and a cadre of scientists who use mapping and spatial analytics to expand their understanding of the world. The accounts in this book are written for a broad audience including professional scientists, the swelling ranks of citizen scientists, and people generally interested in science and geography. Scientific data are brought to life with GIS technology to study a range of issues relevant to the functioning of planet Earth in a natural sense as well as the impacts of human activity. In a race against the clock, the scientists profiled in this volume are using remote sensing, web maps within a geospatial cloud, Esri StoryMaps, and spatial analysis to document and solve an array of issues with a geographic dimension, ranging from climate change, natural disasters, and loss of biodiversity, to homelessness, loss of green infrastructure, and resource shortages. These stories present geospatial ideas and inspiration that readers can apply across many disciplines, making this volume relevant to a diverse scientific audience. See how scientists working on the world's most pressing problems apply geographic information systems--GIS.
Precision conservation : geospatial techniques for agricultural and natural resources conservation by Jorge A. DelgadoSoil erosion modeling and conservation planning / James C. Ascough II, Dennis C. Flanagan, John Tatarko, Mark A. Nearing, Holm Kipka -- Nitrogen component in nonpoint source pollution models / Yongping Yuan, Ronald Bingner, Henrique Momm -- GPS, GIS, guidance, and variable rate technologies for conservation management / John Fulton, Matthew Darr -- Identifying riparian zones best suited to installation of saturated buffers : a preliminary multi-watershed assessment / Mark Tomer, D.B. Jaynes, Sarah Porter, David E. James, T.M. Isenhart -- Vegetative filters / Mike Dosskey, Surendran Neelakantan, Tommy Mueller, Zeyuan Qiu -- Identifying and characterizing ravines with GIS terrain attributes for precision conservation / David J. Mulla, S. Belmont -- Grassed waterways / Peter Fiener, Karl Auerswald -- Terraces / Allen Thompson, Ken Sudduth -- Elements of precision manure management / Peter J.A. Kleinman, Anthony R. Buda, Andrew N. Sharpley, Raj Khosla -- Irrigation management / David L. Bjorneberg, Robert G. Evans, E. John Sadler -- GIS and GPS applications for planning, design, and management of drainage systems / Vinayak S. Shedekar, Larry C. Brown -- Calculating soil organic turnover at different landscape position in precision conservation / David E. Clay, Jiyul Chang, Graig Reicks, Sharon A. Clay, Cheryl Reese -- Precision conservation for biofuel production / Indrajeet Chaubey, Cibin Raj, Qingyu Feng -- Precision conservation to enhance wildlife benefits in agricultural landscapes / Mark D. McConnell, L. Wes Burger, Jr. -- Precision conservation and water quality markets / Ali Saleh, Edward Osei -- Field- and farm-scale assessment of soil greenhouse gas mitigation using COMET-farm / Keith Paustian, Mark Easter, Kevin Brown, Adam Chambers, Marlen Eve, Adriane Huber, Ernie Marx, Mark Layer, Matt Sterner, Ben Sutton, Amy Swan, Crystal Toureene, Sobha Verlayudhan, Steve Williams -- Precision conservation and precision regulation / G.F. Sassenrath, J.A. Delgado.
LiDAR remote sensing and applications by Pinliang Dong; Qi ChenIdeal for both undergraduate and graduate students in the fields of geography, forestry, ecology, geographic information science, remote sensing, and photogrammetric engineering, LiDAR Remote Sensing and Applications expertly joins LiDAR principles, data processing basics, applications, and hands-on practices in one comprehensive source. The LiDAR data within this book is collected from 27 areas in the United States, Brazil, Canada, Ghana, and Haiti and includes 183 figures created to introduce the concepts, methods, and applications in a clear context. It provides 11 step-by-step projects predominately based on Esri¿s ArcGIS software to support seamless integration of LiDAR products and other GIS data. The first six projects are for basic LiDAR data visualization and processing and the other five cover more advanced topics: from mapping gaps in mangrove forests in Everglades National Park, Florida to generating trend surfaces for rock layers in Raplee Ridge, Utah. Features Offers a comprehensive overview of LiDAR technology with numerous applications in geography, forestry and earth science Gives necessary theoretical foundations from all pertinent subject matter areas Uses case studies and best practices to point readers to tools and resources Provides a synthesis of ongoing research in the area of LiDAR remote sensing technology Includes carefully selected illustrations and data from the authors' research projects Before every project in the book, a link is provided for users to download data
Where the animals go : tracking wildlife with technology in 50 maps and graphics by James Cheshire; Oliver UbertiFor thousands of years, tracking animals meant following footprints. Now satellites, drones, camera traps, cellphone networks, and accelerometers reveal the natural world as never before. Where the Animals Go is the first book to offer a comprehensive, data-driven portrait of how creatures like ants, otters, owls, turtles, and sharks navigate the world. Based on pioneering research by scientists at the forefront of the animal-tracking revolution, James Cheshire and Oliver Uberti's stunning, four-color charts and maps tell fascinating stories of animal behavior. These astonishing infographics explain how warblers detect incoming storms using sonic vibrations, how baboons make decisions, and why storks prefer garbage dumps to wild forage; they follow pythons racing through the Everglades, a lovelorn wolf traversing the Alps, and humpback whales visiting undersea mountains. Where the Animals Go is a triumph of technology, data science, and design, bringing broad perspective and intimate detail to our understanding of the animal kingdom.
Push button agriculture : robotics, drones, satellite-guided soil and crop management by K. R. KrishnaThis book covers three main types of agricultural systems: the use of robotics, drones (unmanned aerial vehicles), and satellite-guided precision farming methods. Some of these are well refined and are currently in use, while others are in need of refinement and are yet to become popular. The book provides a valuable source of information on this developing field for those involved with agriculture and farming and agricultural engineering. The book is also applicable as a textbook for students and a reference for faculty.
National Individual Tree Species Atlas by Agriculture Dept. Forest Health Technology Enterprise TeamThis reference volume covers each tree species in the United States and precisely where each species is likely to grow or not grow. This illustrated work will benefit silviculturists, foresters, geneticists, researchers, botanists, wildlife habitat biologists, landscape ecologists-essentially anyone involved in natural resources management, monitoring impacts of climate change, or visiting America's forests and landscapes.
