The University of Tennessee Builds for the Twentieth Century. A History of the University of Tennessee During the Administration of President Brown Ayres. 1940-1919 (LD5293.M6)
The University of Tennessee during the administration of President Brown Ayres, 1904-1919. 1956 (Thesis 56.M65)
Brown Ayres and his faculty
Brown Ayres Diplomas and Other Materials, 1872 June 27-circa 1939 (AR.0741)
This collection consists primarily of earned and honorary diplomas awarded to Brown Ayres by such institutions as Tulane University, Washington and Lee College, Stevens Institute of Technology, and the University of the South. Also included are biographical sketches of Brown Ayres, resolutions passed by the University of Tennessee's Board of Trustees to honor Ayres after his death, a sketch of Katie (Anderson) Ayres' life, and other materials (including an undated family portrait) documenting the Ayres family.
Joseph E. Johnson Papers, 1963-1978 (AR.0354)
This collection consists primarily of materials created and acquired by Joseph E. Johnson while he was serving as Executive Assistant to the President of the University of Tennessee.
Thomas W. Humes and Charles W. Dabney Papers, 1872-1904 (AR.0144)
This collection houses materials created by the Office of the President during the presidencies of Thomas W. Humes (1865-1883) and Charles W. Dabney (1887-1904).
- C. E. Brehm, University of Tennessee Office of the President Records, 1948-1959Selected material from the C. E. Brehm (1889-1971) President of the University of Tennessee papers from 1946 to 1959. Among the subjects represented in his collection are athletics, student organizations, university property acquisitions, and desegregation.
- Charles W. Dabney, Jr., UT Office of the President, 1867-1954Selected material from the Charles W. Dabney Jr., President of the University of Tennessee papers from 1887 to 1904. Highlighted in the collection are some of Dabney’s achievements as university president including making agricultural and mechanical courses mandatory, adding six new four-year courses in science, updating the physics curriculum, admitting the university's full time first female students, beginning the Summer School of the South, doubling the size of the faculty, and forming both the home economics and law departments.
Neyland: The Gridiron General. 1990 (GV939.N43 G55 1990)
Ray Mears' Big Orange Memories: How Ray Mears Transformed Tennessee Sports Traditions. 2007 (GV884.M43 B55 2007)
Stadium Stories: Tennessee Volunteers: Colorful Tales of the Orange and White. 2004 (GV958.U586 M66 2004)
University of Tennessee Basketball Vault: The History of the Lady Vols. 2008 (GV885.43 U58 J46 2008)
University of Tennessee Football Vault: A Tennessee Football Saturday. 2006 (GV958.T4 M37 2006)
Baseball Yearbook Illustration by Anna Catherine Wiley
General Robert Neyland Papers, 1802-1963 (MS.1890)
The collection consists of Neyland's personal files, photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, an autobiographical manuscript of his college days, service records, scrapbooks, and yearbooks. Possibly most interesting are 2 ledgers containing Neyland's handwritten notes on various teams, hand-diagrammed plays, notes on player progress and other fascinating insights into his coaching style.
Johnny Majors Collection, 1983-1993 (MS.2019)
The Johnny Majors Collection contains material relating to his tenure as football coach at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Spanning the time period 1983-1993, the collection includes correspondence, playbooks, and assorted athletic files.
Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.
Paul Parker Papers, 1909-1933 (MS.2779)
This collection contains writings, playbooks, notes, and clippings relating to Paul Parker, assistant Tennessee football coach under Robert Neyland. The majority of the work consists of plays, primarily from 1909-1910, with playbooks from the 1926 and 1927 seasons of Tennessee football. The collection also contains of a photograph of Neyland with assistant coaches Parker and Britton, a form letter from Neyland to returning players at the beginning of the breakout 1928 season, and several papers by Parke H. Davis, a noted college football historian.
Traditions and Football Slide Collection, 1987-1988 (AR.0577)
This collection contains slides depicting homecoming, Carnicus, intramural games, and UT football games in 1987 and 1988.
University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.
- University of Tennessee Volunteers Football ProgramsThe Volunteers Football Programs and Guides offer a unique glimpse into the history and traditions of the University of Tennessee football team.
- University of Tennessee Lady Volunteers Basketball Media GuidesThis digital collection features the annually-published Lady Volunteers Basketball Media Guides.
- University of Tennessee Volunteers Basketball Media GuidesThis digital collection features the annually-published Men's Basketball Media Guides.
- Anna Catherine Wiley Sketches CollectionThe pieces in this collection are from the early stages of Anna Catherine Wiley's career. Along with a few original ink yearbook illustrations, there are numerous preliminary drawings and pencil sketches.
