Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Census and Related Sources : Population/Housing

United States statistics

Decennial Census

The Decennial Census began in 1790 and was taken each decade thereafter.

Information on home ownership was included in each Decennial Census beginning in 1890. Mortgage status was collected in 1890, 1920, and 1940. 
The Census of Housing was first taken as part of the Decennial Census of 1940.

Census Data Online

Population & Housing Census Data

1790-1970           HA195.M5                         Storage Microfilm
1790-1980           HA201 (census year)     Census Collection 3rd. floor
1990                     HA201.1990.A56              Census Collection 3rd. floor
1990                     STF 1,2,3                           CdRom Storage
2000                     HA201.I22C43 2000        Census Collection 3rd. floor
      Summary Population and Housing Characteristics, 2000. Series PHC-3

2010                    American FactFinder  OR    2010 Census

Census of Housing

1940             HA201.1940.A6 V.1-4        Census Collection 3rd floor
                      HA195.M5                          Storage Microfilm
1950             HD7293.A4883                 Census Collection 3rd floor
                       HA195.M5                          Storage Microfilm
1960             HD7293.A4884                 Census Collection 3rd floor 
                       HA195.M5                           Storage Microfilm
1970             HD7293.A4885                 Census Collection 3rd floor
                      HA195.M5                          Storage Microfilm
1980             HD7293.A6113                 Census Collection 3rd floor (Characteristics of Housing units)
                    HD7293.C42                    Census Collection 3rd floor  (Metropolitan Housing Characteristics)
1990             HD7293.A6113                 Census Collection 3rd floor (Detailed Housing Characteristics)
                    HD7293.C42                    Census Collection 3rd floor  (Metropolitan Housing Characteristics)

Census of Housing - Census Bureau online                 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Greg March
Contact:
Room 152
John C. Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37996