GIS FOR BIOLOGISTS : A PRACTICAL INTRODUCTION FOR UNDERGRADUATES by Colin D. MacLeodThis book provides a user-friendly and practical introduction for undergraduates to the use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in biological research. Unlike most other books about using GIS, this information is specifically presented in a biological context and it is divided into two sections. The first section provides just enough background information to allow the novice biological GIS user to get started with GIS without getting too bogged down in the theory behind it or making some of the most common mistakes made by beginners. It covers areas such as what GIS is, why GIS is useful in biology, the basics of GIS, common concepts and terms in GIS, how data are contained in a GIS, useful information about what to think about before starting a GIS project and how to break down and translate ecological tasks into the language of GIS. This information is all provided in easy-to-read and non-technical language, with specific reference to its application in biological research. The second section, which constitutes the main body of the book, consists of six practical exercises accompanied by detailed instruction sets. The first four exercises introduce the novice biological GIS user to basic, but important, GIS skills, such as making a map, creating new feature data layers, creating raster data layers and joining together data from different data layers. The final two consist of case studies of how GIS can be used to answer real biological research questions. Each of these exercises represents a stand-alone GIS lesson which can be completed either on its own or as part of a practical session for an undergraduate class. In addition, each exercise focuses on a different area of biology, such as tropical ornithology, epidemiology, marine biology and rainforest ecology, and on a different part of the world, including the Amazon rainforest, a Scottish field station, Mount Mabu in northern Mozambique, the North Atlantic Ocean and the USA. Instructions for each exercise are provided for both the leading commercial GIS package (ESRI's ArcGIS(R) 10.3 software) and the leading freely available open-source GIS software (QGIS 2.8.3, also known as Quantum GIS), meaning that this book can be used to learn, or teach, how to use of GIS in biological research, regardless of the availability of commercial software licences. Taken together, the two sections of this book provide the perfect primer to show undergraduates, and other novice GIS users, how useful GIS can be in biological research, why it is rapidly becoming a key skill in many areas of biology, and how start in using it. The PSLS series of books uses Task-Oriented Learning (TOL) to teach the practical application of research skills to the life sciences. This involves demonstrating how these skills can be used in the specific circumstances in which they are likely to be required, rather than concentrating on teaching theoretical frameworks or on teaching skills in a generic or abstract manner. By seeing how the similar processes are used to achieve a variety of different goals within a specific field, it becomes easier for the reader to identify the general rules behind the practical application of these processes and, therefore, to transfer them to novel situations they may encounter in the future.
The Normalized Difference Vegetation Index by Nathalie PettorelliThere has been a recent surge of interest in remote sensing and its use in ecology and conservation but this is the first book to focus explicitly on the NDVI (Normalised Difference Vegetation Index), a simple numerical indicator and powerful tool that can be used to assess spatio-temporalchanges in green vegetation. The NDVI opens the possibility of addressing questions on scales inaccessible to ground-based methods alone; it is mostly freely available with global coverage over several decades.This novel text provides an authoritative overview of the principles and possible applications of the NDVI in ecology, environmental and wildlife management, and conservation. NDVI data can provide valuable information about temporal and spatial changes in vegetation distribution, productivity, anddynamics; allowing monitoring of habitat degradation and fragmentation, or assessment of the ecological effects of climatic disasters such as drought or fire. The NDVI has also provided ecologists with a promising way to couple vegetation with animal distribution, abundance, movement, survival andreproductive parameters.Over the last few decades, numerous studies have highlighted the potential key role of satellite data and the NDVI in macroecology, plant ecology, animal population dynamics, environmental monitoring, habitat selection and habitat use studies, and paleoecology. The chapters are organised around twosections: the first detailing vegetation indices and the NDVI, the principles behind the NDVI, its correlation with climate, the available NDVI datasets, and the possible complications and errors associated with the use of this satellite-based vegetation index. The second section discusses thepossible applications of the NDVI in ecology, environmental and wildlife management, and conservation.This practical handbook is suitable for terrestrial ecologists and conservation biologists working with remote sensing tools. It will also be of relevance and use to both graduate students in the biological and ecological sciences and specialists in the fields of conservation biology, biodiversitymonitoring, and natural resource management.
Global Forest Monitoring from Earth Observation by Frederic Achard (Editor); Matthew C. Hansen (Editor)Forests provide a large range of beneficial services, including tangible ones such as timber and recreation, and intangible services such as climate regulation, biodiversity, and watershed protection. On the other hand, forests can also be considered roadblocks to progress that occupy space more productively used for agriculture, making consideration of their regulating services crucial for balancing land use and forest loss. Monitoring forest cover and loss is critical for obtaining the data necessary to help define what is needed to maintain the varying forest service requirements in different parts of the world. There is an increasing need for timely and accurate forest change information, and consequently a greater interest in monitoring those changes. Global Forest Monitoring from Earth Observation covers the very recent developments undertaken for monitoring forest areas from global to national levels using Earth observation satellite data. It describes operational tools and systems for monitoring forest ecosystems, discussing why and how researchers currently use remotely sensed data to study forest cover and loss over large areas. The book introduces the role of forests in providing ecosystem services and the need for monitoring their change over time, followed by an overview of the use of earth observation data to support forest monitoring. It discusses general methodological differences, including wall-to-wall mapping and sampling approaches, as well as data availability. This book provides excellent coverage of the research and applications of forest monitoring, indicator mapping at coarse spatial resolution, sample-based assessments, and wall-to-wall mapping at medium spatial resolution using optical remote sensing datasets, such as MODIS and Landsat. It examines the use of radar imagery in forest monitoring and presents a number of operational systems, from Brazil¿s PRODES and DETER products to Australia¿s NCAS system. Written by leading global experts in the field, this book offers a launch point for future advances in satellite-based monitoring of global forest resources. It gives readers a deeper understanding of global forest monitoring methods and shows how state-of-the-art technologies may soon provide key data for creating more balanced policies.
