Page Navigation
Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.
Archives Collections
University of Tennessee Majorettes
Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.
Records and Memorabilia regarding Student Organizations and Activities, 1838-1991 (AR.0017, AR.0064)
This collection houses a variety of materials documenting student activities and organizations at the University of Tennessee.
Student Affairs and Organizations Collection, 1988-2001 (AR.0597)
This collection is composed primarily of newspaper articles (taken mainly from the Daily Beacon and the Knoxville News-Sentinel documenting student organizations, publications, fraternities and sororities, and Senior Gift.
University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.
Rare Books
One More for the Hill. 1990 (LD5296.B38 1990)
To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee, 1794-1970. 1984 (LD5293.M594 1984)
University of Tennessee. 2007 (LD5293.P87 2007)
Digital Resources
- Air ScoopThe Air Scoop weekly newsletter informed and entertained members of the 63rd College Training Detachment based at the University of Tennessee during World War II.
- The DruidThe Druid magazine evolved during its short lifespan from a complete humanities publication composed of young artists and writers to one that also echoed the anti-war, counter-culture sentiment during the height of the Vietnam War.
- The Humming HumbugThe Humming Humbug, or “A Lean Destructive Snoozepaper,” ran as a parody supplement to The Orange and White student newspaper. Its articles provided humorous commentary on academics and student life occurring on the University of Tennessee, Knoxville campus.
- The Independent TruthThe Independent Truth newspaper served as an anonymous platform for its editors and writers to report, from their perspective, the truth on how the University of Tennessee, Knoxville leadership handled issues occurring on campus in 1935.
- Phoenix Literary MagazinePhoenix is a student-led literary publication, showcasing the creative output of UT's diverse student population.
- The Tennessean Literary MagazineThis digital collection includes issues of The Tennessean Literary Magazine from March 1947 to March 1950.
- Tennessee Girl Student HandbookA student handbook aimed toward assisting new female students to campus life at the University of Tennessee, published by the Women's Student Government Association, 1930-1969.
- University Magazine (1841 - 1900)The Tennessee University Student Magazine is a literary magazine, containing works by students, and is managed for the student body by representatives from all years.
- University MonthlyThis digital collection includes issues from a college newspaper jointly published and edited by the Chi Delta and the Philomathesian literary societies for the 1875 and 1876 academic years.
- University of Tennessee Commencement Programs (1841 - current)The University of Tennessee Commencement is the formal ceremony that publicly recognizes candidates for graduation. The commencement programs featured in this collection range from 1841 to the present.
- Vocational Voice: Journal of Ex-Service Men of UTThe Vocational Voice departmental newspaper was dedicated to the interests of the Vocational Department of the University of Tennessee in the mid-1920s.
- Volunteer YearbooksThe Volunteer yearbook was published annually from 1897, except in 1918 when the events of World War I interrupted school activities, until 2009. Its mission was to document the academic year through pictures, articles, and reportage.