Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tennessee Valley Authority (Special Collections): Administration

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the Tennessee Valley Authority. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections.

Administration

black and white photograph of the First TVA Board with their signatures in the middle of the photograph. The three men are sitting at a table.
First TVA Board

Manuscript Collections

John L. Neely Jr. Papers, 1940-1955 (MS.1390)
This collection houses manuals, bulletins, and agendas documenting John L. Neely Jr.'s work with the Tennessee Valley Authority.

Tennessee Valley Authority Pamphlet Collection, 1933-1965 (MS.0631)
This collection houses numerous pamphlets describing the TVA's activities between 1933 and 1965.

Tennessee Valley Authority Reports, 1933-1973 (MS.0828)
This collection houses reports (many originally intended for use only within the TVA), summaries, articles, and a thesis documenting the activities of the Tennessee Valley Authority between 1933 and 1973.

 

Rare Books

Budget Administration in the Tennessee Valley Authority. 1948 (HF5006.T2 S8 no.15)
The Consequences of Administrative Decision : TVA's Economic Development Mission and Intragovernmental Regulation. 1983 (TK1425 .M8 R42)
The TVA : An Experiment in the "Grass Roots" Administration of Federal Functions. 1939 (TK1425.M8 L5)
The Tennessee Valley Authority's Geographic Information System : A Study of Implementing a Regional Agency's GIS in Local Government Planning. 1993 (Thesis 92.D293) The Tennessee Valley Authority; A Study in Public Administration. 1943 (TK1425.M8 P68)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website