UTCVM Year 1 Students:Resources for Summer Research Experience Students

Use LibKey Nomad for Chrome and Firefox to get PDFs of articles

To get PDFs of articles at publishers' sites and in databases such as Pubmed and Web of Science, get the LibKey Nomad extension for Chrome, and also Firefox, Vivaldi, Edge, or Brave. Select University of Tennessee Libraries as the organization when setting up LibKey Nomad.

Chrome extension

Firefox add-on

undefined

5/18/2020  Nomad now works with these databases

  • Web of Science and the other databases on Web of Science platform
  • CAB ABSTRACTS (international research database for veterinary medicine)
  • Scopus (Elsevier database of articles, Elsevier and Wiley own almost all of veterinary medicine)

Request Materials

Resource Sharing (Interlibrary Services)

Obtain articles and other items from other libraries by filling out a request after registering for ILLIA.D.  Free service to UT students, faculty, and staff. Check to see that journals or books are not in OneSearch before submitting the request so that it won't be returned.

 

Citation management programs

Office of Information Technology Research Computing Support

OIT offers a variety of research support services including statistical consulting to UT students, faculty, and staff.

Information literacy training "Beyond Google" and "the Web vs Databases" Elsa Loftis on LinkedInLearning

Click on either module below and you will be asked to sign into LinkedInLearning from OIT.

Or go to LinkedInLearning directly:  https://oit.utk.edu/training/online-training/lil/ 

"Information literacy is the ability to discover and use various types of information. It's an essential skill for navigating the information age. Watch this course to learn about strategies for finding information—from a library, archive, database, or the Internet—and the ethics of using it. Librarian Elsa Loftis discusses different types of resources and explains how to evaluate their usefulness and trustworthiness. She also shows how to avoid plagiarism and copyright infringement, and accurately cite sources."

Overview of Searching the Biomedical Literature

Steps of the Research Process

  1. Learn about background information on a topic : Use factual information in medical dictionaries or authoritative veterinary websites
  2. Read summaries of information on the topic : Use review articles, book chapters, conference papers, abstracts
  3. Read scientific articles : Search scientific databases to find specific scholarly papers

Comparing Databases

Grindlay, Brennan, and Dean (2012) compared the coverage of 1,139 veterinary journals by nine bibliographic databases.  

  1. CAB Abstracts: 90.2%
  2. Web of Science, Zoological Record & Biosis Previews: 66.8%
  3. Scopus: 58.3&
  4. Science Citation Index Expanded: 53.3%
  5. Web of Science (includes Science Citation Index Expanded): 53.3%
  6. Biosis Previews: 47.6%
  7. Embase: 38.9%
  8. MEDLINE: 36.5%
  9. Zoological Record: 34.1%
  10. Current Contents-Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences: 27.6%

Grindlay DJ, Brennan ML, Dean RS. Searching the veterinary literature: a comparison of the coverage of veterinary journals by nine bibliographic databases. J Vet Med Educ. 2012 Winter;39(4):404-12. doi: 10.3138/jvme.1111.109R. PubMed PMID: 23187034.

Cited Reference Searching with Google Scholar--USE ON CAMPUS or with VPN (Virtual Private Network from OIT)

Google Scholar cited by feature and articles in Web of Science--more information below

Search for Cited References in Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) on campus or using the Office of Information Technology Virtual Private Network

  1. In Google Scholar type article title in search box
  2. Click on Cited by to display articles, reports, blog posts, presentations, etc. found by Google Scholar algorithm.
  3. Click on Web of Science to display articles in Web of Science.  Not all articles in Google Scholar will have links to Web of  Science.
  4. More information on Web of Science Searching is available at https://clarivate.libguides.com/woscc/citedreference

Data vizualization, data management, data services, data sets and GIS plus more from the UT Libraries Scholars Collaborative

Research Communication Tips and Resources

Optimizing Powerpoint

Assertion-Evidence approach by Michael Alley

Web Site with templates based on the book by Michael Alley below

ORCID, Open Researcher and Contributor Id

Follow Dr. Kania's example: Register for and keep your ORCID page up to date
University College London Blog post "Getting the most out of your ORCID" May 2020

Conference Abstracts

How to Write a Killer Conference Abstract: The first step towards an engaging presentation

Jan 2017 Helen Kara / London School of Economics Blog

Drawing Figures with ChemBioDrawChembioDraw

Look under Cambridgesoft on the OIT Software Distribution Server for ChembioDraw.

Manuscript Matcher

http://jane.biosemantics.org/
Linked in Learning

Zotero Guide

Online Meeting Tips

Online Meetings with Zoom or MS Teams

Books: planning research, ethics, and writing

Role Models in Veterinary Research and Publishing

Selected Summer Research Experience Participants' articles:

Tim McCarthy, Researcher/Veterinarian in Practice

Don't pay for access OR spend a lot of time trying to get access, AskUs!

Jeanine Williamson jwilliamson@utk.edu  |   Veterinary Librarian (interim)

Jeffrey Hines         |      jhines@utk.edu  |  Evening Supervisor

Primary contacts for veterinary medicine @ Pendergrass Library

by