Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Census and Related Sources : Agriculture

United States statistics

About Agriculture Census

The Census of Agriculture is the primary source for U.S. agricultural statistics. No data are available for the years, 1790-1830, although the 1820 and 1830 censuses include the number of persons engaged in agricultural pursuits.

The Census of Agriculture was included in the Decennial Census, from 1840 to 1950. From 1860-1950, the data are included as separately published volumes within each of the decennial censuses. Beginning in 1925, the Census of Agriculture was taken more frequently for years ending in "5"  

Between 1954 and 1974, the U.S. Census Bureau conducted the census of agriculture in years ending in "4" and "9." 

The Census of Agriculture was taken in 1978 completely separate from the Decennial Census but continued to be conducted by the Census Bureeau every five years, in years ending in "2" and "7." (See Title 7, U.S. Code, Chapter 55.

In 1997, Congress transferred bugetary responsibility for the Census of Agriculture to the Department of Agriculture.

Agriculture - Name Census

Tennessee              HD1775.T2A4
Storage microfilm   1850-1880

Georgia                    HD1775.G4A4
Storage microfilm   1850-1880

Kentucky                  HD1775.K4A4
Storage microfilm   1850-1880

Louisana                  HD1775.L8A4
Storage microfilm   1850-1880

Census of Agriculture Online

Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Service. 
Historical Census Publications 1840-current

Census of Agriculture - Print

1840                 HA201 1840.B24                 Special Collections
1850                 HA201 1850.B3                   Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1860                 HA201 1860.B3                   Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)                      
1870                 HA201 1870.B2 v.3              Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
                          HD1753 1870                       Ag/Vet/Med. Library
1880                 HA201 1880.B2 v.3              Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1890                 HA201 1890.B2 v.3              Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1900                 HA201 1900.B2 v.5,6           Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1910                 HA201 1910.A15 v.5-7         Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
                          HA201 1910.A24                   Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)                        
1920                 HA201 1920.A15 v.5-7         Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1925                 HD1753.1925                        Hodges 4th Floor; Ag/Vet/Med. Library                        
1930                 HA201 1930.A4 v.1-5            Hodges 4th Floor; Ag/Vet/Med. Library
                          HA201 1930.A424                  Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)                        
1935                 HD1753.1935                         Hodges 4th Floor; Ag/Vet/Med. Library
1940                 HA201 1940.A4 to A4281      Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1950                 HA201 1950.A47                    Hodges 3rd Floor (census collection)
1945,1954,1959,1964,1969,1974,1978      HD1753 (census yr.) Hodges 4th Fl. &
                                                                             Ag/Vet/Med. Library
1982                  HD1769.A14                           Hodges 4th Fl. & Ag/Vet/Med. Library
1987                  HD1769.C46                          Hodges 4th Fl.
1992,1997         HD1769.C46                         Ag/Vet/Med. Library

Census of Agriculture - Microfilm

1850, 1860, 1880, 1890, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1925, 1930, 1940  HA195.M5          
Storage microfilm

1935, 1945, 1950, 1954, 1959, 1964 HA195.U52           Storage microfilm

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Greg March
Contact:
Room 152
John C. Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37996