GIS applications in agriculture. Volume three, Invasive species by Sharon A. ClayWhile many "alien" plant and animal species are purposefully introduced into new areas as ornamentals, livestock, crops, and even pets, these species can escape into other areas and threaten agricultural and native ecosystems causing economic and environmental harm, or harm to human health. Increasingly, scientists are using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to track and manage the invaders, mitigate the potential rate of spread and level of impact, and protect the native economy and ecosystem. Beginning with an introduction to the use of GIS technology to capture, store, analyze, manage, and present data, GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume Three: Invasive Species examines five relevant categories of geographic information including dispersal and transport, prediction and forecasting, mapping of current infestations, maps for management and control tactics, and impact assessment and method of control. It address GIS for studying the population ecology of a new species, niche requirements for species success, and the monitoring and control of several different species including Australian examples of intentionally introduced invasive species, insects and other animals that may also vector a disease, and invasive weed management from prediction to management. Chapters cover maps and imageries available on various Web sites and provide step-by-step tutorials or case studies that allow manipulation of datasets featured on the accompanying CD-ROM to make maps, perform statistical analyses, and predict future problems. It offers hands-on experience with a variety of software programs that create interactive queries (user-created searches), analyze spatial information, edit data and maps, and present the results of these operations in several different formats. Some of the programs are freeware, others are not, but each can be used to integrate, edit, share, and display geographic information. Color figures are also available on the CD-ROM.
GIS applications in agriculture. Volume two, Nutrient management for energy efficiency by David Clay (Editor); John F. Shanahan (Editor)We are entering a new era in production agronomics. Agricultural scientists the world over call for the development of techniques that simultaneously increase soil carbon storage and reduce agriculture¿s energy use. In response, site-specific or precision agriculture has become the focus and direction for the three motivating forces that are changing agriculture today: the expanding capacity of personal computers, the molecular biology revolution, and the recent developments in information technology such as the increasing use of geographical information systems (GIS). Using mathematics, technology, and creativity, GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume Two: Nutrient Management for Energy Efficiency examines the development of nutrient management practices that help producers improve their profitability and energy efficiency. Throughout the book, chapters demonstrate how complex mathematical and spatial modeling approaches can provide the basis for much of our present and certainly our future management practices. Highlighting recent successes and the nuts and bolts associated with implementing the proposed techniques, the book covers energy efficiency calculations, techniques for overcoming yield-limiting factors, soil information collection and analysis, and remote sensing for improving management decisions. It describes the development of an economically optimum site-specific corn plant population equation based on an experiment containing many field sites, the estimation of soil productivity and energy efficiency using online data sources, and the assessment and implementation of site-specific carbon and water management systems, analyzing energy efficiency of compost and manures. Emphasizing the mathematics that will enable producers to make full use of the technological advances made during the 21st century, GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume Two holds the key to the successful, sustainable, and efficient production of food to feed the ever increasing world population.
Mapping Forestry by Peter Eredics (Editor)Mapping Forestry describes how geographic information system (GIS) software supports the business of forestry in today's era of economic changes, increased global competition, and diminishing resources. In twenty scenarios from the United States, Germany, Brazil, Romania, Finland, and Cambodia, foresters share how they use GIS to manage commercial operations and sustainable stewardship. Forest managers tell how computer-generated maps and GIS analysis help them determine the best places to build roads, whether logging in a particular area is commercially feasible, which fire-damaged areas should be restored first, and more. Mapping Forestry contains 20 chapters of full-color maps, featuring detailed descriptions of the types of GIS analysis that they represent, making it an excellent tool for forestry professionals.
Remote sensing of vegetation : principles, techniques, and applications by Hamlyn G. Jones; Robin A. VaughanRemote sensing is becoming an increasingly important tool for agriculturalists, ecologists, and land managers for the study of Earth's agricultural and natural vegetation, and can be applied to further our understanding of key environmental issues, including climate change and ecosystemmanagement.This timely introduction offers an accessible yet rigorous treatment of the basics of remote sensing at all scales, illustrating its practical application to the study of vegetation. Despite a quantitative approach, the advanced mathematics and complex models common in modern remote sensingliterature is demystified through clear explanations that emphasise the key underlying principles, and the core physical aspects are explained in the biological context of vegetation and its adaptation to its specific environment.Various techniques and instruments are addressed, making this a valuable source of reference, and the advantages and disadvantages of these are further illustrated through worked examples and case studies.* Rigorous physical and mathematical principles presented in a way readily understood by those without a strong mathematical background* Boxes throughout summarize key information and concepts* The student is directed to carefully chosen further reading articles, allowing them to explore key topics in more detailOnline Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Remote Sensing of Vegetation features:For Students:* Links to useful websitesFor lecturers:* Figures from the book in electronic format, ready to download
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks QK63 .J66 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Recent advances in remote sensing and geoinformation processing for land degradation assessment by Dave HillLand degradation and desertification are amongst the most severe threats to human welfare and the environment, as they affect the livelihoods of some 2 billion people in the world's drylands, and they are directly connected to pressing global environmental problems, such as the loss of biological diversity or global climate change. Strategies to combat these processes and mitigate their effects at the land-management and policy level require spatially explicit, up-to-date information, which can be provided based on remote sensing data and using geoinformation processing techniques. Recent Advances in Remote Sensing and Geoinformation Processing for Land Degradation Assessmentintroduces the current state of the art in this field and provides an overview of both conceptual and technological advances of the recent past. With a specific focus on desertification and land degradation, the volume covers the assessment of related biophysical indicators, as well as complementary qualitative information at different spatial and temporal scales. It is shown how remote sensing data may be utilized in the context of assessing and monitoring affected ecosystems and how this information may be assimilated into integrated interpretation and modelling concepts. In addition, different case studies are provided to demonstrate the implementation of these methods in the frame of different local settings. The volume will be of interest to scientists and students working at the interface of ecosystem services, land degradation/desertification, spatial ecology, remote sensing and spatial modelling, as well as to land managers and policy makers.
Remote sensing of global croplands for food security by Prasad Thenkabail (Editor); Hugh Turral (Editor); Chandashekhar Biradar (Editor); John G. Lyon (Editor)Increases in populations have created an increasing demand for food crops while increases in demand for biofuels have created an increase in demand for fuel crops. What has not increased is the amount of croplands and their productivity. These and many other factors such as decreasing water resources in a changing climate have created a crisis like situation in global food security. Decision makers in these situations need accurate information based on science. Remote Sensing of Global Croplands for Food Security provides a comprehensive knowledge base in use of satellite sensor-based maps and statistics that can be used to develop strategies for croplands (irrigated and rainfed) and their water use for food security. Over 50 Multi-disciplinary Global Experts Give Insight and Provide Practical Approaches Emphasizing practical mapping technologies based on advanced remote sensing data and methods, this book provides approaches for estimating irrigated and rainfed cropland areas and their water use on a national, continental, or global basis. Written by 50+ leading experts working at the forefront of this critical area, it offers case studies from a variety of continents highlighting the subtle requirements of each. In a very practical way it demonstrates the experience, utility, and models for determining water resources used and resulting yields of irrigated and rainfed croplands. The authors discuss: (a) innovative methods used for mapping croplands, (b) approaches adopted to collect cropland data in different countries by traditional and non-traditional means, (c) accuracies, uncertainties, and errors involved in producing cropland products, (d) surface energy balance models used to assess crop water use, and (e) extensive results and outcomes pertaining to global croplands and their water use. Develop Strategies for an Enhanced Green Revolution and an Accelerated Blue Revolution Linking croplands to water use and food security, the book provides a global perspective on this sensitive issue. It gives insight into the extent of cropland usage, their spatial distribution, their cropping intensities, and their water use patterns. The editors collect the experience, methods, models, and results that show the way forward and help in decision-making on water resources and food security. All of this is required for developing strategies for an enhanced green revolution and for an accelerated blue revolution.
