Collections Ready Reference

APCS requests that you submit your criteria using the submission form by January 15th, 2024.

Keep in mind that the earlier you submit criteria, the more time we have to talk about these decisions with you. Submitting your criteria is just the beginning of a conversation. Once you submit something in the form, APCS has several checks and balances to review submissions. See the "Submission Details" tab for more info.

I DON'T HAVE TIME!

We understand the time constraints of this review. If you are overwhelmed, please reach out to apcs@utk.edu

You can simply share your thoughts about criteria/collection needs with APCS and we will design and run queries for you, passing off what we found and altering queries based on your feedback. In January, APCS will check to see that all areas have been reviewed and will address areas that fell through the cracks and chaos of the fall semester. 

Check here for your LC responsibility areas:

Reviews by LC Area

Individuals do not need to address the reviews below. APCS is running these reviews:

• Scarce titles
• TN publications
• Regional Appalachian studies titles
• Print Duplicates: You do not need to worry about identifying print duplicates. After all LC-based decisions are made using GG, APCS will run a query to identify print duplicates and determine which duplicates are needed based on circulation and other factors mentioned above. The print collection will then be de-duplicated. This is not the same as running a query for print to electronic duplicates, which we suggest you pursue for most subject areas.
• Serials: Serials and monographs are separate datasets that are accessed using different urls. Everyone with a GG account for monographs also has a GG account for serials, however, you do not need to evaluate serials in GG. APCS will be handling serials similar to how we have handled other serial reviews in the recent past (JSTOR, for example). We’ll run the criteria and pass title lists back to subject librarians for review and input.

1. Login to GreenGlass

2. Go to "Analysis", Go to "Query Builder"

3. Name your query. Consider whether you want your query to be about titles you want to KEEP or WITHDRAW. Example Query title: "Tennessee Publications- Keep"

4. Click "Save" regularly!

Go ahead and take a look at the submission process and submission form under the "How Tos" box below. This will give you some context as to what you need to submit. 

1. Submit your criteria. This is just the beginning of a conversation.

2. APCS takes that submission and pulls a list of titles, which we then use to double-check titles for things like retention agreements, faculty bookplate honors, and recent circulation.

3. APCS removes those titles from the set and sends confirmations back to you by email.

4. Before monographs are discarded, lists, along with the criteria that created the lists, will be posted on our website (available soon) for two weeks. This allows for stakeholders inside and outside the Libraries to review and send input.

5. Final approval is met and the withdrawal process between APCS, Cataloging, and Collection Logistics can commence.

COMING SOON

Our monograph collection selected for Greenglass review includes 1,606,815 volumes of 1,421,416 titles.

• 41% of the collection has not been circulated.
• 94% of the collection was first published more than 10 years ago.
• 3% of the collection has an E-book alternative in our purchased collection.
• 91% of the collection is available from two or more of our Resource Sharing Partners.
• 109,897 volumes in the general collection were flagged by OCLC as government documents.

Our major retention agreements are through HathiTrust and ASERL. However, there are other reasons we might retain a title. APCS can add retention reasons in Alma to prevent them from being removed.

Retention reasons in Alma include:

• Retention Agreement (i.e., HathiTrust or ASERL)
• Regional Affiliation (i.e., Appalachia, TN, Knoxville)
• Award (Ex: Children's Collection has several award titles we retain)
• Scarce Item (item is scarce based on age, availability, and print status)
• Librarian Flag (used for core titles, or other librarian needs)

Retention- More Details

This is a Webex recorded training by Rachel Buchanan with OCLC.

Recording Timestamps

This demo was led by Louis Becker with time for questions.

Run time: 1:01:38

TAKES A MINUTE TO LOAD!

GreenGlass Training Videos by OCLC

This is a snapshot of our data. It is not being updated by OCLC. What was provided to them in April 2023 is what you will see in GreenGlass.

All items in the collection before August 24, 2003 have the "added to the collection" date of August 24, 2003. This was when we moved to a new ILS (pre-Alma).

Data is available until June 30, 2026.

These items are NOT in GreenGlass:

• Reference
• Leisure Reading
• Special Display
• Suppressed
• Microforms
• Newspapers
• Reserve
• Audiovisual

Comparator Groups are sets of libraries whose holdings overlap may be of particular interest to us.  Each group should be considered separately because not all groups were selected for the same purpose.