Cleaning house: the U.T. Faculty Firings of 1923. 1996 (Thesis 98.C33)
A Formula for Victory. 1942 (LD5297.2 1942)
Volunteer Moments: Vignettes of the History of the University of Tennessee, 1974-1994. 1996 (LD5293.V65 1996
University of Tennessee Chemistry Faculty
Faculty Women's Club Collection, 1920-2008 (AR.0744)
This collection houses meeting minutes, newsletters, correspondence, calendars, financial documents, officers' materials, club records, and scrapbooks of the Faculty Women's Club between 1920 and the present. The Collection also contains some material from the Newcomer's Club and the Dame's Club.
Luke Ebersole Papers, 1972-1988 (AR.0357)
This collection houses materials that Luke Ebersole collected and created while working as the University of Tennessee's Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (1970-1972), Vice Chancellor for Planning and Administration (1972-1984), and Emeritus Vice Chancellor and Emeritus Professor (1984-).
Milton Klein Papers, 1976-1996 (MS.2017)
This collection houses papers documenting University of Tennessee Professor and Historian Milton Klein's work with the Faculty Club (including budget materials and meeting agendas and minutes), the Phi Kappa Phi honor society (including membership materials and speeches and programs showing induction ceremonies), and proposals to the National Endowment for the Humanities.
N. W. Dougherty Papers, 1922-1972 (MS.1376)
This collection houses personal papers, memorabilia, academic materials, organizational records, and athletic records documenting the life and work of U.T. Professor of Civil Engineering N. W. Dougherty.
Stanley J. Folmsbee Papers, 1934-1964 (AR.0075)
These materials document Stanley J. Folmsbee's work with the History Department (including teaching schedules, enrollment statistics, and meeting minutes), the College of Liberal Arts, the Graduate Council, and the University Senate.
Willis C. Tucker Papers, 1947-1976 (MS.1377)
The Willis C. Tucker papers document Tucker's involvement with the University of Tennessee School of Journalism between 1947 and 1976.
- Botanical Photography of Alan S. HeilmanMore than 1,100 digitized color-film photographs of flowering plants, ferns, mosses, and lichens taken over the past sixty years by Alan S. Heilman, retired professor of Botany at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, are included in this collection.
- L.R. Hesler’s Mushroom Research NotebooksThe material in this collection features images of Dr. Hesler’s handwritten research and specimen notebooks on mushrooms and other fungi collected during his time at UT between 1919 and 1958.
- David Van Vactor Music CollectionThe David Van Vactor Music Collection includes multiple drafts and final versions of compositions from all eras of Van Vactor’s long career.
- Dr. William M. Bass III CollectionBass is known as a professor and researcher of forensic anthropology and for his creation of the "Body Farm" (Anthropology Research Center). This collection includes his class notes and lectures, personal and professional correspondence, field notes, and publications.
One More for the Hill. 1990 (LD5296.B38 1990)
To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee, 1794-1970. 1984 (LD5293.M594 1984)
University of Tennessee. 2007 (LD5293.P87 2007)
University of Tennessee Majorettes
Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.
Records and Memorabilia regarding Student Organizations and Activities, 1838-1991 (AR.0017, AR.0064)
This collection houses a variety of materials documenting student activities and organizations at the University of Tennessee.
Student Affairs and Organizations Collection, 1988-2001 (AR.0597)
This collection is composed primarily of newspaper articles (taken mainly from the Daily Beacon and the Knoxville News-Sentinel documenting student organizations, publications, fraternities and sororities, and Senior Gift.
University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.
- The Daily BeaconStudent newspaper first published in 1900 as The Orange and White that later became a daily in 1965. The Daily Beacon covered national and international news in addition to UT topics.
- Humming HumbugThe Humming Humbug, or "A Lean Destructive Snoozepaper," ran as a parody supplement to The Orange and White student newspaper. Its articles provided humorous commentary on academics and student life occurring on the University of Tennessee, Knoxville campus.
- Independent TruthA student newspaper from 1935 with anonymous articles reporting on University of Tennessee administrators and campus politics.
- PhoenixPhoenix is a student-led literary publication showcasing the creative output of UT's diverse student population that is published each semester for the academic year. Its content includes photography, illustration, poetry, fiction, non-fiction, and interviews.
- Tennessee Girl Student HandbookThis publication is the female student handbook published originally by Women's Student Government Association (Associated Women Students) from 1930 to 1970. In 1970, this handbook was incorporated into a single handbook for all students.
- Volunteer YearbooksThe Volunteer yearbook was published annually from 1897, except in 1918 when the events of World War I interrupted school activities. Until the last volume was published in 2009, it remained one of UT's oldest continuing traditions. The Volunteer was produced by students and published for distribution during the fall semester.
Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.