GIS Applications in Agriculture by Francis J. Pierce (Editor); David Clay (Editor)The increased efficiency and profitability that the proper application of technology can provide has made precision agriculture the hottest developing area within traditional agriculture. The first single-source volume to cover GIS applications in agronomy, GIS Applications in Agricultureexamines ways that this powerful technology can help farmers produce a greater abundance of crops with more efficiency and at lower costs. Each chapter describes the nature of a problem, examines the purpose and scope of a GIS application, presents the methods used to develop the application, and then goes on to provide results and offer a conclusion as well as supporting information. When appropriate, the chapters present the underlying statistical approach for the GIS software that is used. Applicable data sets and color maps produced by use of GIS are included for download at the CRC webiste. Concentrating more on the approach and less on the specific software, the authors describe the methods used to develop an application and discuss limitations to the algorithms and the programming code used. They then summarize the application in terms of what it does, how it works, its limitations, and its potential uses. The book provides a toolkit for the acquisition, management, and analysis of spatial data throughout the agriculture value chain. he authors describe the methods used to develop an application and discuss limitations to the algorithms and the programming code used. They then summarize the application in terms of what it does, how it works, its limitations, and its potential uses. The book provides a toolkit for the acquisition, management, and analysis of spatial data throughout the agriculture value chain.
Forester's Guide to Aerial Photo Interpretation by Gene AveryExcerpt from Forester's Guide to Aerial Photo InterpretationThis guide is intended as a practical reference on techniques of aerial photo interpretation in forest inventory. It'is written for the forester with a casual knowledge of aerial photography. No attempt is made to cover complex subjects like topographic mapping or operation of expensive stereo-plotting instruments. Although single prints are occasionally useful, emphasis is on ste r e o s c 0pi c interpretation of vertical aerial photog raphs available from various agencies of the U. S. Department of Agriculture (usda). Southern forest conditions are stressed, but the basic techniques are applicable in most of the United States.With a minimum of training, the forester can use photos to de termine bearings and distances, identify broad forest types, and measure areas. Additional experience will enable him to improve the efficiency of timber cruising by distributing field samples on the basis of photo classifications. In some instances, he may even be able to estimate timber volumes directly from the photographs.About the PublisherForgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.comThis book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Atlas of United States Trees by Elbert L. Little JrExcerpt from Atlas of United States Trees, Vol. 6: SupplementVolume 6, Supplement, contains additional information to aid use of the five volumes of maps of the native trees of continental United States. New small maps of the eastern species of Crataegus, hawthorn, fill an omission of Volumes 4 and 5. A list of the 53 general and base maps is included. Finally, the indexes of common names and scientific names contain all species maps in Volumes 1-6.About the PublisherForgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.comThis book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Call Number: Hodges Library Oversize S21 .A46 no.1146 etc.
Publication Date: 1971-1981
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Great Smoky Mountains National Park Vegetation Mapping Project by National Park ServiceMappers, ecologists, and botanists collaborated to affirm vegetation types of GRSM and to determine
how best to map the vegetation types by using aerial imagery. A vegetation classification developed
in 2003 by NatureServe and the NPS served as a foundation to further classify and map the
vegetation types of the Park. Data from an additional 10 vegetation plots supported vegetation types
either rare or not documented in the 2003 classification. Data from 203 verification sites were
collected to test the field key to vegetation types and the application of vegetation types to a sample
set of map polygons. Furthermore, data from 972 accuracy assessment (AA) sites were collected (of
which 966 were used to test accuracy of the vegetation map layer). This GRSM vegetation mapping
project identified 112 vegetation types consisting of 105 association types in the U.S. National
Vegetation Classification (USNVC), 2 “park-special” types, 1 “map-special” type, and 4 cultural
types in the USNVC.
Publication Date: July 2021
Women and GIS : mapping their stories by ESRI Press EditorsTwenty-three stories about how ordinary girls with very different passions have become extraordinary women and made significant contributions to our world Women look to other women as role models and for inspiration. Seeing confidence, leadership and accomplishments in other women helps a young woman envision herself with those qualities. Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories tells the tales of how 23 women applied themselves and overcame obstacles, using maps, analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS) to contribute to their professions and the world. Sharing the experiences of their childhoods, the misstarts and challenges they faced, and the lessons they learned, each story is a celebration of a woman's unique path and of the perseverance and hard work it takes to achieve success. From oceanographers to activists, archaeologists to entrepreneurs, the women in Women and GIS: Mapping Their Stories can serve as mentors to motivate readers who are developing their own life stories and inspire their potential in a new way.
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
FIRE-BIRD : a GIS-based toolset for applying habitat suitability models to inform land management planning by Quresh S. LatifHabitat suitability models can inform forest management for species of conservation concern.
Models quantify relationships between known species locations and environmental attributes,
which are used to identify areas most likely to support species of concern. Managers can then
limit negative human impacts in areas of high suitability or conduct habitat improvements in
areas of marginal suitability. Model applications are computationally intensive, requiring time
and resources not available to most managers. We developed FIRE-BIRD, an ArcGIS toolbox,
to streamline preliminary data processing and application of habitat suitability models to forest
management planning for disturbance-associated woodpeckers of conservation concern. Tools
are currently developed for black-backed (Picoides arcticus) and white-headed woodpecker
(Dryobates albolvartus) in Inland Northwest burned forests; black-backed, white-headed, and
hairy woodpecker (D. villosus) in Northern Sierra burned forests; and white-headed woodpecker in
Inland Northwest unburned forests. This manual provides tool operating instructions and guidelines
to interpret resulting habitat suitability maps. The suite of species currently included makes this
toolset best suited for postfire management and restoration treatments in dry mixed-conifer forests.
