AccessMedicine’s Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers its best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
Note: Exceeded license message during trial - If while trying to access the site, you receive an error message regarding exceeded licenses, this means your allotted seats have been used up at that time.
Mobile view -- If you or your patrons are trying to access the site during the trial period via a mobile device, you will need to register for a MyAccess account via the website. Trial runs from November 28, 2017 - December 28, 2017.
Cambridge Archive Editions Online is the first-ever digital presentation of the exceptionally well-known and respected series of British archival reprints. Cambridge Archive Editions conducts original research in British government records and other sources. Most collections include an extensively researched document-by-document identification, which enables a more efficient study of the material, and original references as an aid to scholars. Facsimile reproduction ensures the historical authenticity of the original documents. Send feedback to Anne Bridges Trial runs from January 9, 2018 – April 8, 2018.
The ccAdvisor is a collaborative effort between Choice and The Charleston Company to deliver a searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to academic databases, websites, and tools. Itself a database, ccAdvisor draws upon the traditions of objectivity and scholarly excellence that characterize both Choice and The Charleston Advisor to create the source for the evaluation and selection of digital resources for libraries.
Because it is a database, not simply an archive of reviews, the information in ccAdvisor will be continuously updated and remain current through round after round of product upgrades and successor versions of standing works.
Send feedback to Teresa Berry. Trial runs from November 30, 2017 –June 30, 2018.
The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot: The Critical Edition gathers for the first time in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose of one of the most prolific writers of the twentieth century. The fully searchable, integrative edition includes all of Eliot's collected essays, reviews, lectures, commentaries from The Criterion, and letters to editors, including more than 700 uncollected and 150 unpublished pieces from 1905 to 1965.
This eight-volume critical edition dramatically expands access to material that has been restricted or inaccessible in private and institutional collections for almost fifty years. The first six volumes are currently available. Publication of volumes 7 and 8 are projected to be released in 2018.
Send feedback to Chris Caldwell
Trial runs from December 18, 2017 – January 31, 2018.
The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA) is the largest corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. COCA, along with other corpora, offers unparalleled insight into variation in English. COCA contains more than 520 million words of text and it is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.
After accessing COCA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (firstname.lastname@example.org) to have full access to COCA.
The Corpus of Historical American English (COHA) is the largest structured corpus of historical American English. COHA contains more than 400 million words of text from the 1810s-2000s.
After accessing COHA, patrons must create their own individual account using their UT email address (email@example.com) to have full access to COHA.
The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been published since 1981 and covers the work of more than thirty authors. The texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war. The Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker was completed in 2004. Please send feedback to Margaret Casado
Trial runs from October 16, 2017 - December 15, 2017
DRAMeXchange conducts research on DRAM and NAND Flash. The DRAMeXchange team covers spot prices, market trends, capital expenditure, capacity trends, PC industry status updates, and more. The team also analyzes shipment data and provides market intelligence for smart devices. DRAMeXchange offers accurate insights on worldwide demands for smart devices as well as a clear overview of the market.
Education Magazine Archive provides access to the full-digitized backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education, dating from the early 20th century through to the 21st.
In addition to its core relevance to research in the history of education, this newly-accessible content will open up fresh opportunities for research in numerous other fields, including social history, childhood studies, psychology, sociology, and politics.Send feedback to Anne Bridges Trial runs from November 6, 2017-January 5, 2018.
Gleeditions: Guided Literary E-text Editions. Interactive, digital editions of great world literature,
annotated for seven literary elements and illuminated by concise, well-illustrated historical context. Also featured on the site is a video library of premium clips. Including dramatic adaptations and readings of great literary works, it covers the site’s e-texts and extends beyond them to other acclaimed literary titles. 1.To use any title, just go to the Collections and Titles page (link in top toolbar).
2. Find the title of your choice on this page and click to use.
3. Or, to select from a list of all titles, use the Index of All Titles on that same page.
4. To use personal features (e.g. Save a note), Sign Up on the site (top toolbar) at school.
This one-time sign up, on the database on campus, also allows a user to access UTK Gleeditions from home.
JSTOR Global Plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany. Send feedback to Donna Braquet. Trial runs from January 22, 2018 - February 22, 2018.
The Japan Times Digital Archive offered by East View Information Services covers the complete run (1897-2016) of this English-language daily published in Tokyo. This product provides access to the publisher's archive as a one-time purchase and includes perpetual access rights and annual subscription for ongoing content additions (the archive will incorporate the most recent year's content on an annual basis.)
Send feedback to Anne Bridges
Trial runs from January 9, 2018 – March 10, 2018.
Latin American News Digest (LAND) is a weekly online aggregator of Latin American news media, featuring condensed versions of stories written in English, but with links to all the original articles and opinion pieces in Spanish, Portuguese, and a few in English. the Digest provides a useful conduit to Latin American journalism, amplifying the news produced in Latin America by Latin Americans. The weekly aggregation links to 85-120 pieces from the 100 plus media sources tracked in nineteen countries. LAND strikes a balance between following events in the larger, more populous regions and the smaller, more rural areas, and tracks big stories and small ones with topics in economics, politics, arts and culture, society, environment, inter-American issues, and much more.