• ASERL -- Fellow members of the Association of South Eastern Research Libraries (Free exchange through Resource Sharing)
• SEC -- Fellow Members of the Southeastern Conference (Free exchange through Resource Sharing)
• Key Lenders -- Other libraries with whom we have free reciprocal lending, and from whom we frequently borrow.
• BTAA -- Big Ten Academic Alliance: A set of libraries with a well-developed print retention program. Does not necessarily provide free interlibrary loans.
• AVMA Accreditation -- Libraries which support accredited veterinary medicine programs, for collection comparison purposes.
• Aspirational Peers -- Institutions selected by University Administration.

What’s the difference between Worldcat Holdings and Worldcat Retentions?

Worldcat Holdings- The Library has said, yes, I do hold this item.

Worldcat Retentions- The Library has said, yes, I do hold this item, and I have agreed to retain this item for an amount of time.

What does HathiTrust IC/PD mean?

IC means In Copyright and PD means Public Domain.

What's with all these numbers?!

The first number means exact copy and the second number means an other copy. So in this example, there are 223 exact copies of this title in US holdings based on OCLCs data and two additional other copies (to make 225).

E-Book records are only provided for purchased E-book titles, but there may still be multiple e-portfolios per print title. E-book matches are reasonably high precision, but e-editions are not always facsimilies of the particular print editions we hold.

Meaning... perpetual access purchased ebooks will appear in most results, but they are purely informational.

When you select "Has Ebook Alternative" in the filters on the left hand side, you get a list of items with ebook matches; in the list of items you will see the print item on a white background as usual and then the matching ebook records on a grey background. In a spreadsheet export you get the print results on one tab and the matching ebooks listed with them on another tab.

GreenGlass will not show you if an ebook copy is available to purchase. You will need to conduct this in other systems. However, if there is a large set that you would like to be replaced with ebooks, contact apcs@utk.edu to make a plan!

What queries is APCS handling? These are things you DON'T need to worry about because we’re doing them ahead of time and flagging titles so that they will not be removed:

Will my Faculty get to provide input? Before monographs are discarded, lists, along with the criteria that created the lists, will be posted on our website for two weeks. This allows for stakeholders inside and outside the Libraries to review and send input. 

I have Core Titles for my discipline. How can I guarantee these are not removed? Core titles, or important titles that your area considers required for the discipline, can be sent to APCS in a list. It will be very difficult to go through title by title in GreenGlass. APCS can take your list and add a "Retention Reason" in Alma to prevent them from being removed.

REGULARLY SAVE YOUR QUERY

1. Select the Analysis Tab. (The overview subtab will list all your saved queries with their criteria.)
2. Select “New Query” or the “Query Builder” subtab.
3. Name the query by clicking on the name. Click “Confirm” to save your changes.
4. Select Criteria in the left-hand frame

• Subjects:  Note that visualizations based on LC or Dewey will attempt to class the entire collection in either set. To work with juvenile items in our collection, filter by location or call number.
  • Once LC classes have been selected, you can narrow down further
• Location: “Collections” are libraries/buildings, “Locations” are shelving locations
• Ebooks: E-Book records are only provided for purchased E-book titles, but there may still be multiple e-portfolios per print title. E-book matches are reasonably high precision, but e-editions are not always facsimilies of the particular print editions we hold.
• Record types: Select monographs or music scores. Serials are handled in a different version of the interface.
• Language and Place of Publication are based on MARC coding; use the question marks to see code lists.
• Possible duplicates are flagged across the collection and may include circulating copies of works in Special Collections.
• Multiple editions are usually grouped by call number but there may be editions in multiple call number areas (e.g. anthologies)
• Multivolume Sets: allows us to avoid discarding single volumes out of a multivolume title -- unless we mean to!
• Government Documents is a single choice; may not be limited to U.S. Government.
• Added to collection: earliest date is 2003-08-24.
• Publication dates are of the content, not necessarily of the printing.
• Local usage is currently shown as counts for most items added before Dec. 2014 and "last charge date" for items loaned after Dec. 2014. Updates are underway to show loan counts for newer items and to extend "last charge date" to the earliest available data.
• Comparator Library Holdings are found under “WorldCat Holdings”; multiple criteria can be added together; the default operator is “AND” -- use combined queries to see "OR"
• HathiTrust holdings can be divided into public domain and copyright holdings or both can be used together.

When you are ready, you will submit your criteria selections to Assessment Programs and Collections Strategy. APCS will review your selections and send you a title list for confirmation.

1. Copy your criteria within GreenGlass from the Overview tab.

2. Paste your criteria into "Submit Monograph Criteria" form.

Submit Monograph Criteria

• Include any additional notes. We can be more specific than Greenglass with any local holding or usage data. 

3. APCS will review the criteria you sent and conduct the query in GreenGlass.

4. APCS will send you a title list to approve.