Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tennessee Valley Authority (Special Collections): Publicity/Controversy

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the Tennessee Valley Authority. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections.

Publicity/Controversy

full color photograph of the Fort Loudon Dam
Fort Loudon

Manuscript Collections

Aelred "Flash" Gray Papers,1933-1993 (MS.2681)
This collection consists of reports, notes, rosters, drafts, binders, clippings, and publications relating to Aelred Flash Gray's career with the University of Tennessee Planning Department and two of his publications, Norris, Tennessee: A History of America's First Self-Contained Greenbelt Town and Regional Planning: The TVA Experience.

Carson Brewer Articles, circa 1925-1994 (MS.2048)
Carson Brewer wrote these columns for the Knoxville News-Sentinel on such subjects as Knoxville, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the people and communities of the Smoky Mountains region, and the Tennessee Valley Authority between the 1940s and the 1980s.

Tennessee Endangered Species Committee Records,1964-1983 (MS.1328)
This collection contains information in the form of magazine and newspaper articles, correspondence, court proceedings, congressional records and other materials concerning the lengthy battle between the TESC and the TVA over the building of the Tellico Dam and the dam's threat to various elements of the local environment, particularly an endangered species of fish, the Snail Darter.

TVA Literature Collection, 1939-1944 (MS.2754)
This is a collection of TVA Literature. Contained herein are two Safety Manuals, one from 1939 and the other undated. Also contained is literature titled "TVA Labor Relations Policy at Work" dated 1940, and a letter written by David E. Lilienthal, chairman of TVA, dated 1944.

Tennessee Valley Authority 50th Anniversary Exhibit, 1982-1983 (MS.2491)
This collection contains materials pertaining to the 1983 Tennessee Valley Authority 50th Anniversary Exhibit. Included in this collection are press releases and photographs related to the exhibit as well as information on "The Valley Adventure" a colorful floating exhibit which documented the history of the Tennessee Valley Authority.

 

Rare Books

The Big Dam and the Little Fish : TVA's Tellico Dream in an Era of Intragovernmental Regulation. 1983 (HD1694.T4 R4)
Tellico Dam and the Snail Darter. 1991 (TC557.T4 T4 1991)
Tennessee Valley Authority Facts Book; Norris, Wheeler and Wilson projects. 1934 (TK1425.M8 T33)
TVA and the Tellico Dam, 1936-1979 : A Bureaucratic Crisis in Postindustrial America. 1986 (HD9685.U7 T387 1986)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website