The University of Tennessee Archives Collection Overview: Accessing Current UT Records

Athletics

Budget and Finance

Campus Buildings and Spaces

Communications and Marketing

Current Info and Stats

Policies

Students and Academics

The University Archives supports research, service, and administrative functions by curating and managing archival, manuscript, audiovisual, electronic, print, and select object collections related to the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. All materials in University Archives collections are considered inactive records, designated as having historical and/or permanent value.

TRACE: Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange, https://trace.tennessee.edu/communities.html

Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE) is The University of Tennessee’s public access digital repository. TRACE contains scholarly works by UT faculty, staff, and graduate students, as well as documents from institutional archives. The content available in TRACE spans journal articles, technical reports and data sets to theses and dissertations, conference papers, presentations, book chapters, and other scholarly materials, including records from individual campus departments and offices.

UT Sports and Athletics Media & Communications, https://utsports.com/sports/2018/7/27/media-information-center.aspx

The office of Media Relations operates as a liaison between Tennessee’s athletic programs and all external media outlets. Our staff services and assists the media, coordinates interviews, conducts press conferences, produces all departmental publications, compiles statistics, serves as the archivists and historians of Tennessee Athletics and maintains the university’s official athletics website, UTsports.com. Use the UT Athletics Staff Directory to find contact information for the relevant department and/or request.

University of Tennessee Salary Database, https://data.tennessee.edu/salary-database/ 

This data set includes all active University of Tennessee employees that are subject to the Public Records Act as defined by the State of Tennessee.

Controller’s Office, https://controller.tennessee.edu/ 

The Controller's Office serve many needs of the University community, some of which include: Controller’s Office Systems Analysis and Improvement, Annual Financial Statement Preparation, Compilation of External Reports, Compilation of Standard Internal Reports (Income Summary, Development Endowment Report, etc.). 

Budget & Finance

https://budget.utk.edu/ (University of Tennessee, Knoxville) & https://finance.tennessee.edu/budget/ (University of Tennessee System)

Budget and planning directs the development of the annual operating budget, provides information for internal planning and decision-making, and facilitates the reporting requirements of the University.

Campus Master Plan, https://masterplan.utk.edu/

The master plan details improvements to be made across the UTK campus in order to align buildings and infrastructure with the University’s Strategic Vision.

Space & Archives, https://fs.utk.edu/spacemanagement/archives/

Space & Archives provides information for all Knoxville Campus buildings in two general categories. The Space Inventory maintains small-scale floor plans and facilities data for all campus buildings.

• List of active or in-use campus buildings: https://fs.utk.edu/utk-building-list/
• List of demolished campus buildings: https://fs.utk.edu/utk-demolished-buildings-list/

Office of Communications and Marketing, https://communications.utk.edu/

The Office of Communications and Marketing works alongside our campus partners to plan and execute communications that advance the university’s strategic focus areas.

Brand Guidelines, https://brand.utk.edu/

Strategy, Logos, Standards, Assets, Promotional Items and Licensing

Office of Institutional Research and Assessment Fact Book, https://oira.utk.edu/reporting/fact-book/

Our online Fact Book is made available to provide an official source of information on students, faculty and staff, budget and finances, and university resources. Contains current information and data about admissions, enrollment, faculty and staff, financial, facilities, and outcomes.

Records Management Office, https://rmo.utk.edu/ 

The Records Management Office was established to facilitate the efficient and economical management of recordkeeping activities of the university. The Records Management Office (RMO) provides specialized records management services, training, and long-term storage of inactive records. RMO’s goal is to support effective decision-making and accountability by ensuring efficient information storage and retrieval.

UT System Policies, https://policy.tennessee.edu/

The University of Tennessee’s policies apply to all campuses and institutes and provide university employees guidance to:

• Ensure compliance with state and federal laws and regulations;

• Maintain adequate internal controls to safeguard the university’s assets;

• Provide consistent management of resources transactions across the system; and

• Understand the university’s expectations for conducting university business and communicate these expectations to others as needed.

Faculty Handbook, https://facultyhandbook.utk.edu/

This handbook contains material that applies to all faculty members at three campuses of The University of Tennessee (UT): the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK), the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture (UTIA), and the University of Tennessee Space Institute (UTSI). The faculty members at these three campuses are represented by one faculty senate (hereafter “the Faculty Senate”).

Academic Catalog, https://catalog.utk.edu/

The Catalog is the official source of the university’s undergraduate academic programs, courses, policies, and procedures. Provides access to all Undergraduate and Graduate catalogs from 2009/2010 through the present.

Daily Beacon (xxxx – present), https://www.utdailybeacon.com/

The Daily Beacon is the campus newspaper serving the campus of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and its surrounding community. The paper is editorially independent and is entirely written, produced and managed by students. Editions published from 1906 - XXXX can be accessed in-person at the Betsey B. Creekmore Special Collections and University Archives. 

Hilltopics Student Handbook, http://hilltopics.utk.edu/

Hilltopics is the student handbook of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. It provides valuable information and links covering every element of student life at UT. These elements include academics, student support services and resources, student governing bodies and organizations, and campus policies and procedures. Hilltopics also contains the Student Code of Conduct, which outlines student rights and responsibilities at UT. 

Office of the University Registrar, https://registrar.utk.edu/

The Office of the University Registrar creates, maintains, and certifies student records, ensuring both accuracy and confidentiality. Where you can order official diplomas, transcripts, and academic history.