This is the "Official Documents" page of the "United Nations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


United Nations  

Finding United Nations documents.
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/unitednations Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Official Documents Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About UN Publications

United Nations material types include: Masthead Documents, Official Records, Sales publications, and Press Releases. Documents are assigned a UN classification symbol, for example A/55/1.

Masthead Documents (MDOCs) - are generated to facilitate the work of the UN and its bodies, usually in connection with an item on a meeting agenda. Masthead documents include meeting agendas, records of meetings, resolutions, reports of the Secretary-General, the documents of human rights treaty bodies.

Official Records - include meeting records, annexes, supplements, resolutions and decisions, and reports from principal organs and subsidiary bodies. These may include financial reports, bugets and strategic plans, official proceedings, voting records, and speeches.

Sales Publications - are created to enhance the public policy work of the UN. They include monographs and serials that are made available for purchase.

Press Releases - are issued to the news media to facilitate coverage of UN activities. They provide information about meetings, including the full text of resolutions and statements and other compilations. Press releases are the best source for current information, but athough they are formal statements made by the UN. they are not considered official.
The site provides the full texts of the UN press releases issued since October 1995.

UN Documents

UN Documentation: Research Guide

 

UN Documents/UT Libraries

The Hodges Library is not a UN depository but provides access to UN publications from its main organs and subsidiary bodies.

UN Official Records (include Masthead Documents) 1946-1992
(coverage varies by organ). Hodges Library stacks.
Documents issued by an organ are classed together as a series. Indexes to Proceedings are shelved with the documents. Beginning in 1975 the Index to Proceedings volumes for the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Trusteeship Council include tables of roll call votes.
General Assembly: JX1977.A41
Economic and Social Council:
HC59.A193
Security Council: JX1977.A515
Trusteeship Council: JX 4021.U385
Disarmament Commission:
JX1974.U412
Trade and Development Board:
HF1410.U58

Resolutions and Decisions adopted by the:
General Assembly (1946-)
Security Council (1946-)
Economic & Social Council (2001-).
Print copies are filed with the above call numbers in Hodges Stacks. 

Official Records - Readex microfiche 1995-2008 
JX1977.A2
Documents and Microforms.
The fiche are arranged by year, then by UN document symbol within each year. Search United Nations - AccessUN to find document numbers in the microfiche collection. 

Sales Publications - The Library selects and catalogs UN sales publications individually by title. Search the library's online catalog for publications associated with the UN and its affiliated organizations.

 

Related Sites

  • United Nations Publications Catalogue.
         A listing of UN Sales Publications. To learn about the publications of the various
         UN Organizations, consult their individual Web sites.

  • UNBIS Thesaurus.
         The multilingual thesaurus with terminology used in subject analysis of documents 
         and other materials relevant to UN programmes and activities. 
         It is used as the subject authority of the UNBISnet.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
JoAnne Deeken
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip