Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Legislation and Regulations: Background Information

A guide to public policy resources.

Periodicals

Listed here are periodicals that cover policy topics. The contents of the first four titles may be searched in the database Academic Search Premier

Congressional Digest. Online. (monthly)
Print: Stacks JK1.C65, 1922-current
Articles with pro and con arguments of legislation before Congress.

National Journal Online. (weekly). (Closed December 2015)
Print: Stacks JK1.N28, 1972-2009
Articles cover politics and publc policy issues.

Analyses of social issues and public policy. Online. (annual)
A journal of psychological and social science scholarship with implications for social action and policy.

Policy & practice. (formerly titled: Policy & Practice of Public Human Services)
Print: Stacks HV1.P75, 2003-2010
Articles on national social policy issues.

Poverty & Public Policy
"A new global journal that publishes the best and most relevant policy research on poverty, income
distribution, and welfare programs."

Reference

  • CQ Almanac Online 1945-
    Print Hodges Reference JK1.C66 vol.10-62 (1954-2006). 
    Closed Stacks microfilm (1948-1955).

    Annual review and cumulative summary of the major legislative activities in Congress from CQ Weekly. Material arranged by subject categories, Education, Health & Welfare, etc. Includes congressional action and votes.

  • Congress and the Nation: A Review of Government and Politics.
    Print JK1061.C63 (1945-2008). Location: Reference.

    Provides four-year four-year chronological summaries of major legislative programs and political developments during each presidential administration. Includes biographical information, major votes, key judicial decisions and election issues. Topically arranged.

Databases

  • CQ Researcher (Plus Archive). Full text 1923-.
    In-depth analyses on current and controversial issues with complete summaries, pro and con discussions, bibliographies and more.
     
  • CQ Weekly. Full text 1983-
    This timely and informative publication summarizes important congressional and political activities each week. Voting records and excerpts of testimony in hearings are given for major pieces of legislation. Provides nonpartisan legislative news and analysis on the activities of the U.S. Congress. 
     
  • CQ Almanac Online 1945-
    Annual review and cumulative summary of the major legislative activities in Congress
     
  • Points of View Reference Center.  Full text 
    Essays with opposing viewpoints covering current and controversial issues.

     


Select other databases pertinent to your topic from the library's list of databases to search for background articles on your topic.

Select news articles from the library's newspaper databases.

Search the library's online catalog for additional book resources.

Public Policy Web Sites

    • ED.gov - U.S. Dept. of Education on key education issues.
    • epic.org - Electronic Privacy Information Center policy issues.
       
  • National Political Index - a list of Political Think Tanks. 
     
  • ProCon.org - Hot topics and controversial issues in the news.
     
  • Project Vote Smart - a list of national interest groups. 
     
  • Public Agenda - Issue guides, research studies, viewpoints, etc.
     
  • Brookings Institution
         Private non-profit organization devoted to research, education, and publications in
         economics, government, foreign policy, and the social sciences in general.

     
  • Rand Corporation Research Briefs
         Non-profit institution that deals with public policy issues. Provides policy oriented
         briefs.

     
  • Policy Archive
         Public policy research from sources including the Brookings Institution, the Ford
         Foundation, the Institute for Policy Studies, and others.

  • Think Tanks Directory
    List of think tanks from the Harvard Kennedy School of Government.