Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tennessee Valley Authority (Special Collections): Communities & Employees

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the Tennessee Valley Authority. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections.

Communities

Black and white photograph of two TVA Workers, man and son possibly, smiling and holding a shovel.
TVA Workers

Rare Books

God's Valley; People and Power Along the Tennessee River. 1939 (F443.T3 W5)
Second-Generation Conflict in the Tennessee Valley: A Case Study. 2000 (Thesis 2000 .J64)
Tales from the Grass Roots of TVA. 1933-1952 ( HD9685.U7 T38)
The Tennessee River Valley, Its People, Resources, and Institutions. 1941 (F217.T3 C65 1941
TVA and the Dispossessed : The Resettlement of Population in the Norris Dam Area. 1982 (HD211.T2 M35 1982)

Employees

Manuscript Collections black and white photograph of a group of TVA employees standing together in the outdoors.

Howard A. Bridgman Diary,1936 (MS.2698)
The Howard Bridgman Diary chronicles the daily activities of a TVA mailroom worker during the first few months of 1936.

Ira Chiles Papers, 1936-1951 (MS.1019)
This collection of papers concentrates on the career of Ira Chiles while he held the office of Area Education Officer with the Tennessee Valley Authority from 1936 to 1948

Charles (Chili) Dean, Jr. Papers,1960s-1990 (MS.2851)
The Chili Dean Papers, 1960s-1990 (bulk 1980s), house the professional papers of Charles H. "Chili" Dean, Chairman of the TVA during the Nuclear Power Program in the 1980s. The collection includes publications (newspapers, reports, etc.), speeches and writings, power program material (finances, project information, nuclear power plant information, etc.), and administrative files (in-house memoranda, employee relations, operation information, etc.). As this is a very large collection, please contact Special Collections to help identify relevant research material.

Samuel A. Shipman Oral History, 2000 (MS.2693)
This collection contains an 81-page interview, conducted by the Center for the Study of War and Society for the Veteran's Oral History Project, which covers the life of Samuel Shipman from his youth, to serving in Vietnam, to his thoughts on the TVA.

Rare Books

Career Counseling Program for Multilevel Employees in an Industrial Setting. 1976 (Thesis 76b. S748)
Educational Opportunities for TVA Employees Located in the Knoxville Area. 1930 (LC5252.T4 T4)
Experiment in Management; Personnel Decentralization in the Tennessee Valley Authority. 1954 (TK1425.M8 A9)
Personnel Policy in a Public Agency; the TVA Experience. 1955 (TK1425.M8 C32)
The TVA labor Relations Policy at Work; Successful Cooperation between Public Power and Organized Labor in the Public Interest. 1940 (HD3888.K5)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website