Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Tennessee Archives: Home

This research guide highlights primary sources and research materials regarding the University of Tennessee Archives. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and digital collections.

What's in this Guide?

Sepia photograph of the University of Tennessee's "Hill." Visible are Old College, North College, South College, Main Street, and Cumberland Avenue.This research guide identifies Special Collections and Archives materials related to the history of the University of Tennessee, from its founding as Blount College in 1974 to the present. 

The photograph on the right is of the University of Tennessee campus taken shortly after the Civil War. Visible are Old College, North College, South College, Main Street, and Cumberland Avenue. From the Images of East Tennessee Digital Collection

Special Collections: Searching

There are several keywords to use when looking for archival materials related to the University of Tennessee. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • Tennessee
  • Education
  • Higher Education
  • University of Tennessee
  • Knoxville History
  • Faculty
  • Staff 
  • Student Activities
 
To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Archives Resources about the University of Tennessee

Rarebooks 

To Foster Knowledge: A History of the University of Tennessee. 1794-1970 (LD5293.M594 1984)

University of Tennessee Record, University of Tennessee [Knoxville Campus]. 1898-1989 (LD5286.R3)

Volunteer Moments: Vignettes of the History of the University of Tennessee. 1917-2004 (LD5293.V65 1996)

An Honored Calling: A History of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. 1999 (LD5299.5.A47 S6)

East Tennessee University: Pre-War Years, 1840-1861. 1950 (LD5293.F61)

One More for the Hill. 1990 (LD5296.B38 1990)

Threshold of a New Day: the University of Tennessee, 1919-1946. 1971 (LD5293.V65 1996)

University of Tennessee. 2007 (LD5293.P87 2007)


Relevant Archive Collections

old sepia-toned photograph of Ayres Hall taken from the top of the hillOffice of the University Historian Collection, 1819-1996 (AR.0015)
This collection houses a wealth of papers, clippings, ephemera, photographs, and slides documenting the University of Tennessee system, including the campuses at Knoxville, Nashville, Memphis, Martin, and Chattanooga. Although the earliest images date from the 1820s, the bulk of the material shows the University from the 1870s onward.

University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection, circa 1820s-circa 1990 (AR.0018)
This collection houses photographs and slides documenting the University of Tennessee from its beginnings as Blount College in 1794 through the 1990s.


Digital Resources

A UT Photo History, 1880-1967 (AR.0018) 

University of Tennessee Special Collections' HistoryPin Slide Show based on photographs found in AR.0018: the University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection.

Trace: Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange 

A digital archive of published and unpublished works by faculty, students, departments, programs, research centers, and institutes.

Special Collections Online: the University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection 

Digital collection featuring photographs from AR.0018: the University of Tennessee Photograph and Slide Collection.

Student Publications 

Digital collections featuring literary and editorial works by UTK students, and informational publications produced for UTK students.

The Volunteer Yearbooks 

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website