Skip to Main Content

Collections Ready Reference

Collection Development and Management Ready Reference

Process

Review process:

  1. order request received by APCS via Juntar; other documentation gathered if needed
  2. request added to a Collections Committee meeting agenda and information is shared with Committee members
  3. committee members may gather more information and/or discuss the request with their department
  4. request is discussed, voted on, and, if approved, prioritized during the Collections Committee meeting  

*APCS strongly recommends that you request a trial for databases and large collections before placing an order request

 

Order process after review (some resources do not need to go through each step):

 

Step Step Tasks Approximate Time
1 APCS and BSO determine availability of funds for acquisition 2 weeks, depending on current workload and need by date
2 APCS may negotiate price 2 weeks, depending on the amount of preparation and priority
3 APCS submits order to ACR 1 day
4 ACR directs vendor to submit tax and payment information in UT system's PaymentWorks 7 days
5 ACR requests accessibility documentation, manually tests the accessibility of the resource, requests that the vendor complete a roadmap, and creates an alternative access plan (if applicable). Note that alternate access plans must be approved by UT Libraries Administration and the Office of Equity & Diversity. 1 to 6 months, depending on the availability of documentation and communication with the vendor
6 ACR negotiates library-specific terms with the vendor and then submits agreement/license/terms & conditions to the UT Contracts Office for additional edits and signature 2 to 6 months, depending on how quickly the vendor responds and agrees to UT changes
7 ACR's Resource Acquisitions creates and submits a purchase order, which must be approved by UT Procurement 7 days
8 ACR's Resource Acquisitions officially submits the order request to the vendor and requests an invoice; BSO submits payment 1 week to 1 month, depending on how quickly the vendor responds
9 ACR's E-Resources Team and Cataloging make the resource available and discoverable 7 days

 

Submitting Orders in Juntar

For price quotes or to submit order requests with a one-time cost greater than $3,000 or for subscription resources in Juntar. 

Log into Juntar

Select the Create icon in the top taskbar  


 

Item Information:

  • Select the appropriate item type at the top of the form and enter information in the relevent fields. 

 

  • Including a link in the Where did you find this field helps eliminate any confusion with similar titles.

Price Information:

  • The amount entered may be an estimate. 
  • If you have a price quote, attach it at the end of the form. 

Routing:

  • Select the primary subject area fund that will use the resource.
  • FGEN and PGEN are typically only used upon direction from APCS or ACR. 


 

Collections Committee:

  • A list of 11 questions will likely appear in the form. (Their appearance is triggered by price or routing. Don't worry if you do not see them.)
  • These questions will be used by the Collections Committee to better understand the request.
  • Providing as much information as possible in response to each question will make the Committee's review easier.
  • The Add Attachment option at the bottom of the form (screenshot above) can also be used to provide the Committee with additional information.


 

Submit:

  • Check the box at the bottom of the screen and click the submit button. 


Process for stalled purchase requests

Stalled purchase requests are approved order requests that take a very long time to process because there is little or no action from the vendor to proceed.

Stalled purchase requests will be denied if a vendor:

  • communicates that they will not provide information needed to acquire a resource OR doesn’t reply to 3 attempts at contact 

  • doesn’t explicitly say “no” but also doesn’t provide any evidence that they are gathering requested information after 6 months of regular communication

Denied requests in Juntar will include clear notes for:

  • why the request was denied
  • what is needed from the vendor, and
  • if it’s accessibility-related, the top 3 things that the vendor needs to address.  

Previously denied request can be requested again with some time between. Sometimes a pause in pursuit for a year or two yields a better result the second time.