Skip to main content

University of Tennessee Archives: Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the University of Tennessee Archives. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and digital collections.

University of Tennessee Archives: Getting Started

This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history of the University of Tennessee, from its founding as Blount College in 1794 to the present. The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:

SEARCH TERMS‚Äč
There are several search terms to use when looking for materials. Although some of the terms are dated, they reflect the historic usage and can help identify contemporaneous materials:  

Digital Resources

Manuscript & Archives Collections

Ayres Hall Ayres Hall

Office of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.

University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.

Rare Books & Facsimilies

To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee. 1794-1970 (LD5293.M594 1984)

University of Tennessee Record, University of Tennessee [Knoxville Campus]. 1898-1989 (LD5286.R3)

Volunteer Moments: Vignettes of the History of the University of Tennessee. 1917-2004 (LD5293.V65 1996)

An Honored Calling: A History of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. 1999 (LD5299.5.A47 S6)

East Tennessee University: Pre-War Years, 1840-1861. 1950 (LD5293.F61)

One More for the Hill. 1990 (LD5296.B38 1990)

Threshold of a New Day: the University of Tennessee, 1919-1946. 1971 (LD5293.V65 1996)

University of Tennessee. 2007 (LD5293.P87 2007)

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5:30PM
865-974-4480
Website