Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Legislation and Regulations: Legislative Databases

A guide to public policy resources.

Law & Legislation Databases

  • ProQuest Congressional 1789-present.
    Use to find current and historical resources from and about the U.S. Congress. Includes: public laws, bills, and congressional digital collections (hearings, reports, documents); the proceedings in the Congressional Record; profiles, voting records, and campaign finance data for members of Congress; federal regulations, the U.S. Code, and commentary from the Washington Post
     
  • ProQuest Legislative Insight - 1929+
    A source for legislative history compilations of enacted legislation. Includes full text of documents.
     
  • Congress.gov - Replacing Thomas.gov.  Legislative coverage from 1973 (93rd Congress) to present. 

  • Govinfo - provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

  • HeinOnline. Coverage varies. Good for finding retrospective materials.
    A legal research database with collections from all branches of government, including U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, World Trials, Session Laws and Codes. Collections include specific legal titles such as the U.S. Statutes at Large; Federal Register;and the United States Code. Subject Collections include: Federal Agency Documents, Decisions and Appeals;U.S. Presidential Library; and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
     
  • LexisNexis Academic Coverage varies.
    Use to find: Federal & State statutory laws and regulations;Federal & State Court cases.