Incorporating additional species and forest conditions in the future will broaden the scope of this
Publication Date: 2019
Assessing potential climate change pressures across the conterminous United States : mapping plant hardiness zones, heat zones, growing degree days, and cumulative drought severity throughout this century by Matthews, Stephen NThe maps and tables presented here represent potential variability of projected climate change across the
conterminous United States during three 30-year periods in this century and emphasizes the importance
of evaluating multiple signals of change across large spatial domains. Maps of growing degree days, plant
hardiness zones, heat zones, and cumulative drought severity depict the potential for markedly shifting
conditions and highlight regions where changes may be multifaceted across these metrics. In addition to
the maps, the potential change in these climate variables are summarized in tables according to the seven
regions of the fourth National Climate Assessment to provide additional regional context. Viewing these
data collectively further emphasizes the potential for novel climatic space under future projections of climate
change and signals the wide disparity in these conditions based on relatively near-term human decisions of
curtailing (or not) greenhouse gas emissions.
Publication Date: 2018
Basic Principles of Topography by Markoski, BlagojaThis book gives a comprehensive overview of all relevant elements in topography and their practical application. It elaborates on the classical representation of terrain on maps such as cartographic projections, together with their classification, scale, and geographical elements. It is richly illustrated with photographs, maps and figures, in which the theoretical explanations are clarified. Readers will become acquainted with the physical characteristics of the ground, i.e. tectonic and erosive shapes, the importance and classification of terrain, genetic (fluvial, abrasive, glacial, karst) and topographic types such as higher (mountains, hills, peaks) and lower terrain (valleys, fields). In addition, the book discusses cartometry and coordinate systems, orientation in space (geographic, topographic, tactical) including by means of maps, instruments and the night sky and elaborates new techniques and technologies such as aerial photogrammetric imagery, global navigation satellite systems and LiDAR. The book also includes methods for the practical execution of concrete measurement operations, such as determining position and movement on land with maps, compass and azimuth which makes it especially useful for practitioners and professionals, e.g., for landscape planning, military exercises, mountaineering, nature walks etc. As such it offers a valuable guide not only for undergraduate students but also for researchers in the fields of geography, geosciences, geodesy, ecology, forestry and related areas looking for an overview on topography. Uniquely, the book also features an extensive glossary of topographical terms.
Publication Date: 2018
Tangible Modeling with Open Source GIS by Anna Petrasova; Brendan Harmon; Vaclav Petras; Payam Tabrizian; Helena MitasovaThis book provides an overview of the latest developments in the fast growing field of tangible user interfaces. It presents a new type of modeling environment where the users interact with geospatial data and simulations using 3D physical landscape model coupled with 3D rendering engine. Multiple users can modify the physical model, while it is being scanned, providing input for geospatial analysis and simulations. The results are then visualized by projecting images or animations back on the physical model while photorealistic renderings of human views are displayed on a computer screen or in a virtual reality headset. New techniques and software which couple the hardware set-up with open source GRASS GIS and Blender rendering engine, make the system instantly applicable to a wide range of applications in geoscience education, landscape design, computer games, stakeholder engagement, and many others. This second edition introduces a new more powerful version of the tangible modeling environment with multiple types of interaction, including polymeric sand molding, placement of markers, and delineation of areas using colored felt patches. Chapters on coupling tangible interaction with 3D rendering engine and immersive virtual environment, and a case study integrating the tools presented throughout this book, demonstrate the second generation of the system - Immersive Tangible Landscape - that enhances the modeling and design process through interactive rendering of modeled landscape. This book explains main components of Immersive Tangible Landscape System, and provides the basic workflows for running the applications. The fundamentals of the system are followed by series of example applications in geomorphometry, hydrology, coastal and fluvial flooding, fire spread, landscape and park design, solar energy, trail planning, and others. Graduate and undergraduate students and educators in geospatial science, earth science, landscape architecture, computer graphics and games, natural resources and many others disciplines, will find this book useful as a reference or secondary textbook. Researchers who want to build and further develop the system will most likely be the core audience, but also anybody interested in geospatial modeling applications (hazard risk management, hydrology, solar energy, coastal and fluvial flooding, fire spread, landscape and park design) will want to purchase this book.
Publication Date: 2018-05-24
GIS for surface water : using the national hydrography dataset by Jeff SimleyGIS for Surface Water: Using the National Hydrography Dataset enables scientists, managers, and students to understand the complexities of the vital surface waters of the United States. It triggers exploration and analysis by combining the ready-to-use powers of a comprehensive database of the nation's waters and the ArcGIS® platform for geographic data analysis and mapping. This book explains how the water that exists on the landscape has been translated into a computer database, and how data about the water, such as chemistry and fish habitat, is linked to this database. Elevation data is also incorporated to produce watersheds at the micro and macro levels. This information, along with climatic data, leads to the creation of water flow and velocity estimates for every segment in the 7.5-million-mile drainage network in the United States. With the development of this complete water information system, the reader is poised to generate new knowledge of the behavior of surface water systems. Application of the ArcGIS suite of geographic and network analysis tools makes the science of surface water come to life. GIS for Surface Water vividly demonstrates how the vast capabilities of ArcGIS can be easily applied to the National Hydrography Dataset and companion Watershed Boundary Dataset to reveal the intricate properties of complex water networks. A variety of GIS operations are made simpler through the use of ArcGIS. You will be able to input the National Hydrography Dataset in your GIS and trace the path of water within minutes. With just a little more effort, you will be able to create enlightening flow-volume maps showing how much water flows through any given river system. By following basic principles outlined in the book, you will discover that these methods also apply to the science of surface-water systems for any nation. User stories by experienced water analysts arte also included to help buoy your knowledge of GIS for surface water.
