Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.
Key Words and Search Strategies
There are several keywords to use when looking for archival materials related to the University of Tennessee. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Manuscript and Archives Collections
Ayres Hall
Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.
University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.
Rare Books
To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee. 1794-1970 (LD5293.M594 1984)
University of Tennessee Record, University of Tennessee [Knoxville Campus]. 1898-1989 (LD5286.R3)
Volunteer Moments: Vignettes of the History of the University of Tennessee. 1917-2004 (LD5293.V65 1996)
An Honored Calling: A History of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. 1999 (LD5299.5.A47 S6)
East Tennessee University: Pre-War Years, 1840-1861. 1950 (LD5293.F61)
One More for the Hill. 1990 (LD5296.B38 1990)
Threshold of a New Day: the University of Tennessee, 1919-1946. 1971 (LD5293.V65 1996)
University of Tennessee. 2007 (LD5293.P87 2007)
General University Archives and Special Collections Resources
This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history of the University of Tennessee, from its founding as Blount College in 1794 to the present. The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:
- UTK Library CatalogArchival research gets easier the more you know about your topic. Don't forget you can search the library catalog to find books and external databases that will be very helpful in your research.
- Special CollectionsThe Special Collections website provides information about how to access collections, request materials, and provides further instruction.
- Scout: Special Collections Online @ UTSCOUT is Special Collections' finding aid database. You can use SCOUT to access detailed information and find every manuscript and archive collection in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Tennessee.
- UT Libraries Digital CollectionsThe University of Tennessee Libraries Digital Collections provide access to images, books, artworks, manuscripts, musical scores, videos, and oral histories. Materials come from our Special Collections including manuscripts, University Archives, Modern Political Archives, and the Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project, as well as the DeVine Music Library and the Pendergrass Agricultural and Veterinary Medicine Library.
- Volunteer VoicesVolunteer Voices contains digital collections from libraries and other institutions across Tennessee.
- Trace: Tennessee Research and Creative ExchangeA digital archive of published and unpublished works by faculty, students, departments, programs, research centers, and institutes.