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century.
The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
Please send feedback to Anne Bridges.
Trial runs from January 9, 2018-April 8, 2018.
*BETA* trial of new Newsbank Access World News platform. This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Share Feedback Trial runs from October 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017.
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. It combines continuous runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Composed of primary source documents that encompass the buildup to and evolution of the war. ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War--enabling researchers to investigate not just the battles, but also the rising tensions that led the country to war. Access provided by the Tennessee State Library Archive.
A bibliographic research database covering topics on the social, political and economic relations between race and ethnicity. Contains bibliographic records covering areas relating to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
SAGE Business Cases brings business to life—inspiring students, researchers, and practitioners to develop their own best practices and reach for professional success. This collection brings together cases selected from a variety of sources, including key university and association partnerships, to meet the needs of business faculty and students internationally.
SAGE Business Researcher delivers in-depth, curriculum-oriented issues to launch student inquiry into vital issues in business, management, and economics. Written with immediacy and the rigor of the best explanatory journalism, each report provides deep, balanced, and authoritative coverage on the selected topic and key research, and points students to reliable resources for further inquiry.
SAGE Research Methods Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 500 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the methods they did, how they overcame problems in their research and what they might have done differently with hindsight: the realities of research that are missing from journal articles and textbooks. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions. They can be used as a teaching tool to demonstrate a particular method and how it is applied in real research, or as inspiration to students who are preparing for their own research project.
• Browse hundreds of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to support teaching and learning in research methods.
• Explore the difficulties, nuances, and real-life decisions researchers are forced to make in the course of a project.
• Search cases by subject area, academic level, and methods used.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. This bank of topical, engaging practice datasets, indexed by method and data type, are optimized to use in classroom exercises or in exam papers, saving faculty members hours spent sourcing and cleaning data themselves. The decisions researchers make when analyzing data can seem like a black box for students—through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made, helping them to become confident researchers.
• Practice qualitative and quantitative analytical methods with sample data and instructional guides
• Find datasets that demonstrate dozens of methods and represent work in Business, Education, Health, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology
• Find downloadable data to use in course assignments and exam questions
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 120 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Stimulate class discussions by assigning videos for pre-class viewing, or use a clip in class to provide an alternative viewpoint. Videos can also be embedded into course management systems for exam preparation. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course
• Covers every aspect of research skills training and guides students through every step of the research process
• Contains 120+ hours of content
• Includes an entire 15-hour introductory statistics course, which students can access again and again, ensuring they master the concepts
• Students can access content at any time, and instructors can embed videos in their course management systems.
Developed in partnership with leading academics and practitioners, the SAGE Video Collection in Business & Management has over 140 hours of curated content. Designed to support teaching, learning and research, the collection caters to different learning styles with exclusive, customizable video content that brings the highest levels of academic credibility, a wide diversity of teaching perspectives and an international representation to a visual format. The collection includes:
- research by leading experts
- practitioner perspectives across the entire discipline.
The Counseling and Psychotherapy collection has more than 120 hours and 430 videos includes how-to tutorials and interviews. From CBT to Gestalt Therapy, and from Counseling Skills to Counseling Training, it features extensive demonstrations of clients and practitioners in real-life professional contexts designed to illustrate best practice and provide an essential insight for students to master the skills and techniques they need to succeed.
With more than 120 hours of video covering all branches of the Criminal Justice system, the Criminology & Criminal Justice collection supports students and researchers at all levels via tutorial videos that take viewers step-by-step through the criminal investigation process. Contains case studies that show how research affects policy and practices; and films that take you inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, and courtrooms.
Comprised of 129 hours and 450 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory and how to apply it in practice.
With content types designed to fit a variety of learning needs, the Politics & International Relations collection contains 132 hours of video and reinforces course fundamentals, introduces new perspectives, and brings theory to life with in-practice examples. Includes interviews with renowned experts cover subjects including international migration, political philosophy and the international relations of China. Discover seminal documentaries from BBC Worldwide and footage of famous political speeches from Martin Luther King and John F. Kennedy among others.
This collection includes 134 hours of video and reinforces course fundamentals, introduces new perspectives, and brings theory to life with in-practice examples. Students can truly get an image of what theory into practice really looks like with original films focusing on the work of professional psychologists: from forensic and clinical psychologists working with offenders inside a prison; clinicians – often involving real patients – examining a full spectrum of mental health disorders; sport psychologists; educational psychologists; and many more besides.
With more than 120 hours of video, the Sociology collection covers the full spectrum of the Sociology discipline and supports students and researchers at all levels. An array of different video types are available, including multiple hours of In Practice videos that highlight careers and practitioners in the real world; tutorial videos that shed light on hot topics within the field; and case study videos that explore particular research and its impacts on policy.
The Vertical Flight Library includes downloadable papers from nearly all Forum Proceedings from 1943 to today, as well as papers from nearly 100 Technical Specialists' Meetings and 60+ years of Vertiflite magazine. NOTE: To view full-text -- add items to shopping cart, use the checkout button, NO PAYMENT IS REQUIRED – downloadable content will have $0 pricing. Click complete order, download file using document PDF link.