Geospatial Technologies for Land Degradation Assessment and Management by R. S. DwivediThe constant growth of the world¿s population and the decline of the availability of land and soil resources are global concerns for food security. Other concerns are the decrease in productivity and delivery of essential ecosystems services because of the decline of soil quality and health by a range of degradation processes. Key soil properties like soil bulk density, organic carbon concentration, plant available water capacity, infiltration rate, air porosity at field moisture capacity, and nutrient reserves, are crucial properties for soil functionality which refers to the capacity of soil to perform numerous functions. These functions are difficult to measure directly and are estimated through indices of soil quality and soil health. Soil degradation, its extent and severity, can also be estimated by assessing indices of soil quality and health. "Geospatial Technology for Land Degradation Assessment and Management" uses satellite imagery and remote sensing technologies to measure landscape parameters and terrain attributes. Remote sensing and geospatial technologies are important tools in assessing the extent and the severity of land and soil degradation, their temporal changes, and geospatial distribution in a timely and cost-effective manner. The knowledge presented in the book by Dr. R.S. Dwivedi shows how remote sensing data can be utilized for inventorying, assessing, and monitoring affected ecosystems and how this information can be integrated in the models of different local settings. Through many land degradations studies, land managers, researchers, and policymakers will find practical applications of geospatial technologies and future challenges. The information presented is also relevant to advancing the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations towards global food security.
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Spatial Data Analysis in Ecology and Agriculture Using R by Richard E. PlantKey features: Unique in its combination of serving as an introduction to spatial statistics and to modeling agricultural and ecological data using R Provides exercises in each chapter to facilitate the book's use as a course textbook or for self-study Adds new material on generalized additive models, point pattern analysis, and new methods of Bayesian analysis of spatial data. Includes a completely revised chapter on the analysis of spatiotemporal data featuring recently introduced software and methods Updates its coverage of R software including newly introduced packages Spatial Data Analysis in Ecology and Agriculture Using R, 2ndEditionprovides practical instruction on the use of the R programming language to analyze spatial data arising from research in ecology, agriculture, and environmental science. Readers have praised the book's practical coverage of spatial statistics, real-world examples, and user-friendly approach in presenting and explaining R code, aspects maintained in this update. Using data sets from cultivated and uncultivated ecosystems, the book guides the reader through the analysis of each data set, including setting research objectives, designing the sampling plan, data quality control, exploratory and confirmatory data analysis, and drawing scientific conclusions. Additional material to accompany the book, on both analyzing satellite data and on multivariate analysis, can be accessed at https://www.plantsciences.ucdavis.edu/plant/additionaltopics.htm.
Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Digital Soil Mapping Across Paradigms, Scales and Boundaries by Gan-Lin Zhang (Editor); Dick Brus (Editor); Feng Liu (Editor); Xiao-Dong Song (Editor); Philippe Lagacherie (Editor)This book contains papers presented at the 6th Global Workshop on Digital SoilMapping, held 11-14 November 2014 at the Institute of Soil Science, ChineseAcademy of Sciences of Nanjing, China. Digital soil mapping is advancing ondifferent fronts at different paces throughout the world. The researches andapplications on DSM are moving from method development to realizations indifferent scales and regions, serving the generation of national andcontinental to global soil grids. Meanwhile, new ideas and insights on mapping complex soil-landscapes such as flat plains,anthropogenically altered agriculture and urban spaces are emerging, with the help of new paradigms and models.The goal of the sixth workshop was to review and discuss the state ofthe art in digital soil mapping, and to explore strategies for bridgingresearch, production, and environmental applications. Thisbook provides a very useful and comprehensive overview of the status of digitalsoil mapping, in which graduate students, scientists and specialists workingwithin the field of geography can find the spatial prediction approaches andrelated theory.
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Forest Mensuration by John A. Kershaw; Mark J. Ducey; Thomas W. Beers; Bertram HuschForest mensuration - the science of measurement applied to forest vegetation and forest products - holds value for basic ecology as well as sustainable forest management. As demands on the world's forests have grown, scientists and professionals are increasingly called on to quantify forest composition, structure, and the goods and services forests provide. Grounded in geometry, sampling theory, and ecology as well as practical field experience, forest mensuration offers opportunities for creative problem solving and critical thinking. This fifth edition of the classic volume, Forest Mensuration, includes coverage of traditional and emerging topics, with attention to SI and Imperial units throughout. The book has been reorganised from the fourth edition to better integrate non-timber and ecological aspects of forest mensuration at the tree, stand, forest, and landscape scales throughout. The new edition includes new chapters that specifically address the integration of remotely sensed data in the forest inventory process, and inventory methods for dead and downed wood. One unifying theme, not only for traditional forestry but for the non-timber inventory and for remote sensing, is the use of covariates to make sampling more efficient and spatially explicit. This is introduced in the introductory chapter on statistics and the chapter on sampling designs has been restructured to highlight this approach and lay the foundation for further learning. New examples will be developed throughout the textbook with an emphasis on current issues and international practice. Students in applied forestry programs will find ample coverage of forest products and timber inventory, while expanded material on biodiversity, biomass and carbon inventory, downed dead wood, and the growing role of remote sensing in forest assessment will be valuable to a broader audience in applied ecology.
Publication Date: 2016-12-27
National individual tree species atlas by James R. EllenwoodThis reference volume covers each tree species in the United States and precisely where each species is likely to grow and not grow. This illustrated work will benefit silviculturists, foresters, geneticists, researchers, botanists, wildlife habitat biologists, landscape ecologists—essentially anyone involved in natural resources management, monitoring impacts of climate change or visiting America's forests and landscapes. Table of Contents National Individual Tree Species Atlas v Dedication and Acknowledgements iii List of Maps Conifers vi List of Maps Hardwoods v ii Preface ix Introduction Mapped Atlas Methods Overlays Map Preparation Modeled Atlas Methods Predictor Layers United States Geological Survey Map Zone Climate Terrain Soils Imagery Ground Data Individual Species Modeling Validation Application of the Maps Color Scheme Model Fit Leaves Other Data Specific Notes Changes to species classifications Notable differences in range Species observed Species notes Feedback Conifers Hardwoods Appendices Appendix A (Predictor Layers) Appendix B (Species Metadata) Appendix C (Indices) Appendix D (Photo Credits) References
Use of the Normalized Difference Vegetation Index (NDVI) to Assess Land Degradation at Multiple Scales : Current Status, Future Trends, and Practical Considerations by Genesis T. Yengoh; David Dent; Lennart Olsson; Anna E. Tengberg; Compton J. Tucker IIIThis report examines the scientific basis for the use of remotely sensed data, particularly Normalized Difference Vegetation Index (NDVI), primarily for the assessment of land degradation at different scales and for a range of applications, including resilience of agro-ecosystems. Evidence is drawn from a wide range of investigations, primarily from the scientific peer-reviewed literature but also non-journal sources. The literature review has been corroborated by interviews with leading specialists in the field. The report reviews the use of NDVI for a range of themes related to land degradation, including land cover change, drought monitoring and early warning systems, desertification processes, greening trends, soil erosion and salinization, vegetation burning and recovery after fire, biodiversity loss, and soil carbon. This SpringerBrief also discusses the limits of the use of NDVI for land degradation assessment and potential for future directions of use. A substantial body of peer-reviewed research lends unequivocal support for the use of coarse-resolution time series of NDVI data for studying vegetation dynamics at global, continental and sub-continental levels. There is compelling evidence that these data are highly correlated with biophysically meaningful vegetation characteristics such as photosynthetic capacity and primary production that are closely related to land degradation and to agroecosystem resilience.
Publication Date: 2015-11-11
Urban tree management : for the sustainable development of green cities by Andreas Roloff (Editor)Urban tree management is the key basis for greener cities of the future. It is a practical discipline which includes tree selection, planting, care and protection and the overall management of trees as a collective resource. Urban Tree Management aims to raise awareness for the positive impacts and benefits of city trees and for their importance to city dwellers. It describes their advantages and details their effects on quality of urban life and well-being - aspects that are increasingly important in these times of progressing urbanisation. With this book you will learn: fundamentals, methods and tools of urban tree management state of the art in the fields of urban forestry and tree biology positive effects and uses of urban trees features, requirements and selection criteria for urban trees conditions and problems of urban trees governance and management aspects environmental education programs. Edited by the leading expert Dr Andreas Roloff, Urban Tree Management is an excellent resource for plant scientists, horticulturists, dendrologists, arborists and arboriculturists, forestry scientists, city planners, parks department specialists and landscape architects. It will be an essential addition to all students and libraries where such subjects are taught.
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Forestry Applications of Airborne Laser Scanning : Concepts and Case Studies by Matti Maltamo (Editor); Jari Vauhkonen (Editor)Airborne laser scanning (ALS) has emerged as one of the most promising remote sensing technologies to provide data for research and operational applications in a wide range of disciplines related to management of forest ecosystems. This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art review of the research and application of ALS in a broad range of forest-related disciplines, especially forest inventory and forest ecology. However, this book is more than just a collection of individual contributions - it consists of a well-composed blend of chapters dealing with fundamental methodological issues and contributions reviewing and illustrating the use of ALS within various domains of application. The reviews provide a comprehensive and unique overview of recent research and applications that researchers, students and practitioners in forest remote sensing and forest ecosystem assessment should consider as a useful reference text.
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Farming the Future: GIS for Agriculture, Vol 2 by ESRIGeographic information system (GIS) technology is used throughout the agricultural industry to manage resources, increase yields, reduce input costs, predict outcomes, improve business practices, and more.The capability of GIS to visualize agricultural environments and workflows has proved to be very beneficial to those involved in farming. The powerful analytical capabilities of the technology is used to examine farm conditions and measure and monitor the effects of farm management practices including crop yield estimates, soil amendment analyses, and erosion identification and remediation. GIS can also be used to reduce farm input costs such as fertilizer, fuel, seed, labor, and transportation. In addition, farm managers use GIS to submit government program applications, simplifying what used to be time-consuming multistep processes.From collecting data in the field with mobile GIS to the analysis of remote-sensing data at the farm manager's office, GIS is playing an increasing role in agriculture production throughout the world by helping farmers expand production, reduce costs, and manage their land more efficiently.
Publication Date: 2013
Net change in forest density, 1873-2001 : using historical maps to monitor long-term forest trends by Greg C LiknesEuropean settlement of the United States and utilization of forests are inextricably linked. Forest products fueled development, providing the building blocks for railroads, bridges, ships, and homes. Perhaps because of the importance of its forests, the United States has a rich cartographic history documenting its resources. Long-term, broad-scale monitoring efforts for forests focus on relatively simple measures, such as forest area, change in forest area over time, and proportion of forest land. We demonstrate how historical cartographic products could be effectively used to produce information about the change of forests over time at regional or national scales. We georeferenced and digitized a map of U.S. woodland density circa 1873 produced for the first national atlas. Using a contemporary digital forest layer derived from MODIS satellite imagery, we developed density categories that matched the historical map and calculated changes since 1873. A process is presented for combining historical maps with modern data. We discuss challenges with georeferencing of scanned images, lack of metadata, thematic misclassification, and inconsistent definitions, all of which require that historical maps should be used with caution for the purpose of broad-scale monitoring of resources.
The atlas of food : who eats what, where, and why by Erik MillstoneWhat we eat, where we eat, and how we eat: these questions are explored in this remarkable book, now with a new introduction contextualizing the atlas for 2013 and beyond. By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns. Buttressed by engaging prose and vivid graphics, Erik Millstone and Tim Lang convincingly argue that human progress depends on resolving global inequality and creating a more sustainable food production system.
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Forest Soils : Properties and Management by Khan Towhid OsmanForest soil characteristics are not only unique but their interpretation also differs from cropland soils. Just as there are diverse forest types, there are many soil variants that need different management. Today, forest plantations are being intensively managed for profitable timber, pulpwood and energy production. Site selection, species selection, site productivity evaluation, silvicultural treatments, and soil amendments need crucial soil information. This book provides a comprehensive overview of the physical, chemical and biological properties of forest soils and their implications on forest vegetation. Topics discussed include: major forest types of the world and their associated soils; forest biomass and nutrient dynamics; organic matter turnover and nutrient recycling; forest soil disturbance; forest soil and climate change; and forest soil management and silvicultural treatments.
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Remote sensing of land use and land cover : principles and applications by Chandra P. Giri (Editor)Filling the need for a comprehensive book that covers both theory and application, Remote Sensing of Land Use and Land Cover: Principles and Applications provides a synopsis of how remote sensing can be used for land-cover characterization, mapping, and monitoring from the local to the global scale. With contributions by leading scientists from around the world, this well-structured volume offers an international perspective on the science, technologies, applications, and future needs of remote sensing of land cover and land use. After an overview of the key concepts and history of land-use and land-cover mapping, the book discusses the relationship between land cover and land use and addresses the land-cover classification system. It then presents state-of-the-art methods and techniques in data acquisition, preprocessing, image interpretation, and accuracy assessment for land-use and land-cover characterization and mapping. Case studies from around the world illustrate land-cover applications at global, continental, and national scales. These examples use multiple data sources and provide in-depth understanding of land cover and land-cover dynamics in multiple spatial, thematic, and temporal resolutions. Looking to the future, the book also identifies new frontiers in land-cover mapping and forecasting. The availability and accessibility of accurate and timely land-cover data sets play an important role in many global change studies, highlighting the need for better land-use and land-cover change information at multiple scales. A synthesis of current knowledge in remote sensing of land-use and land-cover science, this book promotes more effective use of Earth observation data and technology to assess, monitor, and manage land resources.
Publication Date: 2012-05-02
Soils : Principles, Properties and Management by Khan Towhid OsmanAimed at taking the mystery out of soil science, Soils: Principles, Properties and Management is a text for undergraduate/graduate students who study soil as a natural resource. Written in a reader-friendly style, with a host of examples, figures and tables, the book leads the reader from the basics of soil science through to complex situations, covering such topics as: the origin, development and classification of soil physical, chemical and biological properties of soil water and nutrient management management of problem soils, wetland soils and forest soils soil degradation Further, the ecological and agrological functions of soil are emphasized in the context of food security, biodiversity and climate change. The interactions between the environment and soil management are highlighted. Soil is viewed as an ecosystem itself and as a part of larger terrestrial ecosystems.
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
Atlas of rural and small-town America by United States. Department of Agriculture. Economic Research Service"Objectives ...: To provide a spatial interpretation of county-level, economic and social conditions along four dimensions: people, jobs, agriculture, and county classifications; To highlight the value of the U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey ... and ... data from several different Federal sources."
Allows generation and download in JPG or PNG formats of maps that reflect selected characteristics. Allows download of numeric data in Micosoft Excel spreadsheet format.
Publication Date: 2011
The national tree-list layer : a seamless, spatially explicit tree-list layer for the continental United States by Stacy Allen DruryThe National Tree-List Layer (NTLL) project used LANDFIRE map products to produce the first national tree-list map layer that represents tree populations at stand and regional levels. The NTLL was produced in a short time frame to address the needs of Fire and Aviation Management for a map layer that could be used as input for simulating fire-caused tree mortality across landscapes. Simulated tree mortality estimates using the NTLL as model input provided acceptable results when compared with tree mortality simulations using field-sampled tree attribute data. Our results indicate that fire managers can expect simulated tree-mortalities using the NTLL to predict fire-caused tree mortality as well as field-measured plot data, especially during extreme wildfire events. Decision makers can use tree mortality maps that are produced using the NTLL to develop and support decisions such as where to place fuels treatments or where to most effectively position fire suppression resources.
Publication Date: 2011
Invasive Species by Sharon A. Clay (Editor)While many "alien" plant and animal species are purposefully introduced into new areas as ornamentals, livestock, crops, and even pets, these species can escape into other areas and threaten agricultural and native ecosystems causing economic and environmental harm, or harm to human health. Increasingly, scientists are using Geographic Information
Imagery: GIS Best Practices by ESRIThe availability and resolution of remotely sensed imagery from earth-orbiting satellites and airborne, hydrographic, and terrestrial sensors have grown dramatically. While this data is potentially valuable to many different types of organizations, they must fi nd a way to manage it while addressing problems related to data latency, accuracy, and format interoperability.GIS provides a standards-based framework to manage data and mitigate these issues. With GIS, you canIntegrate disparate data sources and manage large raster catalogs to provide enterprise accessibility.Promote interoperability.Perform dynamic server-side image processing from native data sources to minimize data latency.
Publication Date: 2010
Wildlife Management by ESRIHuman-caused disruptions, such as habitat loss, pollution, invasive species introduction, and climate change, are all threats to wildlife health and biodiversity. GIS technology is an effective tool for managing, analyzing, and visualizing wildlife data to target areas where interventional management practices are needed and to monitor their effectiveness. GIS helps wildlife management professionals examine and envisionHabitat requirements and rangesPopulation patches and linkagesDisease levels within populationsProgress of management activitiesHistorical and present wildlife densitiesUnderstanding the specifi c needs of wildlife populations is key to preventing local or global extinctions, rehabilitating populations, and restoring habitat. In the following case studies, you will learn how wildlife management professionals around the world have successfully implemented GIS to respond to invasive species, manage and facilitate disease prevention, minimize mortality, and determine wildlife movement and habitat ranges.
Publication Date: 2010
GIS for Agriculture by ESRIBalancing the inputs and outputs on a farm is fundamental to its success and profi tability. The ability of GIS to analyze and visualize agricultural environments and workfl ows has proved to be very benefi cial to those involved in the farming industry.From mobile GIS in the fi eld to the scientifi c analysis of production data at the farm manager's offi ce, GIS is playing an increasing role in agriculture production throughout the world by helping farmers increase production, reduce costs, and manage their land more effi ciently.While natural inputs in farming cannot be controlled, they can be better understood and managed with GIS applications such as crop yield estimates, soil amendment analyses, and erosion identifi cation and remediation.
Publication Date: 2009
GIS for Sustainable Agriculture by ESRIProviding the current population and future generations with an indefi nite food supply is an
economic, environmental, and social concern. Geographic information system (GIS) technology
enables community planners, economists, agronomists, and farmers to research and devise
practices that will enable the sustainability of food production to ensure the survival of the
human race. Whether implementing organic farming methods, fi nding the most profi table and
healthy places to plant new crops, or allotting farmland for preservation to secure future food
production, GIS has the capabilities to collect, manage, analyze, report, and share vast amounts
of agricultural data to aid in discovering and establishing sustainable agriculture practices.
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Soil Science by Ward Chesworth (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes. longer articles by leading authorities from around the world are supplemented by some 430 definitions of common terms in soil sciences.
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
GIS for Forest Assessment by ESRIEffective forest managers monitor changing conditions and make intelligent decisions for
sustainable care. GIS can be used to assess conditions through historical analysis, stand
inventory, soil types, changing weather patterns, and land-use practices. Modeling enables
users to test and consider options in both temporal and spatial contexts. Geospatial records
provide forest managers with a baseline for evaluating plans.
ESRI offers an array of tools to assist forestry professionals with data management, analysis,
decision-making, and monitoring. Applications and extensions offer managers options for the
use and management of spatial data on mobile devices, internal networks